General => General Discussion => Topic started by: edz on November 08, 2016, 03:19:06 PM

Title: Storm watch Brisbane
Post by: edz on November 08, 2016, 03:19:06 PM
Heads up those out Ipswich  towards Brisbane way looks like a roughy  of a Storm inbound http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR663.loop.shtml (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR663.loop.shtml)
Title: Re: Storm watch Brisbane
Post by: KingBilly on November 08, 2016, 03:36:29 PM
Yikes, some black bits in that.  Stay safe Brisvegas and surrounds

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 08, 2016, 03:49:32 PM
Its gone straight over our place out there.

Post by: KingBilly on November 08, 2016, 03:52:24 PM
Its gone straight over our place out there.

What place  ;D

No, seriously, hope everything is OK

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 08, 2016, 04:21:28 PM
Its insured......
Post by: Beepa on November 08, 2016, 04:35:20 PM
It can't be too big, phone hasn't rang yet.
Post by: Spada on November 08, 2016, 04:47:53 PM
been and gone at Greenbank.........not a bloody drop  :'(

Come on, give me some bloody rain will ya................
Post by: Rumpig on November 08, 2016, 04:48:45 PM
Western suburbs / Ipswich copped some decent hail (have seen pics of 5cm big hail), thankfully the sea breeze killed it off before reaching my place and much of Brisbane. It got close to home though.....

(http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk237/qld-bundy-drinker/Storms/FullSizeRender_zpsapth60oz.jpg) (http://s281.photobucket.com/user/qld-bundy-drinker/media/Storms/FullSizeRender_zpsapth60oz.jpg.html)
Post by: aussie9 on November 08, 2016, 04:55:20 PM
Just a few spits at Fernvale & Lowood.      So far anyway

Post by: Rob Mac on November 08, 2016, 05:16:10 PM
Yea I drove into it through Bundama about 3.15 fair bit of hail, was pretty loud on roof of cruiser,( not much insulation there((((), cant see any dents. got a 203 Mb dash cam clip but think that is too big to put on here, ;plus I do not know how to. and cannot get windows movie maker to work to reduce size.
Post by: Swannie on November 08, 2016, 06:25:45 PM
Ohhh I can see some $$$$ 😂
Post by: Rob Mac on November 08, 2016, 08:32:43 PM
Ohhh I can see some $$$$ 😂
yes as I was passing Boetchers and Llewelyns I was thinking ""HAIL SALE""he he
Post by: Prydey on November 09, 2016, 04:38:13 AM

Come on, give me some bloody rain will ya................

My folks live at Greenbank.  They reckon for the most part it should be renamed brownbank!
Post by: bmwfreak on November 09, 2016, 05:13:30 AM
We got 41mm with a bit of hail thrown in at Brightview, in the Lockyer Valley, in just over an hour (http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161108/ea1a76b0924e6908e64de4dd715c9641.jpg)

Post by: Rumpig on November 09, 2016, 06:07:51 AM
Out of the 2 storms that hit Brisbane yesterday, we got about 20 spits of rain total. Will see what the rest of this week brings as some rain would be nice, they are forecasting more storms the arvo and through the weekend.
Post by: Fizzie on November 09, 2016, 08:02:53 AM

Greenbank hey?

I keep seeing the comments on South Brisbane Storms about Greenbank not getting a drop & just realised it must be your fault.

You got one of Jeeper's anti-rain shields when he had them on offer, didn't you?  :D

Actually, it's really Army's doing - they've always had one of those shields positioned over Greenbank Range, to ensure that it's always a hot, dry, dusty !@#$ of a place, regardless of what the weather may be 5k away  :'(
Post by: Bird on November 09, 2016, 08:05:33 AM
looks like a lovely day to me.. :(
Post by: Spada on November 09, 2016, 08:10:02 AM
Greenbank hey?

I keep seeing the comments on South Brisbane Storms about Greenbank not getting a drop & just realised it must be your fault.

You got one of Jeeper's anti-rain shields when he had them on offer, didn't you?  :D

Actually, it's really Army's doing - they've always had one of those shields positioned over Greenbank Range, to ensure that it's always a hot, dry, dusty !@#$ of a place, regardless of what the weather may be 5k away  :'(

I blame the council, it's all their fault........

used to be lush and green until they amalgamated us with Bogan Logan City  ;D
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 09, 2016, 08:42:00 AM
looks like a lovely day to me.. :(

It's SE Qld, always is  ;D

(It's just some afternoons that are a bit dicey   :-\  )
Post by: edz on November 09, 2016, 08:44:49 AM
Greenbank hey
Aint that the truth,  cant ever remember being there and it raining.  ;D
Post by: Fizzie on November 09, 2016, 09:57:51 AM
Went out there forever ago for a range practice after it had been absolutely piddling down right across SEQ all week - drove in the gate (back when you actually rode in the back of trucks  :o, not buses!  >:D) & immediately into a great cloud of dust!  >:(   :'(
Post by: Isuzumu on November 09, 2016, 10:25:17 AM
Power out in Nanango for 5 hours, the CB went out in the shed when I turned it back on blow up the auto door opener  >:(
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 09, 2016, 12:06:28 PM
Power out in Nanango for 5 hours, the CB went out in the shed when I turned it back on blow up the auto door opener  >:(

Did you miss the Bold and The Beautiful?  ;D
Post by: bmwfreak on November 09, 2016, 04:37:13 PM
Greenbank should get a drop or two today, from the look of the BOM

Post by: Streetkid on November 09, 2016, 04:40:35 PM
Yep, looks like it's headed right for us, better deploy the dome.
Post by: mcfqn on November 09, 2016, 05:07:06 PM
Haha  yeah I've been in Greenbank a few years now and that "dome" gets a workout 😀

Someone once told me all the tree clearing for development causes the dome effect. Not sure if that's true though.
Post by: Streetkid on November 09, 2016, 05:17:09 PM
Domes not working, now I have rain all over my grass
Post by: mcfqn on November 09, 2016, 05:38:55 PM
Looks like more is on the way, some red on the radar. Our tanks need it😀
Post by: Streetkid on November 09, 2016, 05:41:14 PM
40 mm so far and as usual I'm out in it cleaning out the leaf catchers
Post by: BaseCamp on November 09, 2016, 06:05:04 PM
I've got $40K worth of re-roofing going onto 2 dwellings on either the 21st Nov, or the 28th NOV...   whatever the contractor decides / reckons   grrr...    >:D

(Original roofs; circa 1920's - 1930's)...

So I'm just holding my breath that one or both of them don't get the bejeebers thumped out of them in the interim...

Blame swmbo for the stress of this actually....   Got the quotes finalised in JUL - but she says:

"Don't spend the money - hold off till we get sorted with the new bank", (long story; and fair enough, actually...).

The bank has now been finally sorted; and I've signed the re-roofing contracts - and later the same day I am on the footpath walking past one of the tenancies; (a commercial shop).

I look in and happen to notice the tenant's wife staring out the door; and just glaring at me...

So next minute I'm past the shop about 50mtrs; and I suddenly hear her call me back...

"Has (husband) spoken to you about the roof?"

"No - ... what about the roof?"      ...(as if I didn't know...)

"Well we're coming into storm season again; and there was a couple of times last year (during insane downpours) - when water was 'flooding' in"   .... (Let's not exaggerate, me thinks)...

So as I say - I only need the things to hold together for the next few weeks; and I'm home and hosed.......... ;D       :cheers:

Post by: Rumpig on November 09, 2016, 06:05:40 PM
3 storms in 2 days, and barely a drop of rain from any of them. Maybe got 20 spits of rain yesterday from the 2 storms that hit Brissy, and not a drop from this one today. Storm literally got a few hundred metres from home, could see and smell it, but didn't rain one drop here.
Post by: listo on November 09, 2016, 07:44:49 PM
Not exactly Brisbane, but there's been a fair few storms here today & yesterday, heading east. It's been patchy, some places relatively dry, some places getting a few inches.
We've not long had a flash storm spring up & drop a bit of hail a bit smaller than a marble.i hope the 2013 model triton is skillfully handcrafted in the Land of the Rising Sun by the deft hands of the infamous 7 Samurai like the 1998 one  ;D ;D ;D
If these are building for you guys in the big smoke, they should be good
Post by: Spada on November 09, 2016, 07:52:26 PM
Greenbank should get a drop or two today, from the look of the BOM

Yep.the frogs are croakin tonight   ;D

Certainly made up for what we missed yesterday.
Post by: GUEY on November 10, 2016, 10:31:22 AM
3 storms in 2 days, and barely a drop of rain from any of them. Maybe got 20 spits of rain yesterday from the 2 storms that hit Brissy, and not a drop from this one today. Storm literally got a few hundred metres from home, could see and smell it, but didn't rain one drop here.

Strange hey. Probably only 8km tops as the crow flies from your suburb and we got some good rain overnight and early this morning. Boss is in Sherwood and reckons they had good rain also.
Post by: Rumpig on November 10, 2016, 11:53:49 AM
Strange hey. Probably only 8km tops as the crow flies from your suburb and we got some good rain overnight and early this morning. Boss is in Sherwood and reckons they had good rain also.
we ended up getting some rain late last night, though not sure how much all up as my rain gauge has flat batteries currently, was just starting to fall as I went to bed about 10.30 p.m. Was some nice lightning about, so that was the 4th storm cell in 2 days for us, finally got rain out of that one.
Post by: edz on November 10, 2016, 03:50:43 PM
Well forget Brissy getting hit, We just got carpeted with a quick storm and hail here on the Tweed, Had some big hits but was all gone by the time we got out of the shopping center .. 4X4 and camper at home seems ok at this stage, maybe a couple of dings and a bathroom to swamp out [ open window ] ..
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 10, 2016, 04:07:56 PM
38 here this afternoon and no sign of rain.

