Author Topic: Stone guard, i know done to death but i can't find what i want.  (Read 6981 times)

Offline WogsRus

OK so looking into stone guards and i need a question.

1) What is the advantage of one of these http://www.xtrailcampers.com/images/series_10/Xplorer_Offroad/Xplorer_offroad_down_45.jpg
2) VS a conventional angled frame and cloth material one
3) Vs a rock stamper
4) VS a trapeze type as per stonestomper

I like the 1 type in regards to stopping build up of dirt and the like on the camper as a whole.
Option 4 is great as it protects the whole camper but a bit steep on price.

SO if you had your choice again, what would you chose and why?
HAD 2007 NS GLX Pajero, 3.8L grunt, ex Cop,

NOW 50th Anniversary Simpson Edition Poootrol wit some fruit

"Speed doesn't kill. It's the sudden stop at the end"
"Live everyday as if it was your last, and some day it will"

Re: Stone guard, i know done to death but i can't find what i want.
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2011, 09:01:31 AM »
Besides protecting your trailer from stone chips it also helps to stop your back window on the vehicle being busted, anything is better than nothing.  I prefer the angle frame that Sam builds, but thats only my choice.

Wil
« Last Edit: June 26, 2011, 09:03:22 AM by areyonga »

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2011, 09:58:08 AM »
My camper originally had a wrap around style, similar to that pictured. It was singularly ineffective in protecting my camper or the rear of the Cruiser  >:D. IMHO the mesh needs to be angled down to deflect any stones towards the ground. Those flaps would help, but are perhaps too far forward and too narrow to be as effective as they could be. I'd consider mounting them out from the front of the tool box, with much wider flaps.

The aluminium chequer plate on that camper is certainly going to help, taking stone chips better than a painted surface.

An advantage of this over the frame style is that it wraps around and so doesn't affect turning circle, as with the spare front mounted the guard would be well forward. Having the wings bent back wiht flaps on the lower edge would be good I reckon.

I have a Stone Stomper, which is highly effective, though I still get rocks caught up on the sides of the camper, even though the Stone Stomper is the full width of the camper.

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2011, 12:10:55 PM »
WogeRus do find 1 before you discover that your back window costs $580 & the dust , rain & broken glass is a pain in the but . Always remember Whats behine you dosent matter  , 1st rule of Truck driving  :cheers:

Offline WogsRus

« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2011, 01:19:35 PM »
not so worried about the screen, got unlimited screen cover, to date, front screen been replaced 6 times,

« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2011, 01:22:29 PM »
not so worried about the screen, got unlimited screen cover, to date, front screen been replaced 6 times,

Does that also cover your back window? It is hard to find a back window in the middle of the outback.

« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2011, 03:43:53 PM »
50 km up the Birdsville track   Snap Krackel& Pop 3650km Later your home . Choked with dust & broken glass . Your glass cover only applies to town repairs . The back window glass is stored in Adel SA . Then packed & trucked an approved repairer . Get a big stone guard & take it off when you get home  :cheers:

Offline WogsRus

« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2011, 04:05:30 PM »
Far as i know it applies to all windows as two of the windows have been side windows so all covered.

I am not saying i don't want a stone guard just trying to work out which one is better.

I like the rockstompers and could make these myslef cheep, but not really a stone guard

« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2011, 04:18:33 PM »
Thats a stone guard

Offline WogsRus

« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2011, 04:22:12 PM »
Hay Spew, did you find it managed to hold the stones at bay once fitted. I al looking at the Cat whisker type you see on trucks, a bit more neater.

The question i have been wandering is, would a wrap around style stone guard stop some of the muck accumulating on the camper?

« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2011, 05:10:42 PM »
I have the Stonestomper and wouldn't get anything else if I had to go down the same road again.

My Stonestomper:

My mate with Rock Tamers on the Oodnadatta Track:

A fine mist of mud spray which was very easy to just wash off:

Versus big chunks of mud that took ages to scrape off:

« Last Edit: June 26, 2011, 05:14:14 PM by JKohn »

« Reply #11 on: June 26, 2011, 05:23:05 PM »
WogsRus the white bar is shelving upright with 2 right angles attached to the 2 recovery points at the rear . This holds it in place , then a chain over the hitch point , that holds it up .Can be removed in 3mins if required . The rubbish goes out side ways , the back window stays almost spray clean & the rocks go under the CT . I have made the black flaps out of trampoline safety matting as its soft enough to fly at about 100mm off the road to redirect gibbers . To reduce spray I use the plastic grass as a water vapor catcher  ,works well  . Hpoe that helps  :cheers:

Offline Traveller

« Reply #12 on: June 26, 2011, 05:42:37 PM »
G'day,

This is my mudflap type stoneguard that I have been happy with over the years.

I went without it on one trip (across the Plenty) and threw a fist sized rock right through the 2 layers of shademesh on the trailer.

Noticed this setup on the last trip. It appears to be a home made Stonestomper (?) that was working well.

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #13 on: June 26, 2011, 05:45:16 PM »
The pictured stone guard (in the link and original post), because it is vertical, won't stop an upward stone/rock trajectory from continuing upward and forward onto the rear window.  A mate had his break at the second day of a Cape York trip and it was a pain in the proverbial.

Due to modifications to our Quantum, and some damage to the original StoneStomper in an accident, I'm in the process of ordering a new and slightly modified StoneStomper for the Quantum, so, I'm in the repeat category as I'm very happy with the StoneStomper.
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

Offline GS

• The hand the turns the doorknob, opens the door...
« Reply #14 on: June 26, 2011, 05:57:08 PM »
Thats a stone guard

That's not a stone guard, that's a BLOODY stone guard.

Looks like it also acts as a grader for the other myswaggers that are travelling behind you. :D

« Reply #15 on: June 26, 2011, 06:09:03 PM »
Doing my bit  :cheers: