General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Black Diamond on October 24, 2014, 07:35:48 PM

Title: Internet speed test
Post by: Black Diamond on October 24, 2014, 07:35:48 PM
My internet is slooooooooooooooooooooooooooow  :-[
I had Testra test my internet speed and they say its fine. I reckon thats a load of croc  ;D If anyone has a spare minute can they run this test to see where im at compared to others? 

http://www.speedtest.net/ (http://www.speedtest.net/)

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855716864.png)

Dont know too much about this stuff but according to the test im slower than 83% of Aus  ???

Whats everyone else pushing?  :cheers:

PS. And no there is no prize for the person with the biggest.....Internet speed  ;D
Title: Re: Internet speed test
Post by: peter01 on October 24, 2014, 07:39:23 PM
Download speed 3.74
Upload 0.72
Ping 40ms
Post by: MarkGU on October 24, 2014, 07:45:06 PM

my carrier pigeon must be from the same nest as yours  :-\

Post by: D4D on October 24, 2014, 07:48:03 PM
I'm not much better, but I am at the end of the cable run.

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855758932.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3855758932)
Post by: Moggy on October 24, 2014, 07:48:50 PM
Oooooh you really don't want to see mine

Post by: MarkGU on October 24, 2014, 07:49:51 PM
dunno what you blokes are complaining about.........at least your download speed doesnt start with a big fat O  :-\
Post by: Black Diamond on October 24, 2014, 07:56:36 PM

my carrier pigeon must be from the same nest as yours  :-\

Sheezus I thought mine was bad ;D
Maybe do a re run, might have been a glitch in the system  :angel:

I'm not much better, but I am at the end of the cable run.

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855758932.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3855758932)
show off  :-[ double mine
Oooooh you really don't want to see mine

Post by: MarkGU on October 24, 2014, 07:58:04 PM
a re run?????

dont want the carrier pigeon too get tired now  8)
Post by: Moggy on October 24, 2014, 08:00:20 PM
:-[ double mine :worthles:

OK You asked

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855775228.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3855775228)

8)
This is on a a 50/25 NBN plan from internode

Post by: MarkGU on October 24, 2014, 08:02:07 PM
OK You asked

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855775228.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3855775228)

8)
WHAT THE FUGGIN HELL??????
are you hooked into an underground cable that supplies a small country?

SHEESH
Post by: Tim - Stratford on October 24, 2014, 08:05:56 PM
I'm stuck in the bush too.... ???

Cranked it up with 4G - dear as poison though....  :'(
Post by: paceman on October 24, 2014, 08:06:20 PM
OK You asked

8)

Bastard... :)

I'm with internode too, but only on the Telstra equipment.  Average about 8mb, depending on time and congestion...

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855803190.png)

Which suburb are you in again?
Post by: oldmate on October 24, 2014, 08:08:20 PM
I just did this using there app though the iPad. Wife is downstairs using Internet also
Post by: Black Diamond on October 24, 2014, 08:13:12 PM
OK You asked

8)
Your right maybe I shouldn't have asked  ??? i want that speed ;D
How long does it take you to download a song or movie?
Post by: MarkGU on October 24, 2014, 08:14:46 PM
dunno how long it takes him to download a song but i started to download an Elvis song just before he died................ ;D
Post by: Black Diamond on October 24, 2014, 08:16:51 PM
dunno how long it takes him to download a song but i started to download an Elvis song just before he died................ ;D
  :cup:  :cup:
Post by: Topender on October 24, 2014, 08:20:08 PM
Post by: Moggy on October 24, 2014, 08:21:02 PM
WHAT THE FUGGIN HELL??????
are you hooked into an underground cable that supplies a small country?
Its called Queensland  ;D
Bastard... :)

I'm with internode too, but only on the Telstra equipment.  Average about 8mb...
Mate if you're northside & getting those speeds i'd be pretty happy.
I'm southside & we were second suburb to get NBN.
My best speed was 87mb/s on a 100/50 plan

Song is a blink

Movies usually less than 5min.

Dont let anybody tell you that NBN FFTP isnt needed. It is & the bandwidth will start to fill in the next 5yrs i reckon. We'll be looking for gigabyte speeds & will need it  :D
Post by: macca on October 24, 2014, 08:22:56 PM
I'm on Telstra in SE Melbourne

Heres mine

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855809062.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3855809062)

Still owe you a bottle of JD BD

macca
Post by: GeoffA on October 24, 2014, 08:25:25 PM
Telstra Cable......

