General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Steffo1 on August 16, 2019, 07:06:41 PM

Title: Poverty Creek Bribie Island
Post by: Steffo1 on August 16, 2019, 07:06:41 PM
We're thinking of heading here for a few days. Has anyone been on the access road recently?
Title: Re: Poverty Creek Bribie Island
Post by: rockrat on August 16, 2019, 07:11:48 PM
I was there a couple of months ago and it was fine. Just air down and take it slow over the humps. Make sure you take the aerogard, I’ve heard the midges are ferocious around that side of the island.

Personally i think Ocean Beach is better but you do have to book well in advance.

Post by: tryagain on August 16, 2019, 07:16:54 PM
Hijacking the thread a little, what's a day trip like to Bribie like, in the past I have heard that it attracts a bit of an undesirable crowd?
Post by: Steffo1 on August 16, 2019, 07:19:08 PM
I was there a couple of months ago and it was fine. Just air down and take it slow over the humps. Make sure you take the aerogard, I’ve heard the midges are ferocious around that side of the island.

Personally i think Ocean Beach is better but you do have to book well in advance.

Thanks, Rockrat, we are booked in to the ocean side 2nd week in Sept. for 4 nights. We've been there a few times recently but haven't been to Poverty for probably 20 years.
Post by: Pete79 on August 16, 2019, 07:24:32 PM
We had a fun time at Trinity’s ladies day over there.
The wife and I actually noticed considerably less bogans then we would have seen up at DI.

With regards to the camping on the western side, this time of year it’s perfect over there, especially if you get a light westerly in the evenings.
I prefer the boat access only sites and we usually have a couple of nights at mission point around this time of year.
Haven’t had an issue with mozzies or bogans over there so far.
Post by: rockrat on August 16, 2019, 07:27:06 PM
Hijacking the thread a little, what's a day trip like to Bribie like, in the past I have heard that it attracts a bit of an undesirable crowd?
I’ve both camped and done day trips to Bribie with no issues at all. Its a pretty long beach so you can usually find some space and like all campgrounds I’m sure you get the good and the bad.

Post by: GBC on August 17, 2019, 05:10:34 AM
No vehicle access to the camping area at poverty creek. Don’t take too much gear. It helps keep numbers down though and there’s fire pits.
Post by: Foo on August 17, 2019, 08:12:28 AM
I don't want the likes of you lot coming up here, stay away.  :angel: :P

Post by: Steffo1 on August 17, 2019, 08:49:42 AM
I don't want the likes of you lot coming up here, stay away.  :angel: :P

Ooh, I feel the luv, Fooey. :-* :-*
Post by: BC66 on August 17, 2019, 10:33:44 AM
We have only camped on the ocean side because let’s face it. Anyone can camp in a paddock but it’s something special to be behind the dunes and listening to the waves as you sleep

Post by: tryagain on August 17, 2019, 02:51:33 PM
I prefer the boat access only sites and we usually have a couple of nights at mission point around this time of year.
Haven’t had an issue with mozzies or bogans over there so far.

You will need to make some floaties for your camper now.
Post by: Pete79 on August 17, 2019, 03:12:49 PM
You will need to make some floaties for your camper now.
This one is heaps more fun. ;D
4 people, all of our camping gear for the weekend and still happily sits on 65km/h up the passage... ;)

(https://i.imgur.com/DYLRJre.jpg)
Post by: Hoyks on August 17, 2019, 03:31:12 PM
No vehicle access to the camping area at poverty creek. Don’t take too much gear. It helps keep numbers down though and there’s fire pits.
There are 2 areas, the tent camping and the group/trailer camping area.
I went up there a couple of years ago and stayed in the group area on the left as you drive in, drove in, unfolded the RTT and a mate set up his trailer with no problem. https://parks.des.qld.gov.au/parks/bribie-island/pdf/bribie-povertycreek.pdf

