Author Topic: The Daily Scam Thread  (Read 106321 times)

Re: The Daily Scam Thread
« Reply #25 on: March 09, 2012, 07:11:53 PM »
The paypal email was well done:
 had paypal logo and scam defence logo with a passed spiel

Message flagged
Friday, 9 March 2012 6:11 PM

Dear
This email confirms that a payment confirmation e-mail you recently received as regards a payments of $54,800.00 AUD sent to you by John West is Originated from PayPal® Service, and as soon as you have e-mailed the necessary western union details for a transferred sum of $2,000.00 AUD to the address you were provided with the in the payment confirmation e-mail sent to you earlier, a sum of $54,800.00 AUD will be credited into your account.

The transfer can be done via Western Union Money Transfer Post Office. Click this link for nearest western union office section at your post office.

Your Account will be credited accordingly upon the receipt of details requested . It should either be sent in JPG format or send type details as: Sender's Name; Receiver's Name; MTCN; Amount Sent.

Please, understand that this is a security measure to help protect both the Buyer and the Seller. Therefore, we apologize for the inconvenience that we may have caused you.
 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note: For any inquiries, you can contact our customer care service by replying directly to this e-mail directly, as this transaction was done via e-mail, all inquiries should be directed to this e-mail address only and any inquiries about this transaction directed to our phone service section will be returned as null and void.
 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scam Defence
This transaction is safe and secured, the buyer does not access to cancel the transaction under our new Secured Station Service(SSS) and this not a "Scam". You Safe And Protected With PayPal® Service, you don't have to call lawyer just send the money.

Thank you for using PayPal Security !

Copyright © 1999-2012 PayPal, Inc. All rights reserved.
 PayPal Australia Pty Limited ABN 93 111 195 389 (AFSL 304962). Any general financial product advice provided in this site has not taken into account your objectives, financial situations or needs. PayPal Email ID PP1525

« Reply #26 on: March 09, 2012, 07:18:12 PM »
second scammer and just got an email from a third scammer, well the ATO but just as bad.

Yes just get back to me..

Hi Steve

Sorry but the car has been sold.

I have just transfered the other buyers agents money and waiting for paypal to pay me.

I have told them if the agent does not pick the car up in 7 days I will keep the money and re sell it.

can I contact you if this happens

To:
Sent: Friday, 9 March 2012 6:48 PM
Subject: Re: A reply to your ad "2009 Audi Q5 2lt TFSI" "2009 Audi Q5 2lt TFSI"

I will offer you $53k for it just get back to me with your PayPal email address so that i can make the payment.

Thanks for the swift response,please advice on  the present condition of the vehicle with the service history as well, am buying this as a surprise gift for my dad for his birthday so i wont let him know, until it been delivered to him.But due to the nature of my job and location...i will not be able to come for inspection,am a very busy type as i work long hours everyday off shore  oil rig department,i have gone through your advertisement and i am satisfied with it., i am sure he will be more than happy with it.I can only pay with PayPal here, i will need you to give me your PayPal email address so i can make the payments asap and please if you don't have PayPal account yet, it is very easy to set up, go to www.paypal.com.au and get it set up , after you have set it up i will only need the e-mail address you use for registration with PayPal so as to put the money through. note well: Pick up agent will come for the pick up as soon as i have made the payments, i would have  loved to talk to you on phone but I work mainly offshore, our phone is down on the rig right now due to bad weather, we can only communicate with our base for now.

Hansel

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #27 on: March 10, 2012, 01:10:19 AM »
Hi Swaggers
I do not wish to seem naive about this issue, but is there any difference between "Scam" and the emails that go into the "Spam" which ask me if I want to be 3" bigger and all those ladies telling me they have just split from their boyfriends.
The wife keeps asking me why they are emailing me, and all I can say is the truth, "I don't know why".

« Reply #28 on: March 10, 2012, 07:11:17 AM »
Hi Tjupurula,
There is a difference between a scam & spam.
Scammers, are out to fleece you of your hard earned and are giving the impression they are someone they are not and Spammers are out to entice your into giving your hard earned over willingly, for a produce that is dodgy.
They are both Scum.