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855832923.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3855832923)

Post by: MarkGU on October 24, 2014, 08:27:44 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855819761.png (http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855819761.png)
HAVE YOU BEEN TOLD TODAY
Post by: Black Diamond on October 24, 2014, 08:28:45 PM
I'm on Telstra in SE Melbourne

Heres mine

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855809062.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3855809062)

Still owe you a bottle of JD BD

macca
we will share one by a campfire soon :cheers:

Some of these speeds are fantastic :cup:
Post by: Black Diamond on October 24, 2014, 08:29:52 PM
HAVE YOU BEEN TOLD TODAY
x11850.  :-[
Post by: Bad Scott on October 24, 2014, 08:55:16 PM
For a business customer with Telstra. I'm getting reamed. There better speeds than what I'm getting.
Sent from .................
Post by: edz on October 24, 2014, 09:54:24 PM
Our internet
Post by: xcvator on October 24, 2014, 10:50:35 PM
Dunno wot u lot r complanin about  ??? ;D ;D

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3856062989.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3856062989)

Post by: nick_4x4 on October 24, 2014, 11:04:59 PM
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3856102909.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3856102909)

I dont get much more than this, when kids are on its a lot less.

Post by: Grungle on October 25, 2014, 06:50:14 AM
OK You asked

8)

Im Northern Beaches in Mackay and only on ADSL2

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857184317.png)
Post by: GeoffA on October 25, 2014, 06:51:40 AM
HAVE YOU BEEN TOLD TODAY

...not just today, every day... :-*
Post by: Black Diamond on October 25, 2014, 06:53:06 AM
A little better at work than home  :cheers:

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857198071.png)
Post by: MrCruza on October 25, 2014, 08:58:21 AM
Hmm.. bit slow this morning..

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857391617.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3857391617)

I win  come second :'(   Damm you Geoff  :cheers:

Thats better  :D

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857400451.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3857400451)
Post by: Garfish on October 25, 2014, 09:51:53 AM
That's adsl2
Post by: cheif carlos on October 25, 2014, 10:32:10 AM
At least you can get adsl. We are at claremont meadows (Penrith, Sydney) building and the the neighbour's cannot even get the internet
Post by: ratstriton on October 25, 2014, 10:38:03 AM
This is why we need the nbn and fibre to the home .
Post by: oldmate on October 25, 2014, 10:40:17 AM
Tested from pc this morning
http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857526936.png (http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857526936.png)

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857526936.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3857526936)
Post by: berlitza on October 25, 2014, 11:13:19 AM
Tested from pc this morning
http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857526936.png (http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857526936.png)

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857526936.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3857526936)

Oh your dodo aswell, you poor bugger, these a*&( holes have done nothing but give me bloody grief, good thing there bloody cheap
Post by: SteveandViv on October 25, 2014, 12:20:34 PM
Here's mine in Broome at 11am. Better at 10 pm and crap at 5 to 8 pm

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857641264.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3857641264)
Post by: oldmate on October 25, 2014, 01:52:31 PM
Oh your dodo aswell, you poor bugger, these a*&( holes have done nothing but give me bloody grief, good thing there bloody cheap

How so??
I haven't had a problem with them yet. Been 12 months with them
Post by: robbo1172 on October 25, 2014, 04:14:22 PM
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857894308.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3857894308)
Post by: berlitza on October 25, 2014, 04:48:05 PM
How so??
I haven't had a problem with them yet. Been 12 months with them

I will give you another 12months with them before you feel like your heads going to explode, then again you could be lucky
Post by: berlitza on October 25, 2014, 04:49:59 PM
not sure what you ladies are complaining about this is the crap i have to deal with or the next few days, unless i can find a free wifi hotspot thingy

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3857933156.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3857933156)
Post by: Rumpig on October 25, 2014, 05:41:57 PM
Just checked my phone whilst I'm lying here on the lounge, running via wifi at home
Post by: crykies on October 25, 2014, 10:48:10 PM
Heres mine.  We find it fast enough. 

