Author Topic: Windows 10  (Read 117637 times)

Offline feisty

Re: Windows 10
« Reply #350 on: May 23, 2016, 10:44:34 PM »
Well, since starting this thread back in July last year and having installed Windows 10 then also, i must say that i am quite happy with it. I did have a few small user issues but thanks to Paceman, he gave me some valuable assistance to address these.
I find that "Edge" browser is quite fast compared to previous browsers. I guess my one and only complaint would be not having control of updates as sometimes they tie up my computer when i need to use it urgently at times. There might be a way of dealing with this that i have'nt yet discovered. Otherwise Windows 10 gets the "Thumbs Up" from me. :cup:
Day 5 and I am wondering what all the fuss is about.

Thanks for the tip about edge Robbo.  First thing I did was ditch edge but after reading your comments gave it another go.

It is a fair bit quicker which is great.
Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle

« Reply #351 on: May 24, 2016, 01:18:43 AM »
In windows before TEN there is an update menu.
Within Control panel in the updates menu you get the opportunity to stop Auto updates and just be notified of the updates.
This should turn off all the madness for people who retain control of the machines they use.
Where the machine is maintained by an outside Contractor or a separate IT  group within the company.
You will still have them wanting to update, if they're connected to the internet directly, if you haven't switched off the Auto updaters.

« Reply #352 on: May 24, 2016, 09:38:03 AM »
Mate works support for an ISP... they have had a flood of calls in the last week or 2 of machines auto-updating to 10 with no input from users...

Nothing that Comrade Microsoft has done though... honest.

« Reply #353 on: May 24, 2016, 11:26:20 AM »
Mate works support for an ISP... they have had a flood of calls in the last week or 2 of machines auto-updating to 10 with no input from users...

Nothing that Comrade Microsoft has done though... honest.

Yep, happened to daughter's two days ago.  Happened to mine last night but the first screen after it loaded asked me to accept something or other and I declined.  Next screen asked me if I didn't want to install W10, and I clicked no or whatever.  Windows then spent 5 minutes reverting back to W7 so all good.  Daughter reckons she didn't get that option.

« Reply #355 on: May 26, 2016, 08:17:10 AM »
From the links in that article

Go to: https://www.grc.com/never10.htm#top, download & run the program & all fixed!  8)

« Reply #356 on: May 26, 2016, 08:33:51 AM »
Quote from: Fizzie
From the links in that article
Go to: https://www.grc.com/never10.htm#top, download & run the program & all fixed!  8)
beat me to it

If you're still getting the Windows 10 'nagware' icon appearing daily and don't want Windows 10,
you can use either (or both) of these programs to remove it :

Never 10 = https://www.grc.com/never10.htm

and/or

GWX Control Panel =   http://ultimateoutsider.com/downloads/

This removes all the downloaded Windows 10 files/updates and it stops the popups appearing.

**Important - If using GWX control panel, don't click the option in the lower right hand side to :

"Clear Windows Update Cache " - as this resets all updates and can bring back old unwanted ones.

Microsoft is being very aggressive about getting Windows 10 on everyone's machine any way it can.

" Microsoft uses malware tactics to foist Windows 10 on more PCs "

The following users thanked this post: Cruiser 105Tvan

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline bluejay

« Reply #359 on: July 21, 2016, 08:18:23 AM »
Im running windows 8 and the windows 10 upgrade for free ends on 29/07/16 dont anything  about  windows 10 i sit much different /better than 8 have many done the up grade and what are your thoughts yay or nay
thanks

« Reply #360 on: July 21, 2016, 08:29:34 AM »
G'day Blue

There's a full thread concerning the pro's / con's / many & varied opinions about Win 10: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44347.0

Personally, I'm not bothering - 3 of our PCs / laptops are on Win 7, with 2 on 8 / 8.1 - I'm happy with 7 & seriously thinking about rolling others back to 7, rather than up to 10!

Graeme

« Reply #361 on: July 21, 2016, 08:48:39 AM »
Im running windows 8 and the windows 10 upgrade for free ends on 29/07/16 dont anything  about  windows 10 i sit much different /better than 8 have many done the up grade and what are your thoughts yay or nay
thanks
wow.. someone who runs 8!

Offline Rocky and Bullwinkle

« Reply #362 on: July 21, 2016, 08:50:15 AM »
I had so many problems with Win 10, I will stay with 8.1.

2015 Isuzu D Max
2015 Trackabout Safari SV Extenda
The other toy is a
2008 SeaDoo RXTX 255HP

Offline tk421

« Reply #363 on: July 21, 2016, 08:59:29 AM »
Upgraded to Win10 pro from 8.1 a month after release, on a 5 year old  i5 Laptop with 8GB RAM, and have never had an issue. Personally I don't see what the fuss is about.

wow.. someone who runs 8!

We've got 1500+ devices at work running 8.1 pro without issue. :)
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway
The following users thanked this post: Terry W4

« Reply #364 on: July 21, 2016, 09:11:31 AM »
The only real annoying bug I have with Win 10 since it self installed, is that it freezes sometimes when you click the mouse pointer or fails to respond when clicking on program icons .
Personaly I reckon Win 7 was more user freindly, For me.

« Reply #365 on: July 21, 2016, 10:39:58 AM »
No issues with Win10 for us.

« Reply #366 on: July 21, 2016, 10:47:23 AM »
just got this from a mate in Batemans Bay LMAO!!!

"... just upgraded to Windows 10 on the PC and it's doing my head in trying to find where everything is. Why cant they just leave things where they are and improve performance instead of moving stuff around? When they update a new model car they don't put the steering wheel in the boot!" :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #367 on: July 21, 2016, 12:05:29 PM »
Yep I know how he feels  ;D

Offline tk421

« Reply #368 on: July 21, 2016, 12:08:10 PM »
just got this from a mate in Batemans Bay LMAO!!!

"... just upgraded to Windows 10 on the PC and it's doing my head in trying to find where everything is. Why cant they just leave things where they are and improve performance instead of moving stuff around? When they update a new model car they don't put the steering wheel in the boot!" :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

I got similar comments from users when we went from win 3.11 to NT4, and XP to Windows 7.

Windows 10 isn't that hard - Windows Key - type what you want to find.  I've not used the start menu /tiles since XP.
The following users thanked this post: Terry W4

Offline beagle

« Reply #369 on: July 21, 2016, 07:21:19 PM »
Tried 10 for a couple of days, went back to 7. Much simpler for an old fart like me.

Sent from my SM-T110 using Tapatalk

Offline bluejay

« Reply #370 on: July 21, 2016, 07:51:42 PM »
Thank you all for the replies

Offline envee

• Retired !! grey nomading.
« Reply #371 on: July 21, 2016, 07:53:45 PM »
Upgraded ages ago and apart from a driver issue with the laptop cam haven't had a problem. Pretty happy with it really.
'14 Disco SE  '15 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

https://destinationpotatopoint.blogspot.com/

« Reply #372 on: July 21, 2016, 07:57:39 PM »
Running a 3 year old Lenovo Laptop with 8GB of RAM that started off with Win8, and is now on Win10

Use it every day for work, and it's not a problem. All the machines at work are also Win 10

I've set it up so that all my common programmes (Firefox, Thunderbird, Word, Excel, Memory Map, EndNote, PDF Exchange, Cyclo Agent and OneNote) are along the Taskbar so I hardly use the Start menu. Much easier that way...

« Reply #373 on: August 03, 2016, 03:08:39 PM »
WEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

https://community.spiceworks.com/topic/1734274-10-things-sysadmins-need-to-know-about-windows-10-anniversary-update

Offline tk421