General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on October 09, 2014, 09:53:34 PM

Title: Experiment time - with BEER
Post by: Bird on October 09, 2014, 09:53:34 PM
This is open to anyone to join in..... Head to duncans and buy a few 'different' beers...

Few months ago I went to Duncans and saw that they have bout 100 different beers.. so thought I'd buy a few, as I cant drink VB, Carlton, or Melbourne anymore.

The bloke recommended to me Ottinger - and its NICE! 8 bottle tops out of 10

I took that slab to Knockwood - it was cheap as VB, but unlike VB it was drinkable, AND in 500ml cans!
(http://www.oettinger-xinkai.com/products/Qing%20shuangxing.jpg)
Tonight while there, I thought I'd buy a few more and try them... 1 per night.
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/bottles.jpg)

Tonight's example that I'm tasting is OLD FART BEER - in a 500ml bottle.
(http://www.worldofbeers.com.au/media/catalog/product/cache/1/thumbnail/600x600/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/o/l/oldfart_8.jpg)

It's a very smooth beer, 5% from the UK. Now its probably meant to be drunk warm being from the UK, but mine is cold.
Its very smooth, very clean and refreshing... Sorta pilsener style.

On the Bird scale I'd give it a 7 tops out of 10
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/caps.jpg)(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/caps.jpg)(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/caps.jpg)(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/caps.jpg)(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/caps.jpg)(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/caps.jpg)(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/caps.jpg)
Title: Re: Experiment time - with BEER
Post by: Bird on October 09, 2014, 09:55:39 PM
Has anyone tried Banana Bread beer (serious, they had slabs of it there)? or Chocolate Beer?
They have some strange Shit at Duncans..
Post by: evolution on October 09, 2014, 10:03:31 PM
Personally I usually can't drink beer unless it's ICE cold and 40 degrees outside....

But there is a micro brewery here in Wodonga, I went on a group tour there and tried a few different brews.
One in particular was awesome. No idea what it was though.  ;D

But definitely worth a visit next time you are up this way.

Evo
Post by: Bird on October 09, 2014, 10:06:07 PM
Quote from: evolution
Personally I usually can't drink beer unless it's ICE cold and 40 degrees outside....

But there is a micro brewery here in Wodonga, I went on a group tour there and tried a few different brews.
One in particular was awesome. No idea what it was though.  ;D
I'm sorta like you with beer... But I cant afford as much Red Bull as you drink and pay rego each year ;)

Go buy some and join in!
Post by: evolution on October 09, 2014, 10:08:25 PM
I'm sorta like you with beer... But I cant afford as much Red Bull as you drink and pay rego each year ;)

Go buy some and join in!

Haha the redbull is because I don't buy booze lol.

I'll try after work tomorrow. I'm sure I'll find something good  >:D

Evo

EDIT: here tis
http://www.ubrewit.com.au/ (http://www.ubrewit.com.au/)    They aren't listed as being in Wodonga but they are here lol. Pretty cool place actually.  :cup:
Post by: noel_w on October 09, 2014, 10:18:16 PM
This is my favourite at the moment
Post by: Alan Loy on October 10, 2014, 03:20:54 AM
My current favourite is Becks in cans for travelling $56 from Dan's or the 330 ml bottles for $40.  Make sure that they are imported not the made in Australia versions

https://www.danmurphys.com.au/media/DM/Product/308x385/713476_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569854542290.png (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/media/DM/Product/308x385/713476_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569854542290.png)

Post by: tonywatto on October 10, 2014, 05:21:38 AM
Bird,

Give the Banana Bread beer a go icy cold. It smells like banana lollies. I can drink about 2 of them before moving on to something else as they are a bit sweet for me after that. They are great on a hot day. The chocolate beer is awesome for cool night fire side sipping as well.
Tony
 :cheers: :cheers: 
Post by: fishfinder on October 10, 2014, 05:51:27 AM

It's a very smooth beer, 5% from the UK. Now its probably meant to be drunk warm being from the UK, but mine is cold.
Its very smooth, very clean and refreshing... Sorta pilsener style.

so where is the other 95% from ? - sorry still drunk  ;D
Post by: oldmate on October 10, 2014, 06:07:02 AM

Good thread bird.

Noel, Big head is also good, from the same brewery. 
Post by: scarps on October 10, 2014, 06:10:07 AM
Asahi and Saporo all the way for me. But I could be....

Post by: paceman on October 10, 2014, 06:25:57 AM

i'm with you, evo.  not normally a beer drinker at all.  prefer bundy red.

but 'barecove radler' was one beer that i found more enjoyable when cold on a hot day.

anyone got any other suggestions for beers like this one?  would be happy to add my findings to this experiment... :)
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on October 10, 2014, 06:50:13 AM
I was put on to Ottinger a few years ago by a bloke who only drunk VB, until he got onto that. Wasn't all that fussed on it. I still drank it though.

Local grog shop had a deal going, spend over $30 and get a six pack of whatever it was on the counter for cheap. So I did. NEVER again. Hammer and Tongs it was called. Absolute utter garbage. You need a real strong stomach to swallow that crap. Beer doesn't live long in my fridge, but that crap did.
A mouthful of toothpaste before you take a swig of that crap is about the only way to kill the taste of it.

Shane.
Post by: Black Diamond on October 10, 2014, 06:58:35 AM
Asahi and Saporo all the way for me. But I could be....
Gotta agree with you they are both great beers.

VB is usually my poison but over summer I'm known to slam a few Corona's down. Toohey's extra dry is a good drop or Go the Platinum but they get to your head quickly, I like em  >:D
8/10 caps

(http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/jsouvas/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsbaeff202.jpg) (http://s455.photobucket.com/user/jsouvas/media/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsbaeff202.jpg.html)
Post by: #jonesy on October 10, 2014, 07:05:32 AM
This is my current selection.  My preference lately is pale ales.  I like all the James Squires beers. Will probably tend towards the pilsners over summer, or the Asian beers, Tiger, Chang and the like

The pepper jack on the right is a mix of beer and Barossa Valley Shiraz. Bought 6. WOW beer and wine together, why hasn't this been done before!! One taste and you know why.  Gets "1 cap" which will probably stay on that bottle.

When you try your beers pour them in a glass to get the full benefit.

I love to try small breweries

Nillumbik Cellars in Diamond Creek has a very good selection.

Next time you go to Knockwood if you come in from the top, Mansfield IGA have Mansfield breweries pale ale which is nice.  A stop at Jamieson Brewery would be worth a stop.
Post by: noel_w on October 10, 2014, 07:14:15 AM
I usually reserve a couple of Fat Yaks for Fat Yak Friday but lashed out last night for the young fellas birthday
Post by: Beachman on October 10, 2014, 08:16:18 AM
When I was younger I had a house which had a bar downstairs and on all the walls it had a shelf about 30cms down from the ceiling on all walls. Basically the right size to put stubbies on. So myself and my best mate decided to fill this shelf with different type of stubbies.

