Author Topic: Newbees Gathering  (Read 50968 times)

Re: Newbees Gathering
« Reply #25 on: January 05, 2011, 07:29:26 PM »
Many years since I was in the Whroo area, certainly a great spot.
As Yoda says: "There is only do or do not, there is no try."  Put me on the list. :cheers:

« Reply #26 on: January 05, 2011, 08:02:51 PM »
Done & dusted  :cheers:

Offline Fivid

« Reply #27 on: January 05, 2011, 09:07:44 PM »
Reckon we will be able to get there on the Friday evening, will be great to meet everyone.
http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

« Reply #28 on: January 06, 2011, 06:05:50 AM »
Good to hear

Offline tambodaryl

« Reply #29 on: January 06, 2011, 07:58:45 AM »
Put me in,  Daryl.

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #30 on: January 06, 2011, 03:18:43 PM »
Sorry we can't make this one as we already have plans for that weekend. Hope you all enjoy yourselves and we will try for the next one.

Shane
06 Terracan, 2010 cub kamperoo brumby

« Reply #31 on: January 06, 2011, 04:36:37 PM »
Poppasmuf Thats a pity  ,next time yes  :cheers:
Tambodaryl done & dusted

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #32 on: January 06, 2011, 04:44:11 PM »
Such is life mate. It's really rather annoying. I got home from work this arvo and SWMBO told me she had booked in to the Hume resort for that weekend so I had better organise the time off work, or else!!!!!!! Then I jumped online to see a Swagger gathering for the same date.
We had to use it soon or lose it since it was a gift from our eldest daughter.

Cheers until next time(I hope)

Offline Fivid

« Reply #33 on: January 06, 2011, 06:23:05 PM »
Such is life mate. It's really rather annoying. I got home from work this arvo and SWMBO told me she had booked in to the Hume resort for that weekend so I had better organise the time off work, or else!!!!!!! Then I jumped online to see a Swagger gathering for the same date.
We had to use it soon or lose it since it was a gift from our eldest daughter.

Cheers until next time(I hope)

I hear Hume resort is good, never stayed there but only heard good things and with the water level so high you should have a great time.

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #34 on: January 07, 2011, 06:43:12 AM »
I hope so Dave, I have lived in this area most of my life and I have never been there.

« Reply #35 on: January 07, 2011, 04:36:39 PM »
poppasmurf I dont know a relaxed weekend in a resort with a bar , air conditioned  hugh comfy bed & someone you love . Or 2 days with us in the bush in our CTs . Can I come with you , no really . You have a cuddle we will have a camp fire  both hot . Next time  :cheers:

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #36 on: January 07, 2011, 06:02:29 PM »
Speewa, Tracey said to thank you for calling her hot, and after only meeting once. She must have made quite an impression.LOL. ;D

« Reply #37 on: January 07, 2011, 06:03:59 PM »
More to the point its your decerning taste in women  :-*

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #38 on: January 08, 2011, 09:27:11 PM »
 ;D Speewa you've started something here.  Provided the camper arrives on time I'm in.  Just means I've got to buy a few more additions for the campers maiden voyage as SWMBO and the girls have decided that they are up for it as well (there goes my peace).   Looking forward to meeting a few of the people from this site and checking out some set ups (so much for the bank balance). If Mandrake brings the solar gear along, as an ex sparky who will have a camper with no power, it could be hazardous for my finances!!!!!

SWMBO made me do it (whatever it was I did)!
VW Amarok & 'Cooper' the Tambo.

