Author Topic: REDROCK Hotwater unit.?  (Read 18281 times)

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
REDROCK Hotwater unit.?
« on: October 06, 2012, 07:11:56 PM »
Ok, been a while since this subject has been aired..
How about some feedback from those that have had them a while now.?  thinking about getting one myself,, there is another brand out there,,  "Rio Grand"  about the same price also,,,  anyone tried em yet.??

BHG :cheers:

Offline Woodsie

• Off the beaten track in this Great Country of Ours
Re: REDROCK Hotwater unit.?
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2012, 07:14:10 PM »
Ive got a Redrock 6L , have not had a problem with it ......simple to set up and simple to use, and at $220 you cant go wrong.
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2012, 07:24:41 PM »
How long you had your's Woodsie.? is the 6lm enough for showering.??

BHG

Offline Woodsie

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2012, 07:30:39 PM »
had it about 6 months and you would not want to go any bigger as the 12 v pumps are generally between 4 and 6 lpm and yes the 6 is ample for showering. If the pump flow is not powerful enough the auto piezo will not ignite as it triggers on water flow. I use a 4.7 lpm pump
Heres another topic on ithttp://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=22310.msg343863#msg343863
« Last Edit: October 06, 2012, 07:52:40 PM by Woodsie »

« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2012, 09:14:41 PM »
I've had mine for 3 years now.
Couple of mates almost as long.

Problems - Yes. need a tinker or 2 occasionally but no real gripes.
Mine clogged up with grit etc and required a flush out to get the flow going again.

I use a 17lpm pump and others are using 12 lpms.

Absolutely useless in the high country in winter!!!!!!
Water in the pipes freezes up and no flow = no go.............bummer.....
Still, what can you do with any HWS in this situation?

Would I buy another one - Hell yes.
Would I recommend them - absolutely
Are they legal - heck No, but at that price, I'm giving it a go.

Now sit back, relax, grab a glass of red and watch the nitpickers go all "electrical thread"on this >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D

« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2012, 09:23:50 PM »
We use one and are very happy with it.

Had an issue with ours so they sent me a new 'electronics pack' because it wasn't practical to return it for warranty.......when I went to install the the new part I noticed a wire had fallen off its tab so no doubt that was my electronic issue! Anyway it works well, we use it with our town water inlet and a 4.3lpm pump.

efjay

« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2012, 09:28:41 PM »
I have a 10lpm unit and it works a treat mate.

Offline Wato

« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2012, 09:35:48 PM »
Have had ours for a bit over 4 years now, the earlier model, and it has't missed a beat. The gas is hard plumbed in with a regulator and a bayonet fitting with water supplied by 3.9lpm pressure pump via a tap mounted on the drawbar. Average water usage on our system is 8 or 9 litres per shower.
Travelling with mostly my wife and daughter now it's one of my best investments/modifications. If the girls are happy they will go anywhere.

Craig
2003 3ltr Patrol
2003 Camel Beachcomber Camper Trailer

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2012, 06:06:17 AM »
All sound good to me,, to little glitches, (Danny and Briann) but no big deal..  I'll pick one up in the next week or two.
Thanks guys.   :cheers:

BHG

Offline Sixtys Guy

« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2012, 08:08:39 AM »
Go the Rio Grande! They recently had their units approved (for portable camping applications only) by SAI Gobal, meaning that they are legal to use in Australia.
2009 Dual Cab Hilux
2009 Southern Cross Canvas Bush Mate

Offline Renno

« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2012, 08:30:26 AM »
Thumbs up from me.
Had a bracket made up to sit it in the draw bar, had a canvas cover made for it as well.
No issues at all.

Renno :cheers:

Offline Woodsie

« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2012, 12:08:33 PM »
Go the Rio Grande! They recently had their units approved (for portable camping applications only) by SAI Gobal, meaning that they are legal to use in Australia.

Having looked at the Rio Grande, i would go for that one as it is AS certified. I might even update mine for legalities.

RIO Grande Instant LPG Gas Portable Water Heater AS 2658 Caravan, 4wd, Boat,Camp
Approved to AS2658:2008 Cert No:GSCS20224 MOD:JSD12-D6N

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/RIO-Grande-Instant-LPG-Gas-Portable-Water-Heater-2658-Caravan-4wd-Boat-Camp-/320962380128?pt=AU_HotWaterSystems&hash=item4abad94160#ht_2640wt_1344

Offline shrek4

• Lifestyle AT12 & 2020 Nissan Patrol Ti-L
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2012, 07:46:13 PM »
Having looked at the Rio Grande, i would go for that one as it is AS certified. I might even update mine for legalities.

Did you / would you install it yourself or must it be installed by a plumber / gas plumber?

Offline Sixtys Guy

« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2012, 07:55:07 PM »
Did you / would you install it yourself or must it be installed by a plumber / gas plumber?

