Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1729846 times)

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #1450 on: April 01, 2014, 07:47:06 PM »
Polished my bonnet this evening. I bought the bonnet from the wreckers months ago, it was freshly painted a little before the car was crashed.

Anyway it was covered in dust, even after I washed it it didnt clean up, so today I cut and polished it by hand, now its shining like new. I havnt had a nice shiny bonnet on my car for many years. looks great..

Now I gotta do something with my roof..

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.1 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline Buster3931

« Reply #1451 on: April 03, 2014, 08:31:52 PM »
Hi guys
Today I installed a loft ladder in the garage. I put a manhole in when we bought the place but it can be a pain getting ladder off the ute etc. So it was only a matter of removing the arch , framing it up and clotting out the plaster.

It all went way too smooth.
So just had to cut some spacers to finish fixing the frame in . Measure up a couple at 5mm ,put down the tape and cut the first piece and ....... The tape  . I'm surprised the members in Qld didn't hear my surprise .

Looks like I'm going to need a new blade for the saw before I can finish the arch around it.

Buster

« Reply #1452 on: April 03, 2014, 09:11:05 PM »
Lol. Better the tape than your finger.  I have a mate who slipped and put his thumb through the blade, end result, blade was still good, but thumb, not so. Lucky we where around the corner from the hospital.

« Reply #1453 on: April 03, 2014, 09:14:52 PM »
Ah, yes well, umm. The expression "BUGGER!!!" comes to mind.

« Reply #1454 on: April 04, 2014, 02:44:00 PM »
Being named 'BUSTer', do you have a habbit of things going pear shaped?   ;D

Offline Buster3931

« Reply #1455 on: April 04, 2014, 05:33:33 PM »
B&B
Bugger off. I vaguely resemble that remark . Just finished up cleaning up . There is burnt bits of tape all around the saw bench. I did have a laugh at my self . I was thinking how well this job had gone when I cut up the tape.

Funny now but not then .

BUSTer.     LOL

Offline rexie1100

« Reply #1456 on: April 04, 2014, 08:40:04 PM »
I rent a garage behind a shop and the guy next door called me in the morning and told me shed had been broken into.

$700 drop saw gone
$600 off cordless stuff gone
$500 off power tools gone
$1200 welder gone

Not insured

Not happy jane

2001 Nissan Patrol GU3.0
2002 Honda XR650L
Softfloor camper trailer

Offline fridayman

• TRIP TALES
« Reply #1457 on: April 04, 2014, 08:42:22 PM »
Ouch! I feel for you.

Offline Buster3931

« Reply #1458 on: April 04, 2014, 08:45:03 PM »
Low life mungrels that pinch tools 

Keep an eye out at crime converters.

BUSTer

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #1459 on: April 04, 2014, 08:57:03 PM »
I enclosed the kitchen pantry on the camper trailer with a sheet of 1.5 mm aluminium.

This has been done to prevent things from falling in behind it when we stop for lunch etc and pull the pantry out.

« Last Edit: April 04, 2014, 08:58:36 PM by JCAT »
2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

Offline rexie1100

« Reply #1460 on: April 04, 2014, 09:04:07 PM »
Checked the 2 local crime converters today but will check daily for a week or 2

Plus it cost me a days pay as i had to leave work at 9am and deal with all the sh!t that goes with it.

Low life mungrels that pinch tools 

Keep an eye out at crime converters.

BUSTer
2001 Nissan Patrol GU3.0
2002 Honda XR650L
Softfloor camper trailer

« Reply #1461 on: April 04, 2014, 09:39:06 PM »
Get your mates to help.
Some of these Oxygen thieves trade their goods in Pubs too.
Don't like your chances, but wish you luck.
Remember to detain them when you catch 'em.
If they can't get up, because they can't stand.
Or they're unconscious.  They're just in the right condition.
And they'll remember they shouldn't have done it.

« Reply #1462 on: April 05, 2014, 09:07:18 AM »
I enclosed the kitchen pantry on the camper trailer with a sheet of 1.5 mm aluminium.

This has been done to prevent things from falling in behind it when we stop for lunch etc and pull the pantry out.

Now that's got me thinking !!

« Reply #1463 on: April 05, 2014, 06:45:39 PM »
Fitted the rear under slung hanger for the spare tyre.