After about 3 years we filled that shelf with 250 different stubbies and we also rated each beer with a rating between 1 to 5. On the final count I think 10% of those beers were fantastic and would definitely drink again, 40% were okay but wouldn’t buy a carton of the stuff and 50% were sh*t.

Mind you this was over 20 years ago and the number of boutique beers have increased dramatically.
Post by: UIZ733 on October 10, 2014, 08:26:08 AM
http://moobrew.com.au/beer/pale-ale/ (http://moobrew.com.au/beer/pale-ale/)
Post by: #jonesy on October 10, 2014, 08:30:58 AM
Just a few breweries to cross off the list
http://www.beerandbrewer.com.au/Brewery (http://www.beerandbrewer.com.au/Brewery)

I can thinks of a few that on there as well.

I subscribe to the magazine as I used to make home brew.  More a brewing industry magazine but a 3 year subscription for about $80 gets a voucher for free slab or two
Post by: pjpatrol on October 10, 2014, 08:56:00 AM
Oettinger to the Germans is like Fosters Lager to Australians.
Post by: Footloose on October 10, 2014, 08:59:06 AM
Since I have been down in Tassie on HolidaysI have been trying
the different types of Boags and Cascade that you cant get on the
mainland.The cascade Blonde,Pale Ale and Draught taste really
clean and crisp.Moo Beer was good too.

Cheers :cheers:
Post by: Darcy7 on October 10, 2014, 09:58:55 AM
My favourite beer of all time was Boags St George but I don't think they make it anymore as I haven't seen it in the bottleos for years.

At the moment the one beer I find hard to avoid is Miller with lime.  Brilliant super chilled on a hot day.

2 beers that have surprised me in recent times.  XXXX Summer.  Had to buy it ones as it was all that was available and we both enjoyed it.  The other is VB.  Not the VB of old but the new (old) recipe.  I could never drink it as it always left a metallic taste in my mouth, but since they went back to the original recipe, its improved dramatically.

Another one worth a try if you can find it is Mornington Pale Ale.  Very different taste and quite refreshing. I call it a good table beer as it seems to compliment food flavours rather than compete with them.

For a light beer I like Boags Premium light, Hahn Light and Fosters Light Ice.

Post by: Bird on October 10, 2014, 10:23:49 AM
My favourite beer of all time was Boags St George but I don't think they make it anymore as I haven't seen it in the bottleos for years.

http://www.thebeercave.com.au/cave/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=54 (http://www.thebeercave.com.au/cave/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=54)
Post by: theins on October 10, 2014, 11:25:49 AM
My current favourite is Becks in cans for travelling $56 from Dan's or the 330 ml bottles for $40.  Make sure that they are imported not the made in Australia versions

https://www.danmurphys.com.au/media/DM/Product/308x385/713476_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569854542290.png (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/media/DM/Product/308x385/713476_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569854542290.png)

I support this - Go BECKS!!

Being German I might be biased, though... >:D
Post by: peter01 on October 10, 2014, 11:27:39 AM
prior to buying grog I check the attached as around Shepparton there would be around 15-20 bottle shops

http://boozle.com.au/ (http://boozle.com.au/)
Post by: Bird on October 10, 2014, 11:38:36 AM
Quote from: Alan Loy
My current favourite is Becks in cans for travelling $56 from Dan's
I missed that last night

Interesting not being a big beer drinker but I only just noticed how few beers come in cans these days
That was another winner for Ottinger + 500ml cans = less trips to the fridge. :)
Post by: BigDog816 on October 10, 2014, 11:38:59 AM

I'll second that, this is a great drop.
Post by: noel_w on October 10, 2014, 12:20:26 PM
I'll second that, this is a great drop.
Not to mention it has a pearler of a name. "My Wife's Bitter" Even SWMBO had a giggle about it
Post by: broncos11 on October 10, 2014, 12:56:35 PM
This is my current selection.  My preference lately is pale ales.  I like all the James Squires beers. Will probably tend towards the pilsners over summer, or the Asian beers, Tiger, Chang and the like

The pepper jack on the right is a mix of beer and Barossa Valley Shiraz. Bought 6. WOW beer and wine together, why hasn't this been done before!! One taste and you know why.  Gets "1 cap" which will probably stay on that bottle.

I love to try small breweries

Nillumbik Cellars in Diamond Creek has a very good selection.

Next time you go to Knockwood if you come in from the top, Mansfield IGA have Mansfield breweries pale ale which is nice.  A stop at Jamieson Brewery would be worth a stop.

The only Pale Ale.
Post by: Bird on October 10, 2014, 02:25:04 PM
The only Pale Ale.

drank that for a while, wasn't bad... but **** you put on the KG's with it..

Also don't mind this = but on tap
(http://mccraystavern.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/newcastle-brown-ale.png)
Post by: berlitza on October 10, 2014, 05:12:25 PM
The James Squire one fifty lashes pale ale ain't a bad drop, drink it every now and then when it comes up on special, Oettinger or Becks I've been drinking for a while  very easy to drink
Post by: speewa158 on October 10, 2014, 06:28:02 PM
lf you need cheap thrills go the boutique stuff & enjoy    :cup:   :cheers:
 The next VB is the Best VB , Bring it on     :cheers:
& all others opinions are yours & yours alone      ;D   Enjoy                                 :cheers:
Post by: jmorgan1981 on October 10, 2014, 06:36:24 PM
I have been in to the Kosciuszko Pale Ale.
8/10. :cheers:
Post by: Garfish on October 11, 2014, 06:43:50 AM
I have been doing this for a while, will grab a single bottle to try when I grab my weekly beer run,  favourite would be lowenbrau  but vest bottle goes to lucky beer with the swing top grolsch also interesting

Post by: xcvator on October 11, 2014, 10:43:09 AM
This stuff is pretty hard to drink  >:D super smooth, and at 9% alcohol it is actually good on a cold day  :cheers: Pity about the price in Aus tho  >:(

(https://www.danmurphys.com.au/media/DM/Product/308x385/19474_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569854560553.png)
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2014, 03:11:28 PM
Gone with the VIKING from Iceland today - its a Pilsner 4.4 and a tiny 330ml bottle... Very cold compared to the last one.

Again tidy beer, doesn't leave that dead ass taste in your mouth that VB/Melb/Carlton/Peasant beer does. After you've drank it you don't know you have... good for having in the car at lunch at work :D

gets 8/10 would get more if they were in large cans...
Post by: JCAT on October 11, 2014, 03:58:38 PM
I don't like drinking those standard CUB beers unless I really really have too eg: VB, Carlton Draught, Melbourne.

