General => General Discussion => Topic started by: sharkcaver on June 28, 2017, 06:59:37 PM

Title: For users of Photobucket
Post by: sharkcaver on June 28, 2017, 06:59:37 PM
I tried to post an image on a forum last night and that image got locked out.

Thinking I may have blown my monthly upload allowance, it seems I am horribly mistaken.

I received an email today stating my account does not provide 3rd party hosting. To do so, I have to upgrade to their Plus 500 account (the only account that allows 3rd party hosting). For the measly sum of only $400USD per year, I can have 3rd party hosting.

Their policy changed on the 26th June. This applies to all "free" account users and other upgraded accounts except for the plus 500. I have checked some other forum posts where PB was used by others and atm, they seem intact. Maybe my account was flagged due to volume. My blog had 1700 hits in the last month? But according to their new policy, everyone will be affected. So PB users, beware, you may loose this functionality.

I have over 50 posts over the last 6+ years to try and sort out. This will take me 12 months to resolve, even if I can find those pictures again, and resize them.

So now I'm on the lookout for another photo hosting service. Any suggestions......
Title: Re: For users of Photobucket
Post by: austastar on June 28, 2017, 08:19:07 PM
Imgur.com

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: xcvator on June 28, 2017, 08:35:13 PM
Mines working ok, just the usual "you can upgrade " etc
Post by: Pete79 on June 28, 2017, 09:15:54 PM
Perhaps it could be something with how you host your blogs?

I haven't got that notification yet, but Photobucket has been getting way too cluttered with adds and painfully slow for a while now.

Imgur is heaps easier and quicker, but I (like most people I assume) have my Photobucket stuff pretty sorted these days.

Though if that's the game they want to play I have no issue walking, there's plenty of other image hosting sites out there.
Post by: Bird on June 28, 2017, 10:55:37 PM
Quote from: Pete79
I haven't got that notification yet, but Photobucket has been getting way too cluttered with adds and painfully slow for a while now.
massive understatement! speed has been deplorable for a few years now.
The ads are what Shit me the most...
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on June 29, 2017, 01:05:07 AM
I s'pose it's digressing a bit.
Why do they steal download from us by filling it with adverts?  (Unrequested content)
Has anybody tried getting back at them for it?
Has Fliker been any good for photo hosting?
Do Fliker use your stuff without your consent, like Fakebook have been reputed doing?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 29, 2017, 05:44:53 AM
I just chose the last photo I took and gave it a whirl. Yep, just checked and this pic posted fine and I know we haven't updated anything.

(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Cars/CADDY/Piston%20Broke/GEDC0247_zpshg8ktwch.jpg) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/Cars/CADDY/Piston%20Broke/GEDC0247_zpshg8ktwch.jpg.html)
Post by: Rumpig on June 29, 2017, 06:38:05 AM
Was just on LCOOL forum and noticed the photobucket pics posted by someone in a thread haven't shown up, but a message is there instead relating to 3rd party hosting.
Post by: jwb on June 29, 2017, 06:38:54 AM
Same for a ct add on here

Post by: Fizzie on June 29, 2017, 08:04:56 AM
This last week or so, PhotoBucket has started telling me that I can't see other people's photo's because of my AdBlocker, despite me being logged in as a user, so yes, I'm also now in the market for an alternative >:D
Post by: Bill on June 29, 2017, 08:30:01 AM
I've lost a whole folder from my photobucket.
All of my "Rocky build" photos are gone.
Now I have to go through all my USB sticks, SD cards and external hard drives and hopefully find them...
Post by: 3rd time lucky on June 29, 2017, 11:57:56 AM
Just checked my CT thread and yep all gone - 3rd party hosting has been temporarily disabled. Whatever that means lol.
Post by: Bird on June 29, 2017, 12:03:44 PM
I've lost a whole folder from my photobucket.
All of my "Rocky build" photos are gone.
Now I have to go through all my USB sticks, SD cards and external hard drives and hopefully find them...
shouldn't they still all be on PB?? Are they deleting peoples accounts without telling them???
Post by: tryagain on June 29, 2017, 12:21:41 PM
From what I have read they have drastically reduced the amount of bandwidth they allow so that is why some are affected while others aren't. Intriguingly my PB hosted piccy's are fine but none of my onedrive ones are working.   :-\

edit, seems I can fix the onedrive ones with a tweak of the code, not sure what changed though
Post by: Bird on June 29, 2017, 01:08:02 PM
http://photobucket.com/terms (http://photobucket.com/terms)

Free account : Each individual Member gets one free account that provides 2 GB of free storage or space available for your original photo files, or videos under 10min. The free account does not allow any image linking or 3rd party image hosting. If a free account Member exceeds their Content Limit, their account will be immediately suspended and they will need to become a “Paying Member” (defined below) in order to continue accessing their account. You can upgrade to a Plus account at any time.

EDIT:
the much bigger picture is that photobucket has offered free 3rd party hosting since around 2003, so there are millions of images attached to blogs and DIY and projects that will go away en masse. most of those photo owners will not pay the $40/mo....

A kwik google gets me http://photobucket.com/p500/ (http://photobucket.com/p500/)

(http://photobucket.com/p500/lib/gr/overage.jpg)
Post by: sharkcaver on June 29, 2017, 08:56:28 PM
Yep, they changed their terms of service a few days back.

http://photobucket.com/terms (http://photobucket.com/terms)

The only account now that allows 3rd party hosting is the plus 500 and that will only cost you $400usd a year.

Lots of people at this point have been unaffected, but their terms and plans are pretty clear.

Unless something changes I suspect all non plus500 accounts will get blocked eventually.

I agree, its become downright unusable over the last 12 months or so. If it wasn't for the fact I had 6 years worth of work linked with them, I would have flicked them.

Globally, there are many, many unhappy people. No one will pay their ransom and accounts will be deleted. That will do their advertising revenue the world of good. They stand to lose out bigtime I reckon.

So ATM, all I can do is sit on the fence in the hope common sense prevails. If it doesn't, then I have a great deal of work to do  >:D
Post by: Bird on June 29, 2017, 09:02:48 PM
Quote from: sharkcaver
If it doesn't, then I have a great deal of work to do  >:D
why? its only a social 'blog'.. not really critical info..  theres going to be millions of people who wont and many 100's of DYI pages going to god. there was one I found earlier with in his words, around 10,000 photos (apparently) on photobucket in 2 or 3 different accounts that was from a car site that said '**** it'...
Then again using a simple editor should be able to do a find and replace on the code to the new URL

.. sadly you know its only a matter of time before the other hosts want their cash too.
Post by: sharkcaver on June 29, 2017, 09:19:29 PM
why....because I want to keep my blog and forum posts. It certainly isn't critical, but I like putting it out there and others like reading it.

.. sadly you know its only a matter of time before the other hosts want their cash too.

I agree and that's why I need to do some more research if I want to keep my stuff running.

But for the time being, I'm just giving you all a heads up on what is happening.
Post by: Bill on June 29, 2017, 10:10:31 PM
shouldn't they still all be on PB?? Are they deleting peoples accounts without telling them???
I jumped on the lap top and spent about an hour looking every where on PB.
I had no luck at all...
Post by: prodigyrf on June 29, 2017, 10:40:39 PM

Why do they steal download from us by filling it with adverts?  (Unrequested content)

Because there's no such thing as a free lunch and now presumably they believe they have the model to attract enough paying customers and cut off or cut back the ads that are annoying people referred there. Hosting servers and keeping the bad guys out isn't costless and sooner or later investors have to get a return.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on June 29, 2017, 10:54:20 PM
Because there's no such thing as a free lunch and now presumably they believe they have the model to attract enough paying customers and cut off or cut back the ads that are annoying people referred there. Hosting servers and keeping the bad guys out isn't costless and sooner or later investors have to get a return.
So double dipping in other words.
Being paid by the add people to carry the adds, then being paid again by the subscribers for the adds as they're downloaded.
To me that's double dipping. 
Because I believe I'm paying for content, not adverts.
Post by: prodigyrf on June 30, 2017, 12:32:45 AM
No looks like they're going ad free with their plans unless that's just for the paid versions- http://photobucket.com/pricing (http://photobucket.com/pricing)
They still have a free taster option to get you onboard. Whether they choose a mix of ads and pay is up to them but I suspect the ad money is drying up except for the likes of the big players like Google, Facebook, Amazon... and they have to change their revenue stream because of them. It's a fast moving tech market so don't get used to any particular offering without a Plan B when change occurs.
Post by: feckinirish on June 30, 2017, 09:03:19 AM
Google photos. Free to use with unlimited storage if you don't back up your photos at full res. I've never had an issue.

Post by: austastar on June 30, 2017, 09:49:08 AM
Google photos. Free to use with unlimited storage if you don't back up your photos at full res. I've never had an issue.

     But now they have stopped the linking ability.
No longer can I right click an image and choose to copy the image address.

Post by: xcvator on June 30, 2017, 09:52:22 AM

But how do you link them so they show up on a web/forum page all I get it the actual link that you have to click on that then takes you to the photo in google
Post by: feckinirish on June 30, 2017, 11:05:51 AM
I wasn't aware they had stopped the ability to right-click on an image to get the image address. Is this on desktop or mobile?

Post by: muzza01 on June 30, 2017, 11:08:12 AM
Looks like mine is still working

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/image_zpsqzktmsaq.jpeg)
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 12:06:15 PM
Quote from: feckinirish
I wasn't aware they had stopped the ability to right-click on an image to get the image address. Is this on desktop or mobile?
right click works on mine... but have noticed some thread photos worked yesterday aren't working today :(
I also think it has to do with how much bandwidth you've been swallowing..
Post by: Chris. on June 30, 2017, 12:45:31 PM
I'm using Flickr, had the account for years but never used it. Seems a lot less messy than PB.
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 01:35:26 PM
Test direct link

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/myswag/DSC00852_zpssghy0bz9.jpg)

Test linked image....

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/myswag/DSC00852_zpssghy0bz9.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/myswag/DSC00852_zpssghy0bz9.jpg.html)

Ive been a user on PB since 2006, I hope they dont delete my account :(
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 01:50:24 PM
Quote from: DannyG
Ive been a user on PB since 2006, I hope they dont delete my account :(
I'd make copies.. I can't see them deleting accounts.

