Author Topic: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.  (Read 302974 times)

Re: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.
« Reply #200 on: March 22, 2020, 08:31:13 AM »
I work in what is classed as an essential service. Last week I had to canvas my staff and see who could still come in if the schools closed. That came in as around 2/3rds, in health care its closer to 1/2.

School not only teaches the kids, but in this age of both parents having to work, it has become essential day care. Close the schools and a heap of people can't go to work and the economy takes even more of a hit

Its the balance of them getting sick or their parents losing their jobs and them going hungry. All a tough tight rope to walk.

« Reply #201 on: March 22, 2020, 09:01:14 AM »
Why it is so important to socially isolate....

https://www.washingtonpost.com/graphics/2020/world/corona-simulator/

« Reply #202 on: March 22, 2020, 09:09:36 AM »
Why it is so important to socially isolate....

https://www.washingtonpost.com/graphics/2020/world/corona-simulator/
But many will not.
:(

« Reply #203 on: March 22, 2020, 09:15:18 AM »
But many will not.
:(

I think this virus is also an intelligence test for mankind....many, many will fail to use their intelligence to look after themselves AND others.   We have already seen the dunny roll hoarders show their lack of intelligence or respect for others... :cheers:

« Reply #204 on: March 22, 2020, 09:43:31 AM »
Just realised : Where are all our superstar famous / sports people and actors etc, Normaly they are all over TV and radio at these types of times spruking messages  of encouragement and hope apealing to the masses  to do the right thing etc...
Is it just me not seeing or hearing it or has there been a deafening silence ...Just a thought.

Was thinking it might encourage more to do whats being asked by the Government  and health mobs

« Reply #205 on: March 22, 2020, 10:08:18 AM »
I think this virus is also an intelligence test for mankind....many, many will fail to use their intelligence to look after themselves AND others.   We have already seen the dunny roll hoarders show their lack of intelligence or respect for others... :cheers:
Unfortunatley, there is evidence of it here :(

« Reply #206 on: March 22, 2020, 10:41:38 AM »
https://www.9news.com.au/national/coronavirus-australia-live-updates-bondi-beach-closed-spain-deaths-increase/01f9d3d4-f467-4b28-9958-c8c2a8df1bb9

All 'non-essential' travel to be banned: Scott Morrison
By Stuart Marsh11:27
Prime Minister Scott Morrison has recommended all Australians avoid non-essential travel as the government works to contain the outbreak of COVID-19.

"After consulting with premiers and chief ministers overnight, we have decided that we are moving immediately to recommend against all non-essential travel in Australia," said Mr Morrison.

"All non-essential travel should be cancelled.

"Work-related and compassionate grounds, those types of arrangements, is essential but also essential supplies and other important arrangements needed to keep Australia running."

« Reply #207 on: March 22, 2020, 10:46:04 AM »
https://www.9news.com.au/national/coronavirus-australia-live-updates-bondi-beach-closed-spain-deaths-increase/01f9d3d4-f467-4b28-9958-c8c2a8df1bb9

All 'non-essential' travel to be banned: Scott Morrison
By Stuart Marsh11:27
Prime Minister Scott Morrison has recommended all Australians avoid non-essential travel as the government works to contain the outbreak of COVID-19.

"After consulting with premiers and chief ministers overnight, we have decided that we are moving immediately to recommend against all non-essential travel in Australia," said Mr Morrison.

"All non-essential travel should be cancelled.

"Work-related and compassionate grounds, those types of arrangements, is essential but also essential supplies and other important arrangements needed to keep Australia running."
but then you read this
https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/i-ve-barely-seen-another-person-families-flee-sydney-to-sit-out-virus-in-the-country-20200319-p54c0i.html

« Reply #208 on: March 22, 2020, 10:57:06 AM »
but then you read this
https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/i-ve-barely-seen-another-person-families-flee-sydney-to-sit-out-virus-in-the-country-20200319-p54c0i.html

Be okay for those that have already travelled.   Will still take a while to work out just how to implement it to essential travel.  Other Countries have done a letter of authority to travel. 

Form other examples eg Bondi beach, self regulation has failed. 

« Reply #209 on: March 22, 2020, 11:12:25 AM »
but then you read this
Yep, I know a mate and his wife have left Adelaide to isolate in the back blocks because of their health.

Online Fizzie

« Reply #210 on: March 22, 2020, 02:58:23 PM »
Just realised : Where are all our superstar famous / sports people and actors etc, Normaly they are all over TV and radio at these types of times spruking messages  of encouragement and hope apealing to the masses  to do the right thing etc...
Is it just me not seeing or hearing it or has there been a deafening silence ...Just a thought.

