General => Introductions => Topic started by: landbarge on November 23, 2015, 10:33:54 AM

Title: New to us 2009 Goldstream Storm Offroad
Post by: landbarge on November 23, 2015, 10:33:54 AM
Roughly........

5300kms

91 hours away, comprising;

60 hours driving.
18 hours sleeping.
3 hours at bloke's house inspecting and purchasing.
8 hours setting up/packing up camps, cooking dinner, cleaning and eating, few coldies.
2 hours exploring caves, lookouts, watching protest at Ceduna.

A trip from Perth to Adelaide return with my best mate.

Pics to follow when I can work out how to reduce file size of attachments from phone.

There is a lot to do, ( the van is untouched from new) starting with dust proofing.  Ffs what a terrible effort from factory.

I will be scouring MySwag for hints and tips for young players...

(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/22/4ad07a54c5b2014f56c87037548e7c31.jpg)

Title: Re: New to us 2009 Goldstream Storm Offroad
Post by: D4D on November 23, 2015, 11:13:25 AM
Well done, looks great. Hope she serves you well!
Post by: landbarge on November 23, 2015, 03:14:34 PM
Thanks D4D. It will be with us for a while.

Post by: Muckinhell on November 23, 2015, 05:13:35 PM
as of this sun i will be in the market for a goldstream as well, so watching with interest. nice camper.
Post by: grc on November 23, 2015, 06:21:27 PM
Welcome to myswag Landbarge
Must off done a deal to drive that far to pick a camper

CHEERS GRC   :cheers:
Post by: landbarge on November 23, 2015, 08:44:30 PM
as of this sun i will be in the market for a goldstream as well, so watching with interest. nice camper.
I think I have studied all and sundry in the market. Hard to sort the wheat from the chaff.
Some are stand out bargains, others modded and want way above market prices (probably how I will end up wanting to sell mine in future lol).

Post by: landbarge on November 23, 2015, 08:47:37 PM
Welcome to myswag Landbarge
Must off done a deal to drive that far to pick a camper

CHEERS GRC   :cheers:
Thanks grc.
The planets aligned for the timing to get the camper.
I love a road trip.

Post by: landbarge on November 23, 2015, 09:05:00 PM
Roughly........

5300kms

91 hours away, comprising;

60 hours driving.
18 hours sleeping.
3 hours at bloke's house inspecting and purchasing.
8 hours setting up/packing up camps, cooking dinner, cleaning and eating, few coldies.
2 hours exploring caves, lookouts, watching protest at Ceduna.

A trip from Perth to Adelaide return with my best mate.

Pics to follow when I can work out how to reduce file size of attachments from phone.

There is a lot to do, ( the van is untouched from new) starting with dust proofing.  Ffs what a terrible effort from factory.

I will be scouring MySwag for hints and tips for young players...

(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/22/4ad07a54c5b2014f56c87037548e7c31.jpg)

Also...

There are 4 of us.
Me, the Minister of Fun and Finance, Miss 6 and Miss 5.
We started looking for different versions of what camper would suit us as a growing family. We settled on what camper would get my wife truly enthused about being outside and getting amongst it again.

Post by: axle on November 23, 2015, 10:00:49 PM
Welcome to the Goldstream Club mate. You wont regret it. We love ours and have done heaps of free camping and caravan parks.  :cup:
Post by: landbarge on November 23, 2015, 10:08:50 PM
Well to the Goldstream Club mate. You wont regret it. We love ours and have done heaps of free camping and caravan parks.  :cup:
Thanks for the kind words.

Post by: landbarge on November 23, 2015, 10:31:41 PM
Thanks for the kind words.

Hi Axle.

How have you managed to keep the dust out? We got a filthy film over most surfaces and 1/2 a cup near the door.

Post by: axle on November 23, 2015, 11:17:52 PM
Hi Axle.

How have you managed to keep the dust out? We got a filthy film over most surfaces and 1/2 a cup near the door.

We haven't had a major problem, but haven't done extended drives on very dusty roads as yet. Any camper that has vents (ie gas vent in door, fridge vents) will have some dust problems. Does yours have a small spring-loaded rectangular vent in the roof? You can pop this open before you embark on dusty roads, it keeps positive air pressure inside the van and pushes air out the vents. Stopping dust coming in. (well that's the theory, we haven't really tested ours).