BUT
Free account : .....  If a free account Member exceeds their Content Limit, their account will be immediately suspended and they will need to become a “Paying Member” (defined below) in order to continue accessing their account.

Does this mean you'll be locked out and lose your photos ??? ???
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 01:57:22 PM
I'd make copies.. I can't see them deleting accounts.

BUT
Free account : .....  If a free account Member exceeds their Content Limit, their account will be immediately suspended and they will need to become a “Paying Member” (defined below) in order to continue accessing their account.

Does this mean you'll be locked out and lose your photos ??? ???

I have backups but I still have 100's of photos linked online in various places.

I am only using 5% of my allocated space and thats taken me 11 years so I should be ok in that regard.
Post by: Fizzie on June 30, 2017, 02:28:43 PM
DannyG & Sharkcaver

Just checking my photo's & saw that both of your entries in the "Splashes of Colour" photo comp have now disappeared :'(
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 02:54:20 PM
I have backups but I still have 100's of photos linked online in various places.

I am only using 5% of my allocated space and thats taken me 11 years so I should be ok in that regard.
How is your signature going LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 02:58:38 PM
DannyG & Sharkcaver

Just checking my photo's & saw that both of your entries in the "Splashes of Colour" photo comp have now disappeared :'(

yep I have been doing some looking around and my images on another forum that gets a lot of bandwidth have been pinged too.

What a bunch of wallys, as if I am going to pay 400 a year to keep using them. Its almost criminal that they allow us to link to forums for a decade and then do this. Im off to find another image host service.
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 03:49:35 PM
yep I have been doing some looking around and my images on another forum that gets a lot of bandwidth have been pinged too.

What a bunch of wallys, as if I am going to pay 400 a year to keep using them. Its almost criminal that they allow us to link to forums for a decade and then do this. Im off to find another image host service.

Website hosting isn't that expensive anymore. thats what I'd be looking at...sadly http://www.dannyg.com/ (http://www.dannyg.com/) has been taken ;)

I feel that most of the "free" hosts will want their share of the pie, so you'll go and change and then update all your broken links, and in 12mths be ****ed again :(
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 03:53:13 PM
Website hosting isn't that expensive anymore. thats what I'd be looking at...sadly http://www.dannyg.com/ (http://www.dannyg.com/) has been taken ;)

I feel that most of the "free" hosts will want their share of the pie, so you'll go and change and then update all your broken links, and in 12mths be ****ed again :(

lol yes but dannygelston.com is in use....although not been updated for a while. ;)

You have a point. I was just in the process of moving my images over to imgur but I think you are right, it will most likely only happen again in the future.

It might be easier to just put all my images on my own server that I use for ozisuzu.com.au as we have massive amounts of space and bandwidth.

Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 04:22:00 PM
lol yes but dannygelston.com is in use....although not been updated for a while. ;
and has a broken fotobucket link at the top front :D ;) :D
I didn't look any further as theres only 2309482348932098 places on your page I wanna go to :'(

I didn't think anyone could break the interwebs... Well done to Ontela!
In December 2009, Fox's parent company, News Corp, sold Photobucket to Seattle mobile imaging startup Ontela. Ontela then renamed itself Photobucket Inc. and continues to operate as Photobucket.
Post by: xcvator on June 30, 2017, 04:40:06 PM
Seems just like another form of ransom ware to me  >:( have to wonder at just how legal it is to back date terms and conditions  ???
Post by: austastar on June 30, 2017, 04:46:12 PM

    Desktop, I haven't figured out how to right click using the tablet.

Post by: prodigyrf on June 30, 2017, 04:55:04 PM
Seems just like another form of ransom ware to me  >:( have to wonder at just how legal it is to back date terms and conditions  ???
It's like this. Basically a contract is an offer, an acceptance and a consideration. Without the last bit it aint really a contract that has any legal teeth re compensation for either party withdrawing from what is just an arrangement among friends. No legal system forces you to be friends for life and besides that might be considered harsh and unconscionable in many cases  :'(   
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 05:29:55 PM
So has anyone been locked out of their account.. chattin to mate on MSN sent me this link...

http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/6110945-post8.html

I am one very pissed off person right now. Ive been using photobucket for over 10 years and I am now locked out.
Every pic on there was prior to yesterday's change of policy.
They are holding my pics for ransom and want $399 for me to retrieve them. Alot of them are only on photobucket as I lost a heap of data a few years ago.
According to their new terms and conditions. Even if I pay yhe money. It does not guarantee that I can get my pics back as their new terms say that even if I pay the money they can lock me out for no reason. Ffs im taking this further.

"Photobucket reserves the right to terminate your Membership at any time (even if you've paid a monthly or annual subscription), without warning for any or no reason, with or without prior notice or explanation and*without liability, and can even take legal action if needed."
Post by: sharkcaver on June 30, 2017, 07:37:28 PM
Not that I'm aware of Bird, I'll check soon, but I was ok last night, just cant link them via a third party.

Not that I'm too concerned, most pics I kept the originals anyway, no way would I use any 3rd party to keep my originals. They are stored on multiple hard drives and kept in different locations - the best backup plan, if a little tedious and cumbersome.

I note earlier someone mentioned google pictures. As my blog is google, that was my thought too. Having a play around on another forum this arvo before I came here and read that suggestion, I found how to embed the pic. Open the pic, then right click. select "copy image location".

Then add the image tags by clicking the add image button on the text box you are writing in - (its underneath the Bold font button) and copy that image location you just copied (Ctl + V) in between those tags. The last part of that copied link text will be -no   

what you then have to do is add  -tmp.jpg after the -no bit. That worked on that other forum.

And if it works here, you will see my black fella feet:

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/R1cKE0VHSlXDQxLzLjCW6ZFR6bDB8bBhk4yliG80Cv__MdyqX5Ay5kXmL23KZy-o3ZMeTg_MlbV0mI8lrnl_r-ZRCmrYPELbdeQZxICQSpjLpRp37-U23gsgLwxWmMAgNwGmFOiI6ThKMIi56ru8RGhV0VTkZiagPKK6X2P8VfTPpvrbVnCxL60Gv-fbKdqnevTcvKUiKVnu-S-2Ad_bHxdqXKatce1NDsyWaAKG2NxKJAoeKYzn1TNt2-uVXtDTRqWMFYbYMqjGxEG19VKuG0UxQq-lkXoDZebf1VXG9Tyny4M65qs0Cl7duh89F0fiIjhqClYNpUC-SL9H3tQBDMxwBpYaRGmBC4SARfgxvpStpT2smJgIkxrjPABQrYeSfN11HPu9HTanvD5DJtZgjWcZf36CWqvkZ1jL9fHJDwICCDrXgkBJQUX6zzeACM1KHhryP9exaIVIdLPIMdBzJOUjZcT12QalY73wIoZO1v6Ly2LrPbISDeET_SsR42i4BqonS4bFXSNKvHAH0mpA8fi2xCnZxjUbVsPjUxaKXQ1f2yy6tZ8gndnDd8znlbDHC1FM9btanRAKb3Of-yZt6feLd4zATTZamPjx-r4v6p0RqIUU=w338-h226-no-tmp.jpg)
Post by: sharkcaver on June 30, 2017, 07:51:46 PM
All good, pic from google pictures has embedded in this forum too. So I'm thinking Google Pictures will be my solution.

Your google account will allow up to 15Gb of storage if you select "original quality" as your upload resolution.

Select "high quality" and you have unlimited storage.

The question now is how long will google pictures last in this format??

I worry if photof@ckers get away with this, the others will eventually follow. So I just hope Google will be a better proposition.

F@rk me, do I have some pictures to now resize, upload and link back to my blog. I'm not going to redo my forum posts, they are now dead.

Just checked PB, looks like my pics are safe, but far out its slow. Once I get over the shock of redoing everything, I will have great pleasure in deleting my Shit from there and giving them my sayonara, arrivederci, one finger salute or just plain ole F@rk u - select which term suits you best.
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 07:53:02 PM
if you open your albums then on the right side under ACTIONS is DOWNLOAD ALBUM

I'm downloading all mine

few users in that patrol forum thread have been locked out of their accounts!!
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 07:55:19 PM
I'm wondering what PB thinks at the moment with everyone running away.. wonder if that's what they expected.. ???
Post by: sharkcaver on June 30, 2017, 08:01:19 PM
Trying to charge a non commercial entity $400US per year, I cant see how they could have thought any less would happen. Thanks for the download tip, That might just save me having to resize crap again. I'll give it a whirl  :cup:
Post by: Rumpig on June 30, 2017, 08:05:16 PM
Haven't checked my account to see how it is, but if I get locked out I have all my pics saved at full res here at home anyway.
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 08:06:58 PM
Trying to charge a non commercial entity $400US per year, I cant see how they could have thought any less would happen. Thanks for the download tip, That might just save me having to resize crap again. I'll give it a whirl  :cup:
its painfully slow.... and also they chuck a video advert in the middle of it that you cant buypass - per album.... ****s.
Post by: D4D on June 30, 2017, 08:10:33 PM
GoDaddy basic web hosting, around $150/yr.
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 08:11:57 PM
GoDaddy basic web hosting, around $150/yr.
$6.00/mth for 5gig
https://au.godaddy.com/promos/bundle-deals/online-starter-bundle
Post by: D4D on June 30, 2017, 08:17:50 PM
$6.00/mth for 5gig
https://au.godaddy.com/promos/bundle-deals/online-starter-bundle

That's just a domain name and email storage (5Gb)
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 08:24:16 PM
Im downloading all my albums as I type this, it is painful actually. I am glad to be wiping my hands of PB. If you have ever tried using the phone app or even use the website on a phone browser you will also find it very painful.
I dont care if PB come grovelling back (not that they would) they can now stick their hosting.

I will be 'fixing' broken links online for weeks.
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 08:27:32 PM
https://au.godaddy.com/hosting/web-hosting
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 08:32:39 PM
https://au.godaddy.com/hosting/web-hosting

I am already a godaddy user. I was warned off them when I was looking for a host at the right price but they have been brilliant. 24 hour phone service getting server things sorted that I didnt understand, never had an outage and seem to be fast enough for what we use them for.

