Author Topic: small shed window awning ideas  (Read 6796 times)

small shed window awning ideas
« on: June 07, 2018, 07:06:43 PM »
hi all,

looking for ideas to add an awning on the window of my shed... pics below:

just wondering whether people know of cheap (but stable) ways to do it, or the names of brackets/parts that i would have no idea even existed for such a purpose...

thanks...

ps:  the wife already suggested curtains, but this was politely, but firmly, declined...  ;D

« Last Edit: June 07, 2018, 07:08:40 PM by paceman »

Re: small shed window awning ideas
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2018, 07:22:36 PM »
I’m sure Bird with post a pic of something for you soon ;D

I would think there are quite a few options, with the simplest being a couple of brackets (timber or metal) and colorbond. Or some shadecloth.

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2018, 07:24:47 PM »
I’m sure Bird with post a pic of something for you soon ;D

I would think there are quite a few options, with the simplest being a couple of brackets (timber or metal) and colorbond. Or some shadecloth.

No doubt... ;D

I have spare pieces of colorbond...

Looking for thoughts also on how to attach the brackets (and which bracket might be the most suitable) to the wall or the top of the window frame...
« Last Edit: June 07, 2018, 07:26:47 PM by paceman »

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2018, 07:28:13 PM »
To fix the brackets to the wall, you might be able to put a metal backing plate on the inside to provide stability.  A few screws/bolts and plenty of sikaflex should hold it all in place.
The following users thanked this post: paceman

« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2018, 07:46:37 PM »
There would be many different ways to do it. the questions that dictate what would be best would be how much do you want to spend, how much time do you want to put into it, what have you already got laying around you could use, how good do you want it to look and how big do you want it. If you already have some tin laying around, all you really need to do is make up some brackets and cross pieces and attach, if you have some timber already it wouldn't be hard, or take long.

Something like this would work.

« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2018, 07:53:01 PM »
There would be many different ways to do it. the questions that dictate what would be best would be how much do you want to spend, how much time do you want to put into it, what have you already got laying around you could use, how good do you want it to look and how big do you want it. If you already have some tin laying around, all you really need to do is make up some brackets and cross pieces and attach, if you have some timber already it wouldn't be hard, or take long.

Something like this would work.

I know I could fabricate something that would look ok... but I am looking to see if there are specific types of hardware or brackets that I have no idea about...

The timber idea seems very workable... any tips on how to attach it to the walls of the shed? Just bolt it through?

« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2018, 08:37:29 PM »
Looks like there are these ones which are powder coated so would be good from a maintenance perspective, but you obviously pay for it.
https://www.onlineblinds.com.au/_products/DIY+Awnings/Corrugated+Window+Awnings-756.aspx#Forms

« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2018, 09:01:18 PM »
I know I could fabricate something that would look ok... but I am looking to see if there are specific types of hardware or brackets that I have no idea about...

The timber idea seems very workable... any tips on how to attach it to the walls of the shed? Just bolt it through?

Piece of colourbond the same as the shed with the top edge scalloped to fit to the shed sheeting.
Timber inside of the wall on either side of the window and anchor your awning to that.  Screw through the wall, or nut & bolt.
You could make the end brackets of angle iron or timber, with angle iron or timber like batons across between the ends and anchor the colourbond to them.
Seal the top edge with Sikaflex, or polyurethane.  Anchor to the screws already in the wall.  Not necessarily all of them.

You could even ignore sealing it to the shed. There's already flashing across the top of the window frame to keep weather out.
Your just looking for shade aren't you.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2018, 09:08:18 PM by Cruiser 105Tvan »

« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2018, 09:28:37 PM »
Bunnings do a kit awning or you could try Stratco as well.

small shed window awning ideas
« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2018, 11:28:41 PM »
Is it lined on the inside?

Undo the screws over the window then slip in a flashing behind the sheet and over the window.

Basically the same as most sheds have with the vermin flashing on the bottom of the sheet covering the edge of the slab.

Edit;
Sorry, I looked at the photos and read a few of the posts and thought you where looking to water proof the window.

For an awning take you pick of any off the shelf or diy style, but I would still get a flashing folded. Trim the flashing around the colorbond profile and lots of silicon. ;)
« Last Edit: June 07, 2018, 11:35:59 PM by Pete79 »

« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2018, 06:33:13 AM »
Piece of colourbond the same as the shed with the top edge scalloped to fit to the shed sheeting.
Timber inside of the wall on either side of the window and anchor your awning to that.  Screw through the wall, or nut & bolt.
You could make the end brackets of angle iron or timber, with angle iron or timber like batons across between the ends and anchor the colourbond to them.
Seal the top edge with Sikaflex, or polyurethane.  Anchor to the screws already in the wall.  Not necessarily all of them.

