Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 319559 times)

jclures and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #1300 on: March 30, 2021, 06:25:18 PM »
Hairs, that sound ridiculous.  Having a chat with the tenant (if they are up for it) might reveal other small problems that can be nipped in the bud.  Good for both the tenant and the landlord.

« Reply #1301 on: March 30, 2021, 08:26:16 PM »
By public, do you mean public housing, or open to the general public?

How is DHS? Do they fix it back to the way it was?

Public as in a normal rental property. DHS will do a lot, but you'll have to do a lot more to make sure they don't cheap out.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #1302 on: March 30, 2021, 08:36:35 PM »
Hairs, that sound ridiculous.  Having a chat with the tenant (if they are up for it) might reveal other small problems that can be nipped in the bud.  Good for both the tenant and the landlord.
I know,
Ya gona love this, they are looking at their sales team, that they don't have any female sale agents, that 'could' give the wrong impress to female buyers.
Mate, I'm lost as to what going on these days.

« Reply #1303 on: March 30, 2021, 08:40:34 PM »
Quote from: Hairs
Mate, I'm lost as to what going on these days.
this is the concern.. you cant even have a laugh with some people incase you offend them on any one of 293048230948230948230942304923049 grounds..

Offline Champin

« Reply #1304 on: March 31, 2021, 02:50:45 AM »
Well there's the problem. If you state your opinion on anything whatsoever, you are going to offend someone somewhere. So what's the solution? Do we stop talking to one another? Or do we just get over the fact that getting offended is really no big deal. Then we may offend someone by ignoring them.  Whatever happened to "Sticks and stones...". I believe some people's actions are the true enemy here. Words I can choose to ignore.

Sent from my TA-1024 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1305 on: March 31, 2021, 03:28:59 AM »

Jonesy, The tenant needs to log any issues with the correct folks and then approval is sought from the owner or person able to approve to allow work to commence.

Hairs, You'll find, in my opinion, an interaction between tenant and tradie has taken place and a complaint lodged by the tenant.
After 18 years in real estate, tenants have proven time and time again to be... shall we say, not always truthful with the real estate office.
A lot of tradies have fallen into that category too.

I DON'T WANT TO HEAR ANYONE ARC UP NOW WITH..... I'M A TENANT AND I'M OFFENDED.

Most of todays "Shit" stems from folks needing to cover their arse and trying to distance themselves from litigation in one way or another.

I experienced a little bit of it when even mowing, when i was told to get a blue card to continue mowing for an old couple.
They paid their way for about 5 years, then got some age care mob to foot the bill, hence, a blue card was required.
Whist i can get a blue card easy enough, i told the old folks to get a new mower man.
I flat out couldn't be bothered with it.
They did tell the care mob to pull their heads in and i mowed for them up until they passed away and then for the daughter.

So, back to the tenant/housing thing, pretty easy hairs, either abide by their rules or work elsewhere..... its not rocket science. 
In 8 years of being a mowing contractor, i never did real estate work.
Its often work at very short notice, you in cases, wait to to be paid and tenants are notorious for not being there when they should be.

OK, so, just back to the original gripe, its the agency or dept. covering their arse.
It will help you to cover yours as well.
Not too sure about the walking on eggshells thing..... being a bit dramatic there i think.

Engage the tenant on the matters at hand, do the job, confirm with the tenant that the job is complete and leave.
Don't waffle on about stuff that isn't required to be discussed. 
Its just a job.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2021, 03:34:59 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #1306 on: March 31, 2021, 05:15:12 AM »
Jonesy, The tenant needs to log any issues with the correct folks and then approval is sought from the owner or person able to approve to allow work to commence.

I wasn't suggesting Hairs just go ahead and do the work.  It might something as small as a little drip that could lead to a much bigger problem. A simple comment to the tenant to get on to the Agents  about it, and maybe a follow up by Hairs.  (My parent's rental ended up with a rotten laundry floor because of a small drip)
The following users thanked this post: flossy

« Reply #1307 on: March 31, 2021, 05:36:48 AM »
I do agree with what you say, however it often becomes messy and a he said she said situation.

