General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2011 Cape York Members Trip => Topic started by: duggie on February 20, 2011, 06:51:32 PM

Title: Who has started getting there Four wheel drive and camper ready ?
Post by: duggie on February 20, 2011, 06:51:32 PM
Hi Guys and Girls,
Started preping the 4x4 ready for the tip trip and was wondering who else is doing the same. I will post some picks later when I remember how to do so. Cheers duggie.
Title: Re: Who has started getting there Four wheel drive and camper ready ?
Post by: jk on February 20, 2011, 07:41:55 PM
Yep...................I'm all over it like hair on a gorilla  ;D , pace is slow at the moment but have started checking spares list and things to add and remove from the camping gear for a trip like this, no doubt the pace will become more frantic as time slips by.
Post by: bjf on February 20, 2011, 09:07:53 PM
We finalise our new camper yesterday, we are changing a few things from your previous setup to my things easier for the trip. We are also testing a few ideas for the manufacturer - carpet to the front tool box, mud flaps in front of the front stabiliser legs and some additional seals around the tonneau :cheers:
Post by: geoffnvi on February 21, 2011, 10:28:13 PM
Ive been going steady for the last few months and finilising over the next few. Here is what ive done so far and what i'm going to do.
Car
 - Fitted the winch last weekend
 - ordered a new set of BFG AT's, due for delivery in 6 weeks.
 - Ordered a Chip-it module, due for delivery in 2 weeks.
 - Front Air locker will be fitted within the next month (after fitting the compressor)
 - Added 2 more 6B&S outlets in the rear for both fridges.
 - started stockpiling spares
Camper
 - Upgraded the wiring on the camper, including adding 4 sets of strip LED's and 2 extra power outlets.
 - adding a water gauge to the tank.
There will be a bit more to come, after cross checking my to-do list.
Geoff
Post by: duggie on February 24, 2011, 01:32:48 AM

Hi , still have not worked out how to post photos yet but have put a link up to my album. Started working on the Patrol for the trip to the cape, stripped and rebuilt the front diff. Replaced the old sagging coils with new coils and air bags so a heaver bull bar and winch can be mounted for the trip.

http://www.myswag.org/gallery/v/Duggie/treck+prep/
Post by: McGirr on March 14, 2011, 08:43:25 PM
Well how are things progressing everyone. We have had and still having a good wet season so expect some great challenges ahead.

Post by: idlegossip on March 15, 2011, 09:58:49 AM
I was progressing well till last week when SWMBO smashed the car  :'( :'( but luckily  she is ok but it wasn't her fault.

So that is now getting fixed and should be back with us in a couple of weeks. My still to do like includes

Car:
Polyair bags to the back
Diff breathers
Fitting new Yokohama GO 12 AT's that I have sitting at work
and if I get the chance change the power supply for the fridge in the rear to either larger cable as the 6mm that I am running I think is strugling.

Camper:
Fit the LED lights that I have had sitting here for the last 6 months
Some 31" tyres for it
Move the spare wheel to under the camper if I can
install water pump to the kitchen
Buy a secondary high output gas burner for the camper at the stove in the kitychen is great if I want to boil water not cook for 5 people.

That is about all I can think of atm but have done heaps till now.

Should get it all done in time I hope.

Post by: McGirr on March 15, 2011, 10:49:30 AM
I would suggest not putting the spare wheel under the camper as:

1 It will be hard to remove especially if you have a flat

2 it will impede your ground clearance

Post by: jk on March 15, 2011, 11:16:54 AM
We are having all 8 tyres on the camper and cruiser rotated and rebalanced this weekend, next week the old girl is getting a new clutch/pressure plate etc and a full gearbox rebuild/recondition  ;D , checking all of the uni's and wheel bearings at the same time, it's a long way from trip time but we have no major trips planned between now and then.
 I think this years trip is going to be challenging to say the least and I have the oldest 4b in the group so we are trying to cross all the T's and dot all the I's to hopefully have a trouble free trip  :cheers: .
Post by: idlegossip on March 15, 2011, 01:58:00 PM
I would suggest not putting the spare wheel under the camper as:

1 It will be hard to remove especially if you have a flat

Valid points Mark. Hadn't thought about that  :cheers:
Post by: seqfisho on March 15, 2011, 05:14:34 PM
We are having all 8 tyres on the camper and cruiser rotated and rebalanced this weekend, next week the old girl is getting a new clutch/pressure plate etc and a full gearbox rebuild/recondition  ;D , checking all of the uni's and wheel bearings at the same time, it's a long way from trip time but we have no major trips planned between now and then.
 I think this years trip is going to be challenging to say the least and I have the oldest 4b in the group so we are trying to cross all the T's and dot all the I's to hopefully have a trouble free trip  :cheers: .

