Author Topic: Jayco option list growing  (Read 7128 times)

Offline Swogjb

Jayco option list growing
« on: February 14, 2011, 06:28:52 PM »
G'day All,
After way to much time on this forum researching, I'm about ready to take the bite the bullet and order 2011 Jayco Hawk Outback.
Im still not sure if I should go the bag awning (dealer recommends) or go the Fiamma.

My option are as follows.

Extended Draw bar
Trigg Hitch
Extra Gas Bayonet
Extra Gas bottle
Extra water tank
16" wheel upgrade
Waeco Fridge
Hot water external shower
Inner spring to main bed
Control panel water tank battery
Battery
Anderson plug

Price $28400 drive away
Does this price sound in the ball park?

I will add second battery, a 2brutal stone guard and a portable solar set up myself after delivery.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers Glenn

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Offline AKB

Re: Jayco option list growing
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2011, 07:28:41 PM »
Nice list of extras I wish we had added the lengthened draw bar.

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2011, 08:15:13 PM »
Nice list of extras I wish we had added the lengthened draw bar.

Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2011, 08:53:58 PM »
The best option on that list is the Waeco by far. These Dometics are a peice of S H I T E.
Im currently goin through some real issues at the moment with mine. Dometic are tellin me there is nothing wrong with the Fridge, and the problem is the install. Jayco are telling me they cant touch it....... where does that leave me??? in a pile of Dogs turd!  >:(

Go for it mate, the Eagle is a good thing. At least you will have cold beer  :cheers:

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2011, 08:56:36 PM »
The best option on that list is the Waeco by far. These Dometics are a peice of S H I T E.

:D
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2011, 02:49:26 PM »
Finally bit the bullet, ordered and wacked a deposit down for a 2011 Jayco Hawk Outback.
Due to arrive mid may. (keep telling myself time will fly)

Still can't decide on awning type. ???  ???

How much quicker are the rollout type awnings to put up compared to the bag awnings?
I've watched some small videos on you tube on the Coolabah and the Standard bag awning and can't tell how much quicker the  roll out type are to put up.

Any advise appreciated

Cheers Glenn

« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2011, 03:53:03 PM »
Glenn,

Have you considered the pull-out BBQ?

We were unsure, but went ahead anyway. Best bit of gear we got............. :D
So quick, easy and always ready to go.

Best of luck with the wait >:D >:D >:D

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2011, 04:06:46 PM »
Im currently goin through some real issues at the moment with mine. Dometic are tellin me there is nothing wrong with the Fridge, and the problem is the install. Jayco are telling me they cant touch it....... where does that leave me??? in a pile of Dogs turd!  >:(

Go for it mate, the Eagle is a good thing. At least you will have cold beer  :cheers:
Have you gone to Jayco directly (head office as such) my local dealer couldn't fix my stove in my old Hawk (minor issue one burner wouldn't stay lit) I took it back to the jayco factory and it got sorted straight away. Might be worth a try anyway.

2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2011, 04:13:51 PM »
Finally bit the bullet, ordered and wacked a deposit down for a 2011 Jayco Hawk Outback.
Due to arrive mid may. (keep telling myself time will fly)

Still can't decide on awning type. ???  ???

How much quicker are the rollout type awnings to put up compared to the bag awnings?
I've watched some small videos on you tube on the Coolabah and the Standard bag awning and can't tell how much quicker the  roll out type are to put up.

Any advise appreciated

Cheers Glenn

Well done, we've had to wait for 2 Jayco's the Hawk was 4 months and the Expanda was 3.5 months, the wait goes quick after the 1st 2 months  ;D

As for the awnings we had a bag awning on the Hawk and it does take a bit to get it set up, the Expanda has the roll out and its very quick. Although not as robust in windy conditions but it can be rolled in easily if needed.  :cheers:
2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2011, 04:40:34 PM »
Glenn,

Have you considered the pull-out BBQ?

We were unsure, but went ahead anyway. Best bit of gear we got............. :D
So quick, easy and always ready to go.