I have spent a bit of time tonight using some software that will allow me to easily upload pics in an organised manner and then easily link them on places like forums but the few I have tried so far have had limitations in different area's.

Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 08:32:55 PM
Im downloading all my albums as I type this, it is painful actually.
stop it will ya.. ya slowing my downloads down ;)
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 08:34:01 PM
I am already a godaddy user. I was warned off them when I was looking for a host at the right price but they have been brilliant. 24 hour phone service getting server things sorted that I didnt understand, never had an outage and seem to be fast enough for what we use them for.
same. always been good and easy to use... don't bother with the email address' though.
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 08:39:38 PM
same. always been good and easy to use... don't bother with the email address' though.

LOL yeh I agree, email isnt the best.

Do you recommend any software to use on the server to host images in an organised way and easily allow 3rd party BB codes etc??

I tried coppermine, zen and gallery but they each have issues that have quickly made me delete them again.
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 08:51:19 PM
LOL yeh I agree, email is the best.

Do you recommend any software to use on the server to host images in an organised way and easily allow 3rd party BB codes etc??

I tried coppermine, zen and gallery but they each have issues that have quickly made me delete them again.
personally I just upload them in a good folder structure, (myswag/flinders/wilpena.jpg) and type in the code myself.

I did try Web Gallery Wizard PRO that I got off Fosi back in the day but the photos were too small on 'large'... I haven't updated my page in years... lost interest really :(

I have tried coppermine, but was years ago, cant remember why I gave up
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 08:53:17 PM
personally I just upload them in a good folder structure, (myswag/flinders/wilpena.jpg) and type in the code myself.

I did try Web Gallery Wizard PRO that I got off Fosi back in the day but the photos were too small on 'large'... I haven't updated my page in years... lost interest really :(

I have tried coppermine, but was years ago, cant remember why I gave up

Yeh no worries. I thought about doing that way but when you do a trip report for instance it is pita to create the links easily...well maybe not too bad but its easier when the software generates the code with a click of a button.
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 08:54:59 PM
Yeh no worries. I thought about doing that way but when you do a trip report for instance it is pita to create the links easily...well maybe not too bad but its easier when the software generates the code with a click of a button.
keep the url short... takes 0 seconds to figure it out each time...  specially if you number th images, copy and paste it each time, and just change the number
Post by: xcvator on June 30, 2017, 09:32:07 PM
Are you using wordpress for your base, lots of plugins there

https://wpdevshed.com/best-photo-gallery-plugin-for-wordpress/
Post by: sharkcaver on June 30, 2017, 11:12:01 PM
30 PB albums downloaded. Only 69 more to go  >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 11:16:19 PM
30 PB albums downloaded. Only 69 more to go  >:D >:D >:D
don't bother trying hitting close and they will email you... I tried that with 15... and none of the emailed links worked.
directly downloading the folders worked in the end... all downloaded.. ****holes to PB from here on

just think of the hard drive space they will have by Monday morning globally!
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 01, 2017, 01:40:41 AM
That's probably their aim anyway Bruce.
And they'll get more hosting space without having any more servers added to the system.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 01, 2017, 03:59:24 AM
I just chose the last photo I took and gave it a whirl. Yep, just checked and this pic posted fine and I know we haven't updated anything.

(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Cars/CADDY/Piston%20Broke/GEDC0247_zpshg8ktwch.jpg) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/Cars/CADDY/Piston%20Broke/GEDC0247_zpshg8ktwch.jpg.html)

Stuff me, so every photo ever posted gets the short  shift. bugger
Post by: Fizzie on July 01, 2017, 08:42:29 AM
I'm wondering what PB thinks at the moment with everyone running away.. wonder if that's what they expected.. ???

You could just about imagine the conversation from a week or so ago:

"Hey, Boss, I've had a brilliant idea. How about we stop all those free users from posting their own photo's to forums & make them pay instead? We'll make a killing"

Monday

(Boss) "Yes, you're right, we made a killing alright. You managed to kill our entire business in 48 hours. Good work, now get out - you're fired"
Title: https://image.slidesharecdn.com/theinternetofthings-Re: For users of Photobucket
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2017, 11:04:34 AM
Quote from: Cruiser 105Tvan
That's probably their aim anyway Bruce.
And they'll get more hosting space without having any more servers added to the system.
Rob..
They will have so many yottabytes free server space that they'll be able to offer free hosting of images...  no wait.
(https://image.slidesharecdn.com/theinternetofthings-151125092217-lva1-app6891/95/the-internet-of-things-do-we-need-all-that-data-4-638.jpg)

Quote from: Fizzie
You could just about imagine the conversation from a week or so ago:

"Hey, Boss, I've had a brilliant idea. How about we stop all those free users from posting their own photo's to forums & make them pay instead? We'll make a killing"

Monday

(Boss) "Yes, you're right, we made a killing alright. You managed to kill our entire business in 48 hours. Good work, now get out - you're fired"
that's what I was thinking
Post by: DannyG on July 01, 2017, 11:10:51 AM
I sent them a message via facebook basically expressing my disappointment and asking if they were going to continue with their current policy......in a very polite manner of course  >:D

They replied ignoring my question and pretty much told me to get stuffed by copy/pasting their standard dribble...........well thats how I read it.....so I replied back being even more polite.......itll be interesting to see if they reply again.

Thank you for your feedback. If this update has impacted your experience negatively, you have our sincere apologies. Our goal is to ensure your satisfaction, and we will do all that we can to help answer any account questions you may have at this time.
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2017, 11:13:08 AM
I sent them a message via facebook basically expressing my disappointment and asking if they were going to continue with their current policy......in a very polite manner of course  >:D

They replied ignoring my question and pretty much told me to get stuffed by copy/pasting their standard dribble...........well thats how I read it.....so I replied back being even more polite.......itll be interesting to see if they reply again.

Thank you for your feedback. If this update has impacted your experience negatively, you have our sincere apologies. Our goal is to ensure your satisfaction, and we will do all that we can to help answer any account questions you may have at this time.
I don't really know what you expect them to say... they probably have 9 million of the same message that you send, and would need a full time staff to reply to each one. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: xcvator on July 01, 2017, 11:22:50 AM
Danny, I've been out of website stuff for several years, but after doing a couple of searches  it doesn't look that hard to self host your images, if you don't have the band width/storage it's probably cheaper and easier to upgrade your current hosting package and then you have total control over your blog ,if you want to change hosts later there shouldn't be any major problem shifting the whole blog over
cheers Keith :cheers:

ps. lots of image software out there like this
https://lychee.electerious.com/ (https://lychee.electerious.com/)

Post by: DannyG on July 01, 2017, 12:09:51 PM
I expected them to say oh dear sorry sir we will rectify that straight away  ;D

Thanks xcavator, I am checking out lychee, it looks pretty good actually.
Post by: prodigyrf on July 01, 2017, 01:11:33 PM
Thanks xcavator, I am checking out lychee, it looks pretty good actually.

Then don't forget- "If you enjoy Lychee, please consider a little donation"  under the circumstances  :-*
Post by: nab on July 01, 2017, 04:59:04 PM
Bugger. I have 2 accounts, seems like my original one still works but the newer one is not showing pics. I only use it for uploading images to post on the forums, no chance I will go back and re-upload them to a new hosting place. Which is a pain as I used the forum threads as my own record/timeline of mods and repairs...
Post by: sharkcaver on July 01, 2017, 05:18:26 PM
don't bother trying hitting close and they will email you... I tried that with 15... and none of the emailed links worked.
directly downloading the folders worked in the end... all downloaded.. ****holes to PB from here on

just think of the hard drive space they will have by Monday morning globally!

Yep that's what I've been doing, waiting for the direct download and saving to hard drive from there. You still get the email, but delete it. Takes forever to get through nearly 100 odd albums I tell ya. Its painful enough just for one.

But I'm not deleting my stuff just yet. Bugger it, I'll just use up their server space. They may have a rethink yet, which if they do, will mean all my forum pics should still be good. But they are gone. New photo hosting service for me from now.
Post by: nab on July 01, 2017, 05:32:39 PM
I wonder who their target market is. Most of us on here use their site for free to upload images to show others. Surely the money from ads isn't enough to sustain their costs? Are commercial users using these types of sites or do they just invest in their own storage?
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2017, 05:57:16 PM
Quote from: nab
I wonder who their target market is. Most of us on here use their site for free to upload images to show others. Surely the money from ads isn't enough to sustain their costs? Are commercial users using these types of sites or do they just invest in their own storage?

I've been trying to figure out the target market too...
even your local fruit shop/dentists' website would have their own space, not using some Shithole like this!

But remember 23 million unique users per month x 10 ads/videos per every click =...
Post by: Chris. on July 01, 2017, 06:00:20 PM
I think you're naive to think that PB haven't countered on this upheaval from its users. A company as big as PB would have expected as much, whatever decision was made had a lot of thought put into it & they would be well aware of what they're doing & what their long term plan is.
Post by: D4D on July 06, 2017, 06:22:24 AM
http://www.news.com.au/finance/business/technology/amazon-ebay-images-held-to-ransom-by-photobucket/news-story/f5b3efdaa1dfd7cb5c9a62e6ec2520c6 (http://www.news.com.au/finance/business/technology/amazon-ebay-images-held-to-ransom-by-photobucket/news-story/f5b3efdaa1dfd7cb5c9a62e6ec2520c6)
Post by: xcvator on July 06, 2017, 09:17:29 AM
Do the math on this and you'll see what they're up to
registered users       400,000,000 
If they lose 90%       360,000,000
balance                      40,000,000  @ $400-00 pa =  $1600,000,000

or

registered users        400,000,000
if they lose 99%         396,000,000
balance                          4,000,000  @ $400 pa  =   $160,000,000

Do you really think they'll give a stuff about all the complaints, I don't think so, unless there is some form of legal class action/challenge mounted by some of the "big boys" they are affecting
Post by: achjimmy on July 06, 2017, 09:25:58 AM
Been a Totally Shit service for years more so if your on an average connection I gave up PB years ago
Post by: Bird on July 06, 2017, 09:58:25 AM

or

Do you really think they'll give a stuff about all the complaints, I don't think so, unless there is some form of legal class action/challenge mounted by some of the "big boys" they are affecting
If they handled it better, and made it $40 insteafd of $400 a year they would have x20 their money and revenue from the 203948032948 ads per page.

this is pretty much nail on the head
On Reddit, one user wrote that while Photobucket was “absolutely entitled to change their business model whenever they feel like it”, the way the company handled it would “go down as one of the great customer-service f***-ups in internet history”
Post by: tryagain on July 06, 2017, 10:12:51 AM

or

I would be very surprised if they even got close to a 1% conversion rate at $400pa, and then most of those would only be so they could get access to move their existing photos to a different host. IF I were going to pay decent coin to a website to host photo's it certainly wouldn't be to a company that now has a record of holding pictures to ransom. I have read a fair bit of speculation that there will be a back down but I guess only time will tell.
Post by: rotare on July 06, 2017, 11:41:25 AM
Take the emotion out of it and this probably goes to the heart of the problem:

But one expert said the public needed to be aware of the risks of relying on any free image service.