Back in 2009 we travelled to Port Douglas and while watching the footy at a pub one night I tried a beer called "Fat Yak" and I have never looked back.

My preferred beers in no particular order are Fat Yak, Little Creatures Pale Ale, Vale Pale Ale, James Squire 50 lashes, I really enjoy hoppy Pale Ales.

Recently James Squire started bottling "The Hop Thief," it has too be tasted to be believed. They had it on tap at James Squire Bounty in Tassie last year but when we were in The Kimberley they were selling it everywhere. Haven't been able to get it since I have been back.

I brew my own Fat Yak when I can and while it's not as good as the original it's better than VB.

Post by: Hdn96 on October 11, 2014, 04:46:07 PM
I brew my own Fat Yak when I can and while it's not as good as the original it's better than VB.

Do you do a kit a full mash or (biab)

L.M.S.B.C
Post by: JCAT on October 11, 2014, 05:49:18 PM

Do you do a kit a full mash or (biab)

L.M.S.B.C

Here is my recipe Hdn96

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/10/11/yha9evez.jpg)
Post by: broncos11 on October 11, 2014, 06:04:23 PM
drank that for a while, wasn't bad... but **** you put on the KG's with it..

Also don't mind this = but on tap
(http://mccraystavern.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/newcastle-brown-ale.png)

Back at Expo 88, a mate who was a strawberry farmer had a great year and was shouting all  of US pints of this with a shot glass of drambuie in it. It was called a depth charger I think. Bloody hell, what a night!!
Post by: Hdn96 on October 11, 2014, 06:05:29 PM
Thanks for that

I did a copper tun kit a few months ago it came ok great the next one will be a (biab)
From grain

L.M.S.B.C
Post by: MrHorsepower on October 11, 2014, 06:26:35 PM
I don't like drinking those standard CUB beers unless I really really have too eg: VB, Carlton Draught, Melbourne.

Back in 2009 we travelled to Port Douglas and while watching the footy at a pub one night I tried a beer called "Fat Yak" and I have never looked back.

My preferred beers in no particular order are Fat Yak, Little Creatures Pale Ale, Vale Pale Ale, James Squire 50 lashes, I really enjoy hoppy Pale Ales.

Recently James Squire started bottling "The Hop Thief," it has too be tasted to be believed. They had it on tap at James Squire Bounty in Tassie last year but when we were in The Kimberley they were selling it everywhere. Haven't been able to get it since I have been back.

Hop theif is a great beer, I have been swayed from my staple " Coopers Sparkling Ale" by hoppy pales and IPA's for the last year or so and Hop thief is one of the best  Vale Ale IPA is another good brew..Michael
Post by: Mik01 on October 11, 2014, 06:31:39 PM
Try wiehenstephen - das ist gut!

Good for a beer experiment.

http://www.weihenstephaner.de/ (http://www.weihenstephaner.de/)
Post by: Mik01 on October 11, 2014, 06:36:43 PM
Or Duvel. It's Belgian, and at 8.5%, it's surprisingly smooth but with a knockout punch!!

http://www.duvel.com/en-gb/the-beer/duvel (http://www.duvel.com/en-gb/the-beer/duvel)

I think duvel means devil. Last time I got stuck into this with mates, I ended up in hell the next morning, so I think it's true... >:D
Post by: Bird on October 16, 2014, 07:19:02 PM
Tonights brew..
Brok Export. https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_912039/brok-export-500ml.jsp;jsessionid=49B3C9B8F6D79C1C0A4BFC6BE836A9CD.ncdlmorasp1304?bmUID=kAjWgBg (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_912039/brok-export-500ml.jsp;jsessionid=49B3C9B8F6D79C1C0A4BFC6BE836A9CD.ncdlmorasp1304?bmUID=kAjWgBg)

Pours to an amazing head.. stunning flavour and no dead hops after taste.. very refreshing. I like it lots...

(https://www.danmurphys.com.au/media/DM/Product/308x385/912039_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569854513644.png)

Lots of caps for this one.. best yet.
Post by: BrettMG on October 16, 2014, 07:35:13 PM
lf you need cheap thrills go the boutique stuff & enjoy    :cup:   :cheers:
 The next VB is the Best VB , Bring it on     :cheers:
& all others opinions are yours & yours alone      ;D   Enjoy                                 :cheers:

Clearly not someone who enjoys "good beer".  >:D
As the man says though each to his own!
Currently working my way through a Russian Imperial Stout and an American IPA. In the fermenter ready to keg is a Golden Ale with heaps of American style hops.
Post by: Bird on October 16, 2014, 07:44:23 PM
Next went with Kingfisher
(https://www.danmurphys.com.au/media/DM/Product/308x385/912039_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569854513644.png)
https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_904993/kingfisher-lager (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_904993/kingfisher-lager)

Pours really smooth, not very bubbly, but has a nice head... nothing like good head.
VERY clean and crisp, nice clean after taste, again no dead cheap cat piss VB aftertaste....

(http://memecrunch.com/meme/176AW/good-head/image.png)

Not as good as Brok..

6/10.
Post by: Swannie on October 16, 2014, 07:56:15 PM
I don't mind beez neez but lately been buying the American  stuff millers or Budweiser. Seem to be able to drink heaps of it and wake up without a headache

Post by: Bird on October 16, 2014, 08:02:06 PM
Quote from: swannie
I don't mind beez neez
they were a good customer at work.. lovely brew!!
Post by: Marschy on October 16, 2014, 08:03:31 PM
Clearly not someone who enjoys "good beer".  >:D
As the man says though each to his own!
Currently working my way through a Russian Imperial Stout and an American IPA. In the fermenter ready to keg is a Golden Ale with heaps of American style hops.
I used to have me one of them Irish fridges. Heated up with a light globe and a heating thermostat. Fantastic for making home brew of consistent quality. And you can do the secondary fermentation with another batch at the same time.

A local pub close to home on Commercial Road in Salisbury was the ducks guts for home brew kits. They had a German Lager kit with hops that was to die for.

Pity I don't drink anymore. :'(

Adelaide residents who like their beer might want to visit the Bombay Bicycle Club. The front bar has a beer club with a list of around 100 beers. My son is working his way through the list for the second time. He forgot where he was upto the first time and started again. ;D
Post by: oldmate on October 17, 2014, 06:51:05 PM
This is mine for tonight. Not bad. They do a few good brews this mob.
Post by: Bird on October 17, 2014, 07:11:14 PM
had a new (well I aint seen em before) Crown Golden Ale...

