Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1754556 times)

Offline Pirate_Pete

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #850 on: September 27, 2013, 07:28:02 PM »
Top idea Champin! Where did you get heat shrink big enough to go around the poles? We've got a few different sizes from Jaycar but none that would fit the poles.

Electrical wholesales have heat shrink in assorted sizes from a couple of mm up to big enough to fit around a stubby. It usually comes in 4' lengths.

Offline ewwreckers

« Reply #851 on: September 27, 2013, 08:35:55 PM »
Thanks Pete

Vanessa

$150 Jackaroo + $1600 CT = One helluva happy family!

"Got my toes in the water,
ass in the sand,
not a worry in the world,
a cold beer in my hand,
Life is good today, life is good today"

Offline berlitza

« Reply #852 on: September 27, 2013, 09:39:39 PM »
Just finished the soildering on the anderson plugs to the solar panels  to connect to the ct battery,,, bloody brilliant ,,,,,,,those original solar connectors are a massive pita

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #853 on: September 28, 2013, 03:35:12 PM »
Cleaned the ute for an sale inspection for tomorrow!

Once it's gone, will start looking for a new ute! Maybe a SR Hilux or Dmax. Hmmmmmm...... Both look very nice,

Offline Moggy

« Reply #854 on: September 28, 2013, 06:18:07 PM »
Walked in, looked around & thought S#*i what a mess. Turned around, walked out & decided the lounge room was manland for this arvo.
Maybe tomorrow.........
Oh hangon the Mackay Cutters are playing in the Q-Cup final. Oh well monday.... thats right off to Melbourne for 30th wedding anniversary, even agreed to take wife with me this time  >:D
Next weeks the NRL final, i'll have two weeks to get sorted before CT arives.
All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #855 on: September 29, 2013, 06:48:40 PM »
Cleaned and serviced the chainsaw, complete with new spark plug and air filter. I even shouted her a new bar and chain.

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #856 on: September 29, 2013, 07:11:47 PM »
Rewired the power outlet in the fridge box on the new camper........replaced the 3mm cable with 6mm from battery to socket as my fridge did not like the spaghetti wire at all. Replaced the loose collection of inline fuse holders with a proper fuse box.

Installed the 600 watt pure sine wave inverter and an additional 12v outlet at the kitchen.

Ordered some solar panels and a ctek 250DS just awaiting their arrival.
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak

« Reply #857 on: September 29, 2013, 07:46:19 PM »
Fitted the 'solid' rubber wheel to my old AL-KO jockey wheel mount and swapped my new inflatable jockey wheel off the draw bar.  Have a second AL-KO jockey wheel clamp, which will get welded to the drivers side of the draw bar when the new axle is fitted, so I can use both at once.
Re-charged the crank battery from the Monterey, and it came up fine, which didn't surprise me given that I flattened it quickly, i.e. not a case of slowly losing a dying battery over a long period of time.
While I had the battery out I checked the Supercharge MF 53 Gold and it fits across the width of the battery holder, leaving room for an AGM as well.  Very pleased with that.  :cheers:
Fitted a Gas fuse' to the 9kg bottle on the camper.  Have a second for the 4/.5kg 'mobile' bottle as well, thanks to Aldi.
Pumped up the tyres on the John Deere L110 Auto and made room for it in the shed.  Bron said I looked like 'Farmer Joe' on my new toy. LOL
Jacked up the Heaslip with my new electric scissor jack and removed one of the road wheels to take detailed measurements for determining the required length for the new axle.
Put the 100 Amp Hr AGM in the battery box on the charger to give it a bit of a 'condition' with the camping season almost upon us, even though the LEDs on the box were reading 'fully charged'.

Offline Woodsie

• Off the beaten track in this Great Country of Ours
« Reply #858 on: September 29, 2013, 08:02:02 PM »
Changed the Oil in the Front and Rear Diffs and the Gearbox and Transfer case of the Cruiser today
The Gearbox is whisper quiet now, no more chatter. The wife complained that it sounds like a car now and not a 4WD.
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #859 on: September 29, 2013, 08:33:18 PM »
Sold my Ute!

Bloke came at 4.30pm, left at 5.30pm and rang back at 8pm to take it!

Pretty Happy! Now to find a new one!