Just the other day I got one of those Microsoft calls. This was the 2nd for the day.
He asked me what I could see on my computer,
I told him I was looking at porn, He ignored that and asked what was in the corner of my screen, I told him a lovely pair of Tits,
I asked him if he would like me to send him the link. It went quiet for a bit.
He then told my to close that, I told him if I could do a remote access, he could see it too, but I hoped he had virus protection cause the site has viruses that make your penis shrivel up.
He hung up.
No sense of humor some people.

I've given up asking them how and why they have rung me, now I have a bit of fun with them.
They(the mobs behind these calls) must make a bit for them to keep calling.
The only thing we can do is tell everyone about them, I you hear of someone getting a computer that isn't tech savy, tell them not to listen to these people., just hang up.

Tjupurula, I have a mate that that is really paranoid about this kind of stuff and very rarely turns his computer on anymore, he freaks out every time he gets one of these spam emails  "how did they get my email address, why do they want to know that, I didn't ask them to email me"

I forward all my email through Gmails servers, than have my email client fetch it from there. once a fortnight clean out the spam and trash from Gmail. It is pretty good at picking up the scams & spam.
A little program I use is POP Peeper
You can see what emails are at your server without having to download the emaisl, you can delete them using Pop Peeper.
It notifies you of email that has arrived.
Hope this helps guys.

Offline tagman

• unique test tags / labels
« Reply #29 on: March 10, 2012, 08:24:49 AM »
I have a small online sales business. We sell electrical test tags - narrow market, Australia, New Zealand customers.
I regularly get inquiries from Indonesia, Malaysia, and South America.
At first I was rather excited...... But then started looking into the business buyers - no web sites for them. Most business have web sites now days.... Started looking a bit sus.
Now we state up front to the buyers that all purchases must be paid via PayPal. If the overpay me, it is their loss and my gain. We will not send any product without payment.
We also post everything by registered mail, so we can track arrival.

I think we have covered all bases - but I am a bit open to extra safeguards we can take....
We have so far sent product to a few countries without a problem.

Butter give the business a plug www.tags2u.com.au
www.tags2u.com.au

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #30 on: March 10, 2012, 02:23:38 PM »
Thankyou Hairs for that explanation.  I have now learned how to quickly select all those emails and delete them.  I will show my wife your post when she gets home, and that should settle her concerns.  I do have the basic Yahoo email address, but I also have my business email address, which is via my website which is dmbboilermaking.com.au.  I don't get any silly emails there as it is checked by the ISP (hopefully correct) that host my website for me.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2012, 02:31:37 PM by Tjupurula »

« Reply #31 on: March 10, 2012, 02:30:50 PM »
Hi Tjupurula,
Glad to be of some help.

« Reply #32 on: March 10, 2012, 03:43:59 PM »
I got scammed big time................ :'( :'( :'(

Promises of love, happiness. joy and a wonderful life..............
So I married her :-[ :-[ :-[

Jeez, I got scammed..................

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Just kidding...........

Love the misses and kids, wouldn't swap them even for a new glamper!!! ;D

But I did have an episode where the roles were reversed.

I emailed an ebayer about a bike I wanted, with a speel about not being able to get to look at it, but interested.
Could I send father in law to have a look for me. (He lives nearby)
Can pay etc etc.........
I basically got told to poq.....which I guess is fair enough. The bloke is probably sick of scammers.

I then tried it again on a bloke in Mudgee. Gave my speel on not being able to look or pick up till later as I have work committments in Sydney etc etc.
He couldn't help me enough.
Great bloke, helpful, bike was in mint condition and really great price.
He even delivered it to my inlaws for me.