NOICE!~

Second one for tonight is a Hollandia... report back soon.. *burp*
Post by: Tim - Stratford on October 17, 2014, 07:24:41 PM
Bit different...6.5/10 from Jamieson Brewery.
Post by: Mangrovematt on October 17, 2014, 07:38:02 PM
Just spent a week on Moreton Island, picked up a couple of cartons of Coopers Clear in cans , from Dan Muphys,   Winner winner chicken dinner
Post by: oldmate on October 17, 2014, 08:13:20 PM
had a new (well I aint seen em before) Crown Golden Ale...

NOICE!~

Second one for tonight is a Hollandia... report back soon.. *burp*

Yeah, I saw them on the shelf tonight also for the first time, almost got some. Worth it hey, give them a go next week.
Post by: scarps on October 17, 2014, 09:11:13 PM
Should be here

Post by: #jonesy on October 19, 2014, 05:11:28 PM
Still as good as last time.

Post by: speewa158 on October 19, 2014, 09:03:42 PM

Stop the averplaver  ball up & drink   VB . Show the world you have large kouhooners & taste . All 1/2 wits from other states can slag away . VB is a Mans drink  .                            Watch the little boys jump in to this post  >:D

V B  " Very Best "

End of Story

Post by: Bird on October 19, 2014, 09:06:43 PM
Quote from: speewa158
                                                       V B  " VOMIT BUCKET "
fixed
Post by: oldmate on October 19, 2014, 09:13:42 PM
fixed

Yeah that many  ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on October 19, 2014, 09:17:33 PM
peasants like them eat cake  8) :-*                          :cheers:
Post by: markymark on October 19, 2014, 09:36:00 PM
Still as good as last time.
Yep it's a nice drop but pretty sure it isn't actually brewed here! A story in the local rag said that while they're based in Melbourne, the family own a property around here but from what I can make out they've moved into larger premises but it's still not here...sort of misleading I reckon, but still a nice drop!
Post by: Bird on November 09, 2014, 01:56:42 PM
That was another winner for Ottinger + 500ml cans = less trips to the fridge. :)
Had to have another box of this again... Nice...
Post by: dales133 on November 09, 2014, 02:11:22 PM
Have you tried  Le Trapest quadruple?
It's made in the same district I believe.
23 bucks a 4 pack at Dan Murphys and 9.5%...Porter style.
Post by: Bird on November 25, 2014, 04:47:45 PM
Gotta get me one

http://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/43534/product/the-beer-belt-6-pack-bevvy-holster-black-300436/ (http://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/43534/product/the-beer-belt-6-pack-bevvy-holster-black-300436/)
(http://static.catchoftheday.com.au/cssjs/version-v265/bundles/cotdv2website/images/product-image--stub.gif)
Post by: wilson79 on November 25, 2014, 04:52:11 PM
I am in the Beer carte,l beer club

http://www.beercartel.com.au/ (http://www.beercartel.com.au/)

get 6 different beers delivered too me every month.

I also brew my own and have a 2 tap system which I enjoy :cheers:
Post by: Squalo on November 25, 2014, 06:02:49 PM
Gotta get me one

http://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/43534/product/the-beer-belt-6-pack-bevvy-holster-black-300436/ (http://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/43534/product/the-beer-belt-6-pack-bevvy-holster-black-300436/)
(http://static.catchoftheday.com.au/cssjs/version-v265/bundles/cotdv2website/images/product-image--stub.gif)

Haven't seen that one before. I have a Stubby Strip and it is a great unit:

http://stubbystrip.com.au/ (http://stubbystrip.com.au/)

(http://stubbystrip.com.au/image/cache/data/beer%20camo-350x350.jpg)
Post by: Hdn96 on November 25, 2014, 07:06:56 PM
I had a stone and wood pacific ale pint of the tap on Friday nite what a great beer so good I just had to have Moore what a great beer

L.M.S.B.C
Post by: Bird on November 25, 2014, 07:43:26 PM
I got another 6 beers cooling down in the fridge....

lookin forward to one or 2
Post by: wilson79 on November 25, 2014, 07:46:13 PM
I had a schooner of Ruby Tuesday tonight it was very nice...
Post by: Prado120 on November 26, 2014, 06:50:17 AM
I am in the Beer carte,l beer club

http://www.beercartel.com.au/ (http://www.beercartel.com.au/)

get 6 different beers delivered too me every month.

I also brew my own and have a 2 tap system which I enjoy :cheers:

Me too, me too & me too! it is so hard not to pull a fresh beer from the tap on a school night though  :cheers:
Post by: cancan on November 26, 2014, 08:55:01 AM
I give my empty kegs to a local micro Brewer and pick then up a week later nice and full... Although I think there is a leek somewhere because they end up empty again
Post by: Troopy_03 on November 26, 2014, 04:14:31 PM
Here are a couple of my preferred beers.
1. Little Creatures Pale Ale
2. Murray's Angry Man Pale Ale
3. Murray's Icon 2IPA
4. Sierra Nevada Pale Ale
5. Fat Yak
And One to try of ya game to.. Matso's Chilli Beer. Got a fair bit of a burn to it, and you know about it the next day.. you won't need to worry about a sore head cos ya bum will be burning too much  :cheers:
Post by: Prado120 on November 26, 2014, 04:23:33 PM
3. Murray's Icon 2IPA
5. Fat Yak
And One to try of ya game to.. Matso's Chilli Beer. Got a fair bit of a burn to it, and you know about it the next day.. you won't need to worry about a sore head cos ya bum will be burning too much  :cheers:
I agree, the Murrays icon 2IPA is amazing, I could only manage 3 or 4 sips of the Matso's chilli beer to know I was going to get afterburn!!
Stu.
Post by: Bird on November 26, 2014, 06:20:43 PM
has anyone done the banana or chocolate beer??? WTF does it taste like? as bad as it sounds?
Post by: Bird on November 26, 2014, 07:35:21 PM
Tonight, I've had
Kozel premium from Czech Republic- 500ml bottle.. runs at 4.8.
Nice drop, goes down well, doesn't leave that Shit taste in your mouth..
(http://www.pivnici.cz/foto/40/4b628c8b051381a09d349a4df63695b.jpg)
https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_903175/kozel-premium-beer-500ml.jsp;jsessionid=203E780D1A46AD3EC9B01AFF9CB2FCF7.ncdlmorasp1302?bmUID=kDy7Fmt (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_903175/kozel-premium-beer-500ml.jsp;jsessionid=203E780D1A46AD3EC9B01AFF9CB2FCF7.ncdlmorasp1302?bmUID=kDy7Fmt)
8 out of 10.

Next on the menu is
(https://www.eebria.com/media/products/21/20141014142922927/450x450.jpg)
Post by: Bird on November 26, 2014, 08:16:54 PM
Golden age taste like arse....
Post by: Redcherokee on November 26, 2014, 09:06:53 PM
Golden age taste like arse....

Who's? 

