Author Topic: Buxton - Buxton Burger  (Read 10552 times)

Buxton - Buxton Burger
« on: November 25, 2014, 12:51:28 PM »
Has anyone been up or through Buxton and had the once mighty burger and chips gig in recent times.

Just discussing with a bloke who said its gone through new owners and isn't what it once was...

http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/346/1602469/restaurant/Victoria/Igloo-Roadhouse-Buxton

Was thinking of a run up there with a few mates but wont if it aint worth it...

Re: Buxton - Buxton Burger
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2014, 01:38:23 PM »
Pretty typical. New owners place turns to Shit, hopefully not the case they were awesome burgers :cheers:

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2014, 02:35:51 PM »
Pretty typical. New owners place turns to ****, hopefully not the case they were awesome burgers :cheers:
yea was thinkin of a Saturday arvo run soon...

« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2014, 03:27:05 PM »
That burger looks grouse. If it was at Buxton NSW I'd nip down and scoff one with ya, but alas, Buxton, Vic is a burger too far. Bugga! 

« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2014, 04:22:24 PM »
Quote from: Snow
That burger looks grouse. If it was at Buxton NSW I'd nip down and scoff one with ya,

yea, it was a place you went just for a drive just for a burger..
Then there was a platter of chips - not a plate.. it was ****ing huge.

but alas, Buxton, Vic is a burger too far. Bugga!
its not THAT far from Hawks... No ticker you Sydney people... :P

« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2014, 07:01:49 PM »
It changed hands ages ago and that pic doesn't look like the original Buxton Burger as was one big meat patty not two.

« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2014, 07:24:13 PM »
It changed hands ages ago and that pic doesn't look like the original Buxton Burger as was one big meat patty not two.
Maybe it's Bird Buxton Burger  ;D ;D ;D

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2014, 07:31:48 PM »
I was hoping Buxton Qld as I'm driving through in a few days

Sent from my fingers via my brain
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2014, 07:35:23 PM »
yea I thought that, and they don't look very thick either.. just all salad...

Offline Foss

« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2014, 08:26:38 PM »
Yep, word from a "friend of a friend" who lives up that way, since new owners took over, the place is supposedly nothing like it used to be, and the food quality is just not the same. Can't say I have been there for some time myself though.

« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2014, 06:39:01 AM »
Hope it dosent go the way of Rustic Berger's in Seymour on the Old Hume Hwy . That closed after almost 54 years of full trucking tummies & a few owners . All that's left ic mackers ,,, :'( :'(             :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2014, 06:46:49 AM »
What's the name of that joint as you leave Negambie Speewa Billy's from memory?? They don't make a bad one :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2014, 05:44:58 AM »
Used to till it changed hands a few years ago , but chips & gravy is pretty special on a cold day  :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2014, 08:34:38 AM »
Hope it dosent go the way of Rustic Berger's in Seymour on the Old Hume Hwy . That closed after almost 54 years of full trucking tummies & a few owners . All that's left ic mackers ,,, :'( :'(             :cheers:

An my tummy!

Made the diversion into Seymour whorthwhile!  8)

« Reply #14 on: November 28, 2014, 06:47:49 AM »
Had one from this joint yesterday just around the corner, check out the nutricious menu  >:D

http://www.mistysdiner.com.au/www/

I reckon im gunna smash he 14 minute burger challenge next :D

Offline ddr

« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2014, 10:21:36 AM »
Have been since new owners. I wont be going back. 
Mountain of chips now not what it was.  Burger not a pinch on the one we had that night on the run to Knockwood.

« Reply #16 on: November 28, 2014, 11:21:54 AM »
Have been since new owners. I wont be going back. 
Mountain of chips now not what it was.  Burger not a pinch on the one we had that night on the run to Knockwood.
yea that plate of chips that night was massive!!

Offline lilstookie

• Traveling Lab Rats
    • http://facebook.com/thewanderingjocks
« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2014, 09:08:26 PM »
We used to live in Narbethong, so that was our local take away. Went back a couple of years ago and not a patch on what they once were :(
Danny's Burgers in Brunswick was another haunt of ours...yum!

Lil :)

Sent from my fingertips using my brain
If the spelling and grammar are good, it's a post from Lil. If not, the mad Scot is on the keyboard ;)

Add us on facebook and keep up to date with our big lap .
www.facebook.com/TheWanderingJocks or follow our blog

Offline dales133

« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2014, 09:12:58 PM »
Always Shits me to tears when you get a meat patty 5 mm thick and a pile of chips like it's spoked to compensate.
It's called a burger AND chips for a reason luigi!

« Reply #19 on: December 04, 2014, 09:30:26 PM »
Cripes! When did that happen???    ???

As a burger there about 6 months ago. (A few weeks after the meet up near Kevington.)

« Reply #20 on: January 12, 2018, 10:23:13 AM »
Just chatting with a bloke about it, he was thinkin of a drive up that way

anyone been in recent times... most reviews on google/trip advisor are very mixed since the new owners few years ago...

Offline richo9923

« Reply #21 on: January 12, 2018, 11:03:59 AM »
If your still talking of the Buxton Burger, a mate of mine just bought a property up there and have been up a few times to visit, had the burger on the second trip up ( about 3 weeks before xmas) and no I wouldn't recommend it as the sole reason for a trip up there, however a drive along the black spur in minimal traffic will always bring a smile to your face! I now stop at Healesville and hope that the Beechworth bakery still has a stockman's pie.
All said and done though it is a beautiful part of the state and no matter what the weather is it always makes me hate the city even more and look forward to not having to be here any more.

« Reply #22 on: January 12, 2018, 11:36:24 AM »
Just chatting with a bloke about it, he was thinkin of a drive up that way

anyone been in recent times... most reviews on google/trip advisor are very mixed since the new owners few years ago...

Last time I went up that way the local tracks were torn up, you needed 38s to get through the ruts. Didn't stop for a burger though.

« Reply #23 on: January 12, 2018, 12:38:10 PM »
Quote from: D4D
Last time I went up that way the local tracks were torn up, you needed 38s to get through the ruts. Didn't stop for a burger though.
>:( been years since I've been up that way, was thinking of somewhere different for a drive.. :(

« Reply #24 on: January 12, 2018, 02:46:22 PM »
Just keep heading north to the Nindigully pub for a road train burger. ;)