Something a little like this
 (http://thumbs4.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/m4yYm_L6u1QxUg1JF3ITefA.jpg)
Post by: landbarge on November 23, 2015, 11:34:19 PM
Ah the old pressure plate in roof trick. Yes it has one but it is not as good as that. The factory one is hinged so that when opened the air isn't rammed in to the camper. The version you posted is very much like what is in ute canopies and an option for us as an upgrade. That or a snorkel head. These big fkrs did not help.
I was expecting dust but not as much as we got.
(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/23/7b2f85dbbeecbdffe8f994dde6803672.jpg)

Post by: axle on November 23, 2015, 11:52:40 PM
Ah the old pressure plate in roof trick. Yes it has one but it is not as good as that. The factory one is hinged so that when opened the air isn't rammed in to the camper. The version you posted is very much like what is in ute canopies and an option for us as an upgrade.

I'll have a look at mine and let you know.......ok I'm back.
This is the best I could do in the dark standing on my rubbish bin with an iPhone.

Post by: Rob C on November 24, 2015, 07:23:21 AM
Welcome Landbarge,

Well done with your pick up. You can now put your mark on it with the many Mods you will do.
All the best,

Post by: landbarge on November 24, 2015, 06:31:22 PM
Thanks Rob C. The bank balance is first????

Post by: landbarge on November 24, 2015, 06:35:49 PM
I'll have a look at mine and let you know.......ok I'm back.
This is the best I could do in the dark standing on my rubbish bin with an iPhone.
I am pretty certain that is the same. When open it stands vertical with a gap between the lowest edge and the roof. This lets air go through rather than being rammed in.

Post by: PenUltimate Destinations on November 24, 2015, 09:28:40 PM
Welcome! Gotta love a road trip!

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Post by: landbarge on November 24, 2015, 09:43:09 PM
I am pretty certain that is the same. When open it stands vertical with a gap between the lowest edge and the roof. This lets air go through rather than being rammed in.

(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/24/1e3abff69fbcb7d677a23bf13d9ffff7.jpg)
 You were generous enough to boldly go into the night for a pic and I had nothing to compare.

Post by: landbarge on November 24, 2015, 10:00:28 PM
Welcome! Gotta love a road trip!

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk
Yes indeed. LOVE a road trip

Post by: axle on November 24, 2015, 10:21:56 PM

(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/24/1e3abff69fbcb7d677a23bf13d9ffff7.jpg)
 You were generous enough to boldly go into the night for a pic and I had nothing to compare.

Looks the same. Haven't used mine but if it does sit up straight it wouldn't b so useful.

Post by: landbarge on November 24, 2015, 11:33:16 PM
Yep. That pic of the road train I posted was on the Hyden-Norseman rd.
 Regardless of the ram air effect of fresh air, (making a positive pressure zone in the camper) with that amount of dust to drive through a filtered snorkel head would possibly be best.
TBD

Post by: landbarge on November 25, 2015, 11:23:32 PM
Go for it. The Minister of Effin and Fightin loves it. She is planning trips for the first time since for ever...
Where are you Muckinhell?

Post by: landbarge on November 25, 2015, 11:31:49 PM
Welcome Landbarge,

Well done with your pick up. You can now put your mark on it with the many Mods you will do.
All the best,

Umm well Bunnings is on the way home. I just went in to have a look...80 bucks down on sealant tape. I have issues

Post by: Muckinhell on November 26, 2015, 04:39:06 PM
im in Hervey Bay, just across from fraser island.
Post by: landbarge on November 28, 2015, 01:38:33 PM
im in Hervey Bay, just across from fraser island.
I know Hervey Bay a little bit.
My mate moved and built a GIGANTIC house up in the hills of Craignish. We spent Chrissy up there once and another time a trip to Fraser.
Great spot.

Post by: landbarge on January 05, 2016, 10:21:38 PM
Sad to say but we have not fired a shot in anger since I brought the camper over.
The Landbarge, due to busted arse injectors, spat a bore liner and rings in no 5 cylinder.
I have been living vicariously through other Goldstream owners.
Soon to change.

Post by: landbarge on January 10, 2016, 02:40:35 PM
A driveway set up for the inlaws!
This caracamper just has no limits.

Post by: landbarge on July 05, 2016, 08:40:19 PM
How have you gone with the search?