Friggin hot doing a BIG hand mow first up, then onto the ride-on.
Which decided to poop its pants, so that's in the shop and hopefully on deck again tomorrow.

Had to look for a goldfish today, that the elderly client thought had run away from home.
Spent 30 minutes walking the streets yelling out "Goldie, where are you?"

Turned out the little turd was hiding under Herman Munster's wife in the pond. (Lily)

Ah, gotta love hot days.
Post by: Fizzie on November 10, 2016, 04:15:07 PM
We just got carpeted with a quick storm and hail here on the Tweed

Then you sent it up to us at Burleigh, thanks very much!  :D

Thought it was going to slide past, then at the last minute reached out & swiped us - bit of pea-size hail & 15mm of rain in about 10 minutes!, then all over again.

Dropped temp about 5* but put humidity up roughly another 1000% on top of the previous 1000%  :'(
Post by: edz on November 10, 2016, 05:17:48 PM
Thought ya grass and garden was a bit dead looking and would like a bit of a drink, We dodged the second one though only caught an edge . ;D
Post by: edz on November 10, 2016, 05:22:02 PM
38 here this afternoon and no sign of rain.

Friggin hot doing a BIG hand mow first up, then onto the ride-on.
Which decided to poop its pants, so that's in the shop and hopefully on deck again tomorrow.

Had to look for a goldfish today, that the elderly client thought had run away from home.
Spent 30 minutes walking the streets yelling out "Goldie, where are you?"

Turned out the little turd was hiding under Herman Munster's wife in the pond. (Lily)

Ah, gotta love hot days.
Hey Kev, fixed ya ride on mower problem for ya .. Borrow one of these buggies from your client / make sure its got a canopy to keep the sun of though .https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JicCdSzMQg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JicCdSzMQg)
Post by: Rumpig on November 10, 2016, 06:05:34 PM
Well forget Brissy getting hit, We just got carpeted with a quick storm and hail here on the Tweed, Had some big hits but was all gone by the time we got out of the shopping center .. 4X4 and camper at home seems ok at this stage, maybe a couple of dings and a bathroom to swamp out [ open window ] ..
was pretty much what they forecast on Weatherzone forum, no storm today in Brissy but Northern NSW to have the action and Goldy would be a chance of getting something. Saturday and Sunday they are looking at now for more action.
Post by: Bad Scott on November 10, 2016, 08:04:25 PM
Lets hope Toowoomba is nice and sunny for when this mexican rocks up Sat. for work  ;D
Post by: oldmate on November 10, 2016, 09:27:54 PM
Gates locked at the border

Post by: Pete79 on November 10, 2016, 11:31:19 PM
was pretty much what they forecast on Weatherzone forum, no storm today in Brissy but Northern NSW to have the action and Goldy would be a chance of getting something. Saturday and Sunday they are looking at now for more action.
Might be an interesting weekend camping in the border ranges for us then. :|
We've got 2 nights up the top of the Clarence River over the weekend and just been looking at the forecast. We should be just west of the higher falls, but could still be interesting. I've packed some extra tarps and ropes in case.
Post by: Rumpig on November 11, 2016, 05:52:28 AM
Might be an interesting weekend camping in the border ranges for us then. :|
We've got 2 nights up the top of the Clarence River over the weekend and just been looking at the forecast. We should be just west of the higher falls, but could still be interesting. I've packed some extra tarps and ropes in case.
you may be ok, they are starting to say Saturday doesn't look good for storms now, and Sunday is not looking great in some forecast models either....time will tell though.
Post by: Pete79 on November 11, 2016, 06:57:49 AM
Yeah latest model is only saying a couple of mm on Saturday and we should be west of the showers on Sunday.

I hope we get something on the Sunny Coast over the weekend. We've got about 4 or 5 days of water in our tanks. I think even if we do get a storm or two I doubt it will be enough and we'll have to get a truck load next week to get us through this dry spell. We've only had about 8mm all up in the last month or so.
Post by: Bad Scott on November 13, 2016, 06:46:39 AM
Gates locked at the border

You call them gates. We call them speed humps

Post by: Pete79 on November 14, 2016, 06:54:07 AM
We copped 3 good storms while camping over the weekend.
The worst one hit as we where out exploring some tracks, we where about 1/3 the way through a 3km long steep and rocky hill climb when it really fired up.
Within 5 minutes we where driving up water falls with lighting strikes all around us.

Then we drove through that big one that pushed through north of Brissy around 3:30-4 o'clock. I feel sorry for anyone that was sitting in that car park heading south yesterday afternoon. All lanes going nowhere from North Lakes to pretty much Caloundra.

After all that we got home and had just enough time to get the trailer in the shed when this strong little bugger formed right over our place and smashed Dickies/Caloundra.
http://sunshinecoastdaily.com.au/news/threat-severe-thunderstorm-looms/3111236/ (http://sunshinecoastdaily.com.au/news/threat-severe-thunderstorm-looms/3111236/)
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 14, 2016, 07:28:39 AM
We copped the very edge of that one. The park 100m away lost half a dozen big trees. Some neighbours lost trampolines, others gained them  ;D
Two doors down lost a carport.

We got wet, real wet, as every fkn window in the house was wide open  >:(
Post by: Rumpig on November 14, 2016, 11:33:04 AM
We didn't get a drop on the Southside...happy to miss out on another destructive storm, especially one that packed category 2 cyclonic winds.
Post by: Pete79 on November 30, 2016, 03:06:41 PM
Hold on to your hats boys.... Here she comes.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161130/ba2f7c0274f47b9f3e15c655f96b4bfc.png)
Post by: Green rv on November 30, 2016, 03:54:27 PM
i can hear it
i can smell it in the distance
i can feel the temp drop
still haven't got any rain (yet)
@ clontarf
Post by: GBC on November 30, 2016, 03:58:06 PM
Hail here at camp hill. Pretty well behaved though. Watching closely what it does to the tarped hangars at the airport.
Post by: bmwfreak on November 30, 2016, 04:07:18 PM
Hail here at camp hill. Pretty well behaved though. Watching closely what it does to the tarped hangars at the airport.
The main cell missed the Lockyer Valley, but we are getting a nice bit of steady rainfall

Post by: Rumpig on November 30, 2016, 04:22:28 PM
Not much in it for us, 9.4mm of rain and some pea sized hail was all.
Post by: StrvnMrvn on November 30, 2016, 04:24:03 PM
Nothing yet here! Need the tank filled though!
Post by: Hoyks on November 30, 2016, 04:40:55 PM
Hardly a drop at Marburg >:(

I cleaned the gutters in preparation and everything :'(
Post by: Pete79 on November 30, 2016, 04:44:43 PM
Nothing yet here! Need the tank filled though!

Just paid for a truck load of water for my tanks literally 20 minutes before I posted the radar pic above.
We lasted 3 weeks longer then I expected, but the pump didn't like sucking air this morning....  :'(

Still hoping that blob out near Somerset keeps pushing in the same direction, even though I just bought drinking water at least the gardens will get a long over due drink...
Post by: StrvnMrvn on November 30, 2016, 04:51:35 PM
Just paid for a truck load of water for my tanks literally 20 minutes before I posted the radar pic above.
We lasted 3 weeks longer then I expected, but the pump didn't like sucking air this morning....  :'(

Still hoping that blob out near Somerset keeps pushing in the same direction, even though I just bought drinking water at least the gardens will get a long over due drink...

Mate, looks like your in for a good drenching!!
Post by: Rumpig on November 30, 2016, 06:41:30 PM
quick phone pic i took on the commute home this arvo around 3.30 p.m
(http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk237/qld-bundy-drinker/Storms/image_zpsptbdar99.jpeg) (http://s281.photobucket.com/user/qld-bundy-drinker/media/Storms/image_zpsptbdar99.jpeg.html)
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 30, 2016, 09:34:34 PM
16 drops at Kawana  ::)

But no doubt we'll get a smashin at some stage this season. Summer starts tomorrow ;D
Post by: DaveR on December 01, 2016, 07:16:00 AM
We're all good here near movie world.
Once again Mt Tamborine has blocked us from getting anything.....
For days we've watched it go past in baking sunlight. Did get a light sprinkle yesterday. It does make for a spectacle to watch go by.
Post by: Fizzie on December 01, 2016, 07:23:02 AM
For days we've watched it go past in baking sunlight. Did get a light sprinkle yesterday. It does make for a spectacle to watch go by.

Same, same for us at Burleigh. 4 days straight we've watched it build up over Springbrook, start heading directly for us, then veer off & head North, while we haven't got a drop. Yesterday arvo we got a few minutes of gentle showers for the grand total of just on 1mm!!!  :'(
Post by: Streetkid on December 01, 2016, 07:46:06 AM
The most damaging storm to hit my place at greenbank in the nearly eight years I've been here, trees down with lots of big branches torn off others and just Shit everywhere. We normally get a pretty easy run from storms from the south west because of the hills nearby but this one just steamrolled through.
Post by: GUEY on December 01, 2016, 07:49:53 AM
Was a bit of a strange one. Thought we were going to get hammered, but then fizzled with some wind, bit of rain and small hail.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161130/5f77cbd480e945caa89134111ac17443.jpg)
Post by: Chappie on December 01, 2016, 08:02:40 AM
Browns Plains is in the foreground. Greenbank had 55mm and only a little hail at Parkinson. 
Post by: Spada on December 01, 2016, 10:38:53 AM
The most damaging storm to hit my place at greenbank in the nearly eight years I've been here, trees down with lots of big branches torn off others and just Shit everywhere. We normally get a pretty easy run from storms from the south west because of the hills nearby but this one just steamrolled through.

