Author Topic: Tilt Tray Conversion on Old Tojo 'Tilly  (Read 2798 times)

Tilt Tray Conversion on Old Tojo 'Tilly
« on: July 07, 2019, 09:53:41 AM »
I'm seriously thinking that having a tilt tray on the old Cruiser would make life around the property easier. Now, the positives are obvious but are there any negatives to a conversion?
Also, has anyone any recommendations for a kit or perhaps a manufacturer, preferably on Brissie North side?
The existing tray is a standard ally with drop sides and tail gate.

Re: Tilt Tray Conversion on Old Tojo 'Tilly
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2019, 10:17:35 AM »
I converted the alloy tray on my work vehicle (ford transit cab chassis) to a tipper. Just used a hydraulic ram and pump that originally came with it to do it. I have half converted my trailer as well (on the long unfinished project to do list). I looked at some of the kits but figured I could do it much cheaper diy as I already had some of the bits. No downsides that I can think of.
The following users thanked this post: Steffo1

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2019, 12:20:12 PM »
We have an early  hilux at work [ Golf course area ] with a hydraulic tipper unit, apart from the usual weep / leaks from the ram / hoses due to age etc it seemed to work fine ...Bit of wear in the pivot pins etc,  usual rattles and movement in the ally  tray..
A bit of work and expense that you would have to balance with how often you actualy would use it,  for it to be worth doing ..
Another option for the odd part time use instead of going the expence / weight of a Hydraulic unit,  might be to fit a bull bag exhaust type lift unit though it could be a bit slower to lift ..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JVkbl0QWs_s
« Last Edit: July 07, 2019, 12:23:27 PM by edz »

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2019, 12:36:01 PM »
Yea, thanks, Edz. You raise a valid point.
After some time spent on the 'puter this a.m., the "Expense vs Benefits" is quite off putting.

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2019, 01:47:48 PM »
Hey Steve.

The start of your project starts with these for your Yoda  >:D

« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2019, 01:51:57 PM »
Can be fun having a tipper though, pulling up at a set of lights with traffic lined up and having  lifted the tray a couple of inches as you do, then dropping it quick so that it makes a loud crash / thump from the ally tray.. Heads spin round looking for who's just had a crash ....Nobodies moving and you just sit there with a smile all innocent like...  But Ive never done that, just lightens up the day a bit .  ;D
Another idea that could be done DIY cheap safe and easy / could also be fitted / removed as needed if need be .
« Last Edit: July 07, 2019, 02:25:17 PM by edz »

« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2019, 02:52:59 PM »
Hey Steve.

The start of your project starts with these for your Yoda  >:D

C'mon Mark, you know you want it!

Offline sparksy

« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2019, 11:06:54 AM »
We modified a tray on a old chevy Luv to tip.
Used a exhaust air bag to do the lifting.

« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2019, 12:07:51 PM »
Hi Steve, My mate Dave has a holden ute for his lawn care and tree trimming business, he just bought a small side and back tipping 2ton truck he loves it its halfed his work load and sold the ute, so would great on the farm a tripping 4wd, You can buy brand new 5 stage rams and sets up, but have no Idea of costs, maybe even get one to run off where the pto winch hooks up to the tojo, 

« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2019, 12:17:51 PM »
budget?

« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2019, 01:29:01 PM »
budget?

Also known as "Minister of Finance" and my major hurdle. I've sorted through a few things and reckon I can DIY for around $1500. An issue I didn't consider was the warping/twisting of the ally tray under load, during raising. Apparently extra bracing is recommended.

I wouldn't mind this for the ride on etc. ;D
https://youtu.be/XHOeuULTiCE
« Last Edit: July 08, 2019, 01:31:57 PM by Steffo1 »

Offline simmo_33

« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2019, 11:42:36 PM »
As sparsky said, exhaust tipper. A lot simpler than setting up hydraulics & lighter in weight as well.

https://youtu.be/JVkbl0QWs_s
The following users thanked this post: Steffo1