Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1729895 times)

Offline berlitza

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #925 on: October 27, 2013, 05:02:52 PM »
finished welding a 6x4 trailer together and worked out the hard way why welders wear full face masks, feels like the worst sunburn ive ever had

« Reply #926 on: October 27, 2013, 05:14:08 PM »
finished welding a 6x4 trailer together and worked out the hard way why welders wear full face masks, feels like the worst sunburn ive ever had

You Idiot

Well, I fixed the kids guinea pigs cage.
Sharpened a couple of chisels, cleaned the work trailer out and repacked it.
Stared at the back of the cargo area in the Cruiser and thought I would like to make some storage space and draws there one day.
 ::)

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #927 on: October 27, 2013, 06:06:44 PM »
Servicing the baler and rake getting ready to do my hay.

Well the baler did the job and we just finished carting, 317 squares in the shed and it was probably 320, all up couple broken string out in the paddock.  Happy with the amount we got and that it is all done.  The tandem from lino6 earlier posts did a great job getting them all in held heaps more than the 6x4 ;D

Offline Watty2975

« Reply #928 on: October 27, 2013, 07:44:16 PM »
Cleaned and reprinted the spotlights to go on the new ARB bullbar.
They were looking a bit ordinary and wearing some battle scars from the cape trip last year!
Landcruiser 200 TTD GXL with a few goodies & campomatic camper

« Reply #929 on: October 27, 2013, 07:46:45 PM »
Cleaned and packed the camper for next weekends 4 day break. :cup:

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #930 on: October 27, 2013, 08:04:21 PM »
Pissed of the manual hand pump and fitted an electric pump and new tap.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #931 on: October 27, 2013, 08:37:45 PM »
the shed?

bugger that!!

took the kids fishing  ;D

Offline froggy

« Reply #932 on: October 28, 2013, 06:51:41 AM »
Built some drawers to go under my new bench

Offline bobkay

« Reply #933 on: October 28, 2013, 03:38:35 PM »

Very very nice froggy, I'd love something like that. What did U build em out of. How about a bit of detail on the construction.
renovating cub supamatic, towed behind '02 Landcruiser

Offline rodw

« Reply #934 on: October 28, 2013, 03:54:27 PM »
Solar panels arrived and I tested them! Nice to see them working and still pulling over 70 volts at 4:00 in the arvo. The well charged battery pulled 8 amps for a while!

Offline VKPrado

« Reply #935 on: October 28, 2013, 04:22:05 PM »

Looks like it is going to be a very well organized shed now. A place for everything, and everything has a place.

« Reply #936 on: October 28, 2013, 04:47:03 PM »

Got to love Makita LXT tools :)

« Reply #937 on: October 28, 2013, 05:37:11 PM »
I spent Friday afternoon putting the cylinder head back on the work van after having it serviced etc.

Now, keep in mind, i used to be a mechanic back in the 80's and have a good idea of what i'm doing.

Pushrods in, oil the tips, rockers in place, oil the fulcrums and fit and tighten up. Manifolds back on, LPG connected up again and fill all the vital fliuds.

Double check everything and spin her over to hear a almighty "clank/clack" noise.  ??? The engine hadn't fired up, so just turn key off and look at engine for 10 minutes.
Bottom lip by now is hanging a long way down.....  :-[

Its 5pm, so off for a drink and suss it on Sat.
First thing, rocker cover off and check rockers/pushrods. Number 4 inlet has bent the crap out of the pushrod. i robbed a pushrod from another to get number 4 working and screwed in a compression gauge and yep, number 4 is down a tad, but minor.
140 to 145 in every pot, but a 135 in number 4.

Strip the whole thing down again to a short block.
Turn head on its side, and pour fuel into every port...... no leaks. Jam some compressed air around valves.... no leaks.
Repeat other side, all good.

Try to buy a pushrod in Tin Can.... no hope... :'(

Take old pushrod and very gently panel beat back into shape, testing it by rolling it along a glass window of the house.
After 15 minutes, test against a straight edge of a steel ruler and double check against the glass. I would never normally straighten a pushrod, but the ol 4.1L crossflow isn't a big HP unit, so i reckon i'm safe.... i hope.

Assemble parts back to a complete engine and start up..... perfect.

Drove around all day sunday and towed the trailer today with the ride-on... all good.

Just goes to show, no matter how good i was when i was mechanic, i'm a dufus these days.

It turned out, every pushrod was sitting in a lifter, except one i had sittin on the block casting.
I don't know if i put it there, bumped and knocked it there or if an evil force from outta space did it, but i still feel like a dickhead for it.