After hearing that the old red rattler conquered "Beer O'clock Hill" at the Springs, I would think you wont have to many troubles JK ;)
Post by: ML-VR08 on March 16, 2011, 12:56:13 PM
Although im not tagging along with you guys im still doing my Cape Trip Prep - halfway through having the canvas canopy made, and still got a heap of things to fit into the canopy. This includes....

- 75L Diesel Tank (giving me a range of 1000kms hopefully ???)
- 2nd Battery
- LED lighting
- Fridge Slide
- Custom Bash Plates
- Storage Box full of spares (oil, belts, tyre plug kit etc etc)

We will be heading up on the 14th of June (hopefully if the rain ever stops) and will be spending 5 weeks up the top. Cant wait and fingers crossed the camper trailer and triton stand upto the challengers infront of us. We have a rough itinerary for the trip but we mostly plan to get to weipa asap and then head up to seisia or punsand bay for min 5 nights then head south to Vrilya Pt and take the Frenchmans track over to Portlands road/Chillie Beach. Hope to see some of you guys up there....dont forget to drop in for a beer.
Post by: spargo on March 16, 2011, 02:22:08 PM
Although im not tagging along with you guys im still doing my Cape Trip Prep - halfway through having the canvas canopy made, and still got a heap of things to fit into the canopy. This includes....

- 75L Diesel Tank (giving me a range of 1000kms hopefully ???)
- 2nd Battery
- LED lighting
- Fridge Slide
- Custom Bash Plates
- Storage Box full of spares (oil, belts, tyre plug kit etc etc)

We will be heading up on the 14th of June (hopefully if the rain ever stops) and will be spending 5 weeks up the top. Cant wait and fingers crossed the camper trailer and triton stand upto the challengers infront of us. We have a rough itinerary for the trip but we mostly plan to get to weipa asap and then head up to seisia or punsand bay for min 5 nights then head south to Vrilya Pt and take the Frenchmans track over to Portlands road/Chillie Beach. Hope to see some of you guys up there....dont forget to drop in for a beer.

Mate, just as an aside and unrelated to this thread (sorry to all for jumping in!). Would you be willing to send me any photos you might have of your canvas canopy for what I'm assuming is an ML VR triton ute? We've got the same with a tray, and considering the removable canvas option. Would be keen to see what you;re doing. If you've got some snaps or details, reply to this msg and I'll send you a PM -Cheers!!!
Post by: ML-VR08 on March 16, 2011, 02:58:10 PM
No worries mate - shoot me a pm and email address
Post by: jetcrew on March 23, 2011, 05:19:29 PM
Well I have done

Diff breathers

new 16mm2 hotwire to towbar

removed the compleate lpg system

new air filter box lid and main air feed hose (after remove lpg)

On the list still to do is,Winch ?

New spark plugs and leads

new belts + spare set.

fuel filter

Day underneath with grease gun

high lift jack and shovel holder for roof rack

and as far as spares goes I'll take LOTS of radiator coolant ..LOL,spare fan belts ,rad hoses, air filter ect but no major mech parts .as where do you start and stop.

And no matter what I do before or take with me I am sure something will happen that I don't have the spare for. >:D

As a side note I always carry a breaker bar with the correct socket for my wheel nuts  under my drivers chair . As I find when it's handy I check em evry day on the rough stuff. Have seen to many wheels fall off over the years.

Jetcrew :D
Post by: McGirr on March 23, 2011, 07:43:25 PM
Jet crew

Dont worry about the winch. I have never had one and never needed one at the Cape. It depends how crazy you want to go. What you are carrying is fine. Like you said how much is enough and the way cars are with electronics you will need a complete electronics machine with you.

Everyone will be fine as long as you have a few spares we will conquer the Cape. Just a note take some fuses they may come in handy with all the electronics in 4 wd these days.