They are quite vague on the Ebay listing, but they are approved as a portable camping appliance only, ie not approved to be permanently installed, hence a gasfitter is not required.
2009 Dual Cab Hilux
2009 Southern Cross Canvas Bush Mate

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2012, 06:19:36 PM »
Ok, picked up a Redrock 6ltr, 4.3ltr pump, flue and reg today... Done a quick hook up this arvo when i got home,,, just using mains pressure from the garden hose... Was very impressed... .. should have bought one long ago,,, will hook up the 12volt pump over the weekend and see how it goes on that.. but so far.........HAPPY.! :cup:

BHG

« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2012, 07:29:50 PM »
Geeze, you must have got a good price for that antena  :D

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2012, 07:45:42 PM »
Geeze, you must have got a good price for that antena  :D
LMAO... not been picked up yet.. when it does, i'm guna buy a new Engel.. ;D
I actualy sold a coleman H/W on demand for 200, i paid 50 for it..lol Sorry JB..  so that helped pay for the redrock unit,,, witch i got for $285 instead of $310......
Now,, who wants to buy a Techni ice box.. 80ltr...lol

BHG

Offline gutters

• "When logic fails, force prevails"
    • Overland Australia
« Reply #17 on: April 29, 2013, 06:54:51 PM »
Rather than start a new thread I thought I would revive this one...

I have a Red Rock 6L hot water unit that I purchased late last year from http://ausj.com.au/index.htm which I have started to have some trouble with. The seller doesn't appear to sell them anymore so I thought I would ask the question here in the hope that a fellow swagger has an idea of what maybe wrong and in case I don't get a response from the seller.

The problem I have is the unit will briefly ignite and then the burner goes out, I can hear the piezo ignitor trying to re-ignite the gas but the burner doesn't fire up again. If I stop and start the water flow the process repeats, I'm using a 4.3ltr per min pump to push water through it and have had 6 months of no issues.

I have ruled out an issue with Gas as the bottle, hose and regulator were tested successfully on the BBQ. Any idea's on what the issue maybe?
Blog - https://overlandaustralia.blogspot.com.au/
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/OverlandAustralia/
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVhF6CXHhJEquGz55gtsXWQ
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/australiaoverland/

Offline barneys

• vegetarian old indian word meaning bad hunter
« Reply #18 on: April 29, 2013, 06:56:41 PM »
check there is on stuff in the water inlet

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #19 on: April 29, 2013, 07:03:49 PM »
Beet me to it Barney's, yep try hooking up to mains water also check there is no blockage in the lines

BHG

REDROCK Hotwater unit.?
« Reply #20 on: April 29, 2013, 07:04:37 PM »
Check the wires are connected inside it. Mine did the exact same thing, they sent me a new ignition kit but when I went to install it I realized a plug had disconnected itself inside the unit!

Offline gutters

• Overland Australia
« Reply #21 on: April 29, 2013, 07:17:58 PM »
check there is on stuff in the water inlet
Beet me to it Barney's, yep try hooking up to mains water also check there is no blockage in the lines

BHG

Thanks guys I should have added that water flows through with no worries.

Check the wires are connected inside it. Mine did the exact same thing, they sent me a new ignition kit but when I went to install it I realized a plug had disconnected itself inside the unit!

Thanks DannyG, I will pull it apart this weekend to see if there are any disconnected wires. I find it strange that it ignites for a second or 2 and then goes out and doesn't re-ignite. Anyway lets just hope its a disconnected wire.

« Reply #22 on: April 29, 2013, 07:25:07 PM »
A mates one did exactly that.
I pulled the cover off and had a look.

It appeared to be arcing out at the ignitor.
You could see the spark between the centre and the surround.
A slight tweak (bending) and some sikaflex to help insulation and all has been good for the last year....

Hope its easy fixed.

Offline gutters

• Overland Australia
« Reply #23 on: April 29, 2013, 07:47:08 PM »
A mates one did exactly that.
I pulled the cover off and had a look.

It appeared to be arcing out at the ignitor.
You could see the spark between the centre and the surround.
A slight tweak (bending) and some sikaflex to help insulation and all has been good for the last year....

Hope its easy fixed.

Thanks Brian, if there aren't any loose wires that will be my next port of call. I'll report back once I get a look at it on the weekend.

REDROCK Hotwater unit.?
« Reply #24 on: April 29, 2013, 07:55:29 PM »

Thanks DannyG, I will pull it apart this weekend to see if there are any disconnected wires. I find it strange that it ignites for a second or 2 and then goes out and doesn't re-ignite. Anyway lets just hope its a disconnected wire.

Yeh the igniter wire is plugged in hence it will attempt to ignite. It's the circuit that keeps the gas open that's come unplugged if its the sane issue as mine. Sounds like it is but of course it may not be.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2013, 08:00:27 PM by DannyG »