Not a black or white thing though, always about 50 shades  of grey in that situation.

Even when i mowed, i wasn't keen to get into a conversation for long with clients.
I only ever wanted to do the job, get paid and piss off.
One bloke, would be at the gate as i was getting out of the car...... ready to talk.
I would talk to him as i unloaded the gear.... by the time i ripped the cord on the trimmer, he would get the hint.  ;D

One old chick, was a bit of a nutter.... i'd time her mows with when she would go shopping to avoid having to talk to her.

it was always a 7am start for me and most days, i was home by 1pm.  :cup:

« Reply #1308 on: March 31, 2021, 11:18:37 AM »
I wasn't suggesting Hairs just go ahead and do the work.  It might something as small as a little drip that could lead to a much bigger problem. A simple comment to the tenant to get on to the Agents  about it, and maybe a follow up by Hairs.  (My parent's rental ended up with a rotten laundry floor because of a small drip)
Yeah,
Sometimes the tenant doesn't want to mention a problem to the property manager, they feel their will be blamed for it or their rent will go up.
Also, sometimes I'm the only contact that they have, the'll chew my ear off.
I've always, been aware that some tenants are not having the best of days, I do walk softly.
Maybe I have to employ a female apprentice.
???

« Reply #1309 on: April 01, 2021, 07:55:42 AM »
What TF, I am not to engage in any conversation outside of the work I am to perform, I am not to be over powering to female tenants.
Why, Some female tenants 'May have' escaped abuse, harassment and are feeling threatened by Males.

Not a new thing ...

Way back when I was still at Telstra, so mid-late 90's, I got a call to connect a phone service (Yes, landlines were still the thing back then! ;D) to a place that turned out to be a refuge for women escaping from violent / bad situations.

OK, fine, but they then said that the rules of the place were that no men were to enter the premises at any time, regardless of who they were, or for what reason ???

Makes it a bit difficult when you have to have a gang of lineys install an aerial lead-in cable! ::)

Never did hear the outcome of that ???

« Reply #1310 on: April 01, 2021, 08:13:49 AM »
It's something that I'll need to work with.
Hmmm

Offline lloydus67

The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #1311 on: April 03, 2021, 12:43:20 PM »
Yeah,

Maybe I have to employ a female apprentice.
???

My experience as an electrician for the last 36 years is the 3 out of 4 female apprentices quit before finishing their apprenticeship.
If you want equal opportunity and wages, then you must be prepared to do equal work and many women do not want to lift the same heavy tool bags and cable drums as men, nor do they want to climb through hot, dirty roofs through the cobwebs and spiders.
However the 1 out of 4 that do, turn out to be excellent workers.
For perspective about 1 in 8 male apprentices fail to make it.
Just my experience and opinion.
Lloyd

Sent from me
« Last Edit: April 03, 2021, 01:51:40 PM by lloydus67 »

« Reply #1312 on: April 03, 2021, 01:26:53 PM »
Hey Lloyd,
Yeah, It's something I really have to consider, I wont rush it, but do I go the next step and employ someone?

Funny how being a chippy can take people down different paths.
A few mates that I went to Tech with 30 odd years ago have every only,
1) All he has ever done is frames, eaves, to lock up.
2) Fixouts, he's never stood frames or Form work set out.
3) And he's Never cut a frame, only worked with prefab frames/trusses and stood them.
4) All he does is shop fit outs.

I've done the lot, from site set out to handing the keys over to the owner.
Use to even draw my own plans for extensions for owner builders.

Another change I need to deal with.

« Reply #1313 on: April 05, 2021, 03:16:19 PM »
Where do you keep your duct tape in your van / CT ???

Ours sits in the useful bits tray up on the shelf of the van, but when I went to use some t'other day, the sticky has more or less melted off the tape so it no longer sticks, but it's all over the roll :-[ :'(

Is that something else I've got to leave in the garage & try to remember to pack every time ??? :'(

« Reply #1314 on: April 05, 2021, 03:28:50 PM »

Where do you keep your duct tape in your van / CT
Is that something else I've got to leave in the garage & try to remember to pack every time ??? :'(
Have the same problem in the back of the 80's draws & the work rigs bins, no matter where I put it, over summer it melts and becomes a mess.