It was a good one alright......4 decent gum trees down in our street.

I was at the mower shop in Jimboomba about 2.30 when I heard the thunder. High tailed home to Greenbank, but the storm beat me. Every window in the house was open. Spent the next 3 hours mopping up the carpet with towels and sheets  :'(
Post by: Fathom on December 01, 2016, 10:48:12 AM
It was bucketing down when I left the city yesterday afternoon.  But typically once I got home. Hardly a drop.

I'd love for it to bucket down here.

Despite missing the rain. We apparently got the noise... bloody dog had pulled off the back screen door.
It was bent at almost 90 degrees.
Post by: Rumpig on December 01, 2016, 11:45:21 AM
It was a good one alright......4 decent gum trees down in our street.

I was at the mower shop in Jimboomba about 2.30 when I heard the thunder. High tailed home to Greenbank, but the storm beat me. Every window in the house was open. Spent the next 3 hours mopping up the carpet with towels and sheets  :'(
probably be a good idea to hire a few dehumidifier's to dry out under the carpet properly
Post by: StrvnMrvn on December 01, 2016, 02:18:10 PM
Few more big clouds comming............. Maybe there will be some water in the tank!!??

http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR664.loop.shtml#skip (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR664.loop.shtml#skip)
Post by: Pete79 on December 01, 2016, 02:33:08 PM
They've got a warning out for it already too.
http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDQ20038.html (http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDQ20038.html)

Hopefully we have more luck today.
Yesterday's one got within about 10km of our place and pushed straight north, we got bugger all out of it.
Post by: tryagain on December 01, 2016, 02:54:24 PM
We're all good here near movie world.
Once again Mt Tamborine has blocked us from getting anything.....

I live in the same neck of the woods, the amount of times it looks a dead set certainty for a soaking just to fizzle out and go around is ridiculous.
Post by: Pete79 on December 01, 2016, 04:04:22 PM
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161201/abe62e8f0af0b708434e31c738ab8058.png)
Post by: gnomeo on December 01, 2016, 04:22:39 PM
Sitting here on Bribie, I hope we have missed the worst of it. Just a few spits but lots of noise and a light show
Post by: bmwfreak on December 01, 2016, 04:33:36 PM
Lockyer valley (Brightview, specifically) good light show, reasonable sound, rain and some hail, mainly pea size, but some up to golf ball.

Post by: Rumpig on December 01, 2016, 05:34:35 PM
 Couple of spits of rain at best is all we got today
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 01, 2016, 05:43:00 PM
we gotta cell heading straight for us at the moment.
Post by: Bad Scott on December 01, 2016, 05:55:40 PM
Got nothing at Toowoomba or Clifton

Post by: bmwfreak on December 01, 2016, 05:57:11 PM
9mm and now clear skies

Post by: Rumpig on December 01, 2016, 06:17:20 PM
Just seen pics of the tennis ball sized hail that hit Kandanga (South of Gympie) this arvo
Post by: Nomad on December 01, 2016, 06:34:10 PM
Just seen pics of the tennis ball sized hail that hit Kandanga (South of Gympie) this arvo

JUst talking to a bloke at Madills Toyota in Gympie........over 50 cars hail damaged.............no cruisers though.
Post by: DaveR on December 01, 2016, 06:51:28 PM
Same, same for us at Burleigh. 4 days straight we've watched it build up over Springbrook, start heading directly for us, then veer off & head North, while we haven't got a drop. Yesterday arvo we got a few minutes of gentle showers for the grand total of just on 1mm!!!  :'(

I'm thinking you got hammered this arvo
Post by: edz on December 01, 2016, 07:06:13 PM
50+ mm Hail out Kyogle way this arvo going by the reports.. Looks like the Border Ranges saved our bums again, Only caught a little bit of a  light shower off the edge as it swung towards the Gold Coast .
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 02, 2016, 06:37:37 AM
JUst talking to a bloke at Madills Toyota in Gympie........over 50 cars hail damaged.............no cruisers though.

How did Noosa go? Looked like it was going to plough straight through Noosa area.

Shane
Post by: MarkVS on December 02, 2016, 06:44:38 AM
We are at Coolum and missed it..just rain and wind.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 02, 2016, 07:14:09 AM

This one?

Post by: Fizzie on December 02, 2016, 07:30:14 AM
I'm thinking you got hammered this arvo

Yeah mate - straight over the top of us!

24mm in <30 mins, so not real heavy but the lawn is already greening up this morning  :D

How 'bout you - break your drought?
Post by: DaveR on December 02, 2016, 07:43:00 AM
Kind of,  5 min of drizzle.

Sent from my ZTE T83 using Tapatalk

Post by: Rumpig on December 02, 2016, 12:26:17 PM
This one?
yeah that looks like what I saw
Post by: Nomad on December 02, 2016, 06:23:37 PM
How did Noosa go? Looked like it was going to plough straight through Noosa area.

Shane

Got nothing except drizzle....some good lightening but.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 02, 2016, 07:48:44 PM
Got nothing except drizzle....some good lightening but.

We didn't get anything either really at Kawana. Seems the hinterland copped it though.
Post by: DaveR on December 02, 2016, 07:56:42 PM
I just watched a small storm roll over GC south coast, from my BBQ with nothin but stars above.. ....

Sent from my ZTE T83 using Tapatalk

Post by: Pete79 on December 02, 2016, 09:11:57 PM
We didn't get anything either really at Kawana. Seems the hinterland copped it though.

It stayed on top of the range. Actually the storms on both days stayed west of Maleny.

We're right below the range road up to Maleny and got a few drops on Wednesday.
We got bugger all from the big storm yesterday afternoon, but a second smaller one pushed through just on dark that we got a good drop of rain out of.
Post by: Streetkid on December 03, 2016, 04:00:27 PM
Here it comes again, could be nasty if it gets ya.
Post by: archer63 on December 03, 2016, 05:11:28 PM
Looking ominous here at the bayside
Post by: Bird on December 03, 2016, 05:14:36 PM
47 in Birdsville yesterday... LOL
Post by: StrvnMrvn on December 03, 2016, 05:18:02 PM
Definitely going to cop it here at Strathpine!!
Post by: Spada on December 03, 2016, 05:22:15 PM
spent 5 hours this morning picking up broken branches and shovelling the driveway back to where it belongs....

Nother bloody storm has just covered the yard in branches again, and the driveway is washed away again  :'(

Not as bad as Wednesdays storm, but I see on the BOM there is another one to back it up in about an hour ?
Post by: Streetkid on December 03, 2016, 05:24:38 PM
30 odd mill in the gauge, no damage this time round, looked worse on bom.
Post by: Rumpig on December 03, 2016, 05:50:44 PM
we only got 16.5mm from that storm, round 2 hopefully will bring abit more. Storm chasers out back of Beaudesert have video footage of a tornado that formed out there.... Here's a few pics i snapped down the road from home before ithe storm hit

(http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk237/qld-bundy-drinker/Storms/FullSizeRender.jpg6_zps448oneso.jpg) (http://s281.photobucket.com/user/qld-bundy-drinker/media/Storms/FullSizeRender.jpg6_zps448oneso.jpg.html)

(http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk237/qld-bundy-drinker/Storms/tn_IMG_4641_zpsgcsmmdgg.jpg) (http://s281.photobucket.com/user/qld-bundy-drinker/media/Storms/tn_IMG_4641_zpsgcsmmdgg.jpg.html)
Post by: Pete79 on December 03, 2016, 05:58:45 PM
we only got 16.5mm from that storm, round 2 hopefully will bring abit more. Storm chasers out back of Beaudesert have video footage of a tornado that formed out there.... Here's a few pics i snapped down the road from home before ithe storm hit

(http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk237/qld-bundy-drinker/Storms/FullSizeRender.jpg6_zps448oneso.jpg) (http://s281.photobucket.com/user/qld-bundy-drinker/media/Storms/FullSizeRender.jpg6_zps448oneso.jpg.html)

(http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk237/qld-bundy-drinker/Storms/tn_IMG_4641_zpsgcsmmdgg.jpg) (http://s281.photobucket.com/user/qld-bundy-drinker/media/Storms/tn_IMG_4641_zpsgcsmmdgg.jpg.html)

Wow!!!
That's impressive, great shots mate.

Here's hope if we get some rain out of it up here. Looking promising so far.
Post by: DarWen on December 03, 2016, 06:09:48 PM
Looks Like Archerfield airport Rumpig.
Post by: DaveR on December 03, 2016, 06:10:52 PM
SFA here......

Sent from a not-so-smart phone

Post by: StrvnMrvn on December 03, 2016, 07:12:02 PM
Just got two good lots of rain! All over now except for the wind an lightening show!!
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 03, 2016, 08:18:06 PM
It stayed on top of the range. Actually the storms on both days stayed west of Maleny.

We're right below the range road up to Maleny and got a few drops on Wednesday.
We got bugger all from the big storm yesterday afternoon, but a second smaller one pushed through just on dark that we got a good drop of rain out of.

It always does when coming from the SW. It hits the hill, stays there, then the remnants go north of Mooloolaba and Caloundra area and further south. We get the dribbly bits.

It's when it comes from the SE that we cop it, same as those bastard winds. Remember a few years ago we copped 375mm in 3 hours. That sucked ;D That was when the opposite happened. South of Calounda got nothing, north of Maroochy River nothing,  it all funneled our way ;D

In saying that, we just got a reasonable soaking. No storm though.

