Author Topic: The Sydney Show,,  (Read 16534 times)

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
Re: The Sydney Show,,
« Reply #50 on: May 01, 2011, 07:55:14 PM »
I went today and qued and qued and qued the amount of people was amazing
Got a bargain on a new fridge for the new camper though

Queued for what? We got there at 9:15, parked, walked up to the ticket place, maybe 3 in front of us and then walked in at the northern end. It was crowded for sure but we didn't queue for anything.. In fact the only queues I saw were for those stupid stamps.. What a waste of your day that would be ???

I tell you what I was getting peeved about today though. I'm sure I cop flack for it here too but people who think it's a good idea to push a pram around, especially a double width one.

Anyway, big show as usual. All the regular suspects. I feel sorry for the genuine Camper Trailer manufactures.. There were at least 5 brands on offer that I thought should be seriously reamed for suckering the uninitiated. There were some regular brands that really have stepped it up to differentiate themselves and then there were some incredibly lofty price tags for trailers that I really can't see the advantage of.

For the first time I had a really close look at the Vacation brand and I reckon it's not a bad bit of gear.. Well made, built with passion, put together with an eye for detail and not relying on blinged up BS like some other well known brands I looked at. It’s probably not as ‘tough’ as some running a 75mm draw bar and chassis but the one piece design has some merit and it is running real bearings, not 1975 Ford or Holden rubbish. Canvas is great and Pauline (I think that was her name) really knows her xxxx.. There is real thought in that canvas, much more than some of the other brands in the same price bracket (let alone the cheaparsed stuff out there).

My pick of “worth a look” in no particular order (other than probably the order we walked passed) would be.
Vacation (for all the reasons above)
Complete Campsite hard floor (that’s a nice bit of kit and not nearly as clunky looking as some of their all singing all dancing softies)
Tvan (That is still the best 2 up rough stuff tourer in my opinion and it still has the only independent suspension worth a cracka)
All Terrain (got some nice new mods on the trailer and on the canvas)
Carryme (not a trailer but I like em)

We got the swag and stretcher we were after plus a fire extinguisher and some info on Cape York roads. And, I ran into some friend I hadn’t seen in 15 years.. Good day really
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

Offline Estelle

• New members of the leisure club
« Reply #51 on: May 01, 2011, 08:14:18 PM »

>>>
I tell you what I was getting peeved about today though. I'm sure I cop flack for it here too but people who think it's a good idea to push a pram around, especially a double width one.
>>>

Must agree. Started to get on my nerves as well. Usually Dad was pushing and looking elswhere. One way to push your way through. Then again, what choice do they have.

Toss up whether to go with strollers or the Grey Nomads (not good when we are sometimes called Grey Nomads).
Chris & John

05 DiD Platinum Pajero, Cub Spacevan Drover Off Road

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #52 on: May 01, 2011, 08:14:44 PM »
Tvan eh? any relation to Avan?

Offline mcbadger2

« Reply #53 on: May 01, 2011, 08:24:24 PM »

[/quote]

Isn't camping a family affair. Take the good with bad in these things.  :cheers:
mcbadger

Offline Joff

« Reply #54 on: May 01, 2011, 08:29:21 PM »
Tvan eh? any relation to Avan?

No relation

Tvan

Avan

Offline Joff

« Reply #55 on: May 01, 2011, 08:40:00 PM »

Isn't camping a family affair. Take the good with bad in these things.  :cheers:

Yip, but it aint like rain or a flat tyre, it's more like the family with the crying baby that sets up 2 feet from your back door.. Painful and for the most part, unnecessary  :angel:

« Reply #56 on: May 01, 2011, 08:45:45 PM »

Isn't camping supposed to be a family thing? As somebody who pushed a pram around the Melb show, it is not easy to stay out of other people's way.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2011, 08:47:39 PM by D4D »

Offline oldblade

• Porsche it's broken again
« Reply #57 on: May 01, 2011, 08:54:47 PM »
que to get in I go there at 10am half way up james roses drive and parked in mud   >:D
no que to get in
but then the isles are so small you feel like your in a consent que

so many people

But it was a good show

and I will put it out there

I HATE PRAMS

and we are waiting on our "Track" not tvan but  TOPAZ after looking at the competition me and my wife are very happy with our choice
and we have already choosen our next one a kedron  

« Last Edit: May 01, 2011, 09:02:42 PM by 4500lpg »

Offline cheekygirl668

• Rebel without a clue...
« Reply #58 on: May 01, 2011, 09:06:13 PM »
>>>
>>>

Must agree. Started to get on my nerves as well. Usually Dad was pushing and looking elswhere. One way to push your way through. Then again, what choice do they have.