Wednesday/Thursday we had the place completely to ourselves (we were the bogans that night :-[ ), but Friday afternoon there was an influx and the place was packed solid.
Noisy yobs, fireworks, kids howling because of the fireworks... I was happy to head home Saturday.
Post by: tryagain on August 17, 2019, 03:36:06 PM
This one is heaps more fun. ;D
4 people, all of our camping gear for the weekend and still happily sits on 65km/h up the passage... ;)
Put your camper on a pontoon made with 10 of these (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/caboolture/livestock/blue-plastic-44-gal-drums/1225997758)
 and a frame and you would have a houseboat and turn a lot more heads ;D 15 should see them only half in the water!
Post by: BC66 on August 17, 2019, 03:36:17 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190817/4aadb127ce9e6f99426a97523a76b2e2.jpg)
The spot we stay at only has 2 sites. One for a camper and the other is for a tent. It’s perfect and within walking distance to water and a real toilet if you don’t want to use the porta loo

Post by: tryagain on August 18, 2019, 08:10:48 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190817/4aadb127ce9e6f99426a97523a76b2e2.jpg)
The spot we stay at only has 2 sites. One for a camper and the other is for a tent. It’s perfect and within walking distance to water and a real toilet if you don’t want to use the porta loo

Was looking at the Camper sites and looks like you need to book quite a bit in advance.
Post by: BC66 on August 18, 2019, 08:11:42 PM
We stayed mid week and were lucky. The weekends were booked out like 8 months in advance

Post by: Steffo1 on August 19, 2019, 02:22:29 PM
We managed a Sunday to Wednesday next month on Ocean beach.
Post by: tryagain on August 19, 2019, 03:45:33 PM
We managed a Sunday to Wednesday next month on Ocean beach.

Tent or camper site?
Post by: Steffo1 on August 19, 2019, 04:26:16 PM
Tent or camper site?

It's a  multipurpose site. We're tossing up whether camper or swags.
Post by: BC66 on August 19, 2019, 04:51:53 PM
We got stuck to start with trying to get the camper over the dunes.
Wasn’t that fun !

Post by: Steffo1 on August 22, 2019, 12:51:31 PM
As it turns out, we were lucky that there were no vacancies on the weekend so didn't go to Bribie, as we would have had to evacuate yesterday because of the fire.
Post by: Foo on August 23, 2019, 09:34:15 PM
Told ya we didn't need the likes of you up here.  ;D

Post by: Steffo1 on August 24, 2019, 01:34:11 PM
Told ya we didn't need the likes of you up here.  ;D

You didn't have to go and set fire to half the island just to keep me away!

How's it looking at the moment?
Post by: Fizzie on August 24, 2019, 02:15:48 PM
Hey Foo - those smoke pots you've got spread around the place to scare people away are doing a great job! >:D
Post by: tryagain on August 24, 2019, 02:36:58 PM
Hey Foo - those smoke pots you've got spread around the place to scare people away are doing a great job! >:D

Pretty sure I saw someone who used to be on here had some form of Mormon gathering sign/flag that they used to use when camping as a group to encourage others to keep their distance.

But on a serious note, does anyone know what the damage has been like? Still planning at least a day trip in the near future but might postpone it a bit if it's had a substantial burn.
Post by: Foo on August 24, 2019, 06:46:33 PM
You didn't have to go and set fire to half the island just to keep me away!

How's it looking at the moment?

All good now.

Post by: Foo on August 24, 2019, 06:48:01 PM
Pretty sure I saw someone who used to be on here had some form of Mormon gathering sign/flag that they used to use when camping as a group to encourage others to keep their distance.

But on a serious note, does anyone know what the damage has been like? Still planning at least a day trip in the near future but might postpone it a bit if it's had a substantial burn.

I'll see if I can find out for you.

Post by: Foo on August 25, 2019, 10:12:51 AM
This is the latest news from Parks n Wild Life.

