Author Topic: If you had to live somewhere else in Australia, where would it be.  (Read 7511 times)

Offline Wolfie

• Camel beachcomber plus 2015
Re: If you had to live somewhere else in Australia, where would it be.
« Reply #25 on: September 02, 2019, 06:53:25 PM »
If I maybe specific. The last house opposite the carpark at Pambula river inlet. Magnificent picturesque river, surf beach and the view from the house looks down the river and out across the ocean.
It's not an adventure unless something goes wrong.

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #26 on: September 02, 2019, 07:18:03 PM »
Interesting topic...
I am planning a move when I retire based purely on the fact that i can't afford to buy what I want in the Brisbane region.
Have been looking around and have decided that somewhere within 3 hours of Brissie and so far Kingaroy has ticked most of the boxes.
Can get a 3-4 br house on an acre+ of land with a shed for less than $400K. Am planning to spend a lot of time in my shed and yard post retirement so a bit of land and a largeish shed (or two) will be a must. Plus there is a bacon factory in town, who doesn't love bacon  :laugh: :laugh:
We finished up at Nanango, 21k east of Kingaroy. Love the town which has all the necessary support for old farts!!
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

Offline ivan

« Reply #27 on: September 02, 2019, 08:49:06 PM »
Yep Donut van still working and yes still tastes great. Berry now bypassed.

« Reply #28 on: September 02, 2019, 09:27:50 PM »
I would love to go back to my old home in the Blue Mts, but ( besides being cold in winter) I would have to get a divorce first as our plans are for a future on the Sunshine Coast where we already have the future house. We will just enjoy it on our spare weekends ATM and in the meantime we will enjoy our digs here in Brisbane for a few more years

« Reply #29 on: September 03, 2019, 09:14:23 AM »
Kingaroy used to be known as the gay capital of Queensland

Surprised that Joh allowed it :D

That's peanuts!

Very appropriate! ;D

« Reply #30 on: September 03, 2019, 09:26:37 AM »
Lots of interesting replies, Probably just north of the Sunshine Coast (to comply with my 200km rule) of around the Coff's area. It's interesting, although not surprising that no one has said a capital city when that comprises over 70% of the population. 

« Reply #31 on: September 03, 2019, 09:38:19 AM »
Quote from: tryagain
Lots of interesting replies, Probably just north of the Sunshine Coast (to comply with my 200km rule) of around the Coff's area. It's interesting, although not surprising that no one has said a capital city when that comprises over 70% of the population.

The issue I see is if everyone wants to 'retire' there, it will be ****in packed and lose its appeal.

« Reply #32 on: September 03, 2019, 10:01:30 AM »
Sunny Coast hinterland or Northern NSW, but a little bit inland, not right on the Coast

« Reply #33 on: September 03, 2019, 11:04:27 AM »
Right here.....
Not telling where it is, because that point break is only for me and the reef that’s only 40 minutes away has all of my fish ready and waiting for me to catch...
I don’t need you lot coming and making a crowd... :P

But the truth is I already live where most of you want to be and I love it here, wouldn’t really want to go anywhere else.

« Reply #34 on: September 03, 2019, 11:33:15 AM »
Right here.....
Not telling where it is,

You mean just south of Agnes Water  ;D

« Reply #35 on: September 03, 2019, 11:35:17 AM »
You mean just south of Agnes Water  ;D
Shhhh!!!
Big mouth... ;D

« Reply #36 on: September 03, 2019, 11:35:38 AM »
 Forster tuncurry. Great weather year round , just big enough for plenty to do and limited by water and NPs so can’t get too crowded.

« Reply #37 on: September 03, 2019, 11:42:55 AM »
The issue I see is if everyone wants to 'retire' there, it will be ****in packed and lose its appeal.

Yeah, a lot of these places mentioned are likely to become more popular in the years to come for the very reason people are mentioning now, I suspect places like Byron Bay would have been on the list 20yrs ago, popularity now has most people priced out as well as changing the character of the place.

Offline Champin

« Reply #38 on: September 03, 2019, 11:46:11 AM »
I'm currently building a motorhome out of a 1999 Hino bus so home is going to be where I park it. Thinking close to Vic high country spring/summer and anywhere up north for autumn/winter.