Toss up whether to go with strollers or the Grey Nomads (not good when we are sometimes called Grey Nomads).

must agree about the prams and while l realise that we are never going to get from the problem it would be nice if they actually look where the pram is going when they push through the crowds...... they r prams not battering rams

Offline Lori

« Reply #59 on: May 01, 2011, 09:10:56 PM »
Went on Saturday (sadly it was the only day we could fit it in)

We had to take the kiddies with us, we put the one year old in the backpack - no running into people, just need to remember to duck on the way into camper trailer  ;D
Also an upside with the macpac is that it has oodles of storage, so no need for bags..... just the husband!

Downside of the day - food  >:(. 1 sausage on a bun $6.00
                                         steak on a bun     $8.00        Sauce free
                                         Bacon and egg     $6.00        Rain free
                                         Kransky bun         $7.50
                                         Sausage roll         $3.00
                          1 Pancake with maple syrup   $6.00
         Nandos sml chicken burger or wrap meal  $16.50

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #60 on: May 01, 2011, 09:17:16 PM »
well i never got there today, that was the plan,,, and i think it worked out well, seems there was a big crowd with lots of prams   ;D
will try and get there thru the week, the rain is forcast to return so i will no doubt get washed out at work at some stage. so will fill in  a day at one of the most expensive shows of the year  ;D ;D

Offline Arunda

• Pass me a beer please
    • All Drive Subaroo – All Subaru Specialists
« Reply #61 on: May 07, 2011, 04:58:40 PM »
Just got home from the show not to bad got alot of idea's from the show for the CT

2002 D22 3.0 Turbo Diesel 2 inch lift Old Man Emu suspension 4x4 Ezy-Trail CT

Offline Malcur

« Reply #62 on: May 07, 2011, 05:47:28 PM »
Went to the show yesterday (Friday). Really enjoyed the day. Not too crowded. We got there at 9:45 and went straight in. Bought an Ozpig and Camps 6 with snaps plus a couple of bags for clothes when camping ($10 ea) plus a toilet tent ($45). Got heaps of brochures for our next trip.

Mal

« Reply #63 on: May 07, 2011, 06:08:42 PM »
and we are waiting on our "Track" not tvan but  TOPAZ after looking at the competition me and my wife are very happy with our choice
and we have already choosen our next one a kedron  

and I reckon your 4 legged camping companion will love it too ;D

As for the Kedron, we had a look as we usually do, For a big heavy van there isn't a lot of internal room to move around the bed are very high due to all those external storage compartments. but still a nice van. I score a free t-shirt.   ;)

Offline oldblade

• Porsche it's broken again
« Reply #64 on: May 08, 2011, 09:24:15 PM »
and I reckon your 4 legged camping companion will love it too ;D

Sadly we lost one in november and we lost the other last month but just today we both agreed the first thing in the new camper will be a photo of our boys.

we will still take the cat everywhere we go she loves being with us

« Reply #65 on: May 09, 2011, 03:07:26 PM »
Sadly we lost one in november and we lost the other last month but just today we both agreed the first thing in the new camper will be a photo of our boys.

we will still take the cat everywhere we go she loves being with us

Sorry to here that mate, they were great dogs :(   

I'm sure puss will be very cosy in the Topaz, she was in the Swan  ;D

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #66 on: May 09, 2011, 03:44:06 PM »
I like taking the pram, even just to smash into other people ankles.

'oops sorry didn't see you there'  ;D

« Reply #67 on: May 09, 2011, 05:25:07 PM »
I like taking the pram, even just to smash into other people ankles.

'oops sorry didn't see you there'  ;D

Yeah back in our pram days, I gave up trying to avoid people who stepped in front me,  WACK! oops sorry (NOT)  >:D

« Reply #68 on: May 09, 2011, 05:56:51 PM »
As for the Kedron, we had a look as we usually do, For a big heavy van there isn't a lot of internal room to move around the bed are very high due to all those external storage compartments.

Yeah We find that with the Kedron too. Also I get the impression towing one would be like towing a container trailer.

« Reply #69 on: May 09, 2011, 06:00:40 PM »
Also at the show did anyone see the Coromal "expanda" vans?  Due to there low collapsed Height the door head was about 5'4". Drove me made  just getting in and out once just to look at it

Offline schmik

« Reply #70 on: May 09, 2011, 10:13:03 PM »
Geez... ain't there a lot of love in this place!?!?!? What's with all the pram hate?
Maybe we need to make up a little trailer to tow the little ones in.  Hopefully that gets the approval of the old farts.

I don't really like prams either but they are necessary... what i don't like is selfish, complaining, old whiners.
Seriously, why bring this sort of thing to a camper forum?

mike

« Reply #71 on: May 10, 2011, 02:21:13 PM »
Also at the show did anyone see the Coromal "expanda" vans?  Due to there low collapsed Height the door head was about 5'4". Drove me mad  just getting in and out once just to look at it

Most of the Coromal Pop-Tops Caravans (not the campers) are like that, they have a very low main wall height giving it a much lower tow height. so the entry door is very short compared to others.