Post by: SteveandViv on March 23, 2011, 08:07:34 PM
Well how are things progressing everyone. We have had and still having a good wet season so expect some great challenges ahead.

No kidding Mark.. Were hoping to at least get out of our state.. ;D Hope the road to Halls Creek is OK.. we know it will b but still, how amazing is all this water
Post by: barraboy on March 24, 2011, 11:17:13 AM

Just wondering do you think a snorkel on a Nissan Pathfinder would be required??

Martin
Post by: jk on March 24, 2011, 11:31:45 AM

Just wondering do you think a snorkel on a Nissan Pathfinder would be required??

The deepest water crossing will probably be Nolan's Brook, after such a huge wet season I am expecting the worst. If it were mine and it was a diesel I'd fit one but it's up to you,..............Have a look on you tube at some of the Nolan's Brook crossings to give you a better idea, that said.......this year is bound to be different again.

Hope that's of some use,

Post by: McGirr on March 24, 2011, 02:33:05 PM

The deepest water crossing will probably be Nolan's Brook, after such a huge wet season I am expecting the worst. If it were mine and it was a diesel I'd fit one but it's up to you,..............Have a look on you tube at some of the Nolan's Brook crossings to give you a better idea, that said.......this year is bound to be different again.

Hope that's of some use,

Martin
As JK mentioned if you have a diesel yes. Otherwise have a small tarp to cover the front of the car as I do expect the water to be headlight deep.

Post by: bert56 on March 25, 2011, 06:32:27 PM
I'm into the 4wd,

Got: rear arb locker with arb air compressor, tjm steel bar. tigerz11 12000lb winch, k&n air cleaner, driving lights, canopy, roof racks, recovery gear, snorkel, towbar, steel steps.

Need: Some sort of recovery points (anyone got any ideas), mud tyres (6), 2" lift, finish homemade draws.

Any other ideas.

Bert
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 25, 2011, 06:35:20 PM
I'm into the 4wd,

Need: Some sort of recovery points (anyone got any ideas) Any other ideas.

Bert
Whats breed is the tow wagon??

Post by: bert56 on March 25, 2011, 06:45:16 PM
2007 mazda bt50. The tjm bar has "L" shaped brackets bolted to other brackets that are bolted to the where the original tie down points were. TJM removed the tie down points, lost them and then told me they make nothing that I can use for a replacements.

Also I have a dual battery system fitted.
Need to do the wiring to the tray and to anderson plugs.

Bert

Post by: McGirr on March 25, 2011, 08:12:52 PM
Bert as I am your off sider email me some front and rear pics and I will see what I can do.

Post by: bert56 on March 26, 2011, 04:58:51 AM
Would like to Mark, but I am computer illiterate. Haven't been able to work out how to post photos. This is the best that I can do.

Bert
Post by: bert56 on March 26, 2011, 05:02:20 AM
Jetcrew, just wondering why you would need 16mm square cable for.

Bert
Post by: Symon on March 27, 2011, 08:31:44 AM
I've started stripping out the camper for a new kitchen that I am building.  While I've got the internals out I'm giving the underside one hell of a coat with bitumen paint because all the rocks from last time pretty much sandblasted all the paint off from underneath.

The biggest problem I have at the moment is I don't have a tug!  I sold the Navara a few weeks ago and so I'm on the lookout for a vehicle.  Might be a bit of a problem that one....
Post by: jetcrew on March 27, 2011, 12:22:03 PM
Jetcrew, just wondering why you would need 16mm square cable for.

Bert

That was the 16mm2 twin that I ran from the Aux batt to the towbar to charge the camper batts whilst on the move . I had never had one before so thought it was time.

It's a just the cable I like to use as it's tinned copper and it's in a sheath already.

By the sounds of your mods I should be right as lonfg as I stay close to you.. LOL :laugh:

Jetcrew :D
Post by: bert56 on April 02, 2011, 01:56:28 PM
left side
Post by: bert56 on April 02, 2011, 01:59:26 PM
right side
Post by: duggie on April 03, 2011, 08:20:17 AM
Hi guys and gals, Finished the front diff and springs refurbish and I have fitted a snorkle, I did not want to carry my boat on the camp trailer for this trip as there is to many setups/packups of the camper so I have made a boat/roof rack for my Nissan so that I will only take the boat off when needed. I am now building a fridge slide/draws in the back of my wagon. Next step is to change the bull bar with another one and fit my winch and extra battries. I have four new rims and tyres ordered that way I can have 33 x 12.5's all round on my wagon , camper and spares. cheers duggie
Post by: SteveandViv on April 03, 2011, 10:47:24 AM
I've started stripping out the camper for a new kitchen that I am building.  While I've got the internals out I'm giving the underside one hell of a coat with bitumen paint because all the rocks from last time pretty much sandblasted all the paint off from underneath.