Al
Post by: Hoyks on December 03, 2016, 08:48:18 PM
Got some good rain out at Marburg, the storm rolling over us was impressive too, like a wave crashing.
Post by: Pete79 on December 03, 2016, 09:02:52 PM
The light show looking out from our restaurant over the river at Cotton tree has been great tonight. Not much rain in it though.
Post by: Streetkid on December 03, 2016, 09:49:12 PM
We did well out of it, the grass is nice and squelchey, so we have got a good soaking.
Post by: Rumpig on December 04, 2016, 05:29:14 AM
Wow!!!
That's impressive, great shots mate.

Here's hope if we get some rain out of it up here. Looking promising so far.
cheers mate...we ended up with a touch over 22mm from both the storms yesterday. Plenty of places got heaps more, but that's the best rain we'be had here in ages...we've missed all the good rain others have been getting
Looks Like Archerfield airport Rumpig.

yep, that it is
Post by: bmwfreak on December 04, 2016, 01:42:32 PM
Just got home from a Xmas party in Stanthorpe and found the storm that went through Brightview must have packed a real punch! Not much rain, but evidence of strong winds.
Post by: Nomad on December 04, 2016, 01:54:22 PM
I copped it last night.

I've got two trees down, not huge ones but 8 or 9 metres high. One spilt down the middle and half of it is leaning up against the verandah.
They're too big for me to cut so tree guy will be here in the morning. Hopefully we are out of the path tonight.

Awesome lightening, nice rain, but the wind was screaming.
Post by: Rumpig on December 04, 2016, 02:14:50 PM
My mate that toured Tassie with us lives out back of Greenbank, his kids 3 week old trampoline ended up wrapped over their fence. I had to laugh, cause I ratchet strapped our kids one down to the fence and their cubby house yesterday before the storm hit
Post by: DaveR on December 04, 2016, 02:31:10 PM
Here it comes for today

Post by: Fathom on December 05, 2016, 05:16:36 AM
We got a bit of rain and wind on Saturday night.

Pics are dam before and after rain, then the branches and crap I picked up post storm, Sunday. (http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161204/b65ed51c75f31761aae6c05b5976b5ab.jpg)
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161204/1a4a25166b9cedbaa51527abb9bef543.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161204/7576902c1c87b62d498820291a8658b6.jpg)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 06, 2016, 12:05:55 PM
Still not enough to float ya boat though.
Post by: DaveR on December 06, 2016, 12:08:15 PM
Happy with this morning's effort, tanks at 50%.

Post by: oldmate on December 06, 2016, 12:23:17 PM
Don't take much to float his boat.

Post by: Fathom on December 06, 2016, 12:30:58 PM

Another good downpour like the last and it should be.
Post by: Fathom on December 06, 2016, 12:32:38 PM
Don't take much to float his boat.

It's not a boat. It's a strange shaped dog water bowl.

And... before you concern yourself with how I float my boat.. I would remind you...
I don't need a shovel to dig a hole.
That handle is good wood. Or so I hear.

** edited purely to further entertain myself. 
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 06, 2016, 03:24:20 PM
A redheads matchstick likeness, is not GOOD WOOD.
Post by: Fathom on December 06, 2016, 04:17:30 PM
A redheads matchstick likeness, is not GOOD WOOD.
Ewes must have littler digging implements Father northerer.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 06, 2016, 04:22:15 PM
Ewes must have littler digging implements Father northerer.

Doon't let KingBully see ya speiling.  ;D

And yes, my good man, some of us do have small digging implements.
They say you can tell by the size of their car, little Richard, big car........ My cars friggin huge.  ;D  :-[  :-[
Post by: Fathom on December 06, 2016, 04:26:35 PM
They say you can tell by the size of their car, little Richard, big car........ My cars friggin huge.  ;D  :-[  :-[

Oh. I wondered why my Patrol doesn't fit in the garage or any carparks.
Now it makes sense. 
Perhaps we shouldn't analyse why it's blue...

Ps. I thought my spelling was excrement. 
Post by: KingBilly on December 06, 2016, 06:11:12 PM
Doon't let KingBully see ya speiling.  ;D

Didn't correct your spelling, I corrected your grammar.  Gees, don't you know nuthing?

Post by: oldmate on December 06, 2016, 06:12:37 PM
It's ok KB. He will get their in the end

PS. Fathom won't

Post by: scrapsD40 on December 06, 2016, 09:27:09 PM
Nice little cell heading for Tweed Heads atm.(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161206/55b3beedfe1a059e2be39d61d3984f2d.png)
Post by: edz on December 06, 2016, 09:41:56 PM
Starting to put on a show, might get a bit from it if it pops over the top of the Border Ranges, otherwise it will spin  off up the coast and we will only catch an edge .
EDIT: Well a bit of a P1ss and a fart couple of very close hits of lightning and a steady shower for five minutes and its all gone, Heads up Gold Coast its heading your way now ..
Post by: tryagain on December 06, 2016, 11:16:44 PM
Nice little cell heading for Tweed Heads atm.(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161206/55b3beedfe1a059e2be39d61d3984f2d.png)

The grass must be booming just south of the border at the moment.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 07, 2016, 04:01:42 AM
Didn't correct your spelling, I corrected your grammar.  Gees, don't you know nuthing?

So, what the friggin hell did my gramma do to you ya tosser.

I tell ya KB, if grampa was still alive, he'd zimmer around to your place and flog you like ya would a redheaded stepchild.

I see Brissie and gold coast got another dump of wet stuff again early this morning
Post by: GUEY on December 07, 2016, 04:56:48 AM
Yeah, not liking these late night/ early morning storms.
It's messing with my beauty sleep, and I need all the help I can get...
Post by: Fathom on December 07, 2016, 06:23:38 AM
I'm in Mackay at the moment.
But SWMBO says we got a good downpour at about 2am with enough Thunder and lightening for our wimpy dog to be petrified.
Post by: StrvnMrvn on December 07, 2016, 06:31:46 AM
Yeah we got a good show!! Miss 5 couldn't handle it so she came and crawled into bed with me and SWMBO. I don't think the dog will climb out from underneath the BBQ any time soon!
Post by: edz on December 07, 2016, 06:46:16 AM
Talking off grass, Reckon I'll need a 10 HP wet mower, might have to rig up the old Evinrude outboard in a trolley with a HD line trimmer head fitted instead of the prop  ;D ;D
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 07, 2016, 06:57:26 AM
It's amazing how strong some dogs get when there's thunder about. Haven't worked out if it's the fence or garden shed one of mine has moved, but it's managed to shift one of them, get out of its kennel and into the bloody house  >:(
Post by: GUEY on December 07, 2016, 07:11:42 AM
The apprentice at work was camping at Somerset on Saturday when the storm went through. Reckons a lot of carnage through the campground.
No one on here I hope.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161206/0be5f26923e635c88392490056b6dccf.jpg)
Post by: doc evil on December 07, 2016, 07:15:28 AM
not the only one...........we've got an older ridgeback cross, bloody hell even a hint of a storm and it's wanting to climb, not jump, bloody climb onto your lap, whilst you're standing. the thing paws at you trying to drag you close as it can. On medication, pheromone collars and even the old t-shirt trick don't work on her....................
Post by: Pete79 on December 07, 2016, 08:01:21 AM
It always does when coming from the SW. It hits the hill, stays there, then the remnants go north of Mooloolaba and Caloundra area and further south. We get the dribbly bits.

It's when it comes from the SE that we cop it, same as those bastard winds. Remember a few years ago we copped 375mm in 3 hours. That sucked ;D That was when the opposite happened. South of Calounda got nothing, north of Maroochy River nothing,  it all funneled our way ;D

In saying that, we just got a reasonable soaking. No storm though.

Al

How right you are there mate.

At least this mornings one came from the west (or even a little northwest) and we finally got a decent drop.
That light show was fantastic. Haven't been out to have a look yet, but there where some really close strikes before dawn.
Post by: bmwfreak on December 21, 2016, 04:39:57 PM
Luv the look of these storm cells (as long as everything valuable is under cover😁). 22mm up till this one strikes. I reckon we'll get another 25 out of it. All my tanks are overflowing (99,000 litres). Got to luv it!!!
Post by: Terry W4 on December 21, 2016, 04:43:38 PM
Unless you turn those tanks up the right way all that water will leak out.
 :laugh:
Post by: Rumpig on December 21, 2016, 04:45:44 PM
Been spitting to rain here the last half hour and that's it, nothing in this for us...rain gauge says 0.0mm
Post by: StrvnMrvn on December 21, 2016, 05:11:07 PM
Starting to get it now!
Post by: DaveR on December 22, 2016, 06:42:58 PM
A week of watching it all sail straight past here, nothin at all........  >:(
Post by: archer63 on December 22, 2016, 07:06:17 PM
Same here...don't want a bad storm....just a nice downpour ???
Post by: DaveR on January 02, 2017, 06:38:29 PM
Here it comes.
I may even get some for a change....