Sometimes some crazy excuse is just what it is. No lies or deception, just circumstance.
Unfortunately these scammers ruin it for everyone.
I know I find it very hard to trust people these days and its very sad. >:(

There are still heaps of good folk out there, but lets give these scammers hell while we can. :police: :police: :police:

« Reply #33 on: March 14, 2012, 08:43:57 PM »
If you aren't sure about an email address, just Google it as in most cases if it is fake then something will show up. For example, Google results for the email address in Cancan's post above show the following :
http://www.google.com.au/#hl=en&sugexp=llsin&gs_nf=1&cp=21&gs_id=7&xhr=t&q=steanseld34%40gmail.com&pf=p&output=search&sclient=psy-ab&oq=steanseld34%40gmail.com&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&gs_sm=&gs_upl=&gs_l=&pbx=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.,cf.osb&fp=e325bd1c2d99c923&biw=1600&bih=728

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #34 on: March 15, 2012, 06:33:43 AM »
Hi Tjupurula,
There is a difference between a scam & spam.
Scammers, are out to fleece you of your hard earned and are giving the impression they are someone they are not and Spammers are out to entice your into giving your hard earned over willingly, for a produce that is dodgy.
They are both Scum.

Just the other day I got one of those Microsoft calls. This was the 2nd for the day.
I told him I was looking at porn, He ignored that and asked what was in the corner of my screen, I told him a lovely pair of Tits,
I asked him if he would like me to send him the link. It went quiet for a bit.
He then told my to close that, I told him if I could do a remote access, he could see it too, but I hoped he had virus protection cause the site has viruses that make your penis shrivel up.
He hung up.
No sense of humor some people.
I've given up asking them how and why they have rung me, now I have a bit of fun with them.
They(the mobs behind these calls) must make a bit for them to keep calling.
The only thing we can do is tell everyone about them, I you hear of someone getting a computer that isn't tech savy, tell them not to listen to these people., just hang up.

Tjupurula, I have a mate that that is really paranoid about this kind of stuff and very rarely turns his computer on anymore, he freaks out every time he gets one of these spam emails  "how did they get my email address, why do they want to know that, I didn't ask them to email me"

I forward all my email through Gmails servers, than have my email client fetch it from there. once a fortnight clean out the spam and trash from Gmail. It is pretty good at picking up the scams & spam.
A little program I use is POP Peeper
You can see what emails are at your server without having to download the emaisl, you can delete them using Pop Peeper.
It notifies you of email that has arrived.
Hope this helps guys.

LMAO,, i used that yesterday, got one of those calls........it gave me more pleasure spinning that yarn than hanging up on them,,, good one mate.   :cheers:

BHG

Offline NatGav

« Reply #35 on: March 15, 2012, 08:36:43 AM »
Trying to sell my car on Carsales before our big trip around australia, got a sms from someone asking me to email them if the car was still for sale. Emailed them, then wrote back the below:

http://www.carsales.com.au/car/brand%20new/dealer/demo/private?eapi=2&sort=default&vertical=Car&silo=Stock&base=1216&Range=Price:Min,Max~0.5&find=XCE897|CarAll&keyword=XCE897

"Thanks, i will be paying $25,500 (PayPal fees included) since i am interested in the immediate purchase for my Uncle who recently moved to Malaysia, also i will be using a shipping company to have this picked up from you and have it delivered to him. Further arrangements will be made with you in regards to the pick up once the payment has been completed.

I would appreciate if you email me with more pictures (if available) since i won't be be able to view it in person. What's the PayPal email to send funds to?"

I wrote back saying that i'd be happy with an international funds transfer, and he continue to insist that i email him my paypal details or set up and account and he will send me the money.....

NO THANKS.......next day got another text from same number different email address.......F*#K off.....

« Reply #36 on: March 15, 2012, 09:02:42 AM »
I refuse any dealings if they require paypal.
Agents are welcome, but item(s) not released till FULL amount is deposited in MY bank account, or cash is sitting in my hand. Simple rules :)

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
« Reply #37 on: May 28, 2012, 01:19:29 PM »
Just had my first call. OMG so excited.  ;D

Now i must apploogise, its my computer thats slowwing the worlds internet down (sorry to those with the NBN)  >:D >:D. this bloke was called peter, he even give me his employee number, god love him.

So long story short, its my computer causing issues all over the world. after 35mins (im a stay at home dad, i had nothing better to do) i ask to speak to his boss and advised him i was going to charge him for my time so i will need a paypal transfur and or CC details. As it turns out, his boss is Mr Beep Beep Beep Beep Beep Beep.