The biggest problem I have at the moment is I don't have a tug!  I sold the Navara a few weeks ago and so I'm on the lookout for a vehicle.  Might be a bit of a problem that one....

Geez.. Your going to get tired pulling that all the way ti the tip  ;D
Post by: Symon on April 03, 2011, 11:10:59 AM
Should all be good, if things go well I'll be flying to Brisbane next weekend and driving back.
Post by: jclures on April 03, 2011, 11:44:17 AM
Symon what are you getting, a new manual Nissan Navara. >:D ;D
Post by: Symon on April 03, 2011, 12:07:46 PM
Hehehehe.... nah mate, not this time!

I might actually be getting a.... a....

Toyota

I feel so dirty....
Post by: jclures on April 03, 2011, 02:56:09 PM
And so you should. ;D
Post by: SteveandViv on April 03, 2011, 04:56:07 PM
Your what (http://www.pic4ever.com/images/vahidrk1.gif)
Post by: ML-VR08 on April 12, 2011, 12:11:34 PM
Well completed a bit more on the list.... Bashplates, Canopy, 2nd fuel tank, 2nd battery and roof racks complete with shovel and holder!
(http://i420.photobucket.com/albums/pp282/Whatder/IMG_0831.jpg)
(http://i420.photobucket.com/albums/pp282/Whatder/IMG_0826.jpg)
(http://i420.photobucket.com/albums/pp282/Whatder/IMG_0812.jpg)
(http://i420.photobucket.com/albums/pp282/Whatder/IMG_0811-1.jpg)

Now - whos ready for the cape (well nearly)
Post by: Symon on April 17, 2011, 08:40:19 AM
Well, I just paid the deposit on my Landcruiser HDJ79R, pick it up tomorrow.

The modifications will then begin in earnest.  Pics to come.
Post by: darren on April 17, 2011, 08:42:55 AM
What else do you need?
Post by: Symon on April 17, 2011, 09:19:56 AM
It's an ex-railway vehicle, so pretty optioned up already, but I don't like the way the tray is set up - so there will be quite a few modifications going on there.

And me being me, I want to fix up the electrics a bit too.
Post by: darren on April 17, 2011, 09:23:36 AM
Its a good base.I wish i had that motor, Have fun
Post by: Symon on April 17, 2011, 05:30:23 PM
OK, in before the  :worthles: here is a pic of the new beast.  I will post up a worklog in another thread.
Post by: darren on April 17, 2011, 06:07:13 PM
There is a D4 somwhere without a blade.... :D
Post by: jk on April 17, 2011, 07:04:37 PM
Ah................you have finally seen the light  :cup:, Toyota/V8/Diesel, all the right headings. The Battle Bar on the front should keep the critters off the body work, look forward to the mod list and photos,

Johnno
Post by: Symon on April 17, 2011, 07:43:28 PM
She's only a turbo six jk, I decided the V8's were still asking a bit too much coin for what they are.

Still has plenty of poke though.  The bullbar has a 9000lb PTO winch behind it, should be handy to pull out stuff.  Other goodies include factory front and rear diff locks, twin fuel tanks, water tank, and a pretty solid tow hitch.
Post by: McGirr on April 17, 2011, 07:54:33 PM
Bugger the mods..... How much beer  :cheers: can you carry.  ;D
Post by: jk on April 17, 2011, 08:13:28 PM
It's still got the right badge on the front,........................oh, what McGirr said, how much beer will she carry  :cheers:
Post by: duggie on April 18, 2011, 07:03:34 AM
Hi Symon,
Congrats on the new tug, been a NISSAN bloke it is hard for me to say it though. I use the same model toyota at work and yes they do have plenty of poke. Enjoy . :'(
Post by: Frostd on May 03, 2011, 04:56:26 PM
Well, things are starting to move along. ;D  Went up to Zordo's (John)  http://www.zordos4wdsuspension.com.au/ at Upper Kedron today and installed a new 2inch lift and new shockies. The old patrol suspension had sagged   :'( 25-30mm, if not more.  It was a pleasure to deal with Zordo :cup:. He is very knowledgeable about suspension issues and what I would require in the future. NEXT - new set of BFG muddies. These should clear the docks on 11th May. Here's hoping. :angel:  The CT is getting a once over and a few extra's added, chimney for the front boot, where the fridge will go and also some dust proofing. :cheers:
Post by: McGirr on May 03, 2011, 05:19:50 PM
Never been a fan of mud tyres. Too noisy on the road and they wear too quick. Good all terrain tyres are ideal for the Cape thats all I have ever used for the last 3 trips.