Offline Heavensent

« Reply #1464 on: April 05, 2014, 07:08:02 PM »
Stripped all old spot light wiring from the troll, ready for all new wiring set up now, hopefully a lot neater.

Offline evans52

« Reply #1465 on: April 06, 2014, 06:04:20 PM »
This morning I got my favourite member of my Family ready to get dirty in 3 weeks. Can't wait..........

« Reply #1466 on: April 06, 2014, 08:10:01 PM »
did nothing today as i went fishing out on the bay, but yesterday i showed the Cruiser some love...new oil, oil filter, fuel filter and air filter...was getting it ready for a dyno tune tomorrow, hopefully it'll have some nicer fuel economy tomorrow arvo and blow a touch less black smoke aswell.

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #1467 on: April 09, 2014, 05:25:34 PM »
Did nothing in my shed...but raided Xcvator's shed    :cup:   ;D

SWMBO is still smiling at her win.  :cheers:

Thanks again Keith - and Bronny for the morning tea!  ;D

Tim & Sarah.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2014, 10:40:37 PM by Tim - Stratford »

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #1468 on: April 09, 2014, 09:35:39 PM »
Started welding together my new car/machinery 16ft trailer.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.1 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline 2impulsiv

« Reply #1469 on: April 09, 2014, 10:00:16 PM »
Pulled all my lights off the Captiva to be fitted on the new Prado once it arrives.. :)

Contemplating having the chrome rally 4000's powder coated as the ARB bull bar is black and they might look strange.........

:(

2012 GIC Extreme Off-Road Camping Trailer. Here!
2014 GXL Prado. Here!

« Reply #1470 on: April 09, 2014, 10:03:07 PM »
changed the alternator out in the Crusier this arvo for a working one, amazing how a half hour job (at most) can turn into a 3 1/2 hour job  >:( >:(  bloody turbo and intercooler pipes made accessing the alternator near on impossible  ::)

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #1471 on: April 09, 2014, 10:40:21 PM »
changed the alternator out in the Crusier this arvo for a working one, amazing how a half hour job (at most) can turn into a 3 1/2 hour job  >:( >:(  bloody turbo and intercooler pipes made accessing the alternator near on impossible  ::)

Well rumpig maybe you should count yourself lucky for such a little job:). My other half decided that he would replace ALL the heater hoses on the patrol.  Lucky he was in the middle of a week off, cause when I came home from work on day 1 and went down to the shed, he had most of the top of engine out, the radiator out, the alternator off, the battery out and lots of other parts off trying to get to all the hoses to replace them.  The next day after his early start in the shed and after I got home from work he spent another 3 hours down the shed finishing off.  That's not quite 2 days but most of.  I'm so proud of him.  Cheers rellbell

« Reply #1472 on: April 09, 2014, 10:56:07 PM »
Well rumpig maybe you should count yourself lucky for such a little job:). My other half decided that he would replace ALL the heater hoses on the patrol.  Lucky he was in the middle of a week off, cause when I came home from work on day 1 and went down to the shed, he had most of the top of engine out, the radiator out, the alternator off, the battery out and lots of other parts off trying to get to all the hoses to replace them.  The next day after his early start in the shed and after I got home from work he spent another 3 hours down the shed finishing off.  That's not quite 2 days but most of.  I'm so proud of him.  Cheers rellbell
it was only a 3 1/2 hour job because i called in a mate who used to be a mechanic...lol

Offline kiwipride

« Reply #1473 on: April 10, 2014, 09:08:21 AM »
hi guys

it wasnt in the shed but in the bedroom. As a sparky I hate the power board behind the bedside drawers. One option was a four outlet USB adaptor but the one I found had a blue LED that lit up my half of the bedroom. After some searching I came across some Legrand Mechs that are double USB outlets. they are happy to charge a phone and Ipad together. I installed two together as I usually have other USB devices being charged under my watchful (snoring) self.

Buster

Awesome! Is there some kind of step down transformer behind them?

My plan is to live forever......so far, so good!

« Reply #1474 on: April 10, 2014, 09:14:36 AM »
getting it ready for a dyno tune tomorrow, hopefully it'll have some nicer fuel economy tomorrow arvo and blow a touch less black smoke aswell.

How did it go?