Best of luck with the wait >:D >:D >:D

Yeah mate, the Boss wants the slide out BBQ, I was thinking it's a bit $$ and thought maybe a weber q might do the job for us.
We still have some time before we have to sign off on the final layout.
Thanks  for making the decision even harder. Lol

Cheers Glenn

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2011, 04:48:20 PM »
Well done, we've had to wait for 2 Jayco's the Hawk was 4 months and the Expanda was 3.5 months, the wait goes quick after the 1st 2 months  ;D

As for the awnings we had a bag awning on the Hawk and it does take a bit to get it set up, the Expanda has the roll out and its very quick. Although not as robust in windy conditions but it can be rolled in easily if needed.  :cheers:

hi Cruza Driver
I was thinking that the roll out awning on the Expanda looked as though it goes up sh!t loads quicker than the roll out for the Hawk.
I'm only going on the small videos ive watched on YouTube.
I have not seen the Fiamma being put up just the Coolabah and bloody hell the bloke in one of the videos makes hard work out of it IMO.

Cheers Glenn

« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2011, 05:05:31 PM »
Takes no more than 30 secs to set up the Fiamma. The longest part is getting the winder out of the front box and pushing the leg spikes in........ ;D

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2011, 05:36:07 PM »
Takes no more than 30 secs to set up the Fiamma. The longest part is getting the winder out of the front box and pushing the leg spikes in........ ;D

I'm liking the sound of 30 second set up.

The Coolabah takes much longer to put up in the youtube vid.

What's the price difference from the standard bag awning and the Fiamma.?
I left me options list at dealer this morning

Cheers Glenn

« Reply #13 on: February 19, 2011, 05:42:16 PM »
I like the Fiamma as it is quick to setup and packup however as mentioned not as strong as others. You may want to consider also if you plan to add an annexe for more room. If you do the Fiamma probably isn't a good choice.

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2011, 06:06:06 PM »
I like the Fiamma as it is quick to setup and packup however as mentioned not as strong as others. You may want to consider also if you plan to add an annexe for more room. If you do the Fiamma probably isn't a good choice.

We were thinking about not worrying about the annexe. We have not used our annexe on our soft floor camper in 5 years. I like the look of the sun buster shade cloth looking privacy screen.

Cheers Glenn

« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2011, 06:29:15 PM »
We were thinking about not worrying about the annexe. We have not used our annexe on our soft floor camper in 5 years. I like the look of the sun buster shade cloth looking privacy screen.

Cheers Glenn

This was our way of thinking and am very happy with the decision. Never really used annexes with campers unless the weather has gone really bad and with the Jayco, well you just go inside........ :cheers:......I honestly don't see the big issues people have with Fiamma and strength, make sure you peg the legs down and it isn't really an issue IMO...... ;D

« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2011, 07:19:51 PM »
Yup, that's why we have a Fiamma and Sunbuster. I sold the Fiamma annexe that came with the Goldstream.

« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2011, 07:29:31 PM »
Coolabah Awning (Aussie Traveller)  3 minutes tops 5 if you add ropes,  Bag Awning 15 Minimum once you get use to it.

The Roll Out Awnings like on Expanda's can NOT be fitted to campers

Biggest issue with Fiamma and/or the Roll Out caravan awnng like I have. apart from going into orbit if not roped down, you need to stop the ends flapping if to windy as they can tear away.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2011, 07:40:43 PM by Bushman »

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #18 on: February 20, 2011, 02:23:04 PM »
Coolabah Awning (Aussie Traveller)  3 minutes tops 5 if you add ropes,  Bag Awning 15 Minimum once you get use to it.

The Roll Out Awnings like on Expanda's can NOT be fitted to campers

Biggest issue with Fiamma and/or the Roll Out caravan awnng like I have. apart from going into orbit if not roped down, you need to stop the ends flapping if to windy as they can tear away.

I rang Aussie Traveller yestdy morning about the Coolabah $1600 delivered to Mt Gambier, they reckon I could install it myself.
He told me to look on YouTube video to see it being put up, I reckon that video would be costing them business.
 Any body got any idea what the Fiamma price is?

Cheers Glenn