Post by: darren on May 03, 2011, 05:38:52 PM
Never been a fan of mud tyres. Too noisy on the road and they wear too quick. Good all terrain tyres are ideal for the Cape that's all I have ever used for the last 3 trips.

I agree, if you added all the hard bits together there is about 5-10km of terrain that would benefit from mud terrains. On a 10000km trip that's not a lot.
Post by: jk on May 03, 2011, 09:14:01 PM
Hang on Mark  ??? ...................didn't you get towed out last time  ;D , a slight bogging problem not far from the Jardine River  :-*
Post by: SteveandViv on May 04, 2011, 09:33:50 AM
Well, love my MTZ...I don't find the road noise to bad and as were coming via the Buchanan Hwy and the Roper River and then the Savannah way we shouldn't have to much tar - I hope  ;D

In the mod dept. Got a few new outlets going in the camper. Going to add fixed tie downs to the roof rack and a water system up top and new brackets to hold the MaxTrax. Go to change the RHF CV and do a god service. Get a new spare for the camper and  want to ad a tool box up front to carry the genny. Need to ad some new tie downs inside the camper to help stop movement
Post by: McGirr on May 04, 2011, 12:58:32 PM
Hang on Mark  ??? ...................didn't you get towed out last time  ;D , a slight bogging problem not far from the Jardine River  :-*

Not bogged my fellow traveller but not enough momentum going up a bank. But thanks for reminding me ;D

Post by: jk on May 04, 2011, 01:42:58 PM
We're on track  :cheers: , have had a total gearbox and t/case rebuild, new h/d clutch & pressure plate, new rear main seal in motor, the bullbar has been modified to hold the new 12000lb winch, new rear wheel bearings going in tomorrow and having the front springs reset next Tuesday ( weight of winch etc ).       That will just about do it.  ;D

All in all looking good for the big adventure  :cup:
Post by: Frostd on May 04, 2011, 07:26:49 PM
Never been a fan of mud tyres. Too noisy on the road and they wear too quick. Good all terrain tyres are ideal for the Cape thats all I have ever used for the last 3 trips.

I agree, if you added all the hard bits together there is about 5-10km of terrain that would benefit from mud terrains. On a 10000km trip that's not a lot.

Guys, thanks for the information on muddies :cup:. But I, one, am looking forward to testing them out on the creeks and tracks up and down the Cape. I'll certainly let you know my opinion on the tyres when we return. :cheers:
Post by: Symon on May 04, 2011, 08:28:39 PM
have had a total gearbox and t/case rebuild, new h/d clutch & pressure plate

Out of curiosity, how much did that set you back jk?
Post by: jk on May 04, 2011, 09:04:28 PM
This hurts just writing it down   :'(

Rear main seal, clutch & pressure plate, machine flywheel and labour......................................................................................$1500
Total g/box & t/case overhaul ( new 5th gear, new main shaft, new lay shaft, all bearing and seals, and labour )..........................$3000

:'(  :'(  :'(  :'(      

But it's done for another 22 years   ;D                                            
Post by: duggie on June 02, 2011, 10:48:38 AM
OK I think I have the Troll almost ready,
I have done the front diff rebuild, need to check out one of the seals again
New front springs and front air bags
Plumbed/fitted a snorkel
Built and fitted a boat/roof rack
Made and fitted fridge slide/draws in the back
Added two more 95 ah batteries and wired them and the inverter in
Extended and rerouted diff and gear box breathers
Changed my bull bar and fitted my 9000lb winch
Full set of new mud tyres and rims
Full set of V-belts and radiator hoses
Snatch strap, extra winch rope extension and recovery gear
Things left to do: check out oil leak on diff, full service and air con regas, ready to rock and roll.