Closed till 29-8-19

Ocean Beach camping area
Ocean Beach
Northern access track past Poverty Creek turnoff.

Post by: Steffo1 on August 25, 2019, 10:28:59 AM

We're booked for the Ocean camp early next month. I'm thinking that I might go for a sticky beforehand as soon as the sites are open again, hopefully later this week.
Post by: Foo on August 25, 2019, 10:32:01 AM
It's not a place you want to visit.  ;) :P

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190825/fb7ef54470011f1aa6a2c8ba3df6e919.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190825/923ddfe1c79308bd3e6d2286a9b429c3.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190825/9b46463bf818107238a0c690c0f8cdb8.jpg)

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Post by: Steffo1 on August 25, 2019, 11:30:21 AM
My mum's parents were among the earliest permanent residents in Woorim. I had some good times there when young. My grandfather, being Scottish, was good mates with Ian Fairweather, the local artist, also a Scot.
My very prudish, Catholic grandmother used to frown on us kiddies going to visit Ian at his humpy as he "Lived in sin" with an indigenous woman.  ;D
Post by: BaseCamp on August 25, 2019, 08:40:39 PM
^^^^   You guys would remember the old guy - Bud, (who rode all over the island on his push bike and lived in a shack across the creek behind the local milko? - and his handmade rickety bridge across the creek); or how about Jerry and Hall's restaurant with the kero lamps and lace table covers for atmosphere; or Mrs Burstows shack on Nth St; or the Koolamama; or the fish and chippy on North Street; and bluey pevors original beer garden ...

Loved falling asleep with the sound of the pounding pacific breaking on the beach a couple of 100 metres away....

The old picture theater; local bribie crusty baked bread; rentons; the massive crock on display on the awning of the snack bar beside the jetty; the annual xmas holidays carni on the grounds where the library is now; . ..

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: Steffo1 on August 26, 2019, 08:33:53 AM
^^^^   You guys would remember the old guy - Bud, (who rode all over the island on his push bike and lived in a shack across the creek behind the local milko? - and his handmade rickety bridge across the creek); or how about Jerry and Hall's restaurant with the kero lamps and lace table covers for atmosphere; or Mrs Burstows shack on Nth St; or the Koolamama; or the fish and chippy on North Street; and bluey pevors original beer garden ...

Loved falling asleep with the sound of the pounding pacific breaking on the beach a couple of 100 metres away....

The old picture theater; local bribie crusty baked bread; rentons; the massive crock on display on the awning of the snack bar beside the jetty; the annual xmas holidays carni on the grounds where the library is now; . ..

Thanks, BaseCamp. I remember a few of those things. Rentons had the Hardware Store in Woorim. A woman, Jean, ran the P.O. adjacent. We never really had much to do with "The Calm Side" from memory, except for school. The headmaster was McNaught, a right tyrant! My Grands house was on the corner of Third Avenue and North St.
The barge from Toorbul Point was an adventure. Skipper was Bill Edwards, from memory. I remember sitting in what seemed a long line of traffic for the opening of the bridge (1963?) and my parents marvelling at the construction as we crossed.
Also, the "Bribie Knock".
Post by: BaseCamp on October 06, 2019, 07:39:55 AM
Rentons Hardware was on the Bongaree side, Steffo1...   

We had a fibro shack just up from Bluey Piver's joint on North Street, Woorim....

What was the "Bribie Knock"  ??

and wow, I didn't know about the barge from Toorbul Point...   that would have been amazing...   

I read on a memorial thingy on the Bongaree Esplanade the other day; how the bridge opened in 1963 costing 335,000 pounds...   You can still see the little house that the toll collectors lived? in, on the LHS, before you cross the bridge onto the island...

Did you ever get to go the the circus, that would turn up annually in the 60's and 70's?
Or how about the carnival at Christmas?   Dodgems, the works... in Bongaree - this was killed when the council built a library on the site...why, o'why!!