Twas fun ;D ;D ;D ;D
NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

« Reply #38 on: May 28, 2012, 07:11:43 PM »
Hi Swaggers
I do not wish to seem naive about this issue, but is there any difference between "Scam" and the emails that go into the "Spam" which ask me if I want to be 3" bigger and all those ladies telling me they have just split from their boyfriends.
The wife keeps asking me why they are emailing me, and all I can say is the truth, "I don't know why".

Yes i have been getting alot of spam lately. Just started recently.
Wayne

« Reply #39 on: June 26, 2012, 09:12:30 PM »
That is the funniest,
Having an Indian woman calling on behalf of Microsoft calling me a 'Mudder****er'
ROTFLMAO
All I said to her was, "Hey honey, I'm a wake up to you Elephant washers and so are a lot of Aussies"
She answered with, "You are a Mudder ****er"
And hung up on me
Pure Gold

« Reply #40 on: August 21, 2013, 12:39:35 PM »
Quote from: Hairs

This is interesting... Most people I've spoken to today are also Optus customers who have had these calls...
http://www.theage.com.au/digital-life/computers/blogs/gadgets-on-the-go/can-phone-scammers-see-your-isp-bills-20130821-2sa7o.html

« Reply #41 on: August 21, 2013, 12:47:19 PM »
Funny thing is, since I started to use Voip and moved to ADSL+2,  I haven't had a call from the Elephant Washers..

Offline CGS

The Daily Scam Thread
« Reply #42 on: August 21, 2013, 06:09:39 PM »
I had one ring talking about hosting and websites. I confused the bloke so much that after 20mins I told him what I thought.

Took him 5 mins to explain the web was the Internet and not cobwebs inside my computer :)

« Reply #43 on: August 22, 2013, 10:10:06 AM »
When we got our new phone connected we got 4 to 5 calls per day from a mob "in Melbourne", sometimes caller ID would show a 03 number, sometimes international.

They kept saying they were calling about my Telstra phone line, I immediately asked them if they were calling from Telstra. One lady tried to duck the question, most at that point just gave up. They did get in that they were not trying to sell me anything, then one guy also got in that Telstra were charging me daily blah blah blah.

In the end I had to yell at one of them that if they truely were based in Melbourne, as I had asked them each call to remove me from their list that I would be reporting them for harrasement. Calls stopped after that.

« Reply #44 on: September 20, 2013, 05:58:46 PM »
BEWARE!
You may have already received this email, its  about three failed attempts at logging into your Westpac Bank Account. Open the form and fill it in etc. We don't even have a Westpac Account. So beware!!!!
fuji

« Reply #45 on: September 20, 2013, 09:04:14 PM »
l am SOOOOOO Upset at the moment , Some S@#$ H@#$ tried to SCAM me because he could . lt all seemed so intercept to start off with , then as it went on it became a little more complex . After that the whole thing got down right nasty .
Send many Slabs Of  V B cans to me  & l will fully explain how it works  ;D ;D ;D

well it might work                                                            >:D                                           you got this far  :cheers:

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
The Daily Scam Thread
« Reply #46 on: September 20, 2013, 09:11:11 PM »
l am SOOOOOO Upset at the moment , Some S@#$ H@#$ tried to SCAM me because he could . lt all seemed so intercept to start off with , then as it went on it became a little more complex . After that the whole thing got down right nasty .
Send many Slabs Of  V B cans to me  & l will fully explain how it works  ;D ;D ;D

well it might work                                                            >:D                                           you got this far  :cheers:
This one must be a scam, no fair dinkum person would drink VB

How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

The Daily Scam Thread
« Reply #47 on: September 20, 2013, 10:06:17 PM »

couldn't find slabs this late at night. Will something on tap be ok?
« Last Edit: September 20, 2013, 10:11:24 PM by scarps »

« Reply #48 on: September 21, 2013, 08:42:27 AM »
Coming to a catch up near you  >:D       :cheers:

« Reply #49 on: September 21, 2013, 08:58:01 AM »
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4-X-one-direction-tickets-sydney-Friday-25th-October-/171129708772

Surely that's a scam?

Right?

Who in their right mind would buy that.