(https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/441/31897631472_8edbd716a1_o.jpg)
Post by: archer63 on January 02, 2017, 06:48:52 PM
You (we) would have to be very unlucky to miss out on some of that...but let's hope the tease is over.
Post by: DaveR on January 02, 2017, 06:51:23 PM
Its a big tease at the moment, it is stalled in the Numinba valley and stuck behind that dam Mt Tamborine .... AGAIN.  :-[
Post by: archer63 on January 02, 2017, 06:52:15 PM
Arrgghhhh  >:D
Post by: Rumpig on January 02, 2017, 11:27:25 PM
Brisbane CBD got 47mm in 20 minutes earlier tonight, not sure what it totalled at in the end. Rained for about 3 hours at my place, had about 70mm (gauge says 72.6mm, but a small amount would have been Xmas day rain)....surrounding suburbs got between 80 - 90mm
Post by: Bongo on January 03, 2017, 12:50:37 AM
Just finished setting out the canvas at Casino. The rain has stopped!!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 03, 2017, 03:20:38 AM
we got 1.6mm.
Post by: DaveR on January 03, 2017, 06:18:09 AM
Found we got about 4" in the pool this morning.
All tanks over flowing.
 ;D ;D
Post by: archer63 on January 03, 2017, 06:35:52 AM
25mm here
Post by: Streetkid on January 03, 2017, 07:40:22 AM
53 mm in the gauge, a pleasant surprise.
Post by: Fizzie on January 03, 2017, 09:44:13 AM
39 for us at Burleigh & still drizzling  :cup:

Their guess of <100mm for the week may just be good for a change :D
Post by: Spada on January 03, 2017, 10:06:43 AM

Their guess of <100mm for the week may just be good for a change :D

got that at Greenbank yesterday...............the grass just might go green yet
Post by: krisandkev on January 03, 2017, 10:15:08 AM
Don't complain! We are just 3 hrs north of you and did not get a drop and are in a really bad draught.  Poor cattle trying to eat dead grass.  And the stupid weather bureau telling us we are going to get good rain. Yea right.  Kevin
Post by: Bird on January 03, 2017, 11:46:34 AM
Quote from: krisandkev
And the stupid weather bureau telling us we are going to get good rain. Yea right.  Kevin
I believe they do this to keep peoples hopes up... I think it does the opposite.
Post by: krisandkev on January 03, 2017, 12:48:00 PM
I believe they do this to keep peoples hopes up... I think it does the opposite.

And each year they spend millions making them the best!  Best at what?   Kevin
Post by: Pete79 on January 03, 2017, 01:33:41 PM
Well we've managed a grand total of 13mm out of all this.
It's pretty depressing watching that rain disappear off the radar as it moves passed the northern suburbs of brissy. Then this morning seeing totals of over 100mm in Brisbane and hearing from friends on the coast and northern hinterland that they got falls over 30-40mm can be hard to swallow.
Everything is really struggling here, the grass has been dead for almost 3 months, I've had to buy water for our tanks, we had 2 gums give up the fight yesterday and drop some big branches beside the fence.

All of this is pretty depressing, but it has absolutely nothing to do with the BOM.
Or perhaps you're right, I mean those clowns have never accurately forecast a flood or a cyclone or catastrophic fire conditions or even a thunder storm have they... We should pull all of their funding right now! And while we're at it, those fools at the CSIRO have never given us anything good either, let's cut their funding and shut them down too....

Have faith mate, we will get our share of the rain soon enough. Actually I'd dare say we're only a month or so away from hearing about how there's too much water falling from the sky in some places. ;)
Post by: Rumpig on January 03, 2017, 01:58:01 PM
Don't complain! We are just 3 hrs north of you and did not get a drop and are in a really bad draught.  Poor cattle trying to eat dead grass.  And the stupid weather bureau telling us we are going to get good rain. Yea right.  Kevin
don't think anyone is complaining, pretty much everyone other then Southerners wants rain at the moment....loved getting the 70mm we got yesterday, even more so because it happened as I drove home from my camping holiday...lol

Well we've managed a grand total of 13mm out of all this.
It's pretty depressing watching that rain disappear off the radar as it moves passed the northern suburbs of brissy. Then this morning seeing totals of over 100mm in Brisbane and hearing from friends on the coast and northern hinterland that they got falls over 30-40mm can be hard to swallow.
Everything is really struggling here, the grass has been dead for almost 3 months, I've had to buy water for our tanks, we had 2 gums give up the fight yesterday and drop some big branches beside the fence.

All of this is pretty depressing, but it has absolutely nothing to do with the BOM.
Or perhaps you're right, those clowns have never accurately forecast a flood or a cyclone or catastrophic fire conditions or even a thunder storm. We should pull all of their funding right now! And while we're at it, those fools at the CSIRO have never given us anything good either, let's cut their funding and shut them down too....

Have faith mate, we will get our share of the rain soon enough. Actually I'd dare say we're only a month or so away from hearing about how there's too much water falling from the sky in some places. ;)
weatherzone forum said the Sunshine Coast was gunna miss out on yesterday's rain several days ago, the rain got further a North then was predicted as it was. The other lot of major rain supposed to hit SEQ is also gunna stay North of Fraser they said, so not looking good for Sunny Coast
Post by: Pete79 on January 03, 2017, 02:06:17 PM
weatherzone forum said the Sunshine Coast was gunna miss out on yesterday's rain several days ago, the rain got further a North then was predicted as it was. The other lot of major rain supposed to hit SEQ is also gunna stay North of Fraser they said, so not looking good for Sunny Coast

Yep, I got excited at the first model runs a bit over a week ago, but every new run after that just got worse for us.
We had 3mm over night last night and the rest was from 2 or 3 showers through the morning.
And you can see it on the radar all still sitting up off the tip of Fraser, hasn't moved for many hours.

Current obs from my high tech weather station are (wets finger and sticks it in the air);
* rain gauge - empty
* atmospheric conditions - hot and sticky  ;D
Post by: Bird on January 03, 2017, 02:10:45 PM
Quote from: krisandkev
And each year they spend millions making them the best!  Best at what?
Kevin
that just means that it goes from 3 people looking out the window - majority wins, to 5 people looking out the window.
Post by: Beachman on January 03, 2017, 02:12:07 PM
We are going Camping tomorrow so I'm going to be selfish and hope Stradbroke Island misses any predicted rain for the next 9 days. 
Post by: Pete79 on January 04, 2017, 09:37:44 AM

Are you wet yet?
Apparently there was 15-25mm in your area last night and there's a big blob on the radar heading your way right now.....
Post by: krisandkev on January 04, 2017, 11:29:30 AM
Are you wet yet?
Apparently there was 15-25mm in your area last night and there's a big blob on the radar heading your way right now.....

:'(   :'(   A few spits and that was it.   Kevin
Post by: edz on January 19, 2017, 05:28:02 PM
Heads up Kingaroy / gympie  and Tincan Bay . Got a line of roughness headed your way ..
Post by: DaveR on January 30, 2017, 07:02:26 AM
Well this morning kicked off with wonderful sunshine, then 15 mins worth of heavy rain, and that is it.
I have for years winged about everyone else getting rain but not us, well, I think the BOM found a way to shut me up for good....  ;D
Yep. I live in the red circle, we had a good dumping, followed by more sunshine.

(https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/321/32473280231_5e42f5d187_b.jpg)
Post by: doc evil on January 30, 2017, 07:19:21 AM
Well this morning kicked off with wonderful sunshine, then 15 mins worth of heavy rain, and that is it.
I have for years winged about everyone else getting rain but not us, well, I think the BOM found a way to shut me up for good....  ;D
Yep. I live in the red circle, we had a good dumping, followed by more sunshine.

(https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/321/32473280231_5e42f5d187_b.jpg)

Yep........QLD, muggy one day, even muggier the next............. ;) ;) ;) ;)
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on February 08, 2017, 06:48:54 PM
Just had a shower come through Kawana. The best we've had in 3-4 months.
About 3-4mm ::)
Post by: Pete79 on February 08, 2017, 07:15:52 PM
Just starting on the hills now. 3 or 4mm would be most welcome here.
Post by: Nomad on February 08, 2017, 07:22:10 PM

Farkkkk are you ok down there............we had at least 15 seconds of drizzle last night
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on February 08, 2017, 07:31:16 PM
Farkkkk are you ok down there............we had at least 15 seconds of drizzle last night

Yeah, well you lot bought that upon yourself.

Noooosa, 'The place formally known as the Sunshine Coast'  ;D

Post by: Nomad on February 08, 2017, 07:45:06 PM
Yep I am a farking Noosa snob  >:D
Post by: jk on February 09, 2017, 04:54:22 AM
At last.........some rain  :cup: , had a few really good showers here at 4.00am this morning. But we need a lot more to green the place up a bit !
Post by: DaveR on February 09, 2017, 05:28:59 AM
Need a lot more to get ready for Sunday, 36 and no clouds is the forcast.
Post by: Rumpig on February 09, 2017, 05:48:50 AM
Need a lot more to get ready for Sunday, 36 and no clouds is the forcast.
try 38 here in Brisbane and Western Suburbs / Ipswich is 41
Post by: DaveR on February 09, 2017, 05:56:29 AM
try 38 here in Brisbane and Western Suburbs / Ipswich is 41

Ummm? No thanks
Post by: Pete79 on February 09, 2017, 07:46:46 AM
Grand total of 6mm for the day here.

The timing of the shower in the evening was perfect, had just closed the doors on the mower shed after doing a solid 3 hours and cutting pretty much the whole yard. Hopefully it will all green up again now.

Can't believe it's February and I'm happy to get only 6mm in a day. ::)
Post by: Streetkid on February 09, 2017, 09:22:52 AM
I can't believe it's nearly the end of summer and we have had no meaningful rain other than from storms.
Post by: Fizzie on February 09, 2017, 09:26:14 AM
& was supposed to be a worse cyclone season than normal & hasn't even been a hint of one in the Coral Sea - not that we really want them!

Post by: KingBilly on February 09, 2017, 10:21:29 AM
& was supposed to be a worse cyclone season than normal & hasn't even been a hint of one in the Coral Sea - not that we really want them!

Now you've jinxed us  :-[

Post by: Pete79 on February 09, 2017, 10:55:42 AM
I can't believe it's nearly the end of summer and we have had no meaningful rain other than from storms.

Unfortunately you'll have to drop off the "other than from storms" bit for my place.  :'(

We had a grand total of 78mm for the whole of January here.
And after a couple more short showers this morning our February total is now a huge 9mm.

