Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1759040 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #2700 on: February 21, 2016, 07:07:46 AM »
he's actually yet another Roach that's moved up here.

The only person that made any sense in any of that conversation.  :cheers: Mal.  ;D ;D

« Reply #2701 on: February 21, 2016, 08:18:29 AM »
he's actually yet another Roach that's moved up here.
Even worse...........a defector .

8)

« Reply #2702 on: February 21, 2016, 09:19:50 AM »
Technically beside the garage. Metal side fence was dropping in one spot, so the neighbour and I jacked it up, dug out the post and 'reinforced' both sides of the footing with some left over retaining wall blocks. Another non-4wd use for a hi-lift jack.

Offline slydar

« Reply #2703 on: February 21, 2016, 12:28:56 PM »
put a new vinyl cover on the camper - I lost the argument to keep a tarp over the original one and the sun turned it to cloth covered in crumbling plastic

now to back it down into the yard and drag the boat out to give the outboard a run...

« Reply #2704 on: February 21, 2016, 01:18:10 PM »
Another non-4wd use for a hi-lift jack.

I've never used mine for 4wd use. done a lot of work though, real handy when I changed out the gas struts on the Camper Bed Base.

« Reply #2705 on: February 21, 2016, 02:07:00 PM »
The alternator on the Patrol has been charging fine, but at 16+ years and 285000km, I thought I should have a look-see.

Good timing. One retaining bolt was missing, and the bearings are very dry. Still plenty of life left in the brushes.

I've removed the old bearings, and will get a new pair tomorrow.

Once back together it should be good for another 16 years and plenty of k's. :cup: :cup:

Then again, I might just keep it as a spare.......

« Reply #2706 on: February 21, 2016, 05:47:58 PM »
Mounted up cupboard doors and drawer faces in bbq area today.
Stainless steel cut  and ready to go, bits in picture are inside faces just chucked in to see what they will look like.
Some stainless t bar handles and a few coats of danish oil to bring the colour out, they should come up a treat.

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #2707 on: February 21, 2016, 05:58:01 PM »
Looking good bloke. 👍

How have you made the frame for the cabinets?

2003 V8 Sahara
2010 Lifestyle Extenda Elite
Great haircut

« Reply #2708 on: February 21, 2016, 06:08:02 PM »
Had some 3 x 2 treated pine from an old patio I pulled down when I did the extension. It was well seasoned and straight so I made the frame and clad it with water proof cement sheeting, and acrylic rendered it to match the house. Picked up some black granite cheap for the top and cut it to suit.
Boxed in each compartment and made drawers with water resistant MDF. Thats the white stuff on drawer faces.
Getting there bit by bit!

« Reply #2709 on: February 21, 2016, 06:11:33 PM »
That looks great Glen. Makes me want to pop over. Well done!

« Reply #2710 on: February 21, 2016, 06:40:07 PM »
Hey Glen, looks great mate. :cup:
I'll make sure Jen doesn't see that or it'll be "Hey I'd like you to do that too please"

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #2711 on: February 21, 2016, 07:14:52 PM »
Had some 3 x 2 treated pine from an old patio I pulled down when I did the extension. It was well seasoned and straight so I made the frame and clad it with water proof cement sheeting, and acrylic rendered it to match the house. Picked up some black granite cheap for the top and cut it to suit.
Boxed in each compartment and made drawers with water resistant MDF. Thats the white stuff on drawer faces.
Getting there bit by bit!

Cool. Much easier than the in situ concrete I thought I might have been looking at.😊

2003 V8 Sahara
Great haircut

Offline Raym

« Reply #2712 on: February 21, 2016, 07:44:50 PM »
Looks good Glen. Once you get the oil on those natural edges will be well worth the effort.

Ray

Offline Raym

« Reply #2713 on: February 21, 2016, 07:57:32 PM »
Preparing some timber to demonstrate rocking horse carving next weekend at the Have a go festival Cobb + Co Museum. Not an experienced carver so should be interesting will carving using only hand tools but I recon I will be that nervous my hands will shake that much it will look like I am using an electric carving tool  ;D.

For the head I have prepared some jacaranda & right in line with murphy's law there are some narly bits right in the middle of the face area.

Added photos of prepared stuff, finished horse & 1 ready to finish.

As I work there better throw in some shameless touting

http://www.cobbandco.qm.qld.gov.au/Events+and+Exhibitions/Events/2016/02/Have+A+Go+Festival#.Vr8FMMtunIU

Ray

Survived the weekend & did not have to do much carving as I spent a lot of time talking.

