Author Topic: Experiment time - with BEER  (Read 57689 times)

Experiment time - with BEER
« on: October 09, 2014, 09:53:34 PM »
This is open to anyone to join in..... Head to duncans and buy a few 'different' beers...

Few months ago I went to Duncans and saw that they have bout 100 different beers.. so thought I'd buy a few, as I cant drink VB, Carlton, or Melbourne anymore.

The bloke recommended to me Ottinger - and its NICE! 8 bottle tops out of 10

I took that slab to Knockwood - it was cheap as VB, but unlike VB it was drinkable, AND in 500ml cans!

Tonight while there, I thought I'd buy a few more and try them... 1 per night.

Tonight's example that I'm tasting is OLD FART BEER - in a 500ml bottle.

It's a very smooth beer, 5% from the UK. Now its probably meant to be drunk warm being from the UK, but mine is cold.
Its very smooth, very clean and refreshing... Sorta pilsener style.

On the Bird scale I'd give it a 7 tops out of 10

Re: Experiment time - with BEER
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2014, 09:55:39 PM »
Has anyone tried Banana Bread beer (serious, they had slabs of it there)? or Chocolate Beer?
They have some strange Shit at Duncans..

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2014, 10:03:31 PM »
Personally I usually can't drink beer unless it's ICE cold and 40 degrees outside....

But there is a micro brewery here in Wodonga, I went on a group tour there and tried a few different brews.
One in particular was awesome. No idea what it was though.  ;D

But definitely worth a visit next time you are up this way.

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2014, 10:06:07 PM »
Quote from: evolution
Personally I usually can't drink beer unless it's ICE cold and 40 degrees outside....

But there is a micro brewery here in Wodonga, I went on a group tour there and tried a few different brews.
One in particular was awesome. No idea what it was though.  ;D
I'm sorta like you with beer... But I cant afford as much Red Bull as you drink and pay rego each year ;)

Go buy some and join in!

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2014, 10:08:25 PM »
I'm sorta like you with beer... But I cant afford as much Red Bull as you drink and pay rego each year ;)

Go buy some and join in!

Haha the redbull is because I don't buy booze lol.

I'll try after work tomorrow. I'm sure I'll find something good  >:D

Evo

EDIT: here tis
http://www.ubrewit.com.au/    They aren't listed as being in Wodonga but they are here lol. Pretty cool place actually.  :cup:
« Last Edit: October 09, 2014, 10:12:50 PM by evolution »
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2014, 10:18:16 PM »
This is my favourite at the moment

« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2014, 03:20:54 AM »
My current favourite is Becks in cans for travelling $56 from Dan's or the 330 ml bottles for $40.  Make sure that they are imported not the made in Australia versions

https://www.danmurphys.com.au/media/DM/Product/308x385/713476_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569854542290.png

Offline tonywatto

« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2014, 05:21:38 AM »
Bird,

Give the Banana Bread beer a go icy cold. It smells like banana lollies. I can drink about 2 of them before moving on to something else as they are a bit sweet for me after that. They are great on a hot day. The chocolate beer is awesome for cool night fire side sipping as well.
Tony
 :cheers: :cheers: 
Tony
200 seriesGX cruiser
Modcon Imperial

« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2014, 05:51:27 AM »

It's a very smooth beer, 5% from the UK. Now its probably meant to be drunk warm being from the UK, but mine is cold.
Its very smooth, very clean and refreshing... Sorta pilsener style.

so where is the other 95% from ? - sorry still drunk  ;D

« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2014, 06:07:02 AM »
This is my favourite at the moment

Good thread bird.

Noel, Big head is also good, from the same brewery. 

Experiment time - with BEER
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2014, 06:10:07 AM »
Asahi and Saporo all the way for me. But I could be....

« Last Edit: October 10, 2014, 06:12:37 AM by scarps »

« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2014, 06:25:57 AM »

i'm with you, evo.  not normally a beer drinker at all.  prefer bundy red.

but 'barecove radler' was one beer that i found more enjoyable when cold on a hot day.

anyone got any other suggestions for beers like this one?  would be happy to add my findings to this experiment... :)

« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2014, 06:50:13 AM »
I was put on to Ottinger a few years ago by a bloke who only drunk VB, until he got onto that. Wasn't all that fussed on it. I still drank it though.

Local grog shop had a deal going, spend over $30 and get a six pack of whatever it was on the counter for cheap. So I did. NEVER again. Hammer and Tongs it was called. Absolute utter garbage. You need a real strong stomach to swallow that crap. Beer doesn't live long in my fridge, but that crap did.
A mouthful of toothpaste before you take a swig of that crap is about the only way to kill the taste of it.

Shane.

« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2014, 06:58:35 AM »
Asahi and Saporo all the way for me. But I could be....
Gotta agree with you they are both great beers.