Have not started on the Camp Trailer yet but I will still have around 10 days off between now and party time.
Post by: bert56 on June 03, 2011, 10:41:14 AM
Hey Mark you are coming with me right because I'm get MTZ's next week. Never had muddies before so I'll leave my opinion until after July. I had a efs lift installed on Wednesday.

I'm not game to write down the cost ( the wife might accidently see it, then I'll be in trouble)of what I've spent just getting a car up to scratch.

Bert
Post by: Symon on June 03, 2011, 10:54:29 AM
Just got the clutch done and a major service - $2400 - ouch!

Still working on the trailer (as per the other thread) but the tug is pretty much completed now.
Post by: McGirr on June 03, 2011, 11:29:32 AM
Hey Mark you are coming with me right because I'm get MTZ's next week. Never had muddies before so I'll leave my opinion until after July. I had a efs lift installed on Wednesday.

I'm not game to write down the cost ( the wife might accidently see it, then I'll be in trouble)of what I've spent just getting a car up to scratch.

Bert

Bert I will be with you and may even share a bed  ;D ;D 
Post by: idlegossip on June 03, 2011, 11:48:27 AM
Well, I think my tug is just about right. Got all the breathers done, new yokohama tyres are on, airbags done, car fully services and everything checked, just getting the gas converter changed next week as it seems to have a leak and we can smell gas first thing in the morning. Just need to decide if I need an inverter in the car to charge things whilst on the go like computer, cameras etc or wait till the evening and charge at campsites! Any suggestions???

Camper is also just about ready just want to change the seals around the doors as the foam seals are well compressed so would like to change them to be on the safe side, wheel bearing etc have all been checked, and spare set in the kit. Would like to try and get some higher profile tyres for the camper but will see if I have time.

I am also to scared to add up how much I have spent to this point getting everything ready. Still need to get the battery charger, an inverter if I really need one,

Just hope we are ready by the time we leave on the 18th June.
Post by: darren on June 03, 2011, 12:03:20 PM
. Just need to decide if I need an inverter in the car to charge things whilst on the go like computer, cameras etc or wait till the evening and charge at campsites! Any suggestions???

Mate,
 A $60 300w cheap inverter is all i use. Its lose in the camper so i can put it in the car if i have to. It does the camera batteries etc and takes up no room.
 Hope that helps
Post by: bert56 on June 04, 2011, 02:39:39 PM
Who are you sharing a bed with Mark, I know it wont be me.

Bert
Post by: SteveandViv on June 04, 2011, 10:20:27 PM
Well go the new CV today so time to install. Finished the roof water tank and go the pipe holder back up on top. New cig outlets in the camper are all done and the new battery installed (120ampH AMPTEC) The wife threw on some brand new sheets  - Woo Hoo and new pillows  ;D does that count as a mod  ???

Going to add some new tie down inside the camper tomorrow and then a bit of a clean up Monday as it's a holiday in WA
Post by: Frostd on June 07, 2011, 07:52:46 PM
After the service last week revealed the brake pads needed changing and the front drivers side wheel had a little play in it :-[, I got them sorted today ;D. New brakes pads, with the front bearings re-packed and seals changed ;D :cup:. Lucky the front right seal had almost been destroyed ???, but now I am assured, we will make it up and back. :cup: :cup: :cheers:
Post by: SteveandViv on June 07, 2011, 09:06:36 PM
I hope so mate. I'd hate to have to leave you there  ;D Maybe it could be our evil plan to never leave  8)
Post by: duggie on June 13, 2011, 07:33:41 AM
Hi, I have been able to get to the Trackabout over the past few days, wheel bearings checked and packed with new grease, wired in a dc-to-dc charger, fitted a shelf above the Drifter kitchen, sanded and repainted the kitchen ( the only dissapointment I have had with my Trackabout was the paint that Drifter used, allowed water to stain the timber, looked terrible) moved the spare wheel hanger to allow the 33's to fit, fitted my old alloy mags and 33's to the trailer and wired / plumbed in electric taps and water pump. All but ready to load the trailer up, ready to go.
cheers duggie
Post by: jk on June 13, 2011, 05:37:38 PM
Just got back from The Springs 4x4 Park for a final rundown before the big trip,......................now we need a new right CV :-[ , oops  :'(  .  does it never end  >:( .
Post by: Gunna Do on June 13, 2011, 05:40:04 PM
Too much right foot?  ???  You'd better give me a few of those horses to boost the donkeys driving my Patrol.
Post by: jk on June 13, 2011, 05:55:07 PM
Will be dropping her at the 4x4 shop tomorrow for a planed rear diff housing change over, so i guess while one dude is working on the rear another can play on the front, we weren't even playing hard...........my thinks this was the result from previous outings not anything we did on Sunday.

