Author Topic: Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend)  (Read 147957 times)

Offline graham

• I used to cruise, now i just PATROL
  • nrnr62
Re: Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend)
« Reply #100 on: April 02, 2012, 06:57:18 PM »
Mace i hope there is going to be a bit of commentry along the way absolutly brilliant last time cheers graham
nrnr62

« Reply #101 on: April 02, 2012, 10:30:49 PM »
Mace i hope there is going to be a bit of commentry along the way absolutly brilliant last time cheers graham

I mite have a few tales for around the campfire!  ;D  Perhaps Barklys mate mite also put in an appearance, even tho we are a fair way from Lovicks Hut.

Im usually pretty quiet you know.  Looking at getting a hand held PA to save my voice.

Im working on a couple of special events at the moment. Saturday nite should be a good one.

Here are some more pics of the grounds.

« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 11:01:22 PM by Mace »

« Reply #102 on: April 02, 2012, 11:02:14 PM »
And a few more.

Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend)
« Reply #103 on: April 03, 2012, 12:37:56 AM »
Hey Mace have you got anyone to help with preparations the week leading up to the gathering? I was thinking if you need any help I could be down a few days earlier to help out if needed..?

« Reply #104 on: April 03, 2012, 09:15:47 AM »
Thanx for the offer.  Hopefully there wont be much to do, wood, water, etc will be provided by the Grounds Committee.  I will need help to put the Myswag Flag up the "Guess the Height of the Pole" pole that is currently still standing next to the wood chop arena.  Fitting the Flag will mean dropping the pole to the ground and then re-raising it.  ;D  Memo to self! Order Flag!!.

I plan to get up there on the Friday morning, however, if anyone wants to arrive earlier that will be fine.

« Reply #105 on: April 03, 2012, 10:04:10 AM »
no worries mate offer stands should things change and you require any help  :cheers:

« Reply #106 on: April 03, 2012, 07:40:18 PM »
Hey Mace, I get the feeling you are a Ned Kelly fan ;D
I thought you might appreciate these paintings that sit proudly in our lounge room

« Reply #107 on: April 03, 2012, 08:56:46 PM »
Hey Mace, I get the feeling you are a Ned Kelly fan ;D

They are great images.

We have had a Ned Kelly Mailbox for over 15 years, moved from our last home in Mansfield to our present home in Benalla. 

I wouldnt say I am a "fan" of Ned, but the story of his life and his responses to social issues of  the time are fascinating.  I am more a fan of local history, wherever we visit.  I have a library full of books from our travells, all specific to various areas and its history.  Its amazing how social history keeps replicating itself. Ned nowerdays would have started out as a Car Thief!

Its been said that if Ned was born 20 or so years later he would have won a VC at Gallipoli.  Different times and different circumstances lead to different outcomes. 

Its amazing how now Kelly descendants are unseen elements of the local community.  Neds great great (maybe another great) nephew is the recent past Mayor of the Rural city of Wangaratta. 40 years ago (within my lifetime), that still would have been unlikely. 

This is how Ill be approaching the weekend.  Trying to outline the background of what happened where, and why.  As ive said, its fascinating stuff.  There is no right or wrong now, the families involved have moved on.

Offline Stan Bryant

« Reply #108 on: April 09, 2012, 09:52:53 AM »
Count us in,,, Stan & Robyn,, plus misty & Bell our 2 canine kids,,
looking forward to meeting some other swaggers.
cheers Stan
THE MIGHTY MUSSO
http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/37530-2/PC260091.JPG

Offline tugger

« Reply #109 on: April 09, 2012, 04:32:15 PM »
Count us in as well -  2 adults, 3 kids and who knows maybe a dog or 2.  Sounds like fun.
Cheers, Malcolm and Sandy

Offline graham

• I used to cruise, now i just PATROL
  • nrnr62
« Reply #110 on: April 09, 2012, 06:01:08 PM »
Mace did you realise how big this juggernaut was going to be . i cannot wait ,infact i may just have to go earlier  Al this is a great thing you are doing lemme know if you need a hand cheers  Graham
nrnr62

Offline jadamo76

« Reply #111 on: April 09, 2012, 09:11:53 PM »
Hi there Mace

Can you add us as well?  2 adults

Looks like we will be buying our first Camper Trailer. Hoping to pick it up around August / September (me thinks get a deposit in soon!) and looks like it is going to be an Aussie Jays big red.

This could be one of the first trips we get to do so would love the idea of having a bunch of different camper trailers around to get some ideas on different things for us newbies!!

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #112 on: April 11, 2012, 08:47:56 PM »
Mace count me in and SWMBO as well. It's been too long since I have frequented the forum so it will be nice to meet some of you lot. :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Cheers Shane
06 Terracan, 2010 cub kamperoo brumby

Offline nisnav

« Reply #113 on: April 14, 2012, 09:24:25 PM »
Sounds like a fantastic weekend.