Had a lot of those make you smile moments when asked what timber the marine ply laminated was made of, my standard answer was it come from the Mexican stripy tree and people thought I was fair dinkum until I came clean with the truth  ;D

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #2714 on: February 22, 2016, 08:00:21 AM »
PMSL, "Mexican stripey tree". 👍👍

2003 V8 Sahara
Great haircut

« Reply #2715 on: February 22, 2016, 01:07:29 PM »
Playing around with a Raspberry Pi set up as a music streamer. Less than $150.00 for the computer plus a Digital to Audio Converter. So far running it on Kodi, and you can watch movies or watch catchup TV plus heaps of other channels and streaming music if you're into that as well.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #2716 on: February 22, 2016, 06:39:40 PM »
Playing around with a Raspberry Pi set up as a music streamer. Less than $150.00 for the computer plus a Digital to Audio Converter. So far running it on Kodi, and you can watch movies or watch catchup TV plus heaps of other channels and streaming music if you're into that as well.

Been meaning to get a Pi after modding hundreds of xboxes with XBMC and media centers.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #2717 on: February 22, 2016, 06:43:33 PM »
While cleaning up my shed to make room for my bike for servicing i put one foot on a cheap arse work horse thing and my foot went thru it, felt the pain instantly and was clutching my thigh expecting to see blood running down. Limped inside for the wife to have a look and i had managed to put a 6 " long gash in the back of my thigh, luckily not deep enough for stitches but enough to slow me down for the rest of the day.
 Otherwise shed is nice and clean now .
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan

« Reply #2718 on: February 22, 2016, 07:29:22 PM »
My shed clean up today was a bit less painful thankfully.
The before photo was not possible.
But here is the After pics.
Made a shelf to put camping gear and other junk on above the bikes etc.

« Reply #2719 on: February 23, 2016, 08:52:37 AM »
Been meaning to get a Pi after modding hundreds of xboxes with XBMC and media centers.
Yeah, that's why I got the Pi. The old Xboxes I normally used to listen to my music are on the way out. Not only that, but the file naming format doesn't allow for easy file transfer to the Xbox. They have served me well over the years though, and the DAC in the old Xboxes seemed to put out a decent sound.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #2720 on: February 23, 2016, 11:03:28 AM »
I still use a Halo limited edition xbox as our main media player, modded and fitted with a 2tb hdd.
  Holds all our music and our video files and has over 5000 classic arcade games that are played thru Coinops.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #2721 on: February 24, 2016, 01:01:46 PM »
Updated the power system in our Camp/O/Matic.
When purchased it had two 60AH deep cycle batteries in an aluminium toolbox on the drawbar. On our first trip away, this setup wasn't sufficient to drive our Waeco 50lt (configured as a fridge) and Engel 21lt (configured as a freezer) for any more than 8-9 hours. I have to admit that it was cloudy, so the solar panels weren't contributing very much.
We purchased two 165AH AGM deep cycle batteries. They are too big to fit in the toolbox, and too heavy (47kg ea) to have on the drawbar. We decided to sacrifice some of the under bed storage and install them where they would have an almost neutral weight, ie over the axle. Re-routing the wiring was a major pain as it runs through various box sections that make up the chassis. I mounted the solar controller at the end of the bed, where it is a lot more visible than its previous position in the toolbox. Also added a Ctek MXS25 and wired that up permanently to the batteries, and utilised one of the internal 240v outlets. Only part of the job I am not 100% happy with is where I had to put the Anderson plug for the solar array. It used to sit on the outside of the toolbox. It now sits on the outside of the camper body. Added a master switch inside for the trailers 12v systems.
1. I forgot to take before photos, so just mocked the old batteries up to show the basic configure as it was.
2. About 3/4 the way through the job.
3. The solar controller.
4. The finished job with everything but the under bed draw in place
5. 12v master switch

We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #2722 on: February 24, 2016, 05:04:03 PM »
Carefuly manhandled, dragged the law ornament camper build project  [ Tha Tinnie .. Jayco Finch style ]  from its resting place of two years beside the hedge out onto the driveway and into the shed, good thing the bloody thing is reasonably light weight [ gotta be real careful of ripping open my hernia repairs ], Two new 6 stud Hubs in place of the old 5 stud ones,  pack the bearings and fit up the Gal rims and new tires and button up the springs and axle mounts over a few hours in the early morning cool ...

« Reply #2723 on: February 25, 2016, 08:45:57 AM »
I still use a Halo limited edition xbox as our main media player, modded and fitted with a 2tb hdd.
  Holds all our music and our video files and has over 5000 classic arcade games that are played thru Coinops.

Running my Pi headless using Runeaudio player and controlled by either my laptop, android tablet or phone from whatever location in the house I'm in  ;D....

« Reply #2724 on: February 25, 2016, 09:07:37 AM »
Running my Pi headless using Runeaudio player and controlled by either my laptop, android tablet or phone from whatever location in the house I'm in  ;D ....
Nice one.
I store all my music & video on a Unraid NAS and use either my Oppo BD-105D or my Sonos Connect to play. The Oppo has much better DAC's but moot point to my 60yo ears