Post by: Bird on November 26, 2014, 09:08:25 PM
Who's?
Kim Beazleys
Post by: Redcherokee on November 26, 2014, 09:21:33 PM
Kim Beazleys

Jnr or Snr?

Post by: Bird on November 26, 2014, 09:21:59 PM
Jnr or Snr?
yes.
Post by: fishfinder on November 27, 2014, 07:17:18 AM
has anyone done the banana or chocolate beer??? WTF does it taste like? as bad as it sounds?
I reluctantly tried a few beers a friend offered me a chocolate and coffee beer was amongst them and I tipped them out in front of him
Post by: Bird on November 27, 2014, 08:12:16 AM
Quote from: fishfinder
I reluctantly tried a few beers a friend offered me a chocolate and coffee beer was amongst them and I tipped them out in front of him
Exactly as I would have expected.
Thanks - saves me coin, I was going to sample one next time..
Post by: Mace on November 27, 2014, 08:40:46 AM
Half a cup full of chocolate shavings in my home brew batch of stout is a whorthwhile addition, as well as the 150ml of treacle.

dont think I could come at a choco beer tho!

Post by: Troopy_03 on November 28, 2014, 08:34:30 AM
At one of the "Bitter and Twisted" beer festivals held in the old Maitland Gaol, they had a bacon flavoured beer. Seeing as it was fairly early in the day we thought yeah, perfect for brekky.. But it just tasted wrong... it actually tasted like one of my very early attempts at home brew back in the 70's that went off... Bllleeecccchhhhhhhhh.
Post by: dales133 on November 28, 2014, 06:51:50 PM
3. Murray's Icon 2IPA
5. Fat Yak
James squire hop thief is a good drop too as is nearly any sera Nevada beer I clouding the pumpkin ale they bring out at  hallowen if your lucky enough to find some
There's a place in Queens cliffs that makes an awsum mussel stout, a must try
Post by: Bird on November 28, 2014, 07:24:00 PM
crownuiyz are good when they are gfeee....... when you have to pay for them they are ppppppppppppppppppoo
Post by: Doweymex on November 28, 2014, 08:29:35 PM

Current beer of choice is
(http://i1350.photobucket.com/albums/p768/doweymex/Mobile%20Uploads/1AE2FE69-C2EB-4F8E-B7C5-57AF822B6D64_zpshptjrdbl.jpg)

Also been having Minimum Chips by Matilda Bay brewing company which is a good drop.
Post by: Bird on November 28, 2014, 10:12:26 PM
Had a my wifes bitter tonitw... fukt if i rememns if it was good or not
Post by: 2impulsiv on November 28, 2014, 10:23:02 PM
Has anyone tried this:

(http://www.beercartel.com.au/WebRoot/ecshared01/Shops/BeerCartel/52DC/4E73/1059/DF73/722B/AC10/0040/E034/Matilda_Bay_Minimum_Chips_m.png)

I rate it around the 3 out of 10 bottle caps....

Cool name though..
Post by: shakey55 on November 29, 2014, 05:58:13 AM
Just can't go past my favourite

COOPERS PALE ALE

(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/11/28/5e6eb5de126a41891db779ffc6f05f22.jpg)

Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 29, 2014, 05:00:59 PM
The OP is very quiet today  >:D

Post by: GeoffA on November 29, 2014, 05:20:53 PM

The calm before the storm, perhaps?....
Post by: oldmate on November 29, 2014, 05:43:34 PM

Has anyone tried this:

(http://www.beercartel.com.au/WebRoot/ecshared01/Shops/BeerCartel/52DC/4E73/1059/DF73/722B/AC10/0040/E034/Matilda_Bay_Minimum_Chips_m.png)

I rate it around the 3 out of 10 bottle caps....

Cool name though..

Yep. Haven't bought it again.

What I am trying today.
Post by: Bird on November 29, 2014, 06:02:55 PM

hes never drinking again....
Post by: 2impulsiv on November 29, 2014, 06:38:43 PM
hes never drinking again....

I say that every weekend!!

Post by: Agent009 on November 29, 2014, 07:13:38 PM
Just had a Ghost Ship Pale Ale. Damn nice!
Post by: dales133 on November 29, 2014, 08:59:25 PM
Yep. Haven't bought it again.

What I am trying today.

I almost got a slab of that tonight but ended up with this
(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/11/29/06465a8cc3627ba6a756ee9ea1b21312.jpg)
Bloody good drop
Post by: #jonesy on November 30, 2014, 08:52:35 PM
Minimum chips has a salty/sweaty taste which isn't quite right

Tried this on $16 for a six pack from liquor land  (brewed for Coles judging by the label address)
Quite a nice drop 4.5% with a grain taste and went down real well in the heat at Shepparton. 7 bottle caps

Post by: Bird on December 07, 2014, 07:43:16 PM
Tonight's brew
The ORGINAL STOKE BOMBER

A kiwi Pale Ale...
Comes in at 5.5%!!! And they are almost long necks 660ml.

First sip was a strange taste, not bad not good, just different - maybe not what I expected.. then went and poured it into a glass and much betterer...  8)

http://www.stokebeer.co.nz/our-ranges/#rng-bomber (http://www.stokebeer.co.nz/our-ranges/#rng-bomber)

No dead hopps taste after drinking, very nice, this was oober chilled (Chulld for kiwis) and not a twist top.. I forgot bout bottles like that!

Worth trying, not a bad drop by any shot of the imagination.

(http://res.cloudinary.com/ratebeer/image/upload/w_250,c_limit,q_85,d_beer_def.gif/beer_160116.jpg)
Post by: speewa158 on December 07, 2014, 07:47:23 PM
Name all the 1/2 baked Girlie Fizz you can       ,            You want Beer     ???    Drink VB .   Only if your up to it .  >:D
Post by: Garfish on December 07, 2014, 08:00:31 PM
Name all the 1/2 baked Girlie Fizz you can       ,            You want Beer     ???    Drink VB .   Only if your up to it .  >:D
Experimented with the green tins for a while when at Uni
Post by: speewa158 on December 07, 2014, 08:03:42 PM

Did You learn anything     ???       ???        Or is it a case of you don't have to be too smart to go to Uni    ??? ???   
Post by: Garfish on December 07, 2014, 08:10:54 PM

Did You learn anything     ???       ???        Or is it a case of you don't have to be too smart to go to Uni    ??? ???