Yesterday was only the 2nd time I've fired the mower up since June 2016.
Post by: Streetkid on February 09, 2017, 11:02:26 AM
We had pretty good totals for jan, I reckon 120mm at least but of that I reckon 100 mm was storms.  I will take any rain but nothing beats a nice few days of good steady rain.
Post by: Rumpig on February 09, 2017, 11:57:09 AM
Ummm? No thanks
seeing I live a touch towards the Western suburbs I thought I'd best check the weekend forecast for my place...37 on Saturday, 40 on Sunday and 38 on Monday...should be lovely with no air con at our place...lol...Atleast the humidity drops into the 40's for Sunday and Monday, better then mid 60 something today and tomorrow is.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on March 01, 2017, 02:33:34 PM
Glad summer has finished.

Warm in this shed today.
Post by: rags on March 01, 2017, 07:26:36 PM
Glad summer has finished.

Warm in this shed today.

I think the  battery must be flat
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on March 20, 2017, 08:30:47 AM
136mm in Caloundra for Saturday afternoon and night. Most of which was in about an hour.
Post by: Pete79 on March 20, 2017, 08:41:47 AM
136mm in Caloundra for Saturday afternoon and night. Most of which was in about an hour.

That was an impressive storm.
We didn't get any rain out of that one, but the view of the light show from up here on the hill was awesome.

Our rainfall total from the last 5 days is 142mm, we're getting 2 or 3 showers a day with about 10-15mm each time.
While any rain is most welcome these days,  I much prefer it spread out over a week, then copping 136mm all at once.

Another showers has just started again now.....  :D  :D
Post by: Rumpig on March 20, 2017, 11:20:06 AM
Completely missed Saturdays action at our place, with most of it staying East of us closer to the bay suburbs, this morning we were at just over 77mm for the past week, and about half that fell in half an hour on Friday afternoon.
Post by: edz on March 20, 2017, 11:46:52 AM
Been getting some decent heavy showers here on the Border from around 10 pm last night and this morning along with drizzly rain, at a guess weve  probably have had a good 80 mm
Post by: Rumpig on March 20, 2017, 04:43:31 PM
Had some pretty heavy showers where I worked at Woolongabba today, hoped we got the same at home, but rain gauge is only saying we got 9mm.....definately got more then that at work
Post by: Fizzie on March 30, 2017, 10:30:49 AM
So have we all had a nice drink yet ??? :D

Hope nobody was planning on heading out this weekend for the start of the School hol's ??? :'(
Post by: aussie9 on March 30, 2017, 11:01:47 AM
Gonna need a 4wd to go to the Brisbane 4wd/Camping show.    Haven't heard much about it this year

Post by: trinityalyce on March 30, 2017, 01:12:52 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cfgn6lra1oU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cfgn6lra1oU)

Definitely a bit of rain about today in Brissy...
Post by: rags on March 30, 2017, 01:36:04 PM
Gonna need a 4wd to go to the Brisbane 4wd/Camping show.    Haven't heard much about it this year

Received an email from organisers  informing all that it is still on
Post by: rags on March 30, 2017, 01:41:15 PM
A photo from the verandah of the South Pine river at approx 4metres
Post by: Fathom on March 30, 2017, 02:36:50 PM
Sunk my boat.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170330/1076ac5511aaee3e8145d311af48797c.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170330/1076ac5511aaee3e8145d311af48797c.jpg)
Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 30, 2017, 03:18:34 PM
Sunk my boat.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170330/1076ac5511aaee3e8145d311af48797c.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170330/1076ac5511aaee3e8145d311af48797c.jpg)
Tax deduction?

Footnote:
Now some they do and some they don't
And some you just can't tell
And some they will and some they won't
With some it's just as well
Post by: Fathom on March 30, 2017, 03:24:46 PM
Tax deduction?

Footnote:
Maybe
Post by: Rumpig on March 30, 2017, 04:27:23 PM
Had 170mm last week, rain started again yesterday with a few showers giving us 14.2mm but didn't really get going till last night with an extra 34mm falling overnight...now had 158mm total since yesterday. A stones throw away at Archerfield has had 200mm the past 24hrs
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 30, 2017, 04:44:29 PM
we've had a 123mm and been lucky to skirt a bit of the heavy stuff.
wind from lunchtime has been anywhere from high 20ish knots and gusted as high as 47 knots, so all pretty good here.
Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 30, 2017, 05:04:06 PM
Brisvegas cbd pretty much shut down but managed to get back in from the west ok. Found a quiet little hotel and bar still open to keep my head dry for the night. Now just waiting on a call from Wantas to see which flight and when I can head home(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170330/5b2e8201753aac6e83ba1795279334e7.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170330/8dcda381640f8da3cc4a48b927dd7a5c.jpg)

Footnote:
Post by: Steffo1 on March 30, 2017, 05:45:00 PM
It's heading out to sea so, I'm sure we're not going to get too much more. Can't see all the hype about it lasting until 1200 unless it swings to the West South West.
Keep safe.
Post by: rockrat on March 30, 2017, 06:30:40 PM
It's heading out to sea so, I'm sure we're not going to get too much more. Can't see all the hype about it lasting until 1200 unless it swings to the West South West.
Keep safe.
IMHO the more and longer the TV networks and pollies hype it up, the greater their ratings/poll boost, at least in the short term.  Absolutely no comparison between what SEQ has gone through today and what those in the Whitsundays went through earlier in the week but the media and pollies would have you believe the world is about to end. Certainly there are some areas that have seen flooding today and I feel for those that have been impacted but speaking from personal experience Rosalie/Paddington floods to one degree of another just about every year. i suspect many of the other areas that have flooded today do the same.
Post by: Steffo1 on March 30, 2017, 06:56:13 PM
Hit 319 while typing. Barometer has dropped too.
Post by: jk on March 30, 2017, 08:21:18 PM
Well that was fun  >:( , out in the driving rain and wind with the chainsaw cutting and removing a bunch of sizable tree branches that had fallen over our front gate and totally blocked the driveway.
My son has a 5.00am start at his work tomorrow morning to fix any problems related to storm damage ( maintance fitter ), so we had to clear it tonight .....................now, it's beer o'clock  :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on March 30, 2017, 09:11:57 PM
Reports from the tv saying part of Gold Coast has had 480mm of rain today  :o :o
Post by: edz on March 30, 2017, 11:13:15 PM
Been barraged with phone calls and text messages from the Emergency mobbs  tonight .. To Evacuate immediately  to the flood Evac center.
Umm no we wont, As the Evac center they have set up goes under before we do, Last time there was a flood,  people were kyaking and canoing in and around that school hall and buildings  ;D
Had the odd wind gust to about 30 kts and a steady 10 to 15 kt  wind,  plus  about  1/4"  to 1" per hour rain since dark and has dropped markedly in the last 1/2 hour ...
 Still have about 2.0 m free board above the river where its gone over the  bank even with it being  high tide,  before the water would brim level with our  back yard, Most of our  main and local streets seem clean and clear.
Just got to see how much more  fresh comes down now from out around the Border Ranges before we worry too much .
Going by the radar, Deflated Debbie has decided she didnt want to give us a bath and is pushing off Southwards ..
Post by: Fizzie on March 31, 2017, 09:25:04 AM
Umm no we wont, As the Evac center they have set up goes under before we do, Last time there was a flood,  people were kyaking and canoing in and around that school hall and buildings  ;D

You've got to give 'em an A for Effort though Edz :-* - after all, they're just trying to thin out some of the local feral's! >:D ;D
Post by: Fizzie on March 31, 2017, 09:28:55 AM
Reports from the tv saying part of Gold Coast has had 480mm of rain today  :o :o

152mm up to yesterday morning + 175 this morning = 327mm for <48 hours & now the sun's out!

I'm sitting here looking at the backyard & I'm sure I can see the grass shooting up :'(
Post by: Rumpig on March 31, 2017, 11:39:54 AM
Flooding at Beenleigh, Beaudesert, Logan etc  is pretty full on, seems to have caught many unaware due to how quickly and how it has risen.
Post by: Fizzie on March 31, 2017, 12:04:19 PM
Police info message just through that they're evacuating Ormeau - Pimpama - Jacob's Well areas :'(
Post by: Bird on March 31, 2017, 12:06:19 PM
plenty of this one
(https://scontent.fsyd3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/17545212_1401997113207887_2098829850190233263_o.jpg?oh=6ee219f0145c12c638e3aed9dd737393&oe=595C2FC7)
Post by: Fizzie on March 31, 2017, 12:17:19 PM
  :o Did it say where that one was, Bird?
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on March 31, 2017, 12:38:53 PM
Springbrook apparantly.  Pine Creek Rd.
I'm sure I heard last night that over 700mm fell at Springbrook. Might have heard it wrong though ?
Post by: edz on March 31, 2017, 12:43:27 PM
^^^ And that ladies and gents is why you DON'T drive a flooded section of roadway ..
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 31, 2017, 01:02:14 PM
Pity one bloke is scratching his nuts in the photo.
Post by: Rumpig on March 31, 2017, 01:11:58 PM
I'm sure I heard last night that over 700mm fell at Springbrook. Might have heard it wrong though ?
no you heard correct...think it was something like 760mm fall there. Last night they'd had 400mm fall after 9.00a.m, but had 300mm fall during the night / morning prior to that, so over 700mm in a 24hr period.
Post by: Fizzie on March 31, 2017, 02:14:35 PM
^^^ And that ladies and gents is why you DON'T drive a flooded section of roadway ..