Offline berlitza

« Reply #860 on: September 29, 2013, 09:07:05 PM »
Took the solar controller off the back of the solar kit rewired my little electrical box, realised After doing some research on here that I had wired it all wrong, sooooo re-rewired it yet again, seems to work ok, have to try the solar panels next time we get some sun

Offline Brock05

« Reply #861 on: September 29, 2013, 09:33:48 PM »
Day 2 of my mezzanine floor install, all but finished. Can't wait to get it reorganised and a heap of stuff up off the floor. Will put some pics up tomorrow.
'Bite off more than you can chew and then chew like hell'.

Offline berlitza

« Reply #862 on: September 30, 2013, 05:18:29 PM »
started to mount the drop down legs, was hoping to weld them in place but going to have to bolt the buggers to the floor

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #863 on: September 30, 2013, 05:46:49 PM »
SOld my mower, and delivered it..

iPad with IOS 7.02 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline Trex_s4m1

• need more toys! :D
« Reply #864 on: September 30, 2013, 06:44:25 PM »
started the wiring to go along the drawbar to the toolbox. then my head imploded thinking of battery box location/fridge/solar input etc. had a beer
tinkered on the scooter (70cc toy), started some more vegies for the vegie beds once the weather is nice enough in wa. then weeded the yard and put the weeds in bags to solarize the seeds/pests.
started a lamb roast with all the trimmings. cracking a beer and having a nerd on for a bit  :cheers:

(missus is away for 5 more months :( hence keeping busy )

Offline jimc1

« Reply #865 on: September 30, 2013, 08:44:36 PM »
Been busy in the shed getting ready for a trip to Flinders/Gammon Ranges.

built single drawer unit plus slide for back of disco
built anchors to mount maxtrax to suit rhino rack pioneer rack
mounted 2.5kg fire extinguisher in disco
cabled up engel 12v plug to auxillary battery[size=78%] [/size]

Offline evans52

« Reply #866 on: October 02, 2013, 08:09:47 PM »
My 2 weeks Annual Leave started at 1pm today.

After attending a local fair/gathering/show/rip off with The Bride and 2 Monsters, I bought a six pack and went straight to the Shed. Fitted some LED tail lights (I know they've been around for a while and it's the first I've used them, but they sure look sexy in the dark) to the Camper and a flat pin plug. Tomorrow is packing day for Bathurst leaving on Monday. Not before a quick overnight trip to Port Lincoln, SA on Friday.

Did I mention I'm on Annual Leave??? Just checking.............. ;)

Offline berlitza

« Reply #867 on: October 12, 2013, 05:51:10 PM »
Picked up a new 3x3m shed yesterday HAD every intention of laying a foundation and assembling it today,

nek minute,,,, bathurst and beers

« Reply #868 on: October 12, 2013, 06:06:17 PM »
I went to Black Diamonds work man cave today to do a bit of a swap around with some rims and tyres
Thanks Johnny  :cheers:

« Reply #869 on: October 12, 2013, 06:44:47 PM »
Had a bit of a clean up and sorted all the camping gear I want to put in the camper. In the process I found the 3rd padlock in my keyed alike set that I thought I had lost.

« Reply #870 on: October 12, 2013, 07:18:25 PM »
I changed a golf buggy into a kayak trolley  ;D

« Reply #871 on: October 12, 2013, 07:21:46 PM »
Was yesterday, in the 'RepairLink' cave... Stripped the fruit from the Monterey before it was tilt traded to Pickles.    :'(

Offline barnray

• "The Road to my Horizon"
  • The Start Of My Trailer
« Reply #872 on: October 12, 2013, 07:49:08 PM »
What did I do? Started building a new suntracker system for the camper, ordered stuff for 2 other projects, a pole BBque and covers and other bits to fit gas to a mini spit. My swmbo is getting a bit shirty about me sitting around even tho I have a torn tendon in my left ankle. Some body Pls Help. Barnray
PS She has more on the list. R

« Reply #873 on: October 12, 2013, 09:39:45 PM »
Put the primer on a holden WB ute today.

« Reply #874 on: October 12, 2013, 10:03:05 PM »
I built a bracket to hold an intercooler. Didnt quite finish it though and wont be able to do it tomorrow as its my grand final day tomorrow :)