"There's a lot of websites out there looking for advertising, and there's a finite amount of advertising spending to go round," said Nigel Atherton, editor of Amateur Photographer magazine.

"And any photo gallery and storage site like this that relies on ads to offer a free service can only continue to do so if they have enough money coming in.

"So, if you put all your photos into any site or app like this where it's not clear how they are going to continue financing their business, then it could come back and bite you at some point in the future."

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-40492668 (http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-40492668)
Post by: achjimmy on July 06, 2017, 12:42:14 PM
Maybe it depends on how much you have stored ? I only used it for a short while but my threads with links are still show hosted pictures?
Post by: Rumpig on July 06, 2017, 05:42:45 PM
Maybe it depends on how much you have stored ? I only used it for a short while but my threads with links are still show hosted pictures?
i only used it in a similar way, resized pics I wanted in trip reports I did then hosted them through their site. No way in the world will I pay for those pics, it's a shame the reports on forums probably look like rubbish now, but I won't be paying to fix that issue.
Post by: prodigyrf on July 06, 2017, 08:59:07 PM
Noticed a few ebayers have been caught with their Photobucket pics when you scroll down their listing  :worthles:
Post by: Rumpig on July 07, 2017, 06:28:25 PM
Just noticed the pic I used to have in my signature line is blocked and displaying the message from PB, so had to edit that out now
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 08, 2017, 05:33:53 AM
i only used it in a similar way, resized pics I wanted in trip reports I did then hosted them through their site. No way in the world will I pay for those pics, it's a shame the reports on forums probably look like rubbish now, but I won't be paying to fix that issue.

Same here, we're putting all our pics in a separate file and closing the Photobucket site.

PB can take f*^#in flying leap at a rolling donut in a week or so.
Post by: Pete79 on July 08, 2017, 08:25:56 AM
I downloaded and deleted everything from Photobucket on Monday, I couldn't believe it when they insisted I tell them why I was closing my account.
I kept my reasons for leaving short and sweet, straight to the point and only used 4 or 5 swear words.  >:D

Then today I get an email welcoming me to Photobucket and inviting me to share all of my photos with them.
I thought perfect, I can tell them where to shove their ransom again.  :angel: But it appears I can't.

They have marked my account to be deleted on the day I closed it, but it is still open.
I can still do anything I like in my 'deleted' account (upload photos, edit, etc), the only thing I can't do is make that 'deleted' account actually disappear from the internet.

I guess they figure they can keep spruking about however many million users they have if they never actually delete accounts when people close them....
Post by: Chris. on July 08, 2017, 10:03:53 AM
They have marked my account to be deleted on the day I closed it, but it is still open.
I can still do anything I like in my 'deleted' account (upload photos, edit, etc), the only thing I can't do is make that 'deleted' account actually disappear from the internet.

I guess they figure they can keep spruking about however many million users they have if they never actually delete accounts when people close them....

I never really used my account but like you I deleted it about 10 days ago... yet its still there.
Post by: 100%JOE on July 08, 2017, 04:51:06 PM
Well all my posts are now stuffed.... Thanks PhotoBucket. I even spent ages just then downloading all my albums but I cannot extract them due to
this error: The archive is either in unknown format or damaged. God damn it.

It will take forever to fix this mess. :'(
Post by: sharkcaver on July 08, 2017, 08:01:25 PM
I was getting some errors myself Joe when I spent 3 nights downloading all my Shit - thanks be to PB - with my issue it  seemed to be the larger folders giving me grief. So I used a download manager. That solves most my problems, but a couple still gave me grief. In the end I split those folders into sub folders and moved those pictures to the subs. By downloading in smaller chunks, I was able to retrieve them all. What a right royal PITA that saga turned out to be. I hope the above helps you.

I've since moved all those pictures to albums on google pics. That allows me forum embedding and hosting to my blog. But I have 7 years worth of blog entries to now fix ..... >:D I have to many pictures on various forums to fix, if I could ever find those posts again anyway. So my embedded forum pics are fubar, but I am looking forward to the future....If only google doesn't go down that path, I will be sorted eventually.
Post by: xcvator on July 08, 2017, 08:49:12 PM
I was getting some errors myself Joe when I spent 3 nights downloading all my Shit - thanks be to PB - with my issue it  seemed to be the larger folders giving me grief. So I used a download manager. That solves most my problems, but a couple still gave me grief. In the end I split those folders into sub folders and moved those pictures to the subs. By downloading in smaller chunks, I was able to retrieve them all. What a right royal PITA that saga turned out to be. I hope the above helps you.

I've since moved all those pictures to albums on google pics. That allows me forum embedding and hosting to my blog. But I have 7 years worth of blog entries to now fix ..... >:D I have to many pictures on various forums to fix, if I could ever find those posts again anyway. So my embedded forum pics are fubar, but I am looking forward to the future....If only google doesn't go down that path, I will be sorted eventually.
Can you tell me how you can embed your photos in a forum post from "Google Pictures" coz I'm darned if I can work that out
cheers Keith
Post by: austastar on July 08, 2017, 09:42:27 PM
Can you tell me how you can embed your photos in a forum post from "Google Pictures" coz I'm darned if I can work that out
cheers Keith
   Me too.  Google was beaut, but they changed the linking option, causing many headaches because of permission problems and others could not see my pics.
I ended up using imgur.com which is fairly simple. So far, all my old Google linked images are still working.

Post by: sharkcaver on July 09, 2017, 11:24:02 AM
xcavator, austastar.....

have a look at my post #42 on page 2 of this thread  :cheers:
Post by: RichardW on July 09, 2017, 11:58:51 AM
I've always used my ISP:iinet for hosting, now for almost 15 years.
I only upload photos resized to around 200k so they are not much use for commercial purposes.
Never had any issues with around 2700 photos and just over 550mb stored on there.
Post by: prodigyrf on July 09, 2017, 04:09:55 PM
Apparently PB like many freebie sites is facing the hard commercial reality of dramatically shrinking ad revenue and had to bite the bullet of charging fee for service or most likely go under-
https://torrentfreak.com/chromes-default-ad-blocker-is-bad-news-for-torrent-sites-170705/
It's a result of ad revenue increasingly being captured by the big players so the minnows have to charge to survive and in that respect you need to be wary of following the pack to other freebies and copping the same dramas again with them in the near future.

You may be miffed at PB but how much more so if they continued to ignore market reality bleeding cash and closed up shop altogether? Food for thought as they lead the market with their take it or leave it offer and the end of the era of the free lunch cloud is upon us all folks.
Post by: xcvator on July 09, 2017, 04:26:16 PM
It's not "What" that is the problem, it's the "How"
Suddenly locking up accounts/photos with virtually NO WARNING and demanding us$400-00 p/a "ransom" is not a good way to do business in anybodies language, except PB's. I have no problem with user pays and PB's action will have no more than a slight nuisance value to me. They could have gone about this whole exercise in a much more customer friendly manner
Post by: sharkcaver on July 09, 2017, 07:30:15 PM
xcavator, austastar.....

have a look at my post #42 on page 2 of this thread  :cheers:

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52587.msg910112#msg910112 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52587.msg910112#msg910112)
Post by: prodigyrf on July 09, 2017, 11:24:00 PM
It's not "What" that is the problem, it's the "How"
Chopping off only the 3rd party moochers linking to them for nothing and increasing their costs while other sites get the benefit of shrinking ad revenue?
 https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/06/30/photobucket_charging_400yr_3rdparty_pgs/ (https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/06/30/photobucket_charging_400yr_3rdparty_pgs/)
What a bunch of unfeeling Mother Theresas eh? It's enough to make a bloke take his freeloading business down the road to the Salvos  ;D
Post by: The punter on July 09, 2017, 11:39:13 PM
Just another example of things correcting themselves in the digital space. No such thing as a free lunch. We will see significantly more of this as the digital economy matures.

Sure, it's heavy handed, but it's a bit rich all of this "how dare they" talk when nobody paid a cent in the first place. Want service? Pay for it. Anything else just sounds like whiney millennials who think movies come from BitTorrent and cost nothing to make.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 10, 2017, 03:46:49 AM
I'd happily pay a couple of dollars a year.... 50, 75.... 99 ...but not 500.
Post by: Chris. on July 10, 2017, 05:46:25 AM
Just another example of things correcting themselves in the digital space. No such thing as a free lunch. We will see significantly more of this as the digital economy matures.

Sure, it's heavy handed, but it's a bit rich all of this "how dare they" talk when nobody paid a cent in the first place. Want service? Pay for it. Anything else just sounds like whiney millennials who think movies come from BitTorrent and cost nothing to make.

Exactly, all this 'extortion' & 'ransom' talk is bullShit, you paid nothing for the service so STFU & move on.
Post by: Pete79 on July 10, 2017, 07:08:48 AM
Yeah nothing like building up a business as 'THE' free image hosting site for all forum users around the world.
Then once your free image hosting marketing has put you in the number one position of all free image hosting sites you lock it up and demand payment.

Awesome business model that one....
Post by: The punter on July 10, 2017, 09:38:02 AM
I'd happily pay a couple of dollars a year.... 50, 75.... 99 ...but not 500.

This is the problem though, a couple of dollars a year even for some people is unacceptable. A generation has grown up with all this "free" stuff.