You could even ignore sealing it to the shed. There's already flashing across the top of the window frame to keep weather out.
Your just looking for shade aren't you.

seems like a simple way to go...

as you say, i am just looking for shade...

what's the best way to attach timber to the inside of the shed wall?  just bolt through the shed wall and the timber batten?

« Reply #13 on: June 08, 2018, 07:08:33 AM »
Is there already a C channel around the window on the inside, could you bolt or screw into that?

« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2018, 07:30:23 AM »
Paceman sorry in advance for a slight highjack but would you be able to post a pic of the inside of the window. I am looking to do something similar and would be interested to see what the window support structure is on the inside of the shed

Rod

« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2018, 07:33:25 AM »
Is there already a C channel around the window on the inside, could you bolt or screw into that?

i'll get a photo of the inside for reference...

« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2018, 07:43:36 AM »
A rough sketch, can infill the triangular ends as well

« Reply #17 on: June 08, 2018, 10:24:54 AM »
Keep in mind too, you will probably want to have the awning a bit wider than the window itself.
So you don't get that glaring sunlight through the morning and then in the arvo, and only have shade in the middle of the day.
Another reason to fill the ends just like GG mentioned. 
The amount it sticks out/hangs down would need consideration too if you want light during the darker months.
I'm not a builder, ok, just some of the things I'd consider though.
Because once you've fitted it, there will be a reduction of light in the shed, and it'd be counter productive to run lighting in the daytime.

What material did the Wife have in mind for the curtains?
Was it Simpsons themed, Sponge Bob, flowers, or was it the colour?

« Reply #18 on: June 08, 2018, 10:27:37 AM »
Keep in mind too, you will probably want to have the awning a bit wider than the window itself.
So you don't get that glaring sunlight through the morning and then in the arvo, and only have shade in the middle of the day.
Another reason to fill the ends just like GG mentioned. 
The amount it sticks out/hangs down would need consideration too if you want light during the darker months.
I'm not a builder, ok, just some of the things I'd consider though.
Because once you've fitted it, there will be a reduction of light in the shed, and it'd be counter productive to run lighting in the daytime.

What material did the Wife have in mind for the curtains?
Was it Simpsons themed, Sponge Bob, flowers, or was it the colour?

all good points...

her suggestion was muted, earthy tones...  ;D

« Reply #19 on: June 08, 2018, 10:28:19 AM »
is it just me or do the windows look like they havent been fitted properly and are just 'bolted' to the outside and not recessed at all?

https://www.google.com/search?q=shed+window+awnings&client=firefox-b-ab&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiZ79fv58LbAhXMTrwKHfVWBXoQ_AUICigB&biw=1366&bih=636
« Last Edit: June 08, 2018, 10:30:17 AM by Bird »

« Reply #20 on: June 08, 2018, 10:31:27 AM »
is it just me or do the windows look like they havent been fitted properly and are just 'bolted' to the outside and not recessed at all?

https://www.google.com/search?q=shed+window+awnings&client=firefox-b-ab&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiZ79fv58LbAhXMTrwKHfVWBXoQ_AUICigB&biw=1366&bih=636

i'll post a photo of the inside to show more how the window is fitted...

« Reply #21 on: June 08, 2018, 10:32:49 AM »
thanks all for the ideas...

plenty to go on...  :cup:

« Reply #22 on: June 09, 2018, 06:06:18 AM »
Compressing the ridges of the sheet never works well. If you can run a couple of vertical members inside the shed between the girts and behind the sheet pan, you can then pack out the pans on the outside anywhere along those pieces, and mount the awning on those. The only issue with this method is moisture can get caught behind the outside wall plates and accelerate weathering of the colorbond. Those premade Bunnings awnings with twinwall sheet aren’t a bad solution for cases like yours.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2018, 06:07:49 AM by GBC »

« Reply #23 on: June 12, 2018, 09:27:12 AM »
i'll post a photo of the inside to show more how the window is fitted...

Hey mate any progress on a pic or two of the inside?

« Reply #24 on: June 12, 2018, 01:58:26 PM »
Hey mate any progress on a pic or two of the inside?

Sorry mate, away from home at the moment... should be able to get one tomorrow...