Post by: chester ver2.0 on July 06, 2016, 08:10:48 AM
OK from a goldstream owner who has done 2 half laps with it around the country

1. The pressure hatch is a waste of time

The best way to keep dust out is as follows
1. Put some better foam seal around the front edge as when the van goes over uneven surfaces and flexes that little bit it makes a slight gap
2. When i go off road i simply put duct tape around the door edge
3. I got a cover made up for the door vent
4 Covers for fridge vents ( i just run with it off when on the dusty tracks)
4. Stick a cork up the sink drain pipe as it gets sucked back up here

Unfortuantly it is more a design thing than quality as you basically have a very large lid that is only secured in 4 corners and will flex as you go over different terrains
Post by: landbarge on July 06, 2016, 10:30:55 AM
1. On to it, didn't even get it home before hitting up the big green shed for foam sealant tape .
2. Tried up sizing the sealant strip to find the door wouldn't latch. Tape may be the way to go. At least on the leading edge it would stay on.
4. I have seen pics of a jayco with vinyl and velcro. Did you use that or press studs?.
Sounds like it might be worth trying to cover the whole van with a tarp or storage wrap if a big stretch of dirt was on the cards.

Post by: 2010banditsa on July 06, 2016, 05:47:59 PM
Id look for something obvious like a separated cavas edge or similar. Ive had 3 goldys including an oldy, been on lots of dusty roads and haven't had that much in them at all.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on July 07, 2016, 08:14:42 AM
Mate I am old tech as i dont use them that much i just cut some corflute to shape for the fridge vents

Also there is a big hole where the 240v cord passes from the back of the fridge into one of the cupboards so i used some foam to plug that one up that helped a lot

Post by: landbarge on July 23, 2016, 01:38:11 AM
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160722/bb20b6cdfcb66a79b9ad466c6abbc3e0.jpg)

The front access door was a pia. We scrounged some pennies to have this ally drawer made. Test fit in a few days. Looks the goods in this pic though.

Sent as if by magic

Post by: landbarge on July 23, 2016, 08:43:18 PM
Mate I am old tech as i dont use them that much i just cut some corflute to shape for the fridge vents

Also there is a big hole where the 240v cord passes from the back of the fridge into one of the cupboards so i used some foam to plug that one up that helped a lot
Cheers. Getting ro know more and more about this thing.
It is about to take a leap forward in user friendliness. 

Sent as if by magic

Post by: landbarge on August 14, 2016, 12:25:07 AM
Massive slidy box fitted with a fair bit of fussing to minimise loss of storage.  Also I removed the non-locking slides from the bbq, replacing them with lockable ones.
Post by: landbarge on August 14, 2016, 12:35:01 AM
More things to happen tomorrow.
Post by: landbarge on August 14, 2016, 12:40:13 AM

Cheers for the tip.

Post by: sol on August 14, 2016, 05:44:37 AM
Good job mate. I like your mods. :cup:

Post by: nab on August 14, 2016, 04:57:39 PM
Awesome work on the big slide drawer, looks like a tight fit!
Post by: landbarge on August 14, 2016, 10:37:53 PM
Awesome work on the big slide drawer, looks like a tight fit!
Yep it is certainly as close as it could get allowing for wriggle room. It seemed small when we were measuring. Nearly didn't bother. So glad I did.

Post by: landbarge on August 14, 2016, 11:03:08 PM
A pile of spaghetti got dragged from front to rear. This mess will power roof mounted flood lights, usb/12v socket, inside speakers. The simple one (me) did this bit.
Where the magic happened is what my mate did up at the front end. Clever stuff. A shame I had to turn up and slow down the process

Post by: D4D on August 15, 2016, 06:19:11 AM
Very nice set of mods. That's a very well setup Goldy.
Post by: landbarge on August 15, 2016, 09:12:27 AM
Getting there slowly. It would have been a lot easier if you had just sold me yours. ????. Do you have a radio antenna?  Where is it mounted?

Post by: landbarge on August 15, 2016, 07:17:31 PM
Stereo sounds great. Really happy with it. Lights are on the way. Hole saws are much easier to use when drilling someone elses stuff.
Post by: D4D on August 15, 2016, 07:22:41 PM
Do you have a radio antenna?  Where is it mounted?

