Author Topic: Trackabout or Lifestyle  (Read 8008 times)

Offline moonie80

Trackabout or Lifestyle
« on: March 23, 2011, 08:04:11 PM »
Hi, new to site (and what a great site)  and need help. Need to know what one $10,000 for a lifestyle or $12,000 foe a trackabout and are they worth the extra 2 grand?

Offline mcbadger2

Re: Trackabout or Lifestyle
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2011, 08:09:38 PM »
I had a lifestyle extenda and can't comment high enough about them. There are a lot of members here that have either. It will come down to a coin toss to decide. Both great products.

Personally back up service I received from Lifestyle is Brilliant, from all reports the same from JT. Sorry this doesn't help. Good luck with the decision; you will happy either way.

mcbadger

Offline seqfisho

• So much Australia, Never enough Holidays
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2011, 08:11:06 PM »
Simple answer is yes.

Both are good but JT is just such a nice bloke :cup:

I also believe their quality is better, and I owned a Lifestyle.

Go and see JT and tell him I sent ya, he might even do a deal  :cheers:
2007 Rodeo VCDi DCab, Reasonably stock no longer ;-)
Now Camperless

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2011, 08:13:41 PM »
Moonie,

My Trackabout is my third child, priceless!! :cup:

Disco.

Offline moonie80

« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2011, 08:20:09 PM »
I like the trackabout cause its got a 10 foot tent which suits the wife and I perfect but then in the same sentence the extenda by lifestyle has a 10 footer too. Bugger why must it be so hard ? What makes it harder is that i have to sell my boat ( 1st toy ) to buy a CT, haha the woes of decisions hey?

Offline LifeStyle+

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2011, 08:27:04 PM »
I have a lifesytle explore + great camper!
Toyta Hilux, 3.7 Seajay Nomad, Life Sytle Explore +

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2011, 08:47:17 PM »
All I can tell you is we adore our Trackabout and we couldn't have got better service anywhere than what we received from JT.

:cheers: Glenyse

Offline moonie80

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2011, 08:59:30 PM »
Thank you everyone for replying will be taking another look at the two this weekend try and decide. Does any one want to buy a boat ? haha.

Offline lachjake

« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2011, 09:04:20 PM »
I have a Lifestyle Explorer+, my bro in law just got his Trackabout. Both awesome campers, come down to personal preference.  Good luck !! The 12 ft tent option on the lifestyle is priceless for us with kids. :cheers:

Offline Flemo

« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2011, 09:33:34 PM »
Trackabout for sure.

« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2011, 09:42:51 PM »
Yep agree

Trackabout by a zillion miles.  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
« Last Edit: March 24, 2011, 12:43:54 PM by Lost »

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2011, 09:45:48 PM »
I would go Trackabout too if it was my decision.

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2011, 10:10:37 PM »
I was faced with the same decision in June last year.

I went to the Brisbane Caravan and Camping Show to compare the two and settled on the Lifestyle Extenda Elite. IMO the show deal at the time gave me more bang for my buck.

We can't fault it, it is sensational, it probably has too much storage room if there is such a thing.

That extra room did come in handy at X-Mas time when we went to Port Macquarie for 2 weeks, we didn't have to leave a thing behind.

Good luck with your decision but I don't think you could go wrong with either.
2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2011, 10:51:29 PM »
GO THE TRACKABOUT  :cup:

Offline Campa

« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2011, 06:34:38 AM »
Trackabout for sure...... the Lifestyle campers have to many pop rivits holding things together  for my liking  >:D

Offline Crimso

« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2011, 06:53:22 AM »
I have a Lifestyle "Podium". Recently had an accident with it in tow, not a bad one. Was expecting a bit of damage, only real damage is some dints to the doors on the side bays and a rip in the floor of the tent where it all shifted during the impact. Not one rivet popped. The impact was forceful enough to tear the steel hitch off at the point it enters the receiver.
http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/19406-2/Burrum+Camp.jpg

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2011, 08:12:01 AM »
I have a Lifestyle "Podium". Recently had an accident with it in tow, not a bad one. Was expecting a bit of damage, only real damage is some dints to the doors on the side bays and a rip in the floor of the tent where it all shifted during the impact. Not one rivet popped. The impact was forceful enough to tear the steel hitch off at the point it enters the receiver.

Jeebus that's reassuring for a Lifestyle owner. Hope all occupants were ok.

I compared both at last year's Caravan/Camping show, and it came down to price. At the time the Lifestyle walkway on the Extenda/Extended models was wider, and we preferred the tent on the Lifestyle's with the Tropical roof (It makes an incredible difference). I prefer the Lifestyle construction methods and design in terms of weight savings but what I see as little compromise on strength for what we do.