VB is usually my poison but over summer I'm known to slam a few Corona's down. Toohey's extra dry is a good drop or Go the Platinum but they get to your head quickly, I like em  >:D
8/10 caps

« Reply #14 on: October 10, 2014, 07:05:32 AM »
This is my current selection.  My preference lately is pale ales.  I like all the James Squires beers. Will probably tend towards the pilsners over summer, or the Asian beers, Tiger, Chang and the like

The pepper jack on the right is a mix of beer and Barossa Valley Shiraz. Bought 6. WOW beer and wine together, why hasn't this been done before!! One taste and you know why.  Gets "1 cap" which will probably stay on that bottle.

When you try your beers pour them in a glass to get the full benefit.

I love to try small breweries

Nillumbik Cellars in Diamond Creek has a very good selection.

Next time you go to Knockwood if you come in from the top, Mansfield IGA have Mansfield breweries pale ale which is nice.  A stop at Jamieson Brewery would be worth a stop.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2014, 07:21:00 AM by #jonesy »

« Reply #15 on: October 10, 2014, 07:14:15 AM »
I usually reserve a couple of Fat Yaks for Fat Yak Friday but lashed out last night for the young fellas birthday

« Reply #16 on: October 10, 2014, 08:16:18 AM »
When I was younger I had a house which had a bar downstairs and on all the walls it had a shelf about 30cms down from the ceiling on all walls. Basically the right size to put stubbies on. So myself and my best mate decided to fill this shelf with different type of stubbies.

After about 3 years we filled that shelf with 250 different stubbies and we also rated each beer with a rating between 1 to 5. On the final count I think 10% of those beers were fantastic and would definitely drink again, 40% were okay but wouldn’t buy a carton of the stuff and 50% were sh*t.

Mind you this was over 20 years ago and the number of boutique beers have increased dramatically.

UIZ733

« Reply #17 on: October 10, 2014, 08:26:08 AM »

« Reply #18 on: October 10, 2014, 08:30:58 AM »
Just a few breweries to cross off the list
http://www.beerandbrewer.com.au/Brewery

I can thinks of a few that on there as well.

I subscribe to the magazine as I used to make home brew.  More a brewing industry magazine but a 3 year subscription for about $80 gets a voucher for free slab or two

Offline pjpatrol

« Reply #19 on: October 10, 2014, 08:56:00 AM »
Oettinger to the Germans is like Fosters Lager to Australians.
"Flat Out"

Offline Footloose

• Bush or Beach what a choice
« Reply #20 on: October 10, 2014, 08:59:06 AM »
Since I have been down in Tassie on HolidaysI have been trying
the different types of Boags and Cascade that you cant get on the
mainland.The cascade Blonde,Pale Ale and Draught taste really
clean and crisp.Moo Beer was good too.

Cheers :cheers:
2013 Isuzu DMax LSM
2014 Jayco Journey Outback pop-top
17.55 ready to tour

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #21 on: October 10, 2014, 09:58:55 AM »
My favourite beer of all time was Boags St George but I don't think they make it anymore as I haven't seen it in the bottleos for years.

At the moment the one beer I find hard to avoid is Miller with lime.  Brilliant super chilled on a hot day.

2 beers that have surprised me in recent times.  XXXX Summer.  Had to buy it ones as it was all that was available and we both enjoyed it.  The other is VB.  Not the VB of old but the new (old) recipe.  I could never drink it as it always left a metallic taste in my mouth, but since they went back to the original recipe, its improved dramatically.

Another one worth a try if you can find it is Mornington Pale Ale.  Very different taste and quite refreshing. I call it a good table beer as it seems to compliment food flavours rather than compete with them.

For a light beer I like Boags Premium light, Hahn Light and Fosters Light Ice.

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com
The following users thanked this post: bagpuss

« Reply #22 on: October 10, 2014, 10:23:49 AM »
My favourite beer of all time was Boags St George but I don't think they make it anymore as I haven't seen it in the bottleos for years.

http://www.thebeercave.com.au/cave/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=54

theins

« Reply #23 on: October 10, 2014, 11:25:49 AM »
My current favourite is Becks in cans for travelling $56 from Dan's or the 330 ml bottles for $40.  Make sure that they are imported not the made in Australia versions

https://www.danmurphys.com.au/media/DM/Product/308x385/713476_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569854542290.png

I support this - Go BECKS!!

Being German I might be biased, though... >:D

Offline peter01

• live the -
    • http://ourezytrail.blogspot.com.au/
« Reply #24 on: October 10, 2014, 11:27:39 AM »
prior to buying grog I check the attached as around Shepparton there would be around 15-20 bottle shops

http://boozle.com.au/
2014 GLXR Triton
2015 Blue Water - FF Darling camper

Our blog:     http://ourezytrail.blogspot.com.au/