If there is still space put us down x2 adults and x2 kids,

We could only stay Friday till Monday as I'm in work on the Tuesday

Cheers Graham

06 D22 Navara, Snorkel, OME suspension, MT ATZ 4rib tyres, Alloy bar, Canopy, Uhf, ARB compressor, Dual Battery and a Tambo Marlo camper trailer

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #114 on: April 15, 2012, 03:45:20 PM »
Just got home from a Sunday drive, thought we would go have a look at the facilities /area, this looks to be a fantastic spot for a gathering. Nice people at the pub as well. I also like the look of the footy oval with nice open area for me to set up my  telescope for anyone interested in a bit of star gazing during the nights.

Cheers Shane

« Reply #115 on: April 16, 2012, 10:31:05 AM »
Back on board, Easter and an extra week off. Not long enough.  Failed to see even 1 Myswag sticker during 1000km plus af traveling to and around Omeo and then down the coast.

List now updated:  44 so far including 8 possibles.

Poppasmurf,  stargazing would be a great addition. The old concrete cricket pitch in the middle (site of my first class fifth class debut at age 12 - I can reinact the glance to fine leg for my first 4 for those interested) would give a great base.

The cut off for the 2 day trips will be 50 vehicles I reckon. 25 vehicles a day will take some coordinating, but doable.  The main issue will be parking at a couple of the sites, especially Powers Lookout, which will be busy even without us. People numbers in vehicles isnt an issue for me , the more the better, but high vehicle numbers on the road turns a 5 minute stop into a 15 minute one whilst waiting for all to arrive and disembark.

I cant see any reason to limit attendee numbers for the camping experience, but bear in mind that if you are higher than 50 on the list, you mightnt get to go on a guided tour thru the sites on the two days proposed.  That said, if on the day, if people have spare seats in their vehicles, others in the "plus 50" category could travel in those by invitiation on a first on the list first in basis.

:cheers:  Al.

« Last Edit: April 16, 2012, 10:36:32 AM by Mace »

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #116 on: April 16, 2012, 01:09:45 PM »
I will definately take my baby traveller telescope but the logistics of taking the big banger(avatar pic) with power for computerised mount and cameras for viewing on laptop might be a bit much but I will see how I go.

Cheers Shane

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #117 on: April 16, 2012, 09:37:33 PM »
for anyone interested in a bit of star gazing during the nights.

Little image #1' eyes lit up at reading this!
Crisp Image

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #118 on: April 17, 2012, 04:51:19 PM »
Hi Crisp Image, that's is what I wanted to hear.....another astro-enthusiast, looking forward to the trip.

Cheers Shane

Offline maurerless

• Don't take life seriously; no one gets out alive
« Reply #119 on: April 17, 2012, 05:47:30 PM »
I'm not an astro enthusiast, but more an astro enthusiast wannabe.  ;D

I bought a $&*%# telescope and never figured out how to set it up properly so I could track with the earth's rotation.  ??? ??? If there's a half a chance at getting some instructions - even half baked ones, I'm in!  :laugh:

Tony
2010 Isuzu D-Max; Hard walled mobile swag, but still getting out there. :)

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #120 on: April 18, 2012, 08:38:28 AM »
Hi Tony, #^^% telescopes are the number one reason a lot of people don't keep going with the hobby. I will definatey be able to give you some basic instruction on set up so bring it along. I personally prefer the astrophotography side of the hobby and only occasionally do visual for pleasure, but the big scope is a bit much to continually setup with my bad back and power needed to run it and everything else( which is why I built a permanant observatory for it).
It sounds like we will have plenty to talk over when we meet.

Cheers Shane
« Last Edit: April 18, 2012, 05:11:13 PM by poppasmurf »

« Reply #121 on: April 18, 2012, 04:25:11 PM »
Hi Mace, can you put us down as well.  :cheers: Hutchie

« Reply #122 on: April 18, 2012, 06:28:56 PM »
but the big scope is a bit much to continually setup with my bad back and power needed to run it and everything else
Cheers Shane

Im shure that plenty of swagpower, an appropriate storage area and 240v on site could be provided for the big mamma if it meant it could operate for a couple of nights.  PM me if you want to discuss.

Offline Kris

« Reply #123 on: April 18, 2012, 07:16:10 PM »
Might just add our name to the list.  At this stage should be right to go, just depends on what's happening around the time (bloody farms!).  Looks like it's gonna be BIG!  We're pretty good at going with the flow, and won't be upset if we miss out on somethings.

Look forward to some  :cheers:    Kris
2006 Hilux SR towing 1999 Kimberley Kamper

Offline maurerless

• Don't take life seriously; no one gets out alive
« Reply #124 on: April 18, 2012, 08:09:38 PM »
Hi Tony, #^^% telescopes are the number one reason a lot of people don't keep going with the hobby. I will definatey be able to give you some basic instruction on set up so bring it along. I personally prefer the astrophotography side of the hobby and only occasionally do visual for pleasure, but the big scope is a bit much to continually setup with my bad back and power needed to run it and everything else( which is why I built a permanant observatory for it).
It sounds like we will have plenty to talk over when we meet.

Cheers Shane

Got to check out the moon phase too I guess

Tony
2010 Isuzu D-Max; Hard walled mobile swag, but still getting out there. :)