Yep even when broke I'd rather stay sober than drink those cans again
Post by: speewa158 on December 07, 2014, 08:27:08 PM
garfish
          When l was at Melb Uni  l read Agriculture , Sciences , Law & the Exit sign . That was about all l could do , so don't come the funny about Green Cans . lf its too much for you   ,  So be it    :cheers:
Post by: Garfish on December 07, 2014, 08:30:45 PM
garfish
          When l was at Melb Uni  l read Agriculture , Sciences , Law & the Exit sign . That was about all l could do , so don't come the funny about Green Cans . lf its too much for you   ,  So be it    :cheers:

Happy days........
Post by: tracker on December 07, 2014, 10:10:34 PM

G'Day All,
                    I'v read this topic with interest and find my self wondering......is it just me?......After years of really enjoying a cleansing ale or 2 or 12 just to wash the dust down i'v never had the desire to change my beer of choice being " Quote....XXXX Bitter Unquote"...The only time i change brands is when i can't buy XXXX   i mean it's a personal thingy i know but ...i'm rarely tempted to try many others. I'v tried the international packs and found most were drinkable but always remained true to XXXX Bitter. I'v got mates that buy different beers all the time and i'v listened to one of them say Ewwwww.i didn't like that one which makes me think why spend money on beer you didn't enjoy !!!!! 

Well thats my 2 bobs worth....My after work beer tomorrow will be XXXX Bitter             

Cheers Tracker..... :cheers:
Post by: Bird on December 13, 2014, 05:00:00 PM
Todays tester is Innes & Gunn - From Scotland.

This is AWESOME.. expensive but this is beautiful... very tasty and very very refreshing...

Very oaky taste, a light coloured beer and I cant believe how nice this is...

Comes in taster sized bottled 330mll bottles... But runs at 6.6% alc!!!!!!

https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_360280/innis-gunn-original-oak-aged-ale.jsp (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_360280/innis-gunn-original-oak-aged-ale.jsp)
(https://www.danmurphys.com.au/media/DM/Product/308x385/360280_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569854567855.png)

Closest I've come to 10/10 ever. Shame its so expensive....
Post by: dales133 on December 13, 2014, 05:07:33 PM
Tonight's brew
The ORGINAL STOKE BOMBER

A kiwi Pale Ale...
Comes in at 5.5%!!! And they are almost long necks 660ml.

First sip was a strange taste, not bad not good, just different - maybe not what I expected.. then went and poured it into a glass and much betterer...  8)

http://www.stokebeer.co.nz/our-ranges/#rng-bomber (http://www.stokebeer.co.nz/our-ranges/#rng-bomber)

No dead hopps taste after drinking, very nice, this was oober chilled (Chulld for kiwis) and not a twist top.. I forgot bout bottles like that!

Worth trying, not a bad drop by any shot of the imagination.

(http://res.cloudinary.com/ratebeer/image/upload/w_250,c_limit,q_85,d_beer_def.gif/beer_160116.jpg)

I've tried a few of stokes beers and they aren't bad at all
Post by: BrettMG on December 17, 2014, 03:42:11 PM
Youse blokes with your "ah I only ever drink ..........." Make me chuckle.  I guess you always camp in the same place all the time too as it's better than anywhere else!
Post by: koshari on December 17, 2014, 07:57:12 PM
I like my outteys. 500ml cans are great because they take up the same room in the engel as a stubby but provide 50% more drinking.

Wheat beers are nice as well. Especially hoegaarten.
Post by: prodigyrf on December 17, 2014, 09:50:55 PM

G'Day All,
                    I'v read this topic with interest and find my self wondering......is it just me?......After years of really enjoying a cleansing ale or 2 or 12 just to wash the dust down i'v never had the desire to change my beer of choice......
                                                   Cheers Tracker..... :cheers:

It's the digital generation Tracker and they're wired differently to us and previous generations mate as they have the concentration span of toddlers nowadays. Have you seen the milk cabinet or the bread shelves at the super lately? It's why they invented ADHD to describe the growing phenomenon.

Truth is if you lined all these beer labels up in a double blind test 99% of these so called afficionados couldn't tell an ale from a lager after the first cold schooner goes down if you've ever worked in a slops bar on a Saturday night. This sort of beer crapola used to be restricted to wine wankers although to be fair real wine tasters spit it out rather than get pissed and rabbit on about how only plebs drink XXXX , VB or Fosters. One thing you can rely on Tracker, if any of it was devoid of alchohol not a drop of it would pass their elite taste test  :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on December 18, 2014, 06:39:52 AM
Yep our right tracker, it is a personal thing, and for me, the only time I would buy xxxx is when there was absolutly no other beer available, anywhere, and the cat litter was bone dry.

But personal choice.  :cheers: ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Agent009 on December 18, 2014, 07:51:26 AM
To be fair, xxxx bitter is a decent beer
Post by: prodigyrf on December 18, 2014, 12:33:09 PM
Hey Tracker this is what beer brand crapola is good for-
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=40456.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=40456.0)
although in the good old days without all these girliemen boutique brands it used to largely be a parochial States argument  ;D
Post by: Kangaron on December 18, 2014, 02:17:34 PM
What's the point of buying a 5 pack of boutique beer?
Where i come from you have 6 stubbies before you have a drink.
Post by: koshari on December 19, 2014, 07:12:43 PM
What's the point of buying a 5 pack of boutique beer?
Where i come from you have 6 stubbies before you have a drink.
Why not
Post by: oldmate on December 19, 2014, 07:47:12 PM
To be fair, xxxx bitter is a decent beer

Cmon mate,, your just saying that cause ya feel sorry for him.  ;D ;D :cheers:
Post by: Bird on December 31, 2014, 03:20:27 PM
after battling maddening crowds to get supplies for tonight, came home to 1 bottle left in the fridge..
Wychwood Brewery

Hobgoblin Red Ruby Beer
500ml bottle 5.2 on the Richter scale

Nice while chilled, for a pommy brew. smooth and refreshing.. no dead arse taste after it.
Worth trying.

http://www.wychwood.co.uk/#home//hobgoblin/beers (http://www.wychwood.co.uk/#home//hobgoblin/beers)
(http://www.beerandcider.com.au/images/beer/wychwood/hobgoblin_ale_btl.jpg)

edit:
(http://www.craftbeer.com/attachments/0000/1225/therightglass.png)
Post by: theins on January 04, 2015, 10:41:07 AM
Came across this beer yesterday - Mexican brew...

Nice Pale Ale - slightly more bitter than a Fat Yak...

Post by: JCAT on January 04, 2015, 11:03:44 AM
Got onto these at our Christmas Party - bloody nice drop in a 500 ml stubby, poured into a chilled 500 ml glass.