People will pay $5 for a cup of coffee, but a track that took in same cases months to create on itunes is $0.99 and even for some that is "too much"

Agree, $500 is ridiculous. But trust me on this one - we are going to see more of this. Digital "Free" is going away, at an accelerating rate.

Want guarantees? Buy your own domain with as much hosting as you need, run a content management system and you are immune to any price gouging from service providers.
Post by: Bird on July 10, 2017, 10:25:37 AM
Quote from: The punter
Sure, it's heavy handed, but it's a bit rich all of this "how dare they" talk when nobody paid a cent in the first place. Want service? Pay for it.
They may have paid up if they were asked to but they weren't - they were just told GAGF.
And from $.0 to $400 a year - its not a premium service with complete backup and recovery options.

Post by: xcvator on July 10, 2017, 11:03:14 AM
On todays  us/aud it's  aud$526-00= $10-00 p/w  :o you can get basic web hosting for half that with complete control of your content
Post by: alnjan on July 10, 2017, 11:22:58 AM
I use ImageShack and pay $2.83 a month, which to me is pretty good value for what they offer.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 10, 2017, 11:51:30 AM
This is the problem though, a couple of dollars a year even for some people is unacceptable. A generation has grown up with all this "free" stuff.

People will pay $5 for a cup of coffee, but a track that took in same cases months to create on itunes is $0.99 and even for some that is "too much"

Agree, $500 is ridiculous. But trust me on this one - we are going to see more of this. Digital "Free" is going away, at an accelerating rate.

Want guarantees? Buy your own domain with as much hosting as you need, run a content management system and you are immune to any price gouging from service providers.

Some sort of warning would've been nice too.
Of all the threads I've ever started, there's about 3 or 4 that actually make any sense, but the lovely colour photo's, helped explain where I was coming from or trying to say.

Now I just look like a bigger fukwit than before, as none of me friggin threads make any sense at all. Geez, I don't need their help to look like an idiot, I can do that all on my own.
I do have my own domain, its called a shed.... i'd show you a photo of it, buy FukkBucket said I can't.  ;D
Post by: The punter on July 10, 2017, 12:12:39 PM

I do have my own domain, its called a shed.... i'd show you a photo of it, buy FukkBucket said I can't.  ;D

Ha... well played, I just choked on my coffee...  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: jclures on July 10, 2017, 03:16:45 PM
I paid for the add free service from Photobucket, but I see that option does not exist any more. So far my images are working though. I used to always use Flickr, I am thinking maybe use flicker pro for $49.99.
Post by: DannyG on July 10, 2017, 03:24:21 PM
For less than $4 a month you can get hosting that comes with a free domain (only for the first year I think but only around $20 a years there after), the hosting comes with 100Gb of storage and unlimited bandwidth.

Then you can put whatever photo storage/sharing album you like on it. There are 1000's of them out there, they are very easy to use.

You are then not going to get burnt like all the photobucket users have. Yes I know people like Imgur are still free but they may not be forever.

Nothing like having control over your own server and own software.

Post by: muzza01 on July 10, 2017, 05:03:44 PM
I paid for the add free service from Photobucket, but I see that option does not exist any more. So far my images are working though. I used to always use Flickr, I am thinking maybe use flicker pro for $49.99.
Don't use it anymore John.  Mine was working fine until I posted up a pic last week and now none of them are working.
Post by: Bird on July 10, 2017, 05:04:29 PM
bingo... simple FTP program and copy across.
Post by: jclures on July 10, 2017, 08:10:02 PM
For less than $4 a month you can get hosting that comes with a free domain (only for the first year I think but only around $20 a years there after), the hosting comes with 100Gb of storage and unlimited bandwidth.

Then you can put whatever photo storage/sharing album you like on it. There are 1000's of them out there, they are very easy to use.

You are then not going to get burnt like all the photobucket users have. Yes I know people like Imgur are still free but they may not be forever.

For some one like me that is a step I have never considered.
I have now had a look and most of the ideas of getting a domain name and my own web site is a bit over my head. I think though it might be worth looking into though.
Can the person hosting the your domain though, just jack up the price once they have you hooked.

Muzza, no I will not be putting any photos up until I have some idea where I an going.
Post by: Bird on July 10, 2017, 08:16:37 PM
For some one like me that is a step I have never considered.
I have now had a look and most of the ideas of getting a domain name and my own web site is a bit over my head. I think though it might be worth looking into though.
Can the person hosting the your domain though, just jack up the price once they have you hooked.

That can happen anywhere in life, I guess it depends on the contract. But you can move your domain name around when your contract expires. Theres always companies out there with 'new member' deals.. just chop and change :)

Once you have a domain name - its yours as long as you keep it registered.

Remember you don't even need to put a website on the domain, you can just use it to store photos on.
Post by: sharkcaver on July 10, 2017, 09:03:01 PM
Lots of peops complaining about PB. And lots saying STFU and get over it.

Both comments have merit. However, charging a fee 10 fold what's easily obtainable in the market place for 3rd party hosting is a bit rich - actually 10 folds rich. I do not think the majority would complain about a fee for service - set at an appropriate rate. Yet a lot will grizzle to spend a buck, but the level headed thinkers would not.

I got an email from PB today stating their 3rd party plan was competitive.

What planet are they on?

That for me is the issue. And that fee is ransom.

I forecast they will later on offer a competitive rate once they find the $400USD is maybe, well maybe just a little x 10, over the top, and no one takes up their generous offer.
Post by: prodigyrf on July 10, 2017, 10:15:17 PM

What planet are they on?

That for me is the issue. And that fee is ransom.

I guess what they're saying is for $9.99/month you can link to your photos being hosted on their site so they can enjoy some ad revenue instead of going under. Presumably they've estimated the $400/yr will be full user pays without that ad revenue and if you don't think they're right then open your own hosting website.
http://photobucket.com/pricing (http://photobucket.com/pricing)

The days of the Wild West internet have to come to an end if we're to continue to enjoy professional journalism, film and music, etc as freeloaders like Google and Facebook are emptying the till, aided and abetted by their users and there's a poor outcome for all at the end of it. PB are just like the newspapers having to find subscription revenue or die and there's already moves to make the big players pay for their content in some way.
Post by: kylarama on July 12, 2017, 03:21:30 PM
All my PB pics are still working.  For how long I don't know.  When I get a chance I'll download them onto my hard drive, cause I think I've deleted most if them. 

Chances are I'll never bother uploading them again and fix the links in my threads.

Post by: Bird on July 12, 2017, 04:22:35 PM
Quote from: prodigyrf
I guess what they're saying is for $9.99/month you can link to your photos being hosted on their site so they can enjoy some ad revenue instead of going under.
Actually only the 400/yr plan can link photos now.

With the amount of ads your bombarded with with every click, not just logging into your account, but every album, every photo theres at least 3-4 popup type ads you need to cler to see anything, they'd be doing quite well.
Post by: tryagain on July 12, 2017, 06:55:02 PM
as freeloaders like Google and Facebook are emptying the till, aided and abetted by their users and there's a poor outcome for all at the end of it.

That makes absolutely no sense to me

Post by: prodigyrf on July 13, 2017, 12:01:28 AM
That makes absolutely no sense to me

Perhaps this will-
http://www.mediachannel.org/google-facebook-and-the-death-of-journalism/ (http://www.mediachannel.org/google-facebook-and-the-death-of-journalism/)
and that sort of prediction has come to fruition with some head scratching as to what to do about it-
http://theconversation.com/we-should-levy-facebook-and-google-to-fund-journalism-heres-how-77946 (http://theconversation.com/we-should-levy-facebook-and-google-to-fund-journalism-heres-how-77946)

They end up capturing all the ad revenue and crowding out quality journalism along with the general copyright abuse they free-ride on. The Photo Buckets of the world suffer accordingly.
Post by: Pete79 on July 13, 2017, 07:27:24 AM
Perhaps this will-
http://www.mediachannel.org/google-facebook-and-the-death-of-journalism/ (http://www.mediachannel.org/google-facebook-and-the-death-of-journalism/)
and that sort of prediction has come to fruition with some head scratching as to what to do about it-
http://theconversation.com/we-should-levy-facebook-and-google-to-fund-journalism-heres-how-77946 (http://theconversation.com/we-should-levy-facebook-and-google-to-fund-journalism-heres-how-77946)

They end up capturing all the ad revenue and crowding out quality journalism along with the general copyright abuse they free-ride on. The Photo Buckets of the world suffer accordingly.

Actually this is the death of journalism....
https://www.buzzfeed.com/markdistefano/fox-news-down-under?utm_term=.wo4MLBGpB#.ryvRDnVrn (https://www.buzzfeed.com/markdistefano/fox-news-down-under?utm_term=.wo4MLBGpB#.ryvRDnVrn)
Post by: jclures on July 13, 2017, 07:57:15 AM
For now I am back using the MySwag gallery.
Post by: tryagain on July 13, 2017, 09:55:00 AM
Perhaps this will-

Righito, you have to go on a really wild tangent bit I'll go with you for a bit.

The main outrage over this is in regards to the amount they are charging. If someone wanted paid hosting, and decided to look at the available options, Photobucket new $400/yr would likely be the first to get scratched it's that bad compared to the other available options. The only way this gets any subscriber's is by employing the bait and switch model which is the option they seem to be taking.

Now to follow you on the they are being forced into this due to shrinking ad revenue tangent, even though I think it's pretty obvious there is a lot more going on here than that.

Your premise seems to be based on the stats that showed rapidly growing ad revenue for Google/Facebook but a slight contraction for everyone else. Setting aside the high probability that those figures include Google's Adsense revenue which in reality would fundamentally flaw those figures. Ad revenue is a product of traffic, price per ad and ads per page.

Photobuckets ads per page are off the scale, so that leaves traffic and price per ad as the way Google/Facebook must be "taking" their revenue, and in a free market, if that's the case, then that is PB's failure.