Post by: speewa158 on October 25, 2014, 11:17:07 PM
Ping 23
download14.32
upload86
                              & still no idea whats going on  :cheers:
Post by: Symon on October 25, 2014, 11:24:46 PM
Telstra Cable......

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855832923.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3855832923)

Bugger, this is the best I get with Telstra cable....

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3858546318.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3858546318)
Post by: Black Diamond on October 26, 2014, 07:26:30 AM
Heres mine.  We find it fast enough.
Crykie got be happy with that!

Looks like I'm severely lacking  >:( . Even my phone rips my home internet a new one  ???

Post by: speewa158 on October 26, 2014, 07:34:02 AM
Crykie got be happy with that!

Looks like I'm severely lacking  ;D ;D ;D Oh theres a line here    "   To Be Advised "  :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :cheers:
Post by: 2003gxl on October 26, 2014, 07:49:35 AM
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3859551172.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3859551172)
Post by: GeoffA on October 26, 2014, 11:06:58 AM
Telstra cable, on the old dunger PC with wireless connection in my shed...... :'(

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3859774776.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3859774776)
Post by: Paul (SA) on October 26, 2014, 11:10:44 AM
We are about to go FTTP NBN next week, currently we are Naked DSL through Adam Internet. Will be interesting to see the improvement post connection.

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3859779230.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3859779230)
Post by: MarkGU on October 26, 2014, 11:29:19 AM
Telstra cable, on the old dunger PC with wireless connection in my shed...... :'(

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3859774776.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3859774776)
thats what my speed is sposed to be around Geoff. what Exetel advertise and what they deliver are two different things, will be giving them the bad news they are a customer short very soon.

Sent from my computer & sent three weeks ago.
Post by: kylarama on October 26, 2014, 11:58:18 AM
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3859825543.png)

I'm happy with ours.  We only got ADSL2 a few months back after being on a waiting list forever.
My area is scheduled to get NBN around 2027... >:(
Post by: Ratbag on October 26, 2014, 12:20:35 PM
Today:

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3859827616.png)

This has been our normal connection speed since installing Telstra Ultimate Cable over a year ago.

Our connection is Hybrid Fibre Co-ax ("HFC"). IMHO, this is the preferred system of connection for 99.99% of us all. Fibre to the premises has huge technical problems that all but disappear if one does the last 20-200m using either co-ax or UTP. The normal phone lines are 2 pair UTP. The backbone wiring of our house is 4 pair UTP (Category 5 network cable), it is running at 1,000 Mbps, full duplex ... . One could use normal 2 pair UTP phone cable for this, but it would probably not be as fast or as reliable. Category 6 UTP has a nylon spine that makes it more robust and much harder to damage during installation. Cat.6 is not usually faster than properly installed Cat.5. There is also shielded UTP (Shielded Un-shielded Twisted Pair, LOL!). The latter is hugely more expensive than Cat.5 or Cat.6, but has some application for specially problematic environments with huge amounts of RF noise that interferes badly with both the near-end crosstalk and the far-end crosstalk, degrading the signal reliability and therefore speed..

When we first got cable, it didn't work at all for some months. Telstra eventually sent out a Level 2 Technician. It took him less than 30 minutes to re-terminate all the dodgy co-ax connections, including the one at the optical fibre break-out box about 30 feet up a pole on a sloping nature strip across the road. Such a problem with fibre to the premises, would have taken a couple of techs; re-running a purpose made optical fibre from the street break-out box; and a small truck full of special equipment to terminate the specially made fibre optic cable ...

Under the original NBN plan of the previous government, all HFC connections could only be used for transmission of television ... HFC currently runs past around 2.4 MILLION Australian premises ...

My only complaint with our current connection is the artificial hobbling of the upload speed, a feature of all ISPs AFAIK.

Apparently this still exists with the planned NBN system, but the upload speed should go to around 40 Mbps. If I wanted to, I could use my mobile phone as a WiFi server, and upload using it and my laptop. This would give me far faster upload speeds. Just too much hassle!

When we had ADSL2+ with Telstra, we had download speeds of around 11-13 Mbps; upload speed of 1.5 Mbps; and a ping time of around 25-40 ms.
Post by: oldmate on October 26, 2014, 01:23:41 PM
Have you been told today??