I didn't have a radio antenna but I did buy the bits for a 3G/4G antenna for the roof, that I never fitted. White marine foldable style that you can take the antenna off.
Post by: landbarge on August 15, 2016, 08:00:38 PM
Oh righto. Does that boost 3g 4g much? Have you used one before?

Post by: D4D on August 15, 2016, 08:06:01 PM
Oh righto. Does that boost 3g 4g much? Have you used one before?

Yeah the fact that you can get it higher than the roof of the camper means it will provide a stronger signal. I had planned to plug it into a 4G wireless hotspot.
Post by: landbarge on August 15, 2016, 08:17:04 PM
I like your thinking.

Post by: D4D on August 15, 2016, 08:21:19 PM
I like your thinking.

I have one of these http://www.citytechnology.com.au/store/antennas/telstra-nextg-3g-4g/5dbi-850mhz-next-g-omni-marine-antenna-with-mounting-kit (http://www.citytechnology.com.au/store/antennas/telstra-nextg-3g-4g/5dbi-850mhz-next-g-omni-marine-antenna-with-mounting-kit)

But it's probably easier to use this one, that way you can use it when you don't take the camper http://www.citytechnology.com.au/store/antennas/telstra-nextg-3g-4g/9dbi-850-1800mhz-nextg-3g-4g-omni-antenna-with-magnetic-base-fme (http://www.citytechnology.com.au/store/antennas/telstra-nextg-3g-4g/9dbi-850-1800mhz-nextg-3g-4g-omni-antenna-with-magnetic-base-fme)
Post by: pickled200 on August 15, 2016, 08:21:31 PM
nice mate, woulda loved one but i blew the budget on the car!! haha soft floor for me now  :'(  :cheers:
Post by: landbarge on August 15, 2016, 10:01:21 PM
I have one of these http://www.citytechnology.com.au/store/antennas/telstra-nextg-3g-4g/5dbi-850mhz-next-g-omni-marine-antenna-with-mounting-kit (http://www.citytechnology.com.au/store/antennas/telstra-nextg-3g-4g/5dbi-850mhz-next-g-omni-marine-antenna-with-mounting-kit)

But it's probably easier to use this one, that way you can use it when you don't take the camper http://www.citytechnology.com.au/store/antennas/telstra-nextg-3g-4g/9dbi-850-1800mhz-nextg-3g-4g-omni-antenna-with-magnetic-base-fme (http://www.citytechnology.com.au/store/antennas/telstra-nextg-3g-4g/9dbi-850-1800mhz-nextg-3g-4g-omni-antenna-with-magnetic-base-fme)

With all the antenne of Radio, T.V., UHF, 4G, the camper will look like a base station.
https://goo.gl/images/ORiX5h

Post by: landbarge on August 15, 2016, 11:09:11 PM
nice mate, woulda loved one but i blew the budget on the car!! haha soft floor for me now  :'(  :cheers:
Horses for courses I guess. I enjoyed just sitting in it today.

Post by: JungleJohn on August 16, 2016, 05:38:19 PM
Very nice. Modifications are never ending. :cheers:
Post by: outbackminers on August 19, 2016, 07:29:33 PM
nice work, keep the updates flowing
Post by: landbarge on August 20, 2016, 02:10:18 AM
nice work, keep the updates flowing
Just waiting for some bits from Chynar. When the planets align we will be good to go for outside flood lights install with some led upgrades.  That will be it for a while.
Coinage dictates we rest for a bit.

Post by: Dizzy on August 26, 2016, 10:18:47 PM
Nice,
The Storm was the wife's favoured option for us.
I ended up deciding on a Camprite, so I'm sure to be reminded of a few lack of convenience / comfort options.  ;D
Post by: landbarge on August 27, 2016, 09:31:07 AM
We ummed and arred about the 2 for a long time.
Down to the nitty gritty they are two very different campers that share some ideas. Our Storm does everything that was important to me pretty well. Exceeds my needs in everything .So bloody comfy. It is like a palace. Set up it is wicked. Kids up at one end playing their games. We have all got enough space to get away from each other or all hang out with a bit of room too. Ignoring the fact we are mostly outside.
For towing, I would like something 1/2 the size and 1/2 the weight.  Some more off roadness would be good. I can't have it both ways. We have a great off road 7 x 5 box trailer. That is for the rough stuff. Swags and crates.