« Reply #39 on: January 09, 2011, 05:36:39 AM »
Mark I do belive you have missed the point of money. $ is a fluid thing  that flows ,seeps drips gushes out of a bank account in all sorts of directions . & for no petisular reason. Hang the expence come bush camping cant spend much there .  I will bring my (Mandrake) solor to show as well
You bring a pen & paper to note down all the things that will be really handy to have in your new CT .  Dont be scared you if you work hard might pay it off eventully ,Catch you soon  :cheers:

Offline Fivid

« Reply #40 on: January 09, 2011, 06:55:14 AM »
Mark I do belive you have missed the point of money. $ is a fluid thing  that flows ,seeps drips gushes out of a bank account in all sorts of directions . & for no petisular reason. Hang the expence come bush camping cant spend much there .  I will bring my (Mandrake) solor to show as well
You bring a pen & paper to note down all the things that will be really handy to have in your new CT .  Dont be scared you if you work hard might pay it off eventully ,Catch you soon  :cheers:

And bring a camera too cos you always get to see some ingenious idea that someone has had, a way of doing something really nifty that you can never figure out later on...  And doing your own little things to the camper helps fill in time between camping trips!

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
« Reply #41 on: January 09, 2011, 08:13:49 AM »
Minor amendment --
Thanks SSCHMEZ !! :cup: - Stand 131 at Wandin 4X4 is now mine !! - So we'll be coming up friday for overnight stay then off to Wandin to setup for Sunday ...
I'll have some stuff on board for lookers and touchers ...

Going back to basics - sort of ...

Offline Fivid

« Reply #42 on: January 09, 2011, 12:30:04 PM »
Minor amendment --
Thanks SSCHMEZ !! :cup: - Stand 131 at Wandin 4X4 is now mine !! - So we'll be coming up friday for overnight stay then off to Wandin to setup for Sunday ...
I'll have some stuff on board for lookers and touchers ...

Will be good to talk to someone about solar that uses and knows their stuff, work out what the next step is for us.

« Reply #43 on: January 09, 2011, 02:06:05 PM »
Is anyone going to be staying on the sunday night, might see if I can get monday off.

« Reply #44 on: January 09, 2011, 05:30:31 PM »
Swaggers  We have just returned  frow a recky trip to chech the site at Whroo  via Rushworth . Will be posting directions to the Green rd camp site only 7km out of town . Met the Ranger Tim had a chat about how he wants it to happen , Camping on level sites with a common fire place , so each Swagger should collect a goodly amount of wood on the way up . There is no water on site so bring all drinking  & washing with you, But there are DUNNIES for Swaggers & Swagetts .
As usual all rubbish will be returned to your bin at home & we will tread lightly at the site .
They know were coming so its best foot forward then we can come back .
Load the cameras as suggested to rip off ideas , Steve will have solar to play with or just look at mine .  Its all looking good Site , facilities , all we need are Swaggers looking to have a good time
 Check Camps 5 site 258               :cheers:
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 06:45:41 PM by speewa158 »

Offline Fivid

« Reply #45 on: January 09, 2011, 06:03:43 PM »
Sounds great.  Is it a dog friendly place or would it be preferred if we leave them at home?  We have two 13 week old puppies, trying to get them used to travelling but totally understand if dogs either not allowed or not welcome... 

« Reply #46 on: January 09, 2011, 06:09:28 PM »
Sounds good Speewa,

We're still on for this, and looking forward to it.

"[i...........]rip off ideas...........[/i]"..........What do you mean????????? ;D

The solar stuff will be good. It's very high on my list.

At this stage, my wife and I will probably be travelling up Friday, and stay until Monday.
It will depend on work etc.......

Cheers to all,
Geoff

« Reply #47 on: January 09, 2011, 06:30:42 PM »
GeoffA thats my plan to , if the grog holds out  :cheers:

« Reply #48 on: January 09, 2011, 06:38:30 PM »
Fivid the rules are dogs are permitted in the reserve but on leads at all times . Check www.parkweb.vic.gov.au then Whroo Historic Reserve  & have a poke about . The kiosk is closed & up for sale so disregard that  but its a ripper camp site  :cheers:
Camps 5 camp 258
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 06:42:49 PM by speewa158 »

« Reply #49 on: January 09, 2011, 06:41:50 PM »
Speewa,

.........if the grog holds out ............ ???
Rushy is just up the road a bit........ :cheers:

Geoff