The journalism side of things is where I'll hop of this tangent except to say that, without downplaying the role of quality journalism, most of it sounds the same as I have heard from other professions subject to major digital distribution pining for the good old days.
Post by: xcvator on July 13, 2017, 11:09:28 AM
And just WTF does journalism have to do with PB ? Journalism has been going into the gutter for years, just watch the evening "news" .
The uproar about PB has NOTHING to do with journalism, it's about the charge they have imposed and they way they have done it. So no matter how much you ( prodigyrf )  try and muddy the waters again, the facts are the facts

Post by: tryagain on July 13, 2017, 11:30:49 AM
Actually this is the death of journalism....
https://www.buzzfeed.com/markdistefano/fox-news-down-under?utm_term=.wo4MLBGpB#.ryvRDnVrn (https://www.buzzfeed.com/markdistefano/fox-news-down-under?utm_term=.wo4MLBGpB#.ryvRDnVrn)

I actually have no issue with privately owned media being either right or left wing biased whether it be sky on the right or say the Guardian or the New Matilda on the left. I think in fact it is better to have voices from different persuasions prosecuting their case as opposed everyone singing from the same songsheet.

I think in an ideal world, this is the way it should be. Users of this forum benefit from the pictures posted here so the site/users should pay for the bandwidth. Whether that be through ads or contributions membership fees etc.

Post by: prodigyrf on July 13, 2017, 03:32:44 PM
And just WTF does journalism have to do with PB ? Journalism has been going into the gutter for years, just watch the evening "news" .
The uproar about PB has NOTHING to do with journalism, it's about the charge they have imposed and they way they have done it. So no matter how much you ( prodigyrf )  try and muddy the waters again, the facts are the facts

If you say so but I see a bigger picture with the 'free lunch' (really advertising paid) shrinking for lots of players in the marketplace due to being captured by a small coterie of large players. That's not their fault just a fact of life and the PBs of the world have to respond to emergent market reality. Whether they've got their sums right is not for me to say but they're saying take it or leave it and no doubt they're more than happy to see the freeloaders walk down the road to their opposition. The risk in doing that is you just cop the same again later on if you're not reading all the signs. Suit yourself but none of them are your mum.
Post by: xcvator on July 13, 2017, 06:00:32 PM
C'mon Prodigyyrf, you really have gone off on you're own little tangent with this thread, you have your theories, that's fine, and I neither agree or disagree with them. What the majority of people are commenting/complaining about is NOT a free lunch gone, or a freeloading lunch as you put it, but the WAY pb has gone about this whole exercise. 
And you didn't answer my previous comment but have done your best to derail the thread again.
And please keep personal comments to your self
Post by: The punter on July 13, 2017, 06:14:36 PM
Tangent? It's all valid analysis about funding models and trends in digital media as far as I can see?

The self appointed thread police are busy today.
Post by: xcvator on July 13, 2017, 06:29:17 PM
Tangent? It's all valid analysis about funding models and trends in digital media as far as I can see?

The self appointed thread police are busy today.

Well start a thread about that subject yourself then, and thank you for the acknowledgment
Post by: The punter on July 13, 2017, 06:38:42 PM
Well start a thread about that subject yourself then, and thank you for the acknowledgment

Why?, it is what this thread is about already - changes in commercial models and the impact of those changes on users of said service.

I see no tangent, and the last I looked, you aren't a mod. So I'll choose to continue to participate on this thread thanks.
Post by: xcvator on July 13, 2017, 11:15:22 PM
Ah so punter and prod are going to stick to the old tried and proven system of ganging up  and muddying the waters for long enough and that will become their truth  ???
Why?, it is what this thread is about already - changes in commercial models ( only one) and the impact of those changes (that change)on users of said service.

I see no tangent, ( better open your eyes as well as your mouth then)and the last I looked, you aren't a mod.(never even hinted that I was) So I'll choose to continue to participate on this thread thanks.

I would suggest that you go back and have a good look at what has actually been said in this thread, 90% has been about the how , the when, and the notification and the cost.
Very little bleating about where can we get the same service again for free.

Only you two Bobbsy twins have gone off talking about google/facebook and journalism etc which has absolutely nothing to do with the original thread, and I guess that if I go through all of your posts there wont be a single image of the PB warning either .
Post by: The punter on July 14, 2017, 12:27:44 AM
Ah so punter and prod are going to stick to the old tried and proven system of ganging up  and muddying the waters for long enough and that will become their truth  ???
I would suggest that you go back and have a good look at what has actually been said in this thread, 90% has been about the how , the when, and the notification and the cost.
Very little bleating about where can we get the same service again for free.

Only you two Bobbsy twins have gone off talking about google/facebook and journalism etc which has absolutely nothing to do with the original thread, and I guess that if I go through all of your posts there wont be a single image of the PB warning either .

I'm so glad you don't run this forum, it'd be pretty bloody boring.

Heads up pops, you don't run the show here and get to tell people what they can and can't post about in a section of the forum titled "general discussion"

Oh, and having a crack at Prodigy about personal comments yet saying four posts later "better open your eyes as well as your mouth" just makes you look silly.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 14, 2017, 04:10:15 AM
"avoiding grey nomads since 2011"....... ha ha ha ha ha bet ya wished you avoided one more too.  ;D
Post by: The punter on July 14, 2017, 08:50:17 AM
"avoiding grey nomads since 2011"....... ha ha ha ha ha bet ya wished you avoided one more too.  ;D

This is why I don't camp in places where there are caravans  :cheers:
Post by: tryagain on July 14, 2017, 11:13:10 AM

TV, radio, local papers have all been available for free (cash wise) for a long time, the payment is in the form of consuming some advertising. This isn't a new concept only applicable to the digital medium, other far more expensive to run business models have survived this way for many years. This is far from just an "example of things correcting themselves" this is more like a bait and switch measure born out of corporate greed. A small fee comparable to other available services wouldn't have attracted anywhere near the outcry. 

I think it is obviously a tangent when you are comparing journalism to picture hosting, it may somewhat be related but not really relevant to the point most are making hence a tangent. The point most are making is that Photobucket has gone from offering an ad-supported service to one charging an exorbitant fee overnight. Yes, it is their legal right to do so, but I'll very much enjoy watching their demise. I still haven't decided if just deleting my account, or using up the other 99% of my available hosting so they have to store it whilst not ever visiting their site again for them to get ad revenue from me is the better option.

As an aside, I use an Adblocker on sites that I think overdo advertising, or sites I have no intention of supporting. On Photobucket home page it just blocked 53 ads then clicked through to my library and it blocked 61 ad's  :o I think that should put to bed most of the "shrinking revenue" and "free lunch" theories to bed.
Post by: prodigyrf on July 14, 2017, 11:19:08 AM
More of the same and you're not even safe with first adopter advantage-
http://www.msn.com/en-au/money/company-news/zuckerberg-couldnt-buy-snapchat-years-ago-and-now-hes-close-to-destroying-it/ar-BBEkliV (http://www.msn.com/en-au/money/company-news/zuckerberg-couldnt-buy-snapchat-years-ago-and-now-hes-close-to-destroying-it/ar-BBEkliV)

No good being grumpy because your digital world is shifting out from under your feet. Go cry in your beer with the Snapchat investors.
Meanwhile free to air Channel 10 is in trouble while Stan and Netflix raise their prices so go figure.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 14, 2017, 12:07:37 PM
This is why I don't camp in places where there are caravans  :cheers:

Some of us with caravans are ok. Its just the retired ones with nothing to do.
Post by: tryagain on July 14, 2017, 12:40:30 PM
More of the same and you're not even safe with first adopter advantage-
http://www.msn.com/en-au/money/company-news/zuckerberg-couldnt-buy-snapchat-years-ago-and-now-hes-close-to-destroying-it/ar-BBEkliV (http://www.msn.com/en-au/money/company-news/zuckerberg-couldnt-buy-snapchat-years-ago-and-now-hes-close-to-destroying-it/ar-BBEkliV)

No good being grumpy because your digital world is shifting out from under your feet. Go cry in your beer with the Snapchat investors.
Meanwhile free to air Channel 10 is in trouble while Stan and Netflix raise their prices so go figure.

which has precisely 0 to do with the point people are trying to make.

(http://i0.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/newsfeed/000/030/013/scaled.php?1260338978)
Post by: xcvator on July 14, 2017, 01:37:07 PM
My point exactly
Post by: xcvator on July 14, 2017, 01:39:39 PM
Some of us with caravans are ok. Its just the retired ones with nothing to do.
You're only jealous  >:D >:D ;D
Title: Re: For users of Phot
Post by: rotare on July 14, 2017, 01:43:28 PM
it may somewhat be related but not really relevant to the point most are making hence a tangent.

With respect, it seems like the words 'most are' should maybe be replaced with 'I'm'.....?

With a generic thread title, a first post by the OP which could be interpreted differently by many within a sub topic of general discussion.... I'm not sure why this thread is expected to stay on some pre-defined tangent?

Every second thread I read on this forum and others seems to go off on tangents, why should this one be any different  ;D
Title: Re: For users of Phot
Post by: Bird on July 14, 2017, 02:14:07 PM
(http://ct.fra.bz/ol/fz/sw/i55/5/6/23/frabz-Please-lock-this-topic-Before-we-all-descend-into-anarchy-3c5a4a.jpg)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 14, 2017, 02:42:15 PM
Looking for something to replace Photo crap. All my trip reports, build threads and half of the POTM will have their crap work all through it now. I only got their courtesy email today. They can stick the subscription where it can hurt the most.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: DannyG on July 14, 2017, 02:51:18 PM
Looking for something to replace Photo crap. All my trip reports, build threads and half of the POTM will have their crap work all through it now. I only got their courtesy email today. They can stick the subscription where it can hurt the most.

Imgur seems like a really good free one. Who knows how long itll be free for though.

I think buying a package off godaddy for $4 a month and having your own server space is the best way. At least you are in control of it then. I just use Lychee software to organise my photos, its really easy to use and free :)
Post by: xcvator on July 14, 2017, 02:55:08 PM

Me too, I only used it because the linking was easy, the actual site was crap 
Post by: tryagain on July 14, 2017, 02:55:26 PM
With respect, it seems like the words 'most are' should maybe be replaced with 'I'm'.....?

Nope, I am sure if you read through the posts and take my quote in full context you will see that you will find that it is very accurate.

With a generic thread title, a first post by the OP which could be interpreted differently by many within a sub topic of general discussion.... I'm not sure why this thread is expected to stay on some pre-defined tangent?