This weekend it's a full service for camper and cruiser then ( fingers crossed ) we're good to go.
Post by: DAZnBEC on June 13, 2011, 05:55:20 PM
Bugger mate, were you driving beer O'clock hill again?

Better down here than up there is guess!
Post by: jk on June 13, 2011, 05:58:58 PM
No didn't do the hill again, plenty of young guns there to watch have a go. We were doing a U turn on grass but the front locker hadn't let go when we heard the CRACK/CRUNCH, the rest is history.
Post by: Offroad 4x4 Accessories on June 13, 2011, 06:01:34 PM
Hi JK good to see you got the camper out. It seemed to dry up when i left you and yogi yesterday
Post by: jk on June 13, 2011, 07:30:11 PM
Yes mate, got out no worries..........................your biggest problem will be yogi's snoring, yogi's camper was 10m away from ours and Julie asked what the noise was  ??? , I said that's the yogi slumber song  ;D

Looking forward to the trip and meeting the rest of the 2011 Cape crew.
Post by: Frostd on June 13, 2011, 07:34:44 PM
Hi Jk, After reading the last few comments, looks like some of your spares you carry will come in handy tomorrow. Hope to catch up along the track for beer or three in the next few weeks. :cheers:
Post by: jk on June 13, 2011, 07:44:23 PM
Hope so mate, I've got a little camp oven tool for you.
Post by: Frostd on June 13, 2011, 08:09:15 PM
Cheers  :cheers: Mate. We'll certainly catch up!! :cup:
Post by: rodw on June 13, 2011, 08:18:01 PM
Flat out here getting ready to go somewhere. what a mess I had last night!

(http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb270/rodweb/Hilux/Water%20Tank%20Repair/DSC_7722.jpg)

The bad news it does not look much better tonight...

The problem I had was I had  leaking stainless steel water tank which sprang a leak twice.

(http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb270/rodweb/Hilux/Water%20tank/DSC_4716.jpg)

(http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb270/rodweb/Hilux/Water%20tank/DSC_3664.jpg)

I have learnt that stainless is a very brittle material and does not like constant flexing in a fourby.

This time, I took the tank to Rhino liners and they sprayed it with a layer about 2-3mm thick and I don't think it'll ever leak again.

(http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb270/rodweb/Hilux/Water%20Tank%20Repair/DSC_7726.jpg)

Of course the tank is now 3mm wider and I had to cut 3mm off the drawers to get them back in. While I am at it, the storage rack that the fridge is mounted in has been cut right down to just hold the fridge to leave more room in the tray. I made this rack for my previous rig (A Suzuki Vitara)

(http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb270/rodweb/Storage%20rack/IMG_0438.jpg)

and it was almost a perfect fit for the Hilux. Now with a caravan, the rack is obsolete and the gear that got stored in it is no longer required.

Anyway, I've got most of it done, the frame is back in and just have the deck and drawers to refit but there is a roll of rubber there that needs to be turned into mudflaps, an axe out of sight that needs mounting somewhere and a host of other jobs...

Oh, and I replaced my muddies with some AT's. There are the new Coopers ST Maxx

(http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb270/rodweb/Hilux/Water%20Tank%20Repair/DSC_7730.jpg)
Post by: Symon on June 13, 2011, 08:43:01 PM
I have learnt that stainless is a very brittle material and does not like constant flexing in a fourby.

I don't think stainless is that brittle, but it does work harden very quickly which will make it brittle.