But the water's only 6" over the road & I've got a 4wd >:D >:(
Post by: Fizzie on March 31, 2017, 02:17:00 PM

Official BoM figures are 288 for the 30th + 602 today! :o
Post by: tryagain on March 31, 2017, 07:58:15 PM

890mm at Upper Sprinbrook in 29.5 hrs http://www.mygc.com.au/rain-totals-see-much-rain-fallen-gold-coast/ (http://www.mygc.com.au/rain-totals-see-much-rain-fallen-gold-coast/)
Post by: Pete79 on April 01, 2017, 08:29:33 AM
We're rolling into day 3 with no power here. Energex is saying possibly 8:30pm tonight for reconnection.
No power means no water and no pump or aerator on the septic. We fine with everything else, but we have a biolytix waste water system and don't want it to fail again.

We're living out of the camping trailer at the moment, but just had to chuck a heap of food from the freezer that we couldn't fit into the camping fridge.

Looks like the kids in the neighborhood are still sleeping and I've finally got data on my phone this morning, it has been a struggle to send a text since Thursday afternoon when we lost power and everyone jumped in their phones.

The last couple of days have been just like I remember things after big weather events when I was a kid up north. No power and only ABC am radio for info (and they only talk about what's happening in the city).
Post by: Pete79 on April 01, 2017, 11:47:21 AM
Back on line.
Energex are running some big repair crews and the guys have been racing around here everywhere all morning. They're certainly doing their best to get everyone hooked up again. Can only imagine how bad the damage is to the network in so much of the state.

Hopefully those further up north that copped so much worse then us can get back on their feet soon too.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 01, 2017, 11:59:46 AM

The last couple of days have been just like I remember things after big weather events when I was a kid up north. No power and only ABC am radio for info (and they only talk about what's happening in the city).

Totally with you Pete, and that's why the ABC is no longer a radio system for the whole of the country.
They do things like cancelling the HF radio system or short wave without consulting the people that benefit or use it for info.
Then claim everyone can access it by the FM radio system, which works in and around the cities.
They're hanging the travelling public and the people in the more remote areas out to dry.
And they don't care.
Sorry for the hijack, I s'pose it should have been in the rant thread.
Post by: Pete79 on April 01, 2017, 12:24:10 PM

Totally with you Pete, and that's why the ABC is no longer a radio system for the whole of the country.
They do things like cancelling the HF radio system or short wave without consulting the people that benefit or use it for info.
Then claim everyone can access it by the FM radio system, which works in and around the cities.
They're hanging the travelling public and the people in the more remote areas out to dry.
And they don't care.
Sorry for the hijack, I s'pose it should have been in the rant thread.
Couldn't agree more.

It's just a default setting for me, the local AM station is always the 'go-to' for accurate, specific, local information in an emergency situation.
The only station I could get on my little camping radio was ABC Brisbane. They where calling themselves the emergency broadcaster through the day, and they did a fair job I suppose. Plenty of info for the city and south, but there was nothing really mentioned about the Sunny Coast.

Our mobile coverage here is average at best and as soon as everyone lost power they jumped on there phones and killed our signal. I had no data, no voice calls and texts would take ages to send or receive. So the radio was our only reliable source of information. Not the end of the world for us this time, but certainly less informative then how I always remembered it.
Post by: krisandkev on April 01, 2017, 01:07:43 PM
What, something happened outside a city!!!!!   No way!    But a lot of people were hit hard, you just do not hear about it.  We were very lucky, lot of damage to our driveway (it is 700 metres long) and a beautiful big tree came down in our yard, but that is all, no loss of power and no buildings damaged. Now just lots of chain sawing and work to do on the drive way.  Like I said, we were lucky.  But I have to say trying to find out on the BOM site how much rain/storm we were expecting was hopeless (we live beside a river).  Kevin
Post by: rags on April 01, 2017, 05:45:42 PM
We're rolling into day 3 with no power here. Energex is saying possibly 8:30pm tonight for reconnection.
No power means no water and no pump or aerator on the septic. We fine with everything else, but we have a biolytix waste water system and don't want it to fail again.

We're living out of the camping trailer at the moment, but just had to chuck a heap of food from the freezer that we couldn't fit into the camping fridge.

Looks like the kids in the neighborhood are still sleeping and I've finally got data on my phone this morning, it has been a struggle to send a text since Thursday afternoon when we lost power and everyone jumped in their phones.

Pete, i think you need to get a genie if you are self sufficent for water n sewer. We lived  for 28 years in the NSW Blue Mts and experienced power lost often due to high winds and bush fires and quickly realised that we needed an alternate power source.
I didn't need power to light up the district but rather a power source for the water pump, and pump and aerator on septic, to keep fridge running and to power the ignition on a backup Rinnai LPG hot water heater. I just ran a 3.5 kva genie in for running leads to each item. Worked well and with the price of a genies today would be worth considering ( I ended up with a second 2kva unit I purchased from jet crew for caravan but utilised in blackouts as well.
As mentioned I ran a second hot water heater (Rinna LPG) for the kitchen and laundry and had it plumbed in to also run bathrooms in times of power failures by bypassing main electric storage heater which was nice in the middle of winter when I could still have a hot shower.
For lights I just utilised the camper battery and camping fluro's before the LED strip lights were an option. Gas cooking and wood fire we were all set for a camp at home. The longest we went without power was 6 days but on that occassion we were stuck due to fallen trees.
I heard calls to the ABC with people saying they are stuck without water due to power failures and I think go buy a genie in fact I think Aldi have genies today for $350.00.
Pete as to having a Biolytic system I can't help you there, hope your worms don't die.
Post by: trinityalyce on April 03, 2017, 12:45:50 PM
I think that some of us who weren't as badly affected as we were in 2011 think that it wasn't so bad.

But for some it was. REALLY was.

Hope everyone is doing OK with the clean up, any further flooding still happening around the place (not so much Brissy now), etc.
Post by: Onion on April 03, 2017, 03:19:46 PM
We were lucky (we usually are) at Ferny Hills. Just a decent bit of rain. No real damage. No real flooding. We're in the rain shadow of Camp, Nebo & Glorious mountains.

We did get smashed that one time (2009 I think) in what we call The Gap Cyclone. That was scary. The place literally looked like a war zone. Virtually every tree was broken across vast swathes of the place. My backyard is about 35 feet deep and I couldn't see the back fence. Completely white with wind and rain and hail. Hope we never see something like that again.

Last week - for us it was very much meh (and we're grateful).
Post by: trinityalyce on April 05, 2017, 05:10:53 PM
We did get smashed that one time (2009 I think) in what we call The Gap Cyclone. That was scary. The place literally looked like a war zone. Virtually every tree was broken across vast swathes of the place. My backyard is about 35 feet deep and I couldn't see the back fence. Completely white with wind and rain and hail. Hope we never see something like that again.

I remember that - it was insane! :o I was living in Kenmore Hills at the time, pretty much the other side of Mt Coot Tha to The Gap - we were completely shielded from all the damage but I still remember it being pretty wild, and I did see a lot of the devastation afterwards (had a friend who was living in The Gap back then).
Post by: edz on September 22, 2017, 02:30:13 PM
Heads up  west of Archerfield  up to Tewantin  a line of nasty little storm cells headed your way http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR663.loop.shtml (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR663.loop.shtml)   And the hail
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/?q=higgins%20storm%20chasing (https://www.facebook.com/search/top/?q=higgins%20storm%20chasing)
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2017, 02:40:03 PM
Heads up  west of Archerfield  up to Tewantin  a line of nasty little storm cells headed your way http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR663.loop.shtml (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR663.loop.shtml)   And the hail
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/?q=higgins%20storm%20chasing (https://www.facebook.com/search/top/?q=higgins%20storm%20chasing)
dont get any of that down here in melbourne :P
Post by: Pete79 on September 22, 2017, 03:44:40 PM
Apologies to all of my neighbors, it's my fault the storm split in half and wrapped around us without dropping any rain at all.

I foolishly spent the afternoon dumping the diverter pipes, cleaning the gutters and packing away all the bits of leftover sheet metal from doing the fence last weekend.
So sorry, lesson learned, it won't happen again, I promise... ;)
Post by: BaseCamp on September 22, 2017, 04:32:05 PM
Can see lightening (north) on the horizon; but no storm clouds or rain at Paddington atm....

Post by: Pete79 on September 22, 2017, 05:42:31 PM
The big tease.....
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170922/dbc89ae09c49dd0c67dcdcb8a1c1e8a1.jpg)

And the wait for rain continues.... :|
Post by: Fizzie on September 26, 2017, 09:19:30 AM
We just had an extended weekend at Bigriggen & had a storm come over latish Friday arvo :D

Pea / marble size hail for 20 seconds & about 10 minutes of rain = about 6mm :'(, but lightning & thunder carried on for another hour or 2.

Then turned into a hot weekend - we saw 33` Saturday then 35` Sunday under the awning, with a total fire ban being imposed Sunday morning - camping without a fire :o :'(

Reckon the Creek temperature was only about 21` though - bewdiful! :D
Post by: Fizzie on October 02, 2017, 02:51:57 PM
Hope everyone's getting a good drink, especially those on tanks etc :cup:

We only got 6mm overnight, but that's 3 x our total for all of September :'(
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 02, 2017, 04:42:27 PM
Pissing down here with a bit of heavy stuff still coming.
Post by: KingBilly on October 02, 2017, 04:49:49 PM
Bit of floooding in Bundy apparently.

Only 1.6 mm here since 9am

Post by: Rumpig on October 02, 2017, 04:58:13 PM
Bit of floooding in Bundy apparently.

Only 1.6 mm here since 9am

not just flooding....they've had a water spout clean up some of the town also. Read warnings this morning on Weatherzone forum this could happen around those parts today, appears to have happened and damaged parts of town.
Post by: Steffo1 on October 02, 2017, 05:48:22 PM
12 mm here so far. Nice and steady drizzle, which is good as we do suffer from some erosion with a quick deluge.