If not I reckon your about too   ;D
Post by: crykies on October 26, 2014, 03:30:26 PM
Nbn here.  Never had a problem with it. Just the mrs n kids download like crazy. 
Post by: GeoffA on October 26, 2014, 07:37:52 PM
Today:

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3859827616.png)

This has been our normal connection speed since installing Telstra Ultimate Cable over a year ago.

Nice numbers Ratbag. We've had similar for several years....
Post by: Ratbag on October 26, 2014, 08:06:30 PM
Gidday Geoff

Yeah, they are. The upload speed is still really crappy though.

The only reason I went to cable was to get a bit  higher upload speed for my photos. Increase from 1.5 Mbps to 2.4-2.5 Mbps on average. When I upload 50-100 photos at once at around 1-1.5 MB each, it does make a difference. I would have paid what I was paying for the fastest ADSL2+ for DSL with the same speed each way of (say) 5 Mbps instead of 12 Mbps down and 1.5 Mbps up ...

Throttling upload speed is the main problem with the Internet, and what most businesses are really complaining about, whether they realise it or not.

As I said before, my mobile phone gives me around 20-40 Mbps upload speed ...
Post by: poddy on October 26, 2014, 09:09:45 PM
Stop complaining, I'm with Telstra, my speeds are:

Ping 38ms       Download 0.27mbps       Upload   0.63

and to top that off the internet drops out altogether with regular monotony. They tell me it's my modem when half the other users in my suburb are having similar problems grrrrrrrrrrr.
Rob.
Post by: Bjs58 on October 26, 2014, 09:28:50 PM
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3860469006.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3860469006)

just did mine and this is what I get
Post by: Burnsy on October 26, 2014, 09:49:47 PM
Perth Hills
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3860510539.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3860510539)
Post by: Moggy on October 26, 2014, 11:07:48 PM
Download speeds are a bit like having an F1 car on the freeway. You can go like the clappers until you hit the traffic.
Same with internet speeds, contention is the key word

Post by: SteveandViv on October 27, 2014, 12:03:11 AM
And now at 8:30. We see this all the time and the congestion through Karratha id pathetic. Effect us at work also. So while the NBN may use the MPLS network the ADSl does not - Oh, that's right, we can't get NBN. But we are ,lucky, they will provide via Wireless or Satellite. Fancy that, not actually providing a service to the remotes where it would make the biggest difference for health and education and even then the Sat foot print misses most of the Tanami desert location  >:D

[img width= height=]http://www.speedtest.net/result/3860734763.png[/img] (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3860734763)
Post by: Swannie on October 27, 2014, 07:34:25 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3861600371 (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3861600371)
Post by: Ratbag on October 27, 2014, 11:21:50 AM
Gidday Rob

Stop complaining, I'm with Telstra, my speeds are:

Ping 38ms       Download 0.27mbps       Upload   0.63

and to top that off the internet drops out altogether with regular monotony. They tell me it's my modem when half the other users in my suburb are having similar problems grrrrrrrrrrr.
Rob.

You have my sympathy ... :(

Mate, I am sure as heck not complaining about the download speed. The only servers that will come close to giving one this sort of bandwidth are the Microsoft ones. If I download (say) a 400-500 MB update package, the server will serve me the first 100-200 MB in a minute or less, then it realises that I am hitting it up, and their server (or router, or whatever) throttles my port back to a far lesser speed. It can take a further 10 minutes to download the rest of it.

As for Telstra ... It took nearly 3 years, and for me to stop paying their accounts for about 6 months, for them to finally fix my ADSL phone line (our outgoing line).
Some idiot in their accounts department then decided to cancel all our services about a week later (not suspend; cancel ... )!! In order to do this, they have to look at a screen that states "Account and service in dispute, do not restrict or disconnect service until {a date about 9 months into the future}" and also "Medical Priority - DO NOT DISCONNECT OR RESTRICT SERVICE".

When the account was cancelled, both our mobiles could no longer access 000. This could have killed me. By midday, the person who cancelled our account no longer worked for Telstra ... By around 0930H I was dealing with the Executive Director Digital's office directly - can't remember Gert's exact title, but something like that.