Good question, Edz ???

Maybe they've all already shot through ::)

Online Fizzie

« Reply #211 on: March 22, 2020, 02:59:55 PM »
but then you read this

Yep, good on you, SMH ::)

Things are in pretty dire straits, or getting that way rapidly, & you've still got your 5 story / month limit on >:(

« Reply #212 on: March 22, 2020, 03:09:01 PM »

« Reply #213 on: March 22, 2020, 03:17:05 PM »
Yep, good on you, SMH ::)

Things are in pretty dire straits, or getting that way rapidly, & you've still got your 5 story / month limit on >:(
clear ya cookies and it resets, or use another browser ;)

« Reply #214 on: March 22, 2020, 04:06:41 PM »
Victoria:
Schools closed from Tuesday in drastic bid to curb spread of coronavirus

Schools will be closed and all non-essential activities shut down as the state government enacts dramatic measures to prevent deaths and the spread of coronavirus.

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #215 on: March 22, 2020, 04:10:44 PM »
Not sure what we will do if preschools shut down.
I work in an “essential service” I certainly won’t get time off.
I’m assuming my wife’s position in the bank would also be essential so we’d be stuffed.

Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

« Reply #216 on: March 22, 2020, 04:22:24 PM »
The "essential" bit is the confusing part at the moment, previously, the Fed gov referred to it as including work and school, looks like the states are using it in a different context.

Looks like pubs clubs cafe's etc where people meet are a given to close. Supermarkets, doctors, pharmacies etc are a given to stay open. But there is so much grey inbetween the black and white cases that need clarity. Here in Qld we seem to have decision shy Premier, so I suspect we will follow the other eastern states but it might be about a week behind.

« Reply #217 on: March 22, 2020, 04:23:17 PM »
IMWO:
With all this going on, closing everything, blocking borders, risking entire economies and industries etc - there is a Shit load they are not telling us, nor telling us how bad this will become.

« Reply #218 on: March 22, 2020, 04:31:57 PM »
IMWO:
With all this going on, closing everything, blocking borders, risking entire economies and industries etc - there is a Shit load they are not telling us, nor telling us how bad this will become.
Telling ya, I ain't going to be stuck in NSW. I'll be finding out first thing tomorrow morning though.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

« Reply #219 on: March 22, 2020, 04:35:05 PM »
Telling ya, I ain't going to be stuck in NSW. I'll be finding out first thing tomorrow morning though.
offroad it :D

« Reply #220 on: March 22, 2020, 04:36:50 PM »
offroad it :D
I’m looking at options now

« Reply #221 on: March 22, 2020, 04:37:27 PM »
Quote from: SJindustries
I’m looking at options now
travel at night ;)

« Reply #222 on: March 22, 2020, 04:41:55 PM »
Quote from: Bigfish
We should also be allowed to get some of our super out to help with living now!!! 

Australians will be give n early access to $20,000 from their superannuation in an emergency effort to help workers suffering financially during the coronavirus pandemic but there are concerns it is now the worst time for people to dip into their nest eggs.

The new measures revealed as part of the federal government's $66 billion stimulus package on Sunday morning would allow individuals facing financial stress due to the disease to access $10,000 in 2019-20 and another $10,000 in 2020-21.

Those who are eligible are able to apply through myGov to access the funds before 1 July for the first $10,000 and have three months after this date to access more. These funds will not be taxed and will not affect Centrelink or Veterans' Affairs payments, with an expected cost to the budget of $1.2 billion.

Offline Moggy

« Reply #223 on: March 22, 2020, 04:42:40 PM »

The "essential" bit is the confusing part at the moment, previously, the Fed gov referred to it as including work and school, looks like the states are using it in a different context.

Looks like pubs clubs cafe's etc where people meet are a given to close. Supermarkets, doctors, pharmacies etc are a given to stay open. But there is so much grey inbetween the black and white cases that need clarity. Here in Qld we seem to have decision shy Premier, so I suspect we will follow the other eastern states but it might be about a week behind.

Yeah, I'm confused by the "essential" tag. I do waterproofing,  not really essential, but is if you want to tile the wet areas. Also supposed to go to Bowen next week for a job, don't really know where I stand atm

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #224 on: March 22, 2020, 05:04:22 PM »
IMWO:

You just need to look at Italy to see what can easily happen, and it can scale up to that very quickly and easily get worse, I think the US is about to see a big body count as well. You only need to crunch some pretty simple maths to see how bad and how quickly this could get.

Our Gov has actually been ahead of most of the rest of the world early on which I think they had hoped would allow that we might have been able to carry on with some normalcy with work and education, but I think pictures of Bondi beach and packed pubs etc have forced their hand.