Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730347 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #1000 on: November 12, 2013, 08:42:04 PM »
Pulled the starter motor out of my hilux.

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #1001 on: November 12, 2013, 09:26:59 PM »
Installed a reversing camera in my Patrol, make it easier to hook up the camper trailer and save some tension between SWMBO and myself :)
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak

Offline smartyingreen

« Reply #1002 on: November 12, 2013, 10:19:11 PM »
Ripped the motor out of the ski boat, now just need to fix it and get it back in there!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk 4
Smartyingreen - HZJ105 Land Cruiser + Cameron HD Off Road Unlimited Concept Camper.

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #1003 on: November 13, 2013, 06:31:51 AM »
Ripped the motor out of the ski boat, now just need to fix it and get it back in there!

The boat is the next project in my shed..........I am in avoidance mode.
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak

Offline smartyingreen

« Reply #1004 on: November 13, 2013, 07:14:53 PM »
The boat is the next project in my shed..........I am in avoidance mode.

So was I, all winter!

Smartyingreen - HZJ105 Land Cruiser + Cameron HD Off Road Unlimited Concept Camper.

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #1005 on: November 14, 2013, 08:49:24 PM »
I bought a Meat Band saw off ebay, so spent all day putting it all together.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #1006 on: November 17, 2013, 04:39:04 PM »
Bit of a tidy up. Put some stuff away (I'm not good at doing this). Chucked some stuff out (will probably need it in 3 months). Now just to wait for my bike to be finished, then it will fit in again  ;D
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline booga

« Reply #1007 on: November 17, 2013, 04:46:43 PM »
Packed up camper for the Moreton trip at xmas.

Opened 2x Tap King kegs (James Squire Chancer) so nice drinking out of a glass again, reminds me of my youth to a point
A philosophy of life: to "Relax, it's your Right as a Human Being", "Simplify your Life" and enjoy!

Offline berlitza

« Reply #1008 on: November 17, 2013, 08:14:38 PM »
wired up the 2x100watt panels into a 200ah battery via a crappy controller into the new cave and started on the shadow board , should have enough power to run the led's and rechargeable's so I keep telling myself

Offline Pog

• Insert personal text here...
« Reply #1009 on: November 17, 2013, 08:30:25 PM »
Spent most of the day washing and polishing my SR5 (to prevent hail damage - haha)

Even though the ute is only 5 months old, I polished the Sports Bar and Aluminium Bull Bar with Purple Polish to satisfy my OCD for the day. It has come up very nice.
2013 Toyota Prado Altitude & Challenge Outback Deluxe Offroad Camper Trailer.
MY PRADO BUILD

« Reply #1010 on: November 17, 2013, 08:40:14 PM »
Spent most of the day washing and polishing my SR5 (to prevent hail damage - haha)

Even though the ute is only 5 months old, I polished the Sports Bar and Aluminium Bull Bar with Purple Polish to satisfy my OCD for the day. It has come up very nice.

You definitely need to keep the polish up to the alloy or it'll turn a quick 10min job into hours of work. I find Bowdens Own finishes off the alloy really nicely, probably even better than Purple. It's not as aggressive so finishes it off well. Purple is still one of my favourites though

« Reply #1011 on: November 17, 2013, 08:45:16 PM »

Offline hoytshooter

« Reply #1012 on: November 17, 2013, 08:54:44 PM »
Finally got my bar all up and running in my man cave  :cheers: :cheers: 3 different homebrew beers and bundy & coke , Jack daniels  & coke plus a keg of Midori and soda water for the wife ..... Its all coming together for the festive season ....lol
It ain't camping if theres not beer and pizza involved.....

« Reply #1013 on: November 17, 2013, 09:18:58 PM »
Finally got my bar all up and running in my man cave  :cheers: :cheers: 3 different homebrew beers and bundy & coke , Jack daniels  & coke plus a keg of Midori and soda water for the wife ..... Its all coming together for the festive season ....lol

Address??

« Reply #1014 on: November 19, 2013, 08:49:23 PM »
Finally got around to getting my mate to order me a new set of boots for the old Hilux.

