Author Topic: Perth too!  (Read 4907 times)

Offline lucky37

Perth too!
« on: December 21, 2012, 06:14:51 PM »

Been lurking the forum for bits & pieces so decided to join up!
We've just bought a MDC Tbox camper (haven't picked it up yet) to tow behind Our VW Amarok Highline.
Look forward to sharing/gathering info with you guys!

Re: Perth too!
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2012, 06:41:22 PM »
Welcome to the forum Lucky...

« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2012, 04:09:24 AM »
Hi Lucky and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2012, 10:50:06 AM »
Welcome aboard Lucky, look forward to checking her out when you get it and enjoy the forum :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2012, 02:15:47 PM »
G'day lucky37,

Congrats on your camper purchase.
Plenty of great info to help you with all manner of things.

Offline lucky37

« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2013, 12:19:15 AM »
Thanks for the welcome guys, get back from karratha this week and pick up the camper, installing dual batts and brake controller in the rok this break too. I'll post some photos if I remember!

« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2013, 12:37:51 AM »
Welcome, let us know what you think of the Rok, I see it got dual cab of the year in the 4x4 Aust mag.

Offline lucky37

« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2013, 04:52:08 AM »
Hi mate,

Yeah love the rok, auto is seamless, was some concern about no low range transfer, but Have taken it through some of the softest sand imaginable on beaches west of esperance with no worries. Comfort and ride imho is second to none and fuel economy is great, one sore point is the fact that the amount of lift you can get on it is limited due to cv angles, that and aftermarket acc. is limited, but theres more and more coming out now. Hey as a side note, those wattmeters you sell - they read amperage too?? no shunt?

« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2013, 06:01:01 AM »
Welcom Lucky 37,

Looking forward to Pics of the new CT when it arrives.

Perth too!
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2013, 06:44:39 AM »
Welcome..... Mmmm Amarok, I'm seriously considering one of those.

« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2013, 10:52:35 AM »
Hey as a side note, those wattmeters you sell - they read amperage too?? no shunt?

Yes mate, they read amperage.  They are an inline meter so no shunt.  You wire them between whatever it is you want to read eg fridge draw then between the fridge and battery, solar input then between the reg and the battery.

Offline lucky37

« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2013, 08:23:16 PM »
Nice. No probs putting it between fuse block and battery to read all outgoing amperage in ct?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2013, 09:45:41 PM »
Nice. No probs putting it between fuse block and battery to read all outgoing amperage in ct?

So long as your not running anything bigger than a fridge (ie big inverters etc) you will be fine, plenty of others have done it this way.  There is a neat review on them here somewhere with some nice pics of installs some people have done but I can;t find it sorry.

Offline lucky37

« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2013, 06:33:42 AM »
cool, could i come and grab one off you? thursday if ok?

« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2013, 10:27:58 AM »
cool, could i come and grab one off you? thursday if ok?

Thursday is good, just call me when you are thinking of coming and I will confirm I am around and give you the address.

Offline Turbojohn

« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2013, 08:09:49 PM »
Welcome lucky!
Didn't take long for the information to start flowing ;D

Offline lucky37

« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2013, 10:24:23 AM »
Some pics from the weekend. Back at work now so won't get round to using it for a few weeks!

« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2013, 12:35:18 PM »
Still very shiny.

Offline lucky37

« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2013, 12:54:26 PM »
Still very shiny.

will try to fix that next break!

« Reply #19 on: February 01, 2013, 08:22:38 AM »
Looks worth the wait.
Bet you can't wait to start adding the little extras.
Happy camping.