Anyways, good to see you got it all sorted out!  Now I have to pull my finger out with my gear....
Post by: yogi on June 13, 2011, 08:58:05 PM
A set of brake pads and a full service for the cruiser plus a couple of pairs of ear plugs for Tim and I am all set :D

Oh the weather was just beautiful out at the Springs on the weekend ;D

Post by: yogi on June 14, 2011, 08:02:53 PM
Does a wireless winch controller count as a mod ;D After seeing JK's new winch (Thanks JK) .... well I was in ARB today and noticed a shelf that's usually empty had a strange package on it ..... and after asking the sales man what he would do it for if I bought a MSA water crossing bra (lost my old one) and Viv Moon's book on the Cape ..... I got it for $200 8) Expensive but I have been looking for one since I got a winch ..... it's a pain in the ass to winch with out one >:(

Now I need someone to get bogged so I can use it in anger >:D

Post by: bjf on June 16, 2011, 07:40:04 AM
Mark,

Do you think there is any need to take an extra spare tyre for the vehicle ie 2 spares (the camper tyres dont fit but that's another story) or is a plug kit enough? 

:cheers:Brett
Post by: McGirr on June 16, 2011, 08:24:02 AM

One spare should be ok, also a plug kit would be handy.

Post by: rodw on June 16, 2011, 11:16:51 AM
Leave applied for: Tick! - 23 July and we are outa here!
Post by: idlegossip on June 16, 2011, 01:24:42 PM
We're outta here on Saturday Morning.

Can't wait, just hope I have got everything I was meant to have in order!!!!  ??? ??? ??? I think I have and if not I'm sure some bribing could be in order.   ;D ;D
Post by: jk on June 16, 2011, 02:11:24 PM
Yogi and jk are leaving Brisvages on Wednesday 22nd at approximately 5.00am, if any other Swaggers are passing through or leaving around the same time you are welcome to join the convoy heading north.
The plan is to sleep in Mackay on Wednesday night and on to Cairns on Thursday to stay at Lake Placid caravan park, that gives one day in Cairns to chill and check that all is good to go on Saturday for the big trip.

Post by: McGirr on June 16, 2011, 03:13:57 PM
We're outta here on Saturday Morning.

Can't wait, just hope I have got everything I was meant to have in order!!!!  ??? ??? ??? I think I have and if not I'm sure some bribing could be in order.   ;D ;D

All you need is the beer !!! :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Frostd on June 16, 2011, 03:38:28 PM
The Camper is half packed, truck to be packed tomorrow with beer ;D, fishing gear  and food. Await the arrival home of the youngest from a school camp and then hit the highway, Saturday morning 7am.  Anybody else heading North on Saturday?? :cheers:
Post by: yogi on June 16, 2011, 07:07:17 PM
Nearly time to start packing .... lol

Post by: bjf on June 16, 2011, 07:10:25 PM
Packing has begun, leaving after lunch tomorrow, still playing the CT and the ute was finished yesterday.

Post by: Symon on June 17, 2011, 07:32:12 PM
Been a busy day.  Got the slide out kitchen almost finished (as a cabinet maker I make a pretty damn good electrician!).  Tool boxes remounted and the camper totally repainted.  New snorkel head fitted.  Overhead console fitted.

Now I just have to pack all the stuff in.....
Post by: yogi on June 17, 2011, 08:02:46 PM
Looking good Symon :cheers:

Post by: McGirr on June 18, 2011, 07:53:15 AM
Well symon you will get to do all the OTL track this time !!!
Post by: jk on June 18, 2011, 01:27:40 PM
FINALLY, all done  :cheers:...............after a mad week the cruiser is back together and ready to roll, after our little weekend away last weekend we have had to make a few repairs. Have replaced one front axle ( twisted ), one front CV ( snapped and shattered ), one top swivel housing bearing ( got hit by the broken CV ), a complete rear diff housing ( this was part of our long term maintenance anyway ), two new rear uni's, new rear wheel bearings, oil and filter change, fuel filter, air cleaner, full grease and a detail. A big thanks to the guys at Redlands 4x4 for all their work  :cup: , I dropped the 4b off at their shop on Tuesday lunch time ( busted ) and picked it up Thursday afternoon, not bad considering they had to chase parts and strip and fit them.

The camper has a new set of axle seals and wheel bearings, have just got back from a quick test drive and made some final adjustments, all good to go  :cheers: .

Now I can chill out until Wednesday morning then we hit the road.....................can't wait.

Post by: yogi on June 19, 2011, 10:37:17 AM
Car is fully serviced including new brake pads ..... today will be finalising the packing and what were taking (or will fit .... lol)