Have had excellent post-sale and post-delivery service.

1 vote Lifestyle.

Offline Humbolt

« Reply #17 on: March 24, 2011, 08:35:31 AM »
They are on the same street and are around the same price but worlds apart.
Go the Trackabout!!! Not sure you will able to find a bad word about one on here.........

Offline Slipus

• Slip
« Reply #18 on: March 24, 2011, 08:50:23 AM »
I have just gone through exactly the same process as you, I picked up my 4x4 deluxe 2 weeks ago.  I was very impressed with the service offered by JT, Francis and Peter, they are extremely help full. 

Two factors made the deal for me:-

1. The easy of putting up the Trackabout 9ft tent and
2. The deal JT offered.

I looked long and hard at both products, Both make quality products.   I think you can see the extra value in the Trackabout

« Reply #19 on: March 24, 2011, 05:19:54 PM »
Hey Moonie,

That's a hell of a problem you've got there!  ;D ;D I'd throw my hat in the Trackabout ring, but then again, I've got one so what do you expect? I reckon they're great. Aussie canvas, Aussie trailers, made by Aussie men and women in Moss st - priceless. Plus the service is second to none. I harassed the bejesus out of JT when ordering ours, and nothing was ever too much trouble for the big guy. AS Humbolt says, they're both in the same area, go and see them and decide from there. After you've had the grand Trackabout Tour, I think you'll be convinced!

The only thing I'd add is if you can step up to the Extenda model, then I'd seriously consider it. It's more coin, but it gives you a HEAP of extra room inside, and makes it so much easier to live with.

As for the boat, sell what you've got now, buy the Trackabout Safari Extenda, get a boat rack on it and buy yourself a tinny with a folding trailer. Best of all the worlds!!! ;D ;D :cup: :cup:

Yikes! As Spargo has already said, hope you were all OK. Sounds like a decent impact. Good to hear the Lifestyle came through OK.

Good luck Moonie - whatever you decide!

Offline toeball

« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2011, 07:03:19 PM »
Yep agree

Trackabout by a zillion miles.  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

I don't think this person will be taken too seriously and I think JT would best hide if he turned up at the factory  ;D ;D ;D

I liked the extra bling of the lifestyle when I was making my decision, powder coat and shiny checkerplate won me over, now with JT's blingified trailers it's coin tossing time - good luck   :cheers:

I-zoo-zoo D-MAX and a Lifestyle Explorer + (+ more)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #21 on: March 24, 2011, 07:28:27 PM »
It's always a hard decision and nothing comes for free..

What I mean by that is if you want fuel economy you sacrafice power, if you want power you sacrafice economy. I have a landcriser and a hyundai getz ,I think they are both great cars but they are good and bad in different areas.

I think your delima is much the same , both trailers have very good points about them and to me these good points are in different areas ,as well as they both have bad points ,agian in different areas.

So it will come down to what you want and what your intended use is as it will make one stand out over the other.

When we bought our Safari we were very close to buying the lifestyle as I liked the front toolbox and poleholder set up , but I preferred the trackabout 10ft tent , I liked the kitchen on the lifestyle but not the trailer construction . So as you can see it really is a matter of finding out whats more important to you.

Niether of them are the holy grail I don't belive any C/T is even my current KK has it's shortfalls .

So best of luck and really sort through the pros and cons of both and place a number from 1 to 10 next to them for the pro,s and then a negitive 1 to 10 for the negitive points and then youll get a clear winner.. on paper at least.

I have owned 2 trackabouts and never had an issue with either of them and the resale of both was excellent and was quick.

Kind regards

Jetcrew :D :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline moonie80

« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2011, 07:32:27 PM »
Hey all thankyou heaps for all your opinions they were all helpful and after going to see JT this arvo we have decided on a trackabout. He is a really genuine bloke, the wife and I were talking to him for about an hour and a half. Only left at 6.10 pm, well past closing time. Yhanks for your help JT. Now the hard part, sell the boat, and we are set. One again thanks all !!

« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2011, 07:38:01 PM »
You won't be sorry moonie80 as we have a Trackabout and have travelled from Fraser Island, Cape York, Qld Outback, The Gulf and right through the NT.  Drove one some of the worse roads and the Trackabout didn't miss a beat  :cup:

Yogi

« Reply #24 on: March 24, 2011, 09:30:57 PM »
Hey all thankyou heaps for all your opinions they were all helpful and after going to see JT this arvo we have decided on a trackabout. He is a really genuine bloke, the wife and I were talking to him for about an hour and a half. Only left at 6.10 pm, well past closing time. Yhanks for your help JT. Now the hard part, sell the boat, and we are set. One again thanks all !!

You wont regret your decision at all.