Sent from my TA-1024 using Tapatalk

« Reply #39 on: September 03, 2019, 12:14:27 PM »
Yeah, a lot of these places mentioned are likely to become more popular in the years to come for the very reason people are mentioning now, I suspect places like Byron Bay would have been on the list 20yrs ago, popularity now has most people priced out as well as changing the character of the place.
From my vantage point here in the hinterland I see the growth is all in the middle grounds on the sunny coast.

The good bits should stay good for a long time.
The actual foreshore is protected from development, coastal strip behind the dunes is just about as developed as it can be and the hinterlands are protected with lots of environmental covenants.
This only leaves the bit of land in the middle to get over developed, which has the effect of choking the more desirable areas.

Personally I’m surrounded by almost 60 acres of environmental covenants here (including 2 acres of my land being protected), so we’re at no risk of being built out.
But my drive to go for a surf when we first built out here took just under 15 minutes with just 4 sets of traffic lights.
Currently to go to the same beach it takes just over 30 minutes with 15 sets of traffic lights.
When the highway interchange disaster is finished and the Stockland decide to open up more of their stockpile of land on my route to the beach, it will be 20 sets of lights and I expect somewhere around 40 minutes to get to the beach.

The beach is still beautiful and the hinterland still has the lifestyle we all want, is just all of the urban sprawl in between that’s changing things here.

This gives a great perspective of what’s been happening around these parts;
https://earthengine.google.com/timelapse#v=-26.78758,153.10934,11.935,latLng&t=0&ps=50&bt=19840101&et=20181231&startDwell=0&endDwell=0

Heaps of other places around the country would be just the same.

« Reply #40 on: September 03, 2019, 12:15:43 PM »
Coles Bay or St Helens, east coast Tassie. 

Never had any desire to live anywhere further north than Narooma on the NSW South Coast.

« Reply #41 on: September 03, 2019, 12:30:05 PM »
Most of the central and far south coast used to be places to dream of 20 years or so ago when I used to go down there....
Now apparently south coast is druggo Ice heaven :(

« Reply #42 on: September 03, 2019, 12:51:37 PM »
Interesting topic.   

But I was born here, moved away for work and managed to work my way back here via work and back on the old farm, making it a third generation on the farm and 5th generation in the area, with my son with his little family looking at moving onto the property as well, that will make it few extra generations here. 

Maybe if my son and his family do move here we can just hit the road but still call Coffs home. 

« Reply #43 on: September 03, 2019, 01:04:22 PM »
I want to buy some land on the East Coast of Tassie to retire. Nice climate, coastal, quiet.

Now apparently south coast is druggo Ice heaven :(

I think that sh!t is everywhere. They are dropping like flies at my work from getting hooked on the stuff.

« Reply #44 on: September 03, 2019, 01:13:26 PM »
Quote from: DannyG
I think that sh!t is everywhere. They are dropping like flies at my work from getting hooked on the stuff.
Sadly after the other night talkin to a mate I havent spoken to in 25 odd years, he was telling me of the nightmare my little home town of 2000 has become.

« Reply #45 on: September 03, 2019, 04:52:16 PM »

Yep, Byron, Noosa, Gold Coast 50 years ago, Port Douglas ... the list goes on.

Once a great spot gets found by the Rich & Famous, Beautiful People, it's stuffed :'(

Offline moeite

« Reply #46 on: September 03, 2019, 05:07:39 PM »
We've talked about this and between us we've decided that it has to be in the outback and it needs to have some eccentric charm about it Oodnadatta fits the bill nicely but there'll be lots of similar mad places to find first... :cheers:
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com

« Reply #47 on: September 03, 2019, 06:22:59 PM »
I already live in the best capital city in Australia (Brisbane) on a tree studded block with views to Mt Cootha and still less than 5kms to the CBD.
When we retire we might move out a bit to an acreage but still less than 200km as the crow flies.
When I lived in Townsville, I really liked going down to Bowen.

« Reply #48 on: September 03, 2019, 06:25:37 PM »
Kanga valley - what a stunning place that used to be.. dunno what its like these days...
used to go through on the way south... Is the Berry Donut van still at the servo down south there?
edit: https://berry.org.au/taste/berry-donut-van/

Not sure mate, it's actually been a couple years since I went down. Just love the place and swore I'd retire there if I could.

Good food, good people and stunning scenery. Lakes, rivers, and damn good weather.
Now if ever swagger would just donut a couple of $$$, I could go!!!
Maybe a go fund me page titled "Cos, I'm too damn lazy to earn it"???