Author Topic: Registration Costs  (Read 5612 times)

Registration Costs
« on: February 16, 2011, 03:13:13 PM »
Just thought I would throw this out to compare.
Pick up the new CT in a few weeks and have checked up on with it is going to cost me to register in Tassie
Registration Fee       $26.60
Road Safety Levy     $20.00
Motor Tax               $17.00
MAIB Premium          $43.00
Duty                       $6.00
Roadworthy Cert.     $100.00(est)
Stamp Duty             $900.00
Total                     $1112.00

How does this compare to other States.
Think we are being ripped off.

Re: Registration Costs
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 03:16:49 PM »
Is that the annual fee Trevor? I just paid mine it was $37.50 for 12 months.

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2011, 03:20:23 PM »
The Road worthy and Stamp Duty are one offs, the annual fee is $112.
I am thinking of registering in Vic to save all these costs.

Offline griz066

« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2011, 03:24:13 PM »
Holy Crap that is some big $$$$$ not sure on your CT size and weight but here in QLD we pay as follows.

This is an equote from QLD Transport for a CT up to 750kg

Date of registration   16/02/2011
Quote type   New registration
Vehicle type   Trailer and caravan
Purpose of use   Private
Trailer ATM weight (kg)   750
Concession category   No Concession
Plate type   Standard
Pay term   12 Months
CTP insurance class   Trailers (covered by Nominal Defendant)
Registration fee   $85.20   
Plate fee           $23.45   
                   ========   
Total fee       $108.65   
                   ========   
This is an equote from QLD Transport for a CT up to 1500kg

Date of registration   16/02/2011
Quote type   New registration
Vehicle type   Trailer and caravan
Purpose of use   Private
Trailer ATM weight (kg)   1500
Concession category   No Concession
Plate type   Standard
Pay term   12 Months
CTP insurance class   Trailers (covered by Nominal Defendant)
Registration fee   $162.20   
Plate fee           $23.45   
                   ========   
Total fee       $185.65   
                   ========   

:cheers: :cheers:
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2011, 03:29:24 PM »
Yep we are getting ripped off.
Stamp Duty is the killer. 3% of purchase price.
$30,000 camper = $900

Offline morcon

« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2011, 03:34:02 PM »
New South Wales has similar stamp duty - when we registered ours for the first time (Oct 09) there was a government incentive though where camper trailers, caravans etc were exempt from stamp duty - not sure if this is still available but I was pretty pleased to finally be on the receiving end of one of the stimulus bonuses.

Offline tonyw

• Tonys Travel Blogs
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2011, 03:43:34 PM »
Just bought my old Jayco (wouldnt havemattereed of i got a new second hand one)

reg i think is around $37 tranfer fee tare 750kg and under $5

got it good in Vic

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2011, 03:48:42 PM »
Fairly certain there is no stamp duty on camper trailers and caravans any more they gave it the boot as far as I remember.  Rego costs, ongoing for the Jayco Swan are around $280.00 in NSW.

« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2011, 04:19:21 PM »
I just got my rego renewal for my Aussie Swag here in SA - $65.

Just got the Pajero one too $816.

Offline mccrlc

« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2011, 06:21:32 PM »
Just thought I would throw this out to compare.
Pick up the new CT in a few weeks and have checked up on with it is going to cost me to register in Tassie
Registration Fee       $26.60
Road Safety Levy     $20.00
Motor Tax               $17.00
MAIB Premium          $43.00
Duty                       $6.00
Roadworthy Cert.     $100.00(est)
Stamp Duty             $900.00
Total                     $1112.00

How does this compare to other States.
Think we are being ripped off.

I'm hearing you Trevor, I have just bought a Jayco Camper trailer from Melbourne and have to pay about $900 for all of the above.
Quoted price in Victoria for our van was $55, they don't pay stamp duty there apparently.

Finding someone to do the roadworthy in the Launceston area is interesting also, let me know if you want the company that is doing mine.

mccrlc
2010 Jayco Eagle Outback
2010 Mitsubishi Challenger LS Auto

« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2011, 06:41:36 PM »
NSW

Because mine is a box trailer (tent seperate entity on top) as apposed to a dedicated CT =$56  ;D

Offline Sixtys Guy

« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2011, 07:24:50 PM »
Yeh, I got bent over the counter at Service Tas to the tune of the same amount just before Christmas. And yeh, how hard is it finding someone to do the roadworthy. Beecheys in Holbrook street did mine, after I got the certificate from the weigh bridge from the Quarry on Remount Road. They are really thorough doing the road worthy. The only thing that mine didn't have was the VIN # stamped on the chassis, which Beecheys did for me.
2009 Dual Cab Hilux
2009 Southern Cross Canvas Bush Mate

« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2011, 03:55:26 AM »
Thanks for the info guys. Does look like Tassie is the dearest.
Vic. looks to be the cheapest.
Have been doing my research and if you can provide an address in Vic. and a letter from the owner stating that you are going to store it there, they are happy for you to register in Vic.
Cost difference, Tassie $1100+, Vic $45.
Think I might have a talk to my brother about "storing" it at his place in Melbourne.

Offline Pete the Pirate

« Reply #13 on: February 17, 2011, 09:11:26 AM »
I think NSW is probably the dearest for ongoing rego especially if your camper/van is fitted with brakes.  Not only do you get slugged with the higher rego approx $250 pa but you also have to have a roadworthy inspection done each year....another $30 or thereabouts.
Kanga Big Red DL Campertrailer
Nissan Navara D40 with lots of fruit

time

« Reply #14 on: February 17, 2011, 01:00:11 PM »
No stamp duty in the ACT for trailers or caravans  ;D http://www.rego.act.gov.au/registrations/regoduty.htm scroll to bottom of the page  "No duty payable for registration of Caravans and Camper Trailers"

Rego Fees here http://www.rego.act.gov.au/registrations/regofee.htm

To register my CT that I purchased second hand in NSW it cost me

Rego Fee          $238.80
Rego Surcharge  $44.60

Total                 $283.40