« Reply #938 on: October 28, 2013, 05:46:14 PM »
I don't know if i put it there, bumped and knocked it there or if an evil force from outta space did it, but i still feel like a dickhead for it.
Welcome to my world  ;D

« Reply #939 on: October 28, 2013, 05:48:31 PM »
Welcome to my world  ;D

great, now i'm gunna have nightmares tonight.  :D

Hey, the upshot was, Mrs Jeepers came out yesterday wearing a batman outfit, a set of jumper leads in one hand a rubber chicken in the other.... >:D We had a great ol time....  ;D >:D
« Last Edit: October 28, 2013, 05:52:44 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #940 on: October 28, 2013, 05:52:07 PM »
I feel your Pain Jeepers.
In the 80's when I was an apprentice mechanic , I helped the tradesman lift a cyl head onto a chev 6 cyl petrol marine engine, he left the thermostat hose connected to the heat exchanger with the clamp on the hose. As the head was lifted in place, the hose clamp came of the hose and landed in the #1 pot.
With everything double checked, he fitted it back into the boat, no easy feat, then kicked it over, ran for 30 seconds and then a thug is what stopped it.
The short version is, cracked block, head and bent rod, swollen piston  which was hard to get out of cyl, and a hose clamp which could be used again no worries.
I can remember a bent push rod as you describe, just don't remember my involvement........

« Reply #941 on: October 28, 2013, 05:52:50 PM »
Hey, the upshot was, Mrs Jeepers came out yesterday wearing a batman outfit, a set of jumper leads in one hand a rubber chicken in the other.... >:D

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #942 on: October 28, 2013, 05:56:20 PM »
Cleaned it up, cleaned up a bench, then moved it, then put my new spare (not working) Engine under that bench. Then cleaned up the garden tool section to put the mower there but ended up putting the nearly finished trailer there.

then cleaned up the main work bench and did some plastic welding.

iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #943 on: October 28, 2013, 05:58:07 PM »
I can remember a bent push rod as you describe, just don't remember my involvement........

yep, Had a few bent push rods in my old Cleveland's.
Valve bouncing the buggars had something to do with it I think

« Reply #944 on: October 28, 2013, 06:41:20 PM »
Very very nice froggy, I'd love something like that. What did U build em out of. How about a bit of detail on the construction.
X2 on details aswell please. was just looking at my shed on the weekend thinking i should run some storage shelves down one side of it, your set up with a heap of draws looks like a great idea i should incorporate into mine aswell as some shelves. what did you use for the draws and where did you get them?

Offline froggy

« Reply #945 on: October 28, 2013, 08:47:26 PM »
To be honest i actually did this a couple of months ago, the frame of the bench is 30x30x2.5mm galvatube, the draws run on timber approx 12mm x 120mm runners and the drawers i bought from http://www.adelaidemerchandising.com/ from memory they were about $12 each. I wish they has some of the same width but deeper, but they didn't. Will be sign writing labels on the front, to make things abit more organized

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
« Reply #946 on: October 29, 2013, 09:49:06 AM »
Made it neat and tidy with a space for the Penguin....
All my storage is now on castors and can be moved around or out to make room to play in ... ;D
Both 1 metre high work tables and there are 3 units like the one you can just see on the left with camping gear
and other mancave stuff ..
Note the storage unit in the middle on the wall is my current panel stock -  :-[

:cheers: :cheers:
Mandrake
Going back to basics - sort of ...

Offline bobkay

« Reply #947 on: October 29, 2013, 01:25:54 PM »
Will be sign writing labels on the front, to make things abit more organized

Haha, for a minute I thought it had gone to Ur head, first glance I thought I read "will be signing pics of them if U like"

Any reason U used strips of wood for the draw runners rather then one single sheet of ply??

Also like Your set up Mandrake, between the two of U, I have become inspired to organise my shed while I have a couple of days off,
cheers Bob.   :cheers:
renovating cub supamatic, towed behind '02 Landcruiser

« Reply #948 on: October 29, 2013, 06:48:24 PM »
To be honest i actually did this a couple of months ago, the frame of the bench is 30x30x2.5mm galvatube, the draws run on timber approx 12mm x 120mm runners and the drawers i bought from http://www.adelaidemerchandising.com/ from memory they were about $12 each. I wish they has some of the same width but deeper, but they didn't. Will be sign writing labels on the front, to make things abit more organized
cheers for the extra info...i just scrolled in on your pic and see how then work now. a few dollars worth of draws there all up at $12 a pop, but great storage  8) 8)

Offline crykies

« Reply #949 on: October 29, 2013, 09:40:14 PM »
No need to tell yas what i been doing. :)
www.beachloversleds.com.au