(http://media-cache-ec0.pinimg.com/736x/7f/47/bd/7f47bd028ada4aa73c224d1e442f594f.jpg)
Post by: Bird on January 13, 2015, 12:48:57 PM
Can someone try this one for me please

http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2015/jan/12/iceland-whale-testicle-beer (http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2015/jan/12/iceland-whale-testicle-beer)
Post by: theins on January 13, 2015, 02:21:24 PM
Can someone try this one for me please

http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2015/jan/12/iceland-whale-testicle-beer (http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2015/jan/12/iceland-whale-testicle-beer)

you're on your own with that one...
Post by: fuji on January 13, 2015, 03:59:12 PM
http://www.microbeerclub.com.au/brewery_directory.php (http://www.microbeerclub.com.au/brewery_directory.php)
Post by: Bird on March 05, 2015, 03:54:24 PM
Hmmmmmm

http://www.ratebeer.com/beer/harviestoun-old-engine-oil-bottle/9137/ (http://www.ratebeer.com/beer/harviestoun-old-engine-oil-bottle/9137/)

(http://res.cloudinary.com/ratebeer/image/upload/w_250,c_limit,q_85,d_beer_def.gif/beer_9137.jpg)
Post by: Bird on March 05, 2015, 04:08:14 PM
Anyone Game

http://www.brewdog.com/blog-article/214 (http://www.brewdog.com/blog-article/214)
"The 64 proof beer with a most suitable name"

$170 PER BOTTLE!!!

https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_702608/brewdog-tactical-nuclear-penguin (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_702608/brewdog-tactical-nuclear-penguin)

(http://images.ukcs.net/11469/brew_dog_tactical_7422311x1.jpg)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 05, 2015, 06:57:13 PM
Anyone Game

http://www.brewdog.com/blog-article/214 (http://www.brewdog.com/blog-article/214)
"The 64 proof beer with a most suitable name"

$170 PER BOTTLE!!!

https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_702608/brewdog-tactical-nuclear-penguin (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_702608/brewdog-tactical-nuclear-penguin)

(http://images.ukcs.net/11469/brew_dog_tactical_7422311x1.jpg)

I was about to buy a box, but they are sold out  :'(

Post by: Bird on March 06, 2015, 09:00:13 AM
I was about to buy a box, but they are sold out  :'(

I would happily sit back and watch you attempt to pay for a 30 pack.... :D

here ya go then.. Sink The Bismark - $199 a bottle...  41% !
https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_702625/brewdog-sink-the-bismarck-ipa (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_702625/brewdog-sink-the-bismarck-ipa)

(https://www.danmurphys.com.au/media/DM/Product/1600x2000/702625_0_9999_v1_m56577569854565684.png)
Post by: BadSeed on March 06, 2015, 01:37:01 PM
This is my type of thread....
I'll start with this, for those that know  8)
(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8605/16729746315_23e306256f_c.jpg) (https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8592/16729745915_029de9c6c7_c.jpg)
Post by: Bird on March 13, 2015, 06:38:21 PM
I got one of these going at moment...

Quite refreshing! going to get chinlee, and will report on more I got when back.

(http://www.worldofbeers.com.au/media/catalog/product/cache/1/thumbnail/600x600/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/o/l/oldfart_8.jpg)
Post by: xcvator on March 13, 2015, 09:08:35 PM
Definitely a beer made for you Bird  :-*
Post by: Bird on March 16, 2015, 07:06:12 PM
got one of these idling away at moment...

very nice and very chilled....

(http://www.beercartel.com.au/WebRoot/ecshared01/Shops/BeerCartel/5212/F745/015B/1748/2FE3/AC10/0040/3272/Belgian_Blue_Original_Wheat_Ale.png)
Post by: noel_w on March 21, 2015, 09:31:44 PM
Bought a 6 pack of these tonight. Very nice, but i'm just rabbiting on I guess
Post by: Bird on March 27, 2015, 06:30:47 PM
ok..

todays is a "Minimum Chips" from Matilda Bay..
extremely crisp... !! Very nice...
(https://250beers.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/matilda-bay-minimum-chips.jpg)
don't get the name..
Post by: JCAT on April 10, 2015, 07:30:03 PM
Giving this a go tonight courtesy of Uncle Dan(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/04/10/273a8b700f2964c96ac177a509ac6c90.jpg)

Post by: Bird on April 10, 2015, 07:33:22 PM
Quote from: JCAT
Giving this a go tonight courtesy of Uncle Dan(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/04/10/273a8b700f2964c96ac177a509ac6c90.jpg)
and the survey says?? Nice?
Post by: crappsy on April 10, 2015, 08:11:19 PM
It's not a bad drop for a white wheat beer but you could not drink heaps of it without a brake to something else, imo.
Post by: JCAT on April 12, 2015, 08:06:50 PM
I agree Crappsy, you could have a few but not to many.

Post by: 2impulsiv on May 12, 2015, 10:06:16 PM
I tried one of these tonight.

(http://www.beercartel.com.au/WebRoot/ecshared01/Shops/BeerCartel/530B/C93A/405B/4A96/C8A7/AC10/0040/C78C/Hawthorn_Golden_Ale_m.png)

I rate it a 7 out of 10. However, I would like to try a few more to be sure...

:)
Post by: Bird on May 12, 2015, 10:13:18 PM
had a few great northern on tap on the weekend up the murray, and though ti was good..

So I bought a slab of it, and sadly its free to good home....
Post by: Bird on February 27, 2016, 06:25:51 PM
Well been a while, and last night I had a few beers to report on

but tonight...

(https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3150/3008132951_691a9a5c50_b.jpg)

oohhhhh I hvent had one in 20 years... I forgot how awesome they are.... found my drink again
Post by: Bird on February 27, 2016, 06:59:56 PM
Hmmmm... next

http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-White-Russian (http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-White-Russian)
Post by: Foo on February 27, 2016, 07:16:42 PM
Well been a while, and last night I had a few beers to report on

but tonight...

(https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3150/3008132951_691a9a5c50_b.jpg)

oohhhhh I hvent had one in 20 years... I forgot how awesome they are.... found my drink again

What, Vodaka and Kahlua together?  ??? : :o

Post by: glenm64 on February 27, 2016, 07:23:51 PM
Try Bourbon, Kahlua and coke.

Post by: Snapman007 on February 27, 2016, 07:51:38 PM
I use to put jaeger in my bourbon and Coke. Was good in its day, might go lookin for some later.
Post by: Bird on February 27, 2016, 08:08:27 PM
What, Vodaka and Kahlua together?  ??? : :o

on the rocks dude.. its sssssmmmmmmoooooooooooooottttttttttthhhhhhhhhh

I thought the same as you until I tried it
Post by: #jonesy on February 27, 2016, 08:55:05 PM
I forgot all about those Black Russians. It has been of 20 years for me as well
Post by: Kangaron on February 27, 2016, 08:55:56 PM
A dash of Stone's Mac in a stubby keeps you nice and warm.
Post by: speewa158 on February 28, 2016, 12:46:05 PM
Talking about " Old Mates "  Harvey Wallbanger             :cup:                    :cheers:
Post by: listo on February 29, 2016, 10:29:24 AM
I joined a mates page on Facebook that he created a few years ago. He, his brother & their mates called it beer365 & the idea was to have a different beer every day for a year, take a photo of it poured into a glass beside the bottle, can or take so you could see what it was, then give it your description of taste & rating out of ten.
I only made it to day 68 as it was costing too much at the time.
When I started, I was a Hahn 3.5 drinker only & refused to drink anything with flavor. I gave terrible ratings between two & four out of ten for quite a lot of them... Most of these beers I now love after getting used to them. I love going to craft breweries & love the brew house in Brisbane, that'd be my favorite pub. We also loved the the craft pub in Lorne, just a shame we couldn't get a site in town for the night.
For me, my two favorites are 150 lashes & peroni nastro azzurro & my opinion of Hahn 3.5 is that it's poofters mouthwash...
Amazing how tastes can change if you work on them
Post by: listo on February 29, 2016, 10:34:24 AM
Not sure if this one's been put up. I don't think I could bring myself to tasting this...
The guy who makes it discovered that the yeast growing in his beard is perfect for making beer