I discovered this at 0745H. Our mobiles were working by 0805H, and all the other phones and Internet were working by around midday Then it took another couple of months to straighten all the plans out properly ...
They "decided" not to  pursue the 6 months of outstanding bills, and a number of other beneficial changes occurred ... I can be very persuasive.

Perseverance with Telstra will pay off.

Don't be backward about asking for large refunds. They will do it. BUT only if you ask ...

All in all, Telstra have refunded us around $3,000-4,000 because of various stuff-ups over about 5 years.
Post by: andyandcill on October 27, 2014, 09:02:32 PM
The joys of living in the country. :-[
Download
1.43Mb/s
Upload
0.24Mb/s

Post by: yogi on October 29, 2014, 09:32:55 PM
Fark .... We live in a new suburb and can't get any cable and the fastest internet we can get is 700kbps upload ..... It worse than living in the third world .... Lol

Post by: oldmate on October 29, 2014, 09:55:50 PM
Fark .... We live in a new suburb and can't get any cable and the fastest internet we can get is 700kbps upload ..... It worse than living in the third world .... Lol

Yea you live in a new suburb. You can wait your bloody turn right,  about 100 year.  ;D ;D
Post by: yogi on October 29, 2014, 10:00:32 PM
It only took 5 years to get the internet faster than a 56k modem ... Lol ... It's not like we live in the year 2000 .... Oh that's right we do :cup:

Post by: jclures on October 29, 2014, 10:14:45 PM
this is what i am getting, and they tell me this is as good as i will get here on adsl2 here.
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3867973953.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3867973953)
Post by: Jasman on November 04, 2014, 10:40:14 PM
Prepare to drool!  NBN at it's best, I could squeeze a little more out of it if I dialed back the security but it should suffice.

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3882100986.png)
Post by: Woodsie on November 05, 2014, 12:10:19 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3883022154 (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3883022154)
Post by: jclures on November 05, 2014, 06:35:43 AM
Jasman the government tell us that what we have is good enough, It looks like we will be a country divided. ???
Post by: Kangaron on November 05, 2014, 01:42:00 PM
Optus cable, I have had this speed since it first came out some 15? years ago.
Everything is almost instantaneous in general use.
Can't imagine what 95MB download would be like.

Post by: Jasman on November 05, 2014, 03:17:29 PM

To be honest you probably wouldn't notice much difference as not many things are uploaded at that speed, in day to day use I can't notice much difference over my old 20MB ADSL connection - but occasionally you'll do something like a Microsoft download and then you see what she can do.  I have mine for business use really and it come into it's own for site-to-site VPN's
Post by: Paul (SA) on November 05, 2014, 06:03:12 PM
We are about to go FTTP NBN next week, currently we are Naked DSL through Adam Internet. Will be interesting to see the improvement post connection.

[img width= height=]http://www.speedtest.net/result/3859779230.png[/img] (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3859779230)

Here is my result post connection to NBN for comparison. I now have about an extra 0.6 of a second time saved loading internet pages. What am I going to do with all this time saved?

[img width= height=]http://www.speedtest.net/result/3885108380.png[/img] (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3885108380)
Post by: slave on November 06, 2014, 08:32:55 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3887046781 (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3887046781)
Post by: MarkGU on November 09, 2014, 10:01:30 AM
oh great.looks like exetel just hit a all time low with my speed  >:(

Post by: ronmac on November 09, 2014, 11:40:47 AM
Telstra ADSL 2      DL- 24.64Mbps
                           UL-   1.19Mbps
                        Ping-      20 ms

cheers Ron.

Post by: MarkGU on November 19, 2014, 09:16:03 PM
Looks like we are getting free of Exehell ( exetel )

signing up with IINET in the next few days.

Exehell.....its been a nightmare  >:( and good bye   :cup:
Post by: Black Diamond on July 02, 2015, 11:30:00 PM
My internet is slooooooooooooooooooooooooooow  :-[
I had Testra test my internet speed and they say its fine. I reckon thats a load of croc  ;D If anyone has a spare minute can they run this test to see where im at compared to others? 

http://www.speedtest.net/ (http://www.speedtest.net/)

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/3855716864.png)

Dont know too much about this stuff but according to the test im slower than 83% of Aus  ???

