Author Topic: Towball down weight  (Read 7073 times)

Offline watto11

• Soft Floor Camper User
    • http://www.facebook.com/pages/Watsonfamilycamping/165262510248075
Towball down weight
« on: September 24, 2011, 12:51:40 AM »
Can someone pls explain to me or give me suggestion on how to work out what the Down weight on my towball is suppose to be and how to work out what it is pls I have no knowledge in this area.

Offline Gunna Do

• "To Infinity and Beyond"
  • Hard Top Camper User
Re: Towball down weight
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2011, 06:40:32 AM »
I can't help out with what your ball weight is meant to be, but I can help out with how to work out what it is.

Check out this thread, it'll give you a few ideas.  Make sure you use old bathroom scales, as ours weren't real good after the test.

Correct way to measure tow ball wieght

Offline Apollo

• Swag User
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2011, 11:29:13 AM »
I usually work on 10% of your trailer weight as a guide for towball weight.  I too use the old bathroom scales as a measure of the actual weight.

Steve

Offline John Connor

• Sleeping Bag User
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2011, 12:27:27 PM »
The bathroom scales are a good idea under the jockey wheel. I usually put a lump of wood between as the jockey wheel likes to put a big dint in the scales. The industry standard as mentioned is 10% of LOADED weight. The max ball weight that your 4wd/car can take should be in the owners manual. If you can't find this in the owners manual let me know what your vehicle is with the year and I can probably look it up.

PS Most Bathroom scales go to around 130 kgs so if you think the ball weight might be above this be careful you don't destroy the scales.

Regards
John Connor (Camper Tragic)
Camper Tragic

Offline BigBlock1DT6

• Soft Floor Camper User
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2011, 12:30:04 PM »
You should read THIS so you can get an understanding of the 10% rule