« Reply #1315 on: April 06, 2021, 07:50:59 AM »
So it proves it's not just me, which is some consolation I guess.

Must just about have to keep it in the fridge! ::)

Apparently yet another thing not designed for Oz conditions ???

« Reply #1316 on: April 06, 2021, 12:29:56 PM »
So it proves it's not just me, which is some consolation I guess.

Must just about have to keep it in the fridge! ::)

Apparently yet another thing not designed for Oz conditions ???

I hate it when the sticky stuff sticks to the back of the tape still on the roll, so when you pull it off, the sticky is on the wrong side of the tape. It doesn't work very well that way either.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #1317 on: April 06, 2021, 01:56:05 PM »
I hate it when the sticky stuff sticks to the back of the tape still on the roll, so when you pull it off, the sticky is on the wrong side of the tape. It doesn't work very well that way either.

Exactly >:( :'(

The front of the tape was just as sticky as the back, & neither side was good enough to actually stick something down >:( :'(

« Reply #1318 on: April 06, 2021, 02:55:02 PM »
Exactly >:( :'(

The front of the tape was just as sticky as the back, & neither side was good enough to actually stick something down >:( :'(

No, I mean when all the sticky transfers to the other side. So the sticky side has none, and the other side has it all. So you end up with a roll of tape with the sticky on the outside, instead of the inside. Used to happen with the "Instant Airframe" aka "100 mph tape" when the tape was a bit old, or got too hot.

« Reply #1319 on: April 20, 2021, 04:49:14 PM »
Can't remember if this has been asked.
But Why can't some things be delivered to PO Boxes?
I can understand big things, gennies, fridges, solar panels, batteries,  but stuff under 5kgs & only small in size.
Luck Fysh's work as a loading dock, and her work office collects mail from the PO every day.
The reason we have PO Box is,
We are 70 meters off the bitumen road down a gravel rd.
It's not in the Australia Posts contractors contract, WTF.

« Reply #1320 on: April 20, 2021, 07:38:42 PM »
Can't remember if this has been asked.
I can understand big things, gennies, fridges, solar panels, batteries,  but stuff under 5kgs & only small in size.
Luck Fysh's work as a loading dock, and her work office collects mail from the PO every day.
The reason we have PO Box is,
We are 70 meters off the bitumen road down a gravel rd.
It's not in the Australia Posts contractors contract, WTF.

We are similar and what we have found ordering things online unless the contractor they use can deliver via Postal Service we can collect from Post Office.  if the contractors use an alternate contractor, courier that does not use the Postal Service we have to collect from their depot or make alternate delivery location. 

« Reply #1321 on: April 21, 2021, 09:36:01 AM »

Think you'll find it's the senders that wont address things to a PO box. As far as I know, if it can go in the post, it can go to a PO box...

To counter fraud (usually via identity theft) online retailers (and many gov departments) often wont send articles to a PO box as the primary address, they prefer to have a physical street address as the destination, that way there is a door they can knock on if things go pear shaped. Much easier for a crook to collect ill-gotten gains from an PO box than someone's front door

« Reply #1322 on: April 21, 2021, 12:36:34 PM »
Cheers Guys.
It was a question, cause I didn't know.
Thank you.

« Reply #1323 on: April 22, 2021, 08:21:08 AM »
We had new neighbours move in next door a few weeks ago.

They've got nice toys - new his & her Prados & also a new Iconn CT.

They came over t'other day & asked if we had a funnel that they could borrow to pour into the CT water tank.

As I said, it's brand new, so to get rid if the new, plastic, taste, they were putting raspberry cordial into the tank :-\

That's a new one on me - anybody ever heard of it ???

Offline Gazza00

« Reply #1324 on: April 22, 2021, 08:57:06 AM »
 Remember giving it to young calves and pigs on the farm if they showed signs of having the Shits. Apparently it has some anti bug properties to it.