Whats everyone else pushing?  :cheers:

PS. And no there is no prize for the person with the biggest.....Internet speed  ;D

Finally got nbn........ still not as quick as a few on here but a lot better than before so happy :cheers: Jumped from slower than 83% of Aus to faster than 85%  :cup:

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4475680512.png)
Post by: alnjan on July 02, 2015, 11:45:01 PM
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4475721585.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4475721585)

Fixed Wireless NBN or whatever they call it
Post by: Jasman on July 02, 2015, 11:57:57 PM
Here's my FTTH NBN.

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4474806359.png)
Post by: 99disco on July 03, 2015, 12:18:59 AM

Here's my FTTH NBN.

Holy snapping duckShit batman

Shane
Post by: 99disco on July 03, 2015, 12:21:52 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/i/1295157623

Shane
Post by: tracker on July 03, 2015, 04:19:31 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4476351404 (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4476351404)
Post by: Black Diamond on July 03, 2015, 07:38:42 AM
Here's my FTTH NBN.

Yes, would kill for that  >:D
Post by: Jasman on July 03, 2015, 10:50:00 AM
Yes, would kill for that  >:D

Pretty bloody good isn't it!  Even better I have the same connection at work, I live in a Telstra 4GX area (often see 65Mbps on the mobile) so my life is full of high speed data goodness!! 

How the local pollies ever managed to get all this good stuff for little old Toowoomba I'll never know.
Post by: wolften on July 03, 2015, 01:29:09 PM
Telstra cable...
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4477296947.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4477296947)
...is this OK ;D
Post by: paceman on July 03, 2015, 01:41:14 PM
Telstra cable...
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4477296947.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4477296947)
...is this OK ;D

that upload is rubbish... :)
Post by: ScottT on July 03, 2015, 07:16:27 PM
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4477803744.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4477803744)
Post by: slcs78 on July 03, 2015, 07:33:53 PM
[img width= height=]http://www.speedtest.net/result/4477833370.png[/img] (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4477833370)

Got to love slow internet
Post by: gronk on July 03, 2015, 07:42:36 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4477849578 (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4477849578)

This is supposed to be ADSL2
Post by: Rodt on July 03, 2015, 07:45:01 PM
Here's me
Bloody Telstra >:(

http://www.speedtest.net/result/4477852955.png (http://www.speedtest.net/result/4477852955.png)

Post by: Peterr on July 03, 2015, 07:58:10 PM
 Telstra cable..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/4477875196.png (http://www.speedtest.net/result/4477875196.png)
Post by: noel_w on July 03, 2015, 08:07:10 PM
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4477885169.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4477885169)

Just got connected an hour ago. Naughty DSL
No Abbott crippled NBN here for forseeable future in Coorparoo
Post by: Kangaron on July 03, 2015, 08:36:00 PM
Love NBN.

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4477939235.png)
Post by: Black Diamond on July 03, 2015, 08:40:34 PM
Love NBN.

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4477939235.png)
your about 4 times faster than my NBN. Just got it so not too clued up. Is their different speed plans or is there a vast difference in areas?
Post by: Moggy on July 03, 2015, 08:51:40 PM
My advice is if you really want to test your speed then dont use the standard ookla connection. pick one on tje othet side of the planet that'll give a truer indication of net speed

Post by: Jasman on July 03, 2015, 10:58:44 PM
your about 4 times faster than my NBN. Just got it so not too clued up. Is their different speed plans or is there a vast difference in areas?

Yep, there is - The standard options from memory are 12/1, 25/5, 50/20 or 100/40
Post by: Bird on July 03, 2015, 11:00:40 PM
Quote from: Black Diamond
. Is their different speed plans or is there a vast difference in areas?
yes.. and yes
Post by: staghornflat on July 04, 2015, 07:07:49 AM
I,ll show you slow!!
Post by: Kangaron on July 04, 2015, 09:19:31 AM
My advice is if you really want to test your speed then dont use the standard ookla connection. pick one on tje othet side of the planet that'll give a truer indication of net speed

If we are comparing plans and or providers as long as we all use the same test it matters not.
These tests are only line speed, not download speed.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Post by: Jasman on July 04, 2015, 10:11:29 AM

Not sure I agree as this is probably more of a test of the congestion in the submarine links and introduces lots of hops/routers in the link that in reality you would probably rarely ever transverse because many of big data hogs from the U.S etc will have co-located servers spread throughout the world.

