Author Topic: Storm watch Brisbane  (Read 61677 times)

Re: Storm watch Brisbane
« Reply #100 on: December 03, 2016, 05:58:45 PM »
we only got 16.5mm from that storm, round 2 hopefully will bring abit more. Storm chasers out back of Beaudesert have video footage of a tornado that formed out there.... Here's a few pics i snapped down the road from home before ithe storm hit

Wow!!!
That's impressive, great shots mate.

Here's hope if we get some rain out of it up here. Looking promising so far.

Offline DarWen

« Reply #101 on: December 03, 2016, 06:09:48 PM »
Looks Like Archerfield airport Rumpig.

« Reply #102 on: December 03, 2016, 06:10:52 PM »
SFA here......

Sent from a not-so-smart phone

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #103 on: December 03, 2016, 07:12:02 PM »
Just got two good lots of rain! All over now except for the wind an lightening show!!

« Reply #104 on: December 03, 2016, 08:18:06 PM »
It stayed on top of the range. Actually the storms on both days stayed west of Maleny.

We're right below the range road up to Maleny and got a few drops on Wednesday.
We got bugger all from the big storm yesterday afternoon, but a second smaller one pushed through just on dark that we got a good drop of rain out of.

It always does when coming from the SW. It hits the hill, stays there, then the remnants go north of Mooloolaba and Caloundra area and further south. We get the dribbly bits.

It's when it comes from the SE that we cop it, same as those bastard winds. Remember a few years ago we copped 375mm in 3 hours. That sucked ;D That was when the opposite happened. South of Calounda got nothing, north of Maroochy River nothing,  it all funneled our way ;D

In saying that, we just got a reasonable soaking. No storm though.

Al

« Reply #105 on: December 03, 2016, 08:48:18 PM »
Got some good rain out at Marburg, the storm rolling over us was impressive too, like a wave crashing.

« Reply #106 on: December 03, 2016, 09:02:52 PM »
The light show looking out from our restaurant over the river at Cotton tree has been great tonight. Not much rain in it though.

Offline Streetkid

« Reply #107 on: December 03, 2016, 09:49:12 PM »
We did well out of it, the grass is nice and squelchey, so we have got a good soaking.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2016, 09:51:23 PM by Streetkid »
Happy Customline owner

« Reply #108 on: December 04, 2016, 05:29:14 AM »
Wow!!!
That's impressive, great shots mate.

Here's hope if we get some rain out of it up here. Looking promising so far.
cheers mate...we ended up with a touch over 22mm from both the storms yesterday. Plenty of places got heaps more, but that's the best rain we'be had here in ages...we've missed all the good rain others have been getting
Looks Like Archerfield airport Rumpig.

yep, that it is

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #109 on: December 04, 2016, 01:42:32 PM »
Just got home from a Xmas party in Stanthorpe and found the storm that went through Brightview must have packed a real punch! Not much rain, but evidence of strong winds.
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #110 on: December 04, 2016, 01:54:22 PM »
I copped it last night.

I've got two trees down, not huge ones but 8 or 9 metres high. One spilt down the middle and half of it is leaning up against the verandah.
They're too big for me to cut so tree guy will be here in the morning. Hopefully we are out of the path tonight.

Awesome lightening, nice rain, but the wind was screaming.

« Reply #111 on: December 04, 2016, 02:14:50 PM »
My mate that toured Tassie with us lives out back of Greenbank, his kids 3 week old trampoline ended up wrapped over their fence. I had to laugh, cause I ratchet strapped our kids one down to the fence and their cubby house yesterday before the storm hit

« Reply #112 on: December 04, 2016, 02:31:10 PM »
Here it comes for today

Offline Fathom

« Reply #113 on: December 05, 2016, 05:16:36 AM »
We got a bit of rain and wind on Saturday night.

Pics are dam before and after rain, then the branches and crap I picked up post storm, Sunday.
Always give 100%... Unless you are giving blood.. then it may not go so well...

« Reply #114 on: December 06, 2016, 12:05:55 PM »
Still not enough to float ya boat though.

« Reply #115 on: December 06, 2016, 12:08:15 PM »
Happy with this morning's effort, tanks at 50%.

« Reply #116 on: December 06, 2016, 12:23:17 PM »
Don't take much to float his boat.

Offline Fathom

Storm watch Brisbane
« Reply #117 on: December 06, 2016, 12:30:58 PM »

Another good downpour like the last and it should be.

Offline Fathom

Storm watch Brisbane
« Reply #118 on: December 06, 2016, 12:32:38 PM »
Don't take much to float his boat.

It's not a boat. It's a strange shaped dog water bowl.

And... before you concern yourself with how I float my boat.. I would remind you...
I don't need a shovel to dig a hole.
That handle is good wood. Or so I hear.

** edited purely to further entertain myself. 
« Last Edit: December 06, 2016, 12:52:39 PM by Fathom »

« Reply #119 on: December 06, 2016, 03:24:20 PM »
A redheads matchstick likeness, is not GOOD WOOD.

Offline Fathom

« Reply #120 on: December 06, 2016, 04:17:30 PM »
A redheads matchstick likeness, is not GOOD WOOD.
Ewes must have littler digging implements Father northerer.

« Reply #121 on: December 06, 2016, 04:22:15 PM »
Ewes must have littler digging implements Father northerer.

Doon't let KingBully see ya speiling.  ;D

And yes, my good man, some of us do have small digging implements.
They say you can tell by the size of their car, little Richard, big car........ My cars friggin huge.  ;D  :-[  :-[

Offline Fathom

Storm watch Brisbane
« Reply #122 on: December 06, 2016, 04:26:35 PM »
They say you can tell by the size of their car, little Richard, big car........ My cars friggin huge.  ;D  :-[  :-[

Oh. I wondered why my Patrol doesn't fit in the garage or any carparks.
Now it makes sense. 
Perhaps we shouldn't analyse why it's blue...

Ps. I thought my spelling was excrement. 

« Reply #123 on: December 06, 2016, 06:11:12 PM »
Doon't let KingBully see ya speiling.  ;D

Didn't correct your spelling, I corrected your grammar.  Gees, don't you know nuthing?

Storm watch Brisbane
« Reply #124 on: December 06, 2016, 06:12:37 PM »
It's ok KB. He will get their in the end

PS. Fathom won't

« Last Edit: December 06, 2016, 07:09:58 PM by oldmate »