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160229/273e7dc5c9bae45bb9da22baec689b6b.jpg)
Post by: Bird on February 29, 2016, 11:17:00 AM
Not sure if this one's been put up. I don't think I could bring myself to tasting this...
The guy who makes it discovered that the yeast growing in his beard is perfect for making beer

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160229/273e7dc5c9bae45bb9da22baec689b6b.jpg)

BEARD BEER

Awards:  2015 World Beer Championships, Gold
History:
Beard Beer is brewed with a yeast created from Brewmaster John Maier’s beard. No need to freak out, brewers have used wild yeasts in beer making for centuries.

John has had the same old growth beard since 1978 and for over 18,000 brews, so it is no great surprise that a natural yeast ideal for brewing was discovered in his beard.

What does Beard Beer taste like? Try it, we think you’ll be surprised....
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/564x/6c/be/e6/6cbee61a34189e5f012ec378e63c07ed.jpg)
Post by: Bird on February 29, 2016, 11:47:04 AM
Looking for this one but a touch hard to get hold of.. hope theres no after taste
(http://wackymania.com/image/2011/6/unfortinately-named-drinks/unfortinately-named-drinks-05.jpg)
Post by: plusnq on February 29, 2016, 02:40:34 PM
This one might have more of an aftertaste?
Post by: listo on February 29, 2016, 03:06:55 PM
Hahaha, that's ****ing feral!!!
Post by: Bird on August 19, 2016, 10:46:45 AM
bought a slab of Stella in 500ml cans other night. thought win/win... but then read the can, its not genuine, its brewed in UK.. tasted like water
Post by: SambOz on August 19, 2016, 03:09:34 PM

Firm believer in this  ;D   :cheers:

And, if you can find it on tap, improves pretty much every can/stubby beer you'll ever try.
Post by: tracker on August 19, 2016, 03:16:13 PM
bought a slab of Stella in 500ml cans other night. thought win/win... but then read the can, its not genuine, its brewed in UK.. tasted like water

Similar to VB I guess......... ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 19, 2016, 03:30:38 PM
You blokes are just trying to con Jamie into buying VB by the Keg, I can tell.
Post by: tracker on August 19, 2016, 03:33:20 PM
You blokes are just trying to con Jamie into buying VB by the Keg, I can tell.

:angel: :angel: :angel: :angel:
Post by: scblack on August 19, 2016, 03:38:47 PM
Firm believer in this  ;D   :cheers:

And, if you can find it on tap, improves pretty much every can/stubby beer you'll ever try.
Some beers improve, some don't. Some are great into the glass, some are better from the bottle.

I find that a bit of a hit and miss. :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on August 19, 2016, 06:12:14 PM
l got hold of a slab of can from Abbotsford  Vic . Green in colour , cold to the touch , Nectar of the Gods on the throat . & l will get another as well .                 :cup:             :cheers:

Before the Peanut Gallery start    >:D
                                                      What ever Floats Your Boat  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on August 19, 2016, 08:15:35 PM
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^See.  If you drink green stuff you become delusional like this. Stay away from it boys and girls.
Post by: SambOz on August 20, 2016, 10:22:48 AM
Some beers improve, some don't. Some are great into the glass, some are better from the bottle.

I find that a bit of a hit and miss. :cheers:

Having supped the odd beer or two for 1/2 a century I've never found a beer that was taste improved by drinking it out of the can/bottle.

Only a beginner I know  ;D   :cheers:
Post by: Bird on October 25, 2016, 10:11:49 AM
We all like Beer and popcorn................. separately

but there are some strange people in this world.
(http://www.sunkingbrewing.com/images/popcornpilsner.png)

Popcorn Pilsner puts a local spin on brewing tradition with the addition of Indiana-grown Riehle’s Select popcorn, popped by our friends at Just Pop In, to our German-Style pilsner recipe. The result is a crisp, balanced, and refreshing beer with a dry finish and just enough hop character to keep things interesting.

Popcorn Pilsner was the winner of the Silver Medal in the International-Style Pilsener Category at the 2011 Great American Beer Festival®.
Post by: listo on October 25, 2016, 07:17:35 PM
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161025/8e40cc92f769fa6888523ec9579fed11.jpg)

An experiment that went well for me. I'm in the shed now filling another 2 kegs & 10 biggies with this yummy stuff
Post by: #jonesy on January 07, 2017, 05:18:10 PM
Beer in a soft drink bottle, only in NZ.
I buy beer at the brewery in Mansfield in a growler, a refillable stainless thermos.
In NZ you take your flagon in and fill it up, or they fill a plastic bottle for you. You can also buy beer in a plastic bottle
Post by: speewa158 on January 07, 2017, 08:36:38 PM
    Similar to VB I guess......... ;D ;D ;D ;D
Tracker  your  a XXXX Man    ,  VB is not something you have been introduced to so you cant consume  it so you " Cant Spell Beer = XXXX "  & drinkwhateveritsupposedtoobe . More power to your arm       :cup:                    :cheers:
Post by: JPH on January 07, 2017, 09:49:06 PM
Just been experimenting down at Little Creatures brewery in Geelong for a few hours = good times!  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: listo on January 08, 2017, 08:01:20 PM
Beer in a soft drink bottle, only in NZ.
I buy beer at the brewery in Mansfield in a growler, a refillable stainless thermos.
In NZ you take your flagon in and fill it up, or they fill a plastic bottle for you. You can also buy beer in a plastic bottle

Pardon my ignorance, but is this the same Mansfield as the national meet?

Just been experimenting down at Little Creatures brewery in Geelong for a few hours = good times!  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

It's pretty awesome there ay? I can't wait to take the boss there when we go down at Easter!
Post by: Bird on July 04, 2019, 07:36:56 PM
Cold this is very drinkable.

(https://media.danmurphys.com.au/dmo/product/1000004770-1137090-1.png)