So dragged out an old spare set of Prado GXL rims and gave them a wash, wire wheel and wet/dry rub down ready for a fresh coat of paint.

I'm thinking black this time.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk now Free

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #1015 on: November 20, 2013, 05:20:42 AM »
Still working on a customers trailer. Its a 7x4 but has an enclosed top, which he wants to be removable.
Yesterdays job was to wire up some new tail lights at the back of the box, but since he wants it removable I wired up a flat 7 plug, first time ever I have wired one up, I think I like them better than round 7 now.
anyway I did that and rewired up the normal trailer lights, with soldering joins etc.
I tested them and tested them and they worked fine each time. so then I taped them up and guess what, his fancy reverse lights come on when the left indicator comes on.

No now I have to un tape that side and investigate why. all the joins are fine, so I might have taped the reverse lights too closely to the left wires (Yellow) or I didn't tape those two very well, or a fine prick of wire has pierced through the tape..

worst part is that junction is in a hard spot to reach, Not my design, the junction was already there, I just redid it all to wire in another clearance light and tidy up the mess that was there before.

I hate undoing tape.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #1016 on: November 29, 2013, 06:15:21 PM »
Fitted a 30m auto rewind hose reel to the house. I don't know why I didn't do it years ago instead of fighting with a normal hose.
http://www.holmanindustries.com.au/auto-rewind-hose-reel-with-gun/

« Reply #1017 on: November 29, 2013, 06:16:18 PM »
Fitted a 30m auto rewind hose reel to the house. I don't know why I didn't do it years ago instead of fighting with a normal hose.
http://www.holmanindustries.com.au/auto-rewind-hose-reel-with-gun/

Got the same set up, they are great

« Reply #1018 on: November 29, 2013, 06:34:07 PM »
I like it so much I am going to get another one for the other side of the house :)

Offline Pog

« Reply #1019 on: November 29, 2013, 07:08:12 PM »
I'm sitting in the shed now polishing my golf clubs and sorting out my golf bag before the Renmark Open this weekend.

My only goal is to beat Smartyingreen, however the way we were hitting them tonight, I think he might have it over me.

Anyway, the weather looks good for the weekend, and I'm sure the beer will be cold after each round.
MY PRADO BUILD

Offline Trex_s4m1

• need more toys! :D
« Reply #1020 on: November 29, 2013, 09:07:09 PM »
Not really in the shed but almost finished the floor in the new boat. Thread soon to follow

« Reply #1021 on: November 30, 2013, 02:39:44 PM »
Only took 4 months, but I've finally finished a wooden toy train for my as a present for my nephew.
It's an almost exact replica of the one my grandad made for me some 36 years ago.
I think it's about the first time since trade school I've done a little woodworking project like this.

All made from recycled tassie oak except for the MDF wheels.  Sanded up to 400 grit, finished with a couple of coats of tung oil and then buffed with carnauba / bees wax.  First time I've ever done that type of finish and I don't think I'll ever use polyurethane again.

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #1022 on: November 30, 2013, 03:02:13 PM »
Only took 4 months, but I've finally finished a wooden toy train for my as a present for my nephew.
It's an almost exact replica of the one my grandad made for me some 36 years ago.
I think it's about the first time since trade school I've done a little woodworking project like this.

All made from recycled tassie oak except for the MDF wheels.  Sanded up to 400 grit, finished with a couple of coats of tung oil and then buffed with carnauba / bees wax.  First time I've ever done that type of finish and I don't think I'll ever use polyurethane again.

Looks fantastic hand made toys are so good looks like you put a lot of effort into it.

Offline Pog

« Reply #1023 on: November 30, 2013, 03:25:26 PM »

That looks awesome! There's a lot of satisfaction when you make something like that from scratch.
MY PRADO BUILD

« Reply #1024 on: November 30, 2013, 03:56:32 PM »
Great toy. I have a similar one that my son still plays with 30 years later. Yours should become somewhat of a family keepsake as it passes down the generations. Well done.  :cheers: