Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 319718 times)

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #1225 on: December 06, 2020, 09:51:31 PM »
Interesting discussion for the trendys who like to pay for Shit on their phone instead of cash..

Can you use your phone to pay for your maccas drive through?

I dont think you can, its no different to touching the phone at lights isnt it???

from another forum
apply the hand brake, switch the engine off and then access your mobile phone,” Victoria Police wrote. “In doing so, you are not considered driving.
So why cant I do that at the lights?

At the traffic lights you are still on the roadway.   To use your phone you have to pull off the roadway as well.   

« Reply #1226 on: December 07, 2020, 06:32:32 AM »
Interesting discussion for the trendys who like to pay for Shit on their phone instead of cash..

I dont think you can, its no different to touching the phone at lights isnt it???

from another forum
apply the hand brake, switch the engine off and then access your mobile phone,” Victoria Police wrote. “In doing so, you are not considered driving.

There was a blow up about this 6 months ago, when someone got pinged in a drive through.
(or so it was claimed)

In the end, it was at the cops discretion in the end, IF I remember it correctly.

« Reply #1227 on: December 07, 2020, 07:43:46 AM »

from another forum

'trendys'?  righto...

using your phone is no different to using a credit card.   makes life a hell of a lot easier than a credit card, though.  more secure, less stuff to carry, easier to track spending, less likely for the card to stop working because of wear, etc...

as for difference between the lights and the drive-thru...

last time i checked, the drive-thru wasn't an actual road, where the consequences of not paying attention, or stopping in the middle of the road aren't half as high.

pretty self-explanatory, IMO...
« Last Edit: December 07, 2020, 07:57:27 AM by paceman »

« Reply #1229 on: December 07, 2020, 03:55:30 PM »
It was a Shit poll on Facebook, that was put up to spark discussion, a lot like some of the polls they do.  but it just muddied the water unnecessarily.

And no, noone was booked.

Put simply, the drive through is still technically a road.   You have to be parked, which you can't do in the drive through, or at the lights.  But not necessarily engine off.

Offline corndog

« Reply #1230 on: December 07, 2020, 04:21:46 PM »
I would have thought that the drive through would be on privately owned land, even though public use it, and you couldn't be fined from that. How does it go when I come around to visit you, stopped in your driveway, car running, and make a call on my phone. Cops pull up behind me and fine me. Then what is the real difference in swiping a credit card in your hand or swiping a phone in your hand. Both take the same movements, concentration etc. but I don't get booked for a credit card.

« Reply #1231 on: December 07, 2020, 07:02:02 PM »
Quote from: #jonesy
but it just muddied the water unnecessarily.
No doubt.

Put simply, the drive through is still technically a road.   You have to be parked, which you can't do in the drive through, or at the lights.  But not necessarily engine off.

So what is the definition of 'Parked' ??? Engine off, and handbrake on?

« Reply #1232 on: December 07, 2020, 09:47:20 PM »
Corndog
Macca's drive-thru is used by the public (even thought private land) for driving, so is a road.  Same as.shopping centre carparks, MCG carpark etc.

Your driveway s not used by the public so is not a road.

Bird,
The rule is "stationary, other than parked" it goes on to explain stationary in a line of traffic or marked lane, ( which includes the drive-through) is not parked.  It also says the engine can be running when you are parked.

« Reply #1233 on: December 08, 2020, 09:25:05 AM »
Hmmm!
My Samsung Tablet is WiFi only, so it is definitely not a mobile phone.
BUT...
I probably could put one of those pay apps on it and use it as per described above, using my Telstra mobile hot spot device to access the network.
It is still not a mobile phone.

Any takers?

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1234 on: December 08, 2020, 10:35:05 AM »
Sorry, bit no go.

Your tablet is a Visual Display Unit (VDU)

There is separate rule for VDU which is pretty much the same as mobile phone.

« Reply #1235 on: December 14, 2020, 04:40:27 PM »
Back in May, I purchased a 1999, Rodeo 4x4 tray, 2.8TD, 185 000km, mechanically like new, paid $4800, Swap the tray for a lockup bin setup.
In June an old bloke(80's) in his 2019 Jeep, towing a trailer cuts in front of my ute in a hardware carpark and collects my ute.
It moves the ute about a foot, bends(about 10mm) the left hand wing of the steel Arb bullbar.
I get his details, put a claim in, takes 4 months for my preferred repairer to access.
Got a phone call today, it is a write off, WTF?
It is 20 years old,they will not replace bullbar, it becomes a drivable Writeoff.
I can keep it, they pay me the $3700, in can only insure for Third party.
So, a vehicle I use for an income gets written off, I can't insure it or it contents if it stolen and the other driver who couldn't drive a greasy stick up a pigs bum walks away.
:(

Sent from my SM-T515 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1236 on: December 14, 2020, 04:46:37 PM »
Back in May, I purchased a 1999, Rodeo 4x4 tray, 2.8TD, 185 000km, mechanically like new, paid $4800, Swap the tray for a lockup bin setup.
In June an old bloke(80's) in his 2019 Jeep, towing a trailer cuts in front of my ute in a hardware carpark and collects my ute.
It moves the ute about a foot, bends(about 10mm) the left hand wing of the steel Arb bullbar.
I get his details, put a claim in, takes 4 months for my preferred repairer to access.
Got a phone call today, it is a write off, WTF?
It is 20 years old,they will not replace bullbar, it becomes a drivable Writeoff.
I can keep it, they pay me the $3700, in can only insure for Third party.
So, a vehicle I use for an income gets written off, I can't insure it or it contents if it stolen and the other driver who couldn't drive a greasy stick up a pigs bum walks away.
:(

Sent from my SM-T515 using Tapatalk

Yeh mate, its a pretty Shitty situation. Sorry to hear that.

