Author Topic: Milk  (Read 4154 times)

Offline barnray

• "The Road to my Horizon"
  • The Start Of My Trailer
Milk
« on: May 05, 2011, 07:04:15 PM »
As an experiment I have been using Skim Milk Powder for normal drinking milk for a couple of month's. A couple of times the milk has gone bad very quickly and produced an undesirable affect in relation to a needle and the eye! Has anybody a solution? Barnray
Ps I am looking at 2 months away. B

Offline Estelle

• New members of the leisure club
Re: Milk
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2011, 07:14:48 PM »

Tried UHT Skim Milk? Small containers? Supposed to last about 5-7 days after opening.
Chris & John

05 DiD Platinum Pajero, Cub Spacevan Drover Off Road

Offline DeBe

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2011, 07:20:52 PM »
One would hope you refrigerate the mik after its mixed must be below 4Deg C. Ive never had any problems with powdered mik but i only mix enought to last a couple of days.

Offline rossbarb

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2011, 08:00:38 PM »
Hi!
We use the small containers of skim uht milk about a popper size as we only use it for tea etc, and it seems to work a treat or if you hardly use any milk single serves of skim uht milk I use these for day tris hope this helps
barb

« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2011, 08:41:59 PM »
we use the 1 litre UHT milks and never had a problem

Offline AKB

« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2011, 08:44:18 PM »
we use the 1 litre UHT milks and never had a problem

Offline barnray

« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2011, 08:46:55 PM »
I have been known to drink a couple of litres in a day and I like my milk like my beer COLD. Jamie I'm not talking about the other stuff. B

« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2011, 08:54:16 PM »
I have been known to drink a couple of litres in a day and I like my milk like my beer COLD. Jamie I'm not talking about the other stuff. B
Maybe you could substitute most of your daily milk intake with more beer :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2011, 08:55:44 PM »
Gday Russ,
 We also use mostly UHT when camping. Normally take a 3l of fresh moo juice from the house fridge & when that is gone it's on to the UHT. The Cook stocks up on UHT when they are sale between camping trips. With 5 of us we go through a lot of milk, an average week would be about 10 x 3l bottles.Have though about a house cow but would probably eat it  ;D. :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2011, 08:57:05 PM »
Gday Russ,
 We also use mostly UHT when camping. Normally take a 3l of fresh moo juice from the house fridge & when that is gone it's on to the UHT. The Cook stocks up on UHT when they are sale between camping trips. With 5 of us we go through a lot of milk, an average week would be about 10 x 3l bottles.Have though about a house cow but would probably eat it  ;D. :cheers:
you drink MILK Bevan  ???

i'm staying outta your esky then  >:(

Offline barnray

« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2011, 08:57:54 PM »
Thats fine but I do have to drive to the next camp, but I like the idea.B

« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2011, 09:01:48 PM »
Sure do Nav, made me growed up big & strong  ;D ( & it goes OK with the Bailey's  :cheers:)

Offline barnray

« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2011, 09:10:09 PM »
I was kicked in the butt with a Dairy Farm at the back door and grew up on raw cow juice not the crap we get now and it has become a sliding scale  from the age of 18 trying to adjust to the different tastes of milk.And Now If I drink fresh milk I get the sh** if I drink low fat I get fat and if I drink Skim I get The SH*** and loose weight. Lost about 14kg so far so some good has come out of it, all I have to do is make it right. B   ;D :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2011, 09:18:16 PM »
Know what ya mean Russ. Grandparents had a dairy farm just out of Ulmarra. Nothing like a mug of fresh milk straight out of the bucket. :cheers:

Offline StevenM

• Yep thats my swag
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2011, 09:21:07 PM »
As an experiment I have been using Skim Milk Powder for normal drinking milk for a couple of month's. A couple of times the milk has gone bad very quickly and produced an undesirable affect in relation to a needle and the eye! Has anybody a solution? Barnray
Ps I am looking at 2 months away. B

What are you using it for? Cereal, Tea / coffee, drinking, cooking or all of the above?

How much do you normally go through?

Offline barnray

« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2011, 09:21:18 PM »
Mate I use to go out in the middle of winter to get my fix at about 18 months dragging the nappy thru the green stuff. so I been told. R

Offline barnray

« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2011, 09:23:05 PM »
Could go thru 4-6 ltr a 24hr period for all of the above. R