The 2 house tanks and tank off the car shed are half full, the 2 tanks off the machinery shed are a third each, so we'll get through to the storm season.
Using the fire tank on the 'tilly and dam water for fruit and vegies.

The local water carrier bloke lives in our district and when I see him, he keeps asking how I'm going for water. ;D

It's good business for him but he said to me that he can't believe how much water some people use.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 02, 2017, 06:38:34 PM
Bundy's had around 240mm...... that's friggin wet and we're now starting to get the same system here.
Post by: Rumpig on October 02, 2017, 06:40:52 PM
Bundy's had around 240mm...... that's friggin wet and we're now starting to get the same system here.
it's actually had 300mm now according to recent post on weatherzone forum
Post by: edz on October 11, 2018, 06:54:43 PM
Well its that time again .. Hoping everyone that got the storms yesterday and this arvo, got through without damage ..
Looking like  those camping Fraser are going to be in for a wild ride tonight .. Stay safe campers
Post by: plusnq on October 11, 2018, 07:46:47 PM
Well its that time again .. Hoping everyone that got the storms yesterday and this arvo, got through without damage ..
Looking like  those camping Fraser are going to be in for a wild ride tonight .. Stay safe campers

Massive damage to Bunnings in Gympie this afternoon.
Post by: Rumpig on October 11, 2018, 08:24:46 PM
Plenty of tennis ball sized hail reported, stretching from Kingaroy area through to Gin Gin after this arvo / evenings storms, not to mention tornados also. Feel for those that have copped damaged to property, having gone through something similar about 4 years ago, our kids are so scared of storms these days.
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2018, 09:14:19 PM
Quote from: edz
i reckon with the forecast, I'd have bailed...

Gotta feel for farmers who were just gettin ready to pick.

Destructive winds and large hailstones have smashed parts of south-east Queensland as tornadoes formed near Kingaroy and two women and an infant were injured when hail smashed their car's windows further west.

Earlier in the afternoon, seven-centimetre hail smashed tiny Kumbia, north-west of Dalby, while three-to-five-centimetre stones fell from Gympie east to Proston.
More than 4000 homes were still without power, mostly in the Gympie region, at 7.30pm on Thursday.

https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/queensland/all-hell-breaks-loose-as-rain-hail-tornadoes-lash-seq-20181011-p5093u.html (https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/queensland/all-hell-breaks-loose-as-rain-hail-tornadoes-lash-seq-20181011-p5093u.html)
Post by: Chappie on October 12, 2018, 07:21:56 AM
I grabbed this from the radar midday yesterday to send to the wife as her parents place is under  the western cell.  They have been in Toowoomba for appointments, home today.
Chappie
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 12, 2018, 07:39:35 AM
Wednesday was supposed to be the day for the big storms.

One guy on TV last night, seemed surprised we missed anything wild Wednesday and had felt we dodged a bullet.

No so much yesterday it seemed....
Post by: glenm64 on October 12, 2018, 07:40:09 AM
Holy Shite. Just saw the news this morning. Mini tornadoes, hail the size of tennis balls, your just missing pestilence to make it divine retribution.
So much for the climate change myth. Hope your all ok.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 12, 2018, 07:45:20 AM
Can't say I've ever seen a tornado warning before in Queensland.

I see the media is calling it Hailnado in one of the papers.
Its not even a friggin word.

If a shark washes up on a beach today, it'll be sharknado.
Post by: tryagain on October 12, 2018, 08:11:28 AM
This from the poverty point camping area https://www.facebook.com/HigginsStormChasing/photos/a.149759021786560/2043762299052880/?type=3&theater (https://www.facebook.com/HigginsStormChasing/photos/a.149759021786560/2043762299052880/?type=3&theater) :o :o :o

That top comment though !!!
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2018, 08:47:38 AM
Quote from: tryagain
This from the poverty point camping area https://www.facebook.com/HigginsStormChasing/photos/a.149759021786560/2043762299052880/?type=3&theater (https://www.facebook.com/HigginsStormChasing/photos/a.149759021786560/2043762299052880/?type=3&theater) :o :o :o

That top comment though !!!
you wouldnt have dived under a car?
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2018, 09:08:16 AM
Farq.. :o

A Queensland mother and her infant daughter have been pelted by hailstones after her vehicle's windows were smashed while she was caught on a highway during Thursday’s severe storms and tornadoes.

Fiona Simpson posted images of her injuries on Facebook and recounted her story of taking the brunt of the storm while on the D'Aguilar Highway, about 200 kilometres north-west of Brisbane, with her baby and grandmother in the vehicle.
Kingaroy mother Fiona Simpson shielded her daughter as they were hammered by hail.

“I’ve learnt my lesson today, never drive in a hail storm!” she wrote.

Ms Simpson said they parked on the side of the highway as the storm intensified, then hail blew out the windows.

“I covered my infant with my body to stop her from getting badly injured.

(https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_1.674%2C$multiply_1%2C$ratio_1.776846%2C$width_1059%2C$x_2%2C$y_142/t_crop_custom/w_780/t_sharpen%2Cq_auto%2Cf_auto/1cd34d17c54dc9dc096d7a0304359980cbfd83f1)

https://www.smh.com.au/national/queensland/all-hell-breaks-loose-as-rain-hail-tornadoes-lash-seq-20181011-p5093u.html (https://www.smh.com.au/national/queensland/all-hell-breaks-loose-as-rain-hail-tornadoes-lash-seq-20181011-p5093u.html)
Post by: tryagain on October 12, 2018, 09:19:03 AM
you wouldnt have dived under a car?
Could easily have happened making the dash from a tent that had collapsed to a vehicle, which from the look of your other pic is no guarantee of safety.
Post by: Rumpig on October 12, 2018, 12:06:20 PM
Wednesday was supposed to be the day for the big storms.

One guy on TV last night, seemed surprised we missed anything wild Wednesday and had felt we dodged a bullet.

No so much yesterday it seemed....
wednesday was only ever going to be a big day IF the change came through by 3.00 p.m....that didn’t occur until hours later though. The media hyped up the day so much it was a joke, weatherzone forum as usual were more sedate about it, got excited about the possibility of super cells but at the same time stating timing of the change was critical in the actual outcome.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 12, 2018, 01:46:02 PM
Radar says we're gunna have a big wet dump this afternoon.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 12, 2018, 04:10:19 PM
about to piss down here.

Going by the Brisbane/Marburg radar, my back fence should be getting wet about now.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 13, 2018, 08:07:38 AM
TCB has had over 200mm in two days.... holy crap.

Good chance the TCB road would be cut by now too.
Post by: edz on October 18, 2018, 07:30:45 PM
Hang your dirty clothes out to be washed .. Looks like your about to get a bit of wet weather tonight .
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 18, 2018, 07:40:34 PM
yeah, just saw that and I friggin mowed today too.
Post by: Rumpig on October 18, 2018, 07:59:14 PM
Hang your dirty clothes out to be washed .. Looks like your about to get a bit of wet weather tonight .
Weatherzone forum were saying it'll likely die coming off the range, time will tell I guess.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 19, 2018, 03:47:49 AM
it crashed coming down the range.
Post by: krisandkev on October 19, 2018, 02:01:07 PM
Ahhhhh. In Tassy at the moment, house sitters looking after our hobbie farm. We are 3 hrs north of Brisbane. So many people down here think the storm caused lots of damage in Brisbane. No I try to explain it was way north. Our place really got smashed and we will have heaps of work to do when we get back. Even going by this thread name. Storm was not in Brisbane. Kevin
Post by: Bird on October 22, 2018, 03:20:05 PM
Impressive.
https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/queensland/flash-flooding-100km-h-winds-golf-ball-sized-hail-lash-south-east-20181022-p50b4c.html (https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/queensland/flash-flooding-100km-h-winds-golf-ball-sized-hail-lash-south-east-20181022-p50b4c.html)

(https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_0.792%2C$multiply_1%2C$ratio_1.776846%2C$width_1059%2C$x_0%2C$y_323/t_crop_custom/w_1024/t_sharpen%2Cq_auto%2Cf_auto/6e0de0749e1554dda0589c235c32c87b8131e36a)
Post by: edz on October 25, 2018, 06:29:55 PM
Baton down the hatches and get the floaties ready Jeepers  ... Heads up Rummy, not looking good headed your way ..
Post by: Rumpig on October 25, 2018, 06:41:32 PM
Baton down the hatches and get the floaties ready Jeepers  ... Heads up Rummy, not looking good headed your way ..
we'll see mate, they reckon there's a chance it may die yet, though reckon we might get something. Oakey and Boonah look to be getting hit hard currently, plenty of reports of hail having hit places already
Post by: Rumpig on October 25, 2018, 07:50:56 PM
Storm died here big time, very very lightly spitting to rain is all we got...no wind no real rain at all really, just some lightning and thunder is all. Always good to see the lightning and hear the thunder though
Post by: Pete79 on October 25, 2018, 08:53:54 PM
Fingers crossed that big black blob that’s currently just west of Narangba dies as it moves north straight towards us.

Grass is green, tanks are over flowing and I’ve got a relocated house in my front yard with a temporary roof and tarp over it.
We don’t need 120km/hr winds and hail around here.... :(
Post by: plusnq on October 25, 2018, 09:22:11 PM
Storm died here big time, very very lightly spitting to rain is all we got...no wind no real rain at all really, just some lightning and thunder is all. Always good to see the lightning and hear the thunder though

Same here in inner North Brisbane.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 26, 2018, 03:41:13 AM

All good here, barely wet the ground.