Author Topic: rear window saver - is Obie's Outback closed down now?  (Read 5288 times)

Offline wakychapmans

rear window saver - is Obie's Outback closed down now?
« on: June 05, 2019, 09:52:25 AM »

I was looking at these a couple of years back and thought I'd follow up and check the current price of them...

http://obiesoutback.com.au/

But the website appears to have "passed on".

Does anyone know for sure if they've shut up shop?

If so then I guess it's off to the big green shed for some double sided tap, some corflute and some ductape.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

Re: rear window saver - is Obie's Outback closed down now?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2019, 09:56:31 AM »
« Last Edit: June 05, 2019, 10:37:56 AM by tryagain »

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2019, 10:36:00 AM »
Quote from: MuruCycles
If so then I guess it's off to the big green shed for some double sided tap, some corflute and some ductape.
plenty of people do that successfully and cheap...

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2019, 11:18:05 AM »

It actually works better than the commercial ones
All of the commercial ones rely on suction cups due to heating and cooling the window savers usually have to be reinstalled during the day as the back window heats up, and if you get dirt on the glass whilst doing this it makes the job even harder

TimE

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2019, 11:29:33 AM »
It actually works better than the commercial ones
All of the commercial ones rely on suction cups due to heating and cooling the window savers usually have to be reinstalled during the day as the back window heats up, and if you get dirt on the glass whilst doing this it makes the job even harder
I have a Plasweld set on the rear window of my Patrol and have never had a problem with the suction caps loosing their grip.  I would have done some 35,000 odd kms offroad with them attached.  Simple rule is make sure your window and the suction caps are clean, really clean, before you apply a bit of moisture to the suction caps and attaching them to the window.  After each trip when removed I give the caps another good cleanup and store them in a clean dry place.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2019, 12:19:11 PM »

so what's the general thinking on design?

2 layers of 4mm coreflute flat on the glass?

or my thinking was an air gap was needed... so double layer of 4mm, with some strips of it vertically on the back to "lift" the main protection off the glass?

never done this before and somewhat worried about the upcoming trip...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman

« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2019, 12:30:10 PM »

or my thinking was an air gap was needed... so double layer of 4mm, with some strips of it vertically on the back to "lift" the main protection off the glass?

This is our own GURich off here.

https://www.expeditionaustralia.com.au/2015/07/budget-diy-rear-window-protection-for-your-4wd/
« Last Edit: June 05, 2019, 12:38:37 PM by Bird »

The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans

Offline Cammo

« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2019, 12:30:21 PM »
MuruCycles
I had one on my last 4wd and tried to get one for my new Landcruiser and couldn't find them. They were held on with hook and loop tape and never came loose. I'd appreciate know what you find out.

« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2019, 12:43:38 PM »

I just go 1 layer but use double sided tape around the inside edges and then a cross of double sided tape to build it off the window a bit and create some shock absorption. This also sticks it really good to the back window
I then use a layer of duct tape on the outside edge of the corflute to seal the whole thing around the edge to the window
The double sided tape can take a bit to get off and leave some residue when you are done but nothing a bit of Metho did not sort out

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2019, 01:07:30 PM »
I just go 1 layer

I then use a layer of duct tape on the outside edge of the corflute to seal the whole thing around the edge to the window

Chester, two questions if I may...

1) what thickness did you use? Bunnings have 4mm as their thickest.

2) do you cut the corflute smaller than the window and ductape to the actual glass? (as that seems to be what is suggested in the link that Bird suggested) Keeping in mind that we're in a 105 cruiser with a tailgate, not barn doors.

or do you corflute to the window seal and then tape onto the actual tailgate steel?

Asking as I'd rather do this once and get it right.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman

« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2019, 09:29:29 AM »
Chester, two questions if I may...

1) what thickness did you use? Bunnings have 4mm as their thickest.

2) do you cut the corflute smaller than the window and ductape to the actual glass? (as that seems to be what is suggested in the link that Bird suggested) Keeping in mind that we're in a 105 cruiser with a tailgate, not barn doors.

or do you corflute to the window seal and then tape onto the actual tailgate steel?

Asking as I'd rather do this once and get it right.

Yes standard 4mm double sided tape
Yes i did for the prado leave a little gap and seal to the glass rather than the seal
On the ute i go right to the edge as i can wrap the duct tape around the rear window

It is the double sided tape that holds it on the duct tape is to more seal it all up so it does not get full of dust

« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2019, 09:44:04 AM »
I made my own using 3M Clip Lock instead of suction cups or Velcro, heaps better and they stay in place.

« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2019, 09:59:59 AM »
I made my own using 3M Clip Lock instead of suction cups or Velcro, heaps better and they stay in place.
I used 3M clip lock as well, never comes loose.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2019, 10:39:15 AM »
I used 3M clip lock as well, never comes loose.

thanks guys. I'm not having any luck finding "3M Clip Lock".

Closest I could find was 3M Dual Lock...

Same thing?

Wayne & Kyria Chapman

Offline aussie9

« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2019, 10:40:05 AM »
I use the 3M clip locks as well, except I cut a 3mm clear acrylic sheet to suit the cruiser. It's been on for 6 years or so. I don't take it off. Plenty of little star stone dings in it, but no broken glass. The rear wiper works ok on it as well.
Peter

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2019, 10:58:38 AM »
this is what we're talking about... right?

https://www.bunnings.com.au/3m-scotch-2-5cm-x-1-2m-black-extreme-fasteners-roll_p3950427

Wayne & Kyria Chapman

« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2019, 12:12:14 PM »
Yep that's the stuff, great product.

Offline HKB Electronics

• www.hkbelect.com
    • HKB Electronics
HKB Electronics, manufacturer of the Alternator Voltage Boosters

Offline Ger08

« Reply #18 on: June 07, 2019, 10:14:18 PM »
We use yoga mats from K Mart for our rear wheel window protection, just sensational.

« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2023, 05:39:46 PM »
how did you go with this in the end?