The best old school test of your internet speed is to upload/download something to/from your ISP's FTP server and measure the data transfer rate, anything outside of this introduces routers that you have no control over but can greatly impact your performance.  The Speedtest site is an awesome resource for getting a comparative result that reflects more of a "real world" performance.
Post by: gronk on July 04, 2015, 10:18:53 AM
Not sure I agree as this is probably more of a test of the congestion in the submarine links and introduces lots of hops/routers in the link that in reality you would probably rarely ever transverse because many of big data hogs from the U.S etc will have co-located servers spread throughout the world.

The best old school test of your internet speed is to upload/download something to/from your ISP's FTP server and measure the data transfer rate, anything outside of this introduces routers that you have no control over but can greatly impact your performance.  The Speedtest site is an awesome resource for getting a comparative result that reflects more of a "real world" performance.

Is there somewhere I can translate that into English ??  8)

So, what site link is there to test real download speed then ?   I'm just trying to get a better figure than 4 ????
Post by: Black Diamond on July 04, 2015, 02:48:16 PM
yes.. and yes
Ill take that as a yes then  :P
Post by: Kangaron on July 04, 2015, 03:21:32 PM
these are the different speed packs for the mob I'm with.

Post by: slcs78 on July 04, 2015, 03:58:32 PM
I,ll show you slow!!

:cup: Yep you win. That would be dial up speed
Post by: Tuco on July 04, 2015, 03:59:16 PM
From my Telstra ADSL2+ modem in Cairns.
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4479863078.png)

From my Android phone used as a hotspot on Telstra 4G.
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4479873101.png)
Post by: Jasman on July 04, 2015, 05:49:23 PM
Is there somewhere I can translate that into English ??  8)

So, what site link is there to test real download speed then ?   I'm just trying to get a better figure than 4 ????

Sorry Gronk, the propellor hat was spinning a bit too fast!

Speedtest.net is as good as any, if it says your connection is bad then it's bad!

The rest of it was just saying your connection is only as fast as the slowest link in the chain and sending data to the opposite side of the world will mean lots of links and slowest of these will become your speed so I don't think it's a good measure of reality.
Post by: gronk on July 04, 2015, 07:29:18 PM
Sorry Gronk, the propellor hat was spinning a bit too fast!

Speedtest.net is as good as any, if it says your connection is bad then it's bad!

The rest of it was just saying your connection is only as fast as the slowest link in the chain and sending data to the opposite side of the world will mean lots of links and slowest of these will become your speed so I don't think it's a good measure of reality.

Thanks....I like it explained real slow !!!!   ;D
Post by: Terry W4 on July 05, 2015, 10:54:28 AM
Through IINET - in Canberra we have fibre to the node already via the Transact system (now owned by IINET).

[img width= height=]http://www.speedtest.net/result/4481493857.png[/img] (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4481493857)
Post by: StevenB on July 06, 2015, 10:52:12 PM
(http://www.speedtest.net/result/4484402263.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4484402263)
Post by: Bird on September 18, 2017, 10:56:39 AM
Wazbot in a Hotel in Mexico at moment

[img width= height=]http://www.speedtest.net/result/6632827867.png[/img]
Post by: tryagain on September 18, 2017, 11:32:54 AM

hmmm  :(

Supposed to have NBN by now but pushed back to early next year apparently.

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/6632881465.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/6632881465)
Post by: corndog on September 18, 2017, 12:50:31 PM

(http://i1044.photobucket.com/albums/b449/corndog57/Speedy_Gonzales%202_zpsodbrshvn.jpg)

Speedy Gonzales
Post by: Kangaron on September 18, 2017, 05:00:05 PM

Now could not imagine being stuck back on 15  ;D

Post by: Bird on September 25, 2017, 10:10:33 AM

... and I THOUGHT this was quick... but then read this

https://www.itwire.com/business-technology/80056-new-microsoft-facebook-subsea-cable-can-transmit-data-at-160tbps.html (https://www.itwire.com/business-technology/80056-new-microsoft-facebook-subsea-cable-can-transmit-data-at-160tbps.html)
"It can transmit up to 160 terabits of data per second, making it 16 million times faster than the average US home Internet connection.

At that speed, it can stream 71 million high-definition videos simultaneously."