I think it's pretty obvious that this thread is about PB's updated terms and conditions and therefore people wanting alternatives with most people being unhappy about the way PB has gone about it. I think thought others inferring this is a new digital reality forced upon them due to their shrinking ad revenue and people had no right to be annoyed about it was BS so called them out on it, and have seen some fine weaselling since then, I think I have addressed the issues with their assertions pretty clearly.   

Every second thread I read on this forum and others seems to go off on tangents, why should this one be any different  ;D
Some tangents can remain relevant to a point, but when you take a leap to something with no tenable connection then that's an issue, it seems to me that some when they have the error of their assertions pointed out rather than addressing it just jump to a new assertion.

I have no issue with robust discussion, I am happy for anyone to pick apart my arguments and take none of it personally.
Post by: xcvator on July 14, 2017, 03:21:00 PM
Nope, I am sure if you read through the posts and take my quote in full context you will see that you will find that it is very accurate.

I think it's pretty obvious that this thread is about PB's updated terms and conditions and therefore people wanting alternatives with most people being unhappy about the way PB has gone about it. I think thought others inferring this is a new digital reality forced upon them due to their shrinking ad revenue and people had no right to be annoyed about it was BS so called them out on it, and have seen some fine weaselling since then, I think I have addressed the issues with their assertions pretty clearly.   
Some tangents can remain relevant to a point, but when you take a leap to something with no tenable connection then that's an issue, it seems to me that some when they have the error of their assertions pointed out rather than addressing it just jump to a new assertion.

I have no issue with robust discussion, I am happy for anyone to pick apart my arguments and take none of it personally.
Well said,  :cup: and the 2 people leading the charge to go off at a tangent have done this before in previous threads. Maybe because I'm older and senile I just can't work out why the hell Punter and Prog seem to think there is a link to PB with their arguments.
I don't think anybody denies that PB has the right to charge a fee for their services, user pays is fine by me, but before you start an argument and bring in extraneous garbage go back and read the whole thread, the vast MAJORITY are complaining ABOUT the WAY PB has gone about this whole exercise   
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 14, 2017, 04:07:01 PM

I think buying a package off godaddy for $4 a month and having your own server space is the best way. At least you are in control of it then. I just use Lychee software to organise my photos, its really easy to use and free :)

This is the way I am thinking, for a computer nufty like me, is it hard to set up and get going. If possible I might even put together a website for the cable gig. From what I can see the basic set up allows for one website. Am I missing anything

Post by: DannyG on July 14, 2017, 04:56:00 PM
Nah really easy mate. I might even write a basic tutorial for a couple of different ways to use a server to store your pics if there's any interest?
Yes the basic setup gives you a free domain but only for the first 12 months then it costs around $20 a year to reregister your domain name.
Also the $4 a month special also supposedly runs out and turns into $8 a month I think it is but the in reality they always offer the same deal if you renew early each year.
Post by: DannyG on July 14, 2017, 04:59:41 PM
And I should also add that godaddy has fantastic phone support.
So even things like pointing your domain name to your server (which is also really easy and virtually automated) can be done by them with a quick phone call. And you always get to speak to an easy to understand and very helpful person on the phone. If American accents are easy to understand but the service really is outstanding.
Post by: Fizzie on July 14, 2017, 05:10:34 PM
Nah really easy mate. I might even write a basic tutorial for a couple of different ways to use a server to store your pics if there's any interest?

Yes please Danny! :D

Is it something that then only lives online somewhere, or do you need hardware at home to run ???
Post by: DannyG on July 14, 2017, 05:14:49 PM
Yes please Danny! :D

Is it something that then only lives online somewhere, or do you need hardware at home to run ???

No its just an online server. You only need a web browser to use it.

Its no different to how any website/business etc users a web host to store their websites etc.

Ill do a quick tutorial tonight.

Post by: Fizzie on July 14, 2017, 05:19:09 PM

I'm going to look into this as well, because probably 90% of what I had on BotoPhuket were MySwag shots, with more to go on :'(

Just as a thought / something to discuss - how about a small charge for use of the MySwag gallery ??? I'm making up figures here as I have no idea of what I'm talking about but let's say $5pa = 5GB 2GB of storage, with options for larger amounts. Would that cover increased server costs ??? As I say, I have no idea of what costs are ??? :-[

Edit: Just went into PB to check $, storage capacity etc. "Free" a/c allows 2GB of storage. The ~80 photos & 2 videos I've got on there are ~4% capacity so that would allow me to have ~2000 photos on there. Maybe change what I suggested above to be $5 for 2GB?
Post by: austastar on July 14, 2017, 05:19:30 PM
    Found this...

https://youtu.be/hfldiBAxerQ

While researching Lychee.

I don't understand all of it, but get the general gist.

Post by: xcvator on July 14, 2017, 06:46:04 PM
I'm liking these ideas, a bit of a tutorial would be very helpful to a lot of people , though I guess there'd be some on youtube too  :cheers:
Post by: DannyG on July 14, 2017, 06:52:18 PM
Ok so this is a very basic tutorial on how to use a web host to store your photos plus a few extras.

It is possibly a bit vague but I am happy to answer any questions if you need extra help.

First of all you need to sign up and purchase some web hosting off a reputable but inexpensive provider. There are 1000's of them out there. I personally use godaddy because they are over and above when it comes to helping out, they are reasonably cheap and very reliable. And lets face it, they are one of the largest. But having said that I am certain there are many more just as good.

Here is godaddys offerings for example. They always have the $3.99 per month deal. I know it says $10.99 when you renew but they always offer the deal if you renew early or for a multitude of reasons to keep you using their servers. I buy 3 years at a time so I dont have to mess around with renewing and offers etc.
My Ozisuzu forums however use a total different package, but for this purpose a basic shared server is more than adequate.

(http://i.imgur.com/WVgPBxk.jpg)

So assuming you have done that, you are logged in, you now need to find your 'cpanel' and go to it.

For the sake of this tutorial I am going to do everything through the cpanel. There are other ways (faster and more of a drag and drop style such as you would on your pc) by using an FTP client, but we will get to that later.
Cpanel is very easy to use and easy to explain so we will stick to that to start with. And also, nearly every server provider you can buy hosting off uses cpanel so this tutorial will work for 98% of hosting providers.

This is what your cpanel looks like when you are logged into it.

(http://i.imgur.com/Kdjcel5.jpg)

What we want to go to here is the 'File Manager'. Click on it........
And this is what you will see. Mine has all sorts of folders etc in it. Yours wont have any where near as many folders or files because you havent put anything on your server. I have blurred out some sensitive info but this is the server that contains my Isuzu forums. Myswags would look very similar but of course it has the myswag forums not ozisuzu ;)

(http://i.imgur.com/MTj2fx2.jpg)

On the top row you see +files and +folders. Click on the +folders and lets make a new folder and call it 'Photos'. You will notice that the folder is being put in the 'public html' folder. This is your root directory or in my case where my domain name points to..........www.ozisuzu.com.au (http://www.ozisuzu.com.au). So anything I put in there is always prefixed with that domain name.

(http://i.imgur.com/wZR9pAL.jpg)

So now we have made the folder called 'Photos' lets click on it so we are inside it and then click on the 'upload' text up the top line. This will pop up an upload box where you simply navigate to a folder on your computers hard drive to find the photo you want to upload. Or any file for that matter. It may be a pdf file for instance.
But select your photo and upload it. You will then see the photo in your Photos folder.
I uploaded a photo called myswagtut1.jpeg

(http://i.imgur.com/UFfSlA0.jpg)

So now if we go to this address.......www.ozisuzu.com.au/Photos/myswagtut1.jpeg (http://www.ozisuzu.com.au/Photos/myswagtut1.jpeg) you will see your photo.

Simple isnt it. All you need to do then is wrap that address in the
Code: [Select]
[img]........[/img] tags and the pic will show on the forum and no one like photobucket can start charging you extra to link it!!

So that is the slow long way around putting a photo on your own server  ;) But it shows the basic idea of owning your own server space, so now lets look at some other ways to achieve the same thing only faster and/or more organised.

Go back to your 'cpanel' and scroll down you will see 'web applications'. You want to now click on view more........

(http://i.imgur.com/Hsaz2U3.jpg)

These are all the many web based applications that you can install on your server to do pretty much anything. Anything from forums such as this, to online shops, to photo organising software, to blogs etc etc ....just go there and have a look.
In fact install something and have a play with it!! Its easy to uninstall later and it does no harm to your server.

(http://i.imgur.com/UnP2Fvy.jpg)

Have a look at them all, there are heaps of free and fantastic web based programs that millions of people and business' use to run their web sites. Including myself and myswag, we both use simple machines forums to run our forums.

But for the sake of this tutorial lets navigate down to one of the photos and files apps and click on 'gallery' for instance.

(http://i.imgur.com/zYj3ufR.jpg)

When you click on it, it will take you to the install page. Simply click on install this application and follow the very basic prompts.

Always write down any usernames or passwords you use and any other names it may ask you to put in such as the database name...assuming it asks you to provide a name and doesnt do it automatically (i think it gives you options but either way write it all down if you plan on using one of these apps)

So once it is installed it gives you the web address to go to, to use it. Generally all applications will have an 'admin' area, where you do all the settings such as colours, names, themes etc etc and then they have a front of house area where you see all the things you have changed in the admin area.
So in the case of myswag for instance, the administrators are seeing a whole different thing to us users that are using the front of house area...if that makes sense.

But anyway, have a play with the software provided. I tried several of them and to be honest didnt like any of them because they were too hard to use for what I wanted them for. Which is basically just organizing my photos into albums and then giving me a link I can put into forums to display those photos.

So now that we know the basics, we can give it some time for any questions to come in that I havent covered then we can look at using an FTP client to make things much faster and easier and then to installing a program such as Lychee that will definitely automate and make the whole process (photobucket style system) very simple and easy to use.

I hope this helps.

Let me know if you want me to keep proceeding to the FTP client tutorial and/or the Lychee installation tutorial??
Post by: xcvator on July 14, 2017, 07:10:26 PM
Brilliant, thanks Danny  :cup: FTP tutorial would be good too   :cheers:
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 14, 2017, 07:34:30 PM
Great work Danny, the more info the better

Post by: DannyG on July 14, 2017, 09:54:58 PM
The quickest and easiest way to transfer files to and from your server is via an FTP client.