« Reply #1237 on: December 14, 2020, 05:36:08 PM »
They don't have third party, fire and theft?

« Reply #1238 on: December 15, 2020, 07:07:21 AM »
Cancel the claim, put a cheap bar on it (probably cost less than the excess) and hit the old bloke up for the costs, keep receipts & take date stamped photo's  as evidence it was repaired, and maintain your current policy on the current vehicle. Leave the insurance company out of it.

« Reply #1239 on: December 15, 2020, 07:13:04 AM »
Cancel the claim, put a cheap bar on it (probably cost less than the excess) and hit the old bloke up for the costs, keep receipts & take date stamped photo's  as evidence it was repaired, and maintain your current policy on the current vehicle. Leave the insurance company out of it.
That's what I shudda dun.
This being honestcrap sux.

You don't use magic to disappear, all you need is a 4wd & a Swag. :)

« Reply #1240 on: December 15, 2020, 09:18:38 AM »

Of course the only problem with that is the old bloke will hit up his insurance company (which is what your insurance company would have done anyway), and they will write it off. May even be the same insurance company for both parties..
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #1241 on: December 15, 2020, 09:26:38 AM »

May even be the same insurance company for both parties..
I was only just thinking that.

« Reply #1242 on: December 15, 2020, 09:38:58 AM »
.....May even be the same insurance company for both parties..
Op
My son was Liberace'd a few years ago by a young bloke in an 80 series.
They were both with the same insurance company.
My son had TPF&T, and the bloke that hit him had Full Comp.
All good, except the bloke that hit him couldn't afford the excess, so the insurance company refused to act.
Fortunately, there was someone in his family that had some morals and paid the excess for him....
« Last Edit: December 15, 2020, 10:14:17 AM by GeoffA »

« Reply #1243 on: December 15, 2020, 07:09:16 PM »
Re: my post about my ute.
So I've been paid out  still able drive, insure for third property(just incase I FU).
My question now is,
Some plonker drives through a stop/giveway or another situation where I am not at fault and smashes into my rig.
Because it does not have an insured value, where do I stand?
Does this then become a civil case where I need to engage legal representation to defend my loss, and loss of income?
Cheers for any advice.

Offline DandyD

« Reply #1244 on: December 15, 2020, 07:20:46 PM »
Wouldn't just the market value be used?

Somebody smashed into me years ago when I had just tpf&t and I had to sue the bloke to get any money. The insurance company weren't interested as I didn't have fully comp. Luckily, I had a legal protection policy too, so it didn't cost me anything.

Offline Rowlie

« Reply #1245 on: December 15, 2020, 08:38:30 PM »
Re: my post about my ute.
So I've been paid out  still able drive, insure for third property(just incase I FU).
My question now is,
Some plonker drives through a stop/giveway or another situation where I am not at fault and smashes into my rig.
Because it does not have an insured value, where do I stand?
Does this then become a civil case where I need to engage legal representation to defend my loss, and loss of income?
Cheers for any advice.

Hairs, You have already been paid the value of your car so it now owes you nothing. Its a great position to be in actually. If someone hits you again you still have the opportunity to pursue him at law. You would have to substantiate your loss which is either the repair cost as detailed in a quote from a bodyworks or the pre accident value which would generally be the Glass's guide value which the third party will probably negotiate down but hey the car owes you nothing!! As for loss of use or demurrage there is a formula for this and your TPF&T insurer should be happy to give you advice on this regardless of the fact they are not involved in the claim. Otherwise work out a number - the cost of a hire car is a good start.

You shouldn't need legal representation to recover your loss at least not initially. Just write him a letter holding him responsible etc. He in all probability will pass it on to his insurer. If he ultimately ignores you a lawyer might be necessary but try to determine whether he is likely to have any money before you get too far. If he's driving an old beaten up heap and lives in a tent next to a river - give up.

Incidentally some insurers will assist TPPD / TPF&T customers with their recovery when they are not at fault in a prang. They can't go too far because they have no legal rights as such but they can help with the process. Worth shopping around.

« Reply #1246 on: December 16, 2020, 06:13:24 AM »
Cheers Rowlie.
I was just curious.
Thanks.

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #1247 on: December 16, 2020, 02:51:00 PM »
So I bought 2 of those 4ltr click on the hose job weed n feed containers like below....

Has anyone ever managed to find a hose fitting that actually allows more water to go INTO the bottle than into orbit ???

I've tried both bottles and a plastic and brass hose fitting and it pisses everywhere.

Hey Bird, just checked the same product and found that getting the hose to clip on was impossible. I took the ‘O’ ring off, using a small screwdriver, cleaned it and the groove, put back together and it clicked into position, with a bit of force. My hose fittings are the brass ones. The Holman plastic fitting flopped around like ........ Make sure the Venturi is open as per the photo, otherwise it will piss everywhere😇

We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #1248 on: December 16, 2020, 03:38:12 PM »
Incidentally some insurers will assist TPPD / TPF&T customers with their recovery when they are not at fault in a prang. They can't go too far because they have no legal rights as such but they can help with the process...

....unless the both parties are with the same company....

Offline Rowlie

« Reply #1249 on: December 17, 2020, 06:32:01 AM »
....unless the both parties are with the same company....
Thats actually a good position to be in. If you establish the third party is actually insured and liability is obvious (as in the original post) then you won't need to do much more than provide evidence of loss.