In my case I use Filezilla for my FTP client. Its free and luckily for us it works on Mac and Windows. So if you have come this far download and install Filezilla for whatever operating system you use. I use Mac but thats irrelevant as I am sure its the same program on either Mac or Windows, except it will work flawlessly on Mac with no virus's, reboots, reinstalls etc that you poor windows users would be experiencing  ;D

Ok back to the tutorial ;)

Go back to your 'cpanel' and click on 'FTP accounts' 

(http://i.imgur.com/Kdjcel5.jpg)

Once there make an account. As you can see here I made one called myswag, assigned it a password and created the account. You may also see that you can change the directory folder that will be contained in your root directory (public html folder) but I just left it as myswag. So if we go back to our 'file manager' via the cpanel, we will now see a new folder called myswag.

(http://i.imgur.com/n8nMj2w.jpg)

But no need to go back to your file manager because we are now going to open our ftp client. In this case I opened filezilla.
So once opened you can see up the top where you now log in using the details you just created.
In my case the host is ozisuzu.com.au, the username is myswag@ozisuzu.com.au and the password is obviously the password I created. Leave the port blank or put 21 in it, either one will work but in the case of godaddy it is 21 however filezilla knows how to work this out if you leave it blank.
There are other ways to automate this process which may become obvious to you when you set up an ftp user via your cpanel. It gives you a link to a file to download that has the 'configure ftp client' file in it that you can import into filezilla, but to be honest I have found it to be a bit buggy in the past with some ftp clients, and I have used many over the years, so just log in manually as I just described.

(http://i.imgur.com/NkcSDnz.jpg)

After you log in to your FTP account you will see your computers hard drive on the left and your servers hard drive on the right (it defaults to that myswag folder on the server.)
So just navigate to where all your photos are kept on your computer on the left hand pane and simply drag and drop them all to the folder on the right hand pane. In my case its the myswag folder however you can make a new folder in filezilla quite easily by right clicking in that right hand pane and drag your pics to that folder if you like. Great for making albums etc.

(http://i.imgur.com/cLgQkTl.jpg)

Its that easy. Now if you go back to your file manager you will now see a new folder called myswag (or whatever you wanted to call it) and it will have all those photos you dragged into it. You can now link them as I explained in part 1 of the tutorial. So in my case its www.ozisuzu.com.au/myswag/myswagtut8.jpeg (http://www.ozisuzu.com.au/myswag/myswagtut8.jpeg) or whaetever you called your image. Clearly the easier you name your pics the easier it is to link them on a forum if this is the process you decide to use.

(http://i.imgur.com/PZNecbg.jpg)

But having explained all that, there is another way to accomplish all this, and it is by using Lychee. Ill make a tutorial on installing it and using it on your server. Lychee is a program that makes all this very user friendly in the long term but the way I just described is preferred by some people. I am using Lychee.

Feel free to ask any questions if your trying to get this all set up and you run into problems.
Post by: DaveR on July 16, 2017, 06:38:12 AM
Great effort there Danny, well done as it is most helpful.
I just hope I don't need your tutorial.
I have been using Flickr and don't want to lose my stuff on it, I see no mention of the free account shutting down, and hope it stays that way.
Post by: D4D on July 16, 2017, 07:48:08 AM
Great work Danny, the more info the better

I've been using GoDaddy for years via FTP, I didn't know about the control panel file manager app, makes it easy to upload files  :cup:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 16, 2017, 08:17:30 AM
Stuff 'em all.

I'm gunna wait until FukkBucket comes back crawling on their knees begging me to accept their apology and let me go back to free third party posting.

I've gotta sixpack of beer and a comfy chair and i'm gunna sit back and wait.   
Post by: Hairs on July 16, 2017, 08:34:47 AM
Good luck with that kev.
Post by: Bill on July 16, 2017, 09:24:20 AM
I went through all our external hard drives and USB sticks looking for my Rocky build photos (that went missing from photo bucket) with no luck.
I figured they were gone forever.
I just found them all on my Facebook so Im a happy person again.
Now to finish building my website so I can put them up again.
Post by: gronk on July 16, 2017, 05:42:43 PM
Stuff 'em all.

I'm gunna wait until FukkBucket comes back crawling on their knees begging me to accept their apology and let me go back to free third party posting.

I've gotta sixpack of beer and a comfy chair and i'm gunna sit back and wait.

That'll be me as well. I don't really need to have photos on a site, and any website that doesn't allow you to post up a photo from your own computer ( small size ) will just have to do without !!
Post by: GeoffA on July 16, 2017, 06:16:16 PM
.....I don't really need to have photos on a site, and any website that doesn't allow you to post up a photo from your own computer ( small size ) will just have to do without !!

Hey, I've been doing that all along Gronk. I must be ahead of the game  ;D ;D....(that'd be a first)....
Post by: xcvator on July 16, 2017, 07:12:11 PM
That'll be me as well. I don't really need to have photos on a site, and any website that doesn't allow you to post up a photo from your own computer ( small size ) will just have to do without !!
I find the only problem with that is on some forums you can put the photo within the text so it's in context of your post,  and some you have to tack them on the end which doesn't look quite right to me 
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 17, 2017, 06:09:04 AM
Hey Photo Bucket, stick this where the monkey put the penny, ya pile of steaming dog sh!t.

I worked out how to do from the computer....... so go and get f.....

(My wife had to show me.)

My two girls when we were out and about on the Sunshine Coast on Saturday.
Post by: Hairs on July 17, 2017, 07:46:07 AM
I told ya in 2015,
I'll tell ya again,
Geez, you bunch well above ya weight.

Post by: Pete79 on July 17, 2017, 09:30:57 AM
Photobucket have no doubt created the perfect example of 'how not to do it' when it comes to making money from a web site.
Guaranteed they will be example number 1 in nearly every business and IT course for many years to come.

I'm an infrequent user of the surfing website Swellnet, I haven't looked at there forum in many many years (I'm not a hard core, 40 foot big wave killer like all of other forum posters on there are).
But their web site is one of my favorites for surf forecasting and current observations and I do occasionally read their very well written articles.
They offered up a paid version of their site a few years ago, but I didn't need any of the extra features that came with the Pro version, so I didn't subscribe.

But this morning I received this email from Ben (the website owner) and now I'm considering coughing up some cash.

A lessen for all website owners that want to move to a user pays model, THIS IS HOW IT'S DONE.......

We need to have a talk about Subscriptions
By Ben Matson

A little more than fifteen years ago, I started Swellnet.

We’ve come a long way since I penned my first long range forecasts for the South Oz Mid and South Coasts - which, to a small select group of SA crew, began several years earlier as one-pager faxed through to Cutloose every week.
Since that time there’s been an enormous change across the surf industry, and also across the broader media landscape.

In the early 2000’s, digital media was still somewhat of an unknown entity - everyone knew the online revolution was just around the corner, but the business model underpinning this transformation hadn’t become clear.

A decade and a half later, it seems nothing much has changed. No-one is quite sure how to generate money online.

Whilst the first few years of Swellnet’s existence were essentially an unpaid hobby, by 2005 there were trickles of advertising revenue to be found. Within a few years, the business had enough revenue to employ Swellnet’s first full time staff member Stu Nettle, who’s still waiting patiently for a repeat of the East Coast Lows we saw in 2007.

And ever since then we’ve been fortunate to build the business up to a point where we have four full time staff, plus our surf report team and other editorial contributors. Swellnet is a company whose staff and contributors I am immensely proud of.

But there’s still a lot of things we want to do - we’ve got a massive backlog of as-yet undeveloped forecasts tools to build. And we need to focus on building better Apps. These things require significant investment.

For much of its existence, Swellnet’s primary source of revenue has been advertising. But, as we’re all too used to hearing in the mainstream media, advertising revenue is slowly sliding across all media companies - not just due to a weakened economy, but because significant chunks of advertising budgets are now being channeled to Social Media giants like Facebook.

This problem ain’t exclusive to the surf industry either. No doubt you’ve heard of the massive editorial layoffs at Fairfax, News Limited and other publishers across Australia and around the world. Fortunately, Swellnet is not in the same boat as these large media companies.

However, this means that all publishers - including small websites like Swellnet - need to find new revenue streams in what’s a pretty tough business environment. Paid subscriptions are the most transparent and direct relationship between you and Swellnet, and the best way to show your support.

So, first up, I’d like to thank all of our current and former Swellnet Pro subscribers for their help over the last couple of years. Your contributions have helped Swellnet in a massive way.

For everyone else, I’d ask if you would consider subscribing to Swellnet. By helping a small Australian business, you’re also helping the local economy. And you’ll be assisting us to build better tools to get you surfing in better waves more often.

If you don’t want to subscribe to Swellnet, that’s fine. I understand that everyone’s got their own preferred surfing website, and Swellnet may not be your number one destination.

But… and here comes the rub… please consider subscribing to something, be it Surfline, Magic Seaweed, Coastalwatch, White Horses, Tracks Magazine or anyone else - if you use their services, show your support by giving them some of your hard-earned.

Every single surfer on the planet has benefited from a surf story, a photo essay, a long range forecast or a live surfcam at some point in their lives. And the best way to acknowledge their hard work is to give something back in return.

If you’d like to subscribe, we’ve got a $1 introductory offer for the first month - and you’ll also go in the draw for a holiday to Nias for you and a mate, including flights and accomodation.

Check it out here: https://www.swellnet.com/pro/subscribe/chooseplan (https://www.swellnet.com/pro/subscribe/chooseplan)

Thanks for your support.

Ben Matson Founder, Swellnet.com

PS: if you want to comment, you're welcome to in the original article here: https://www.swellnet.com/news/swellnet-dispatch/2017/07/14/we-need-have-talk-about-subscriptions (https://www.swellnet.com/news/swellnet-dispatch/2017/07/14/we-need-have-talk-about-subscriptions)

Post by: xcvator on July 17, 2017, 09:51:09 AM
Well done Swellnet  :cup: :cup: :cup:
It's not that hard really is it
Post by: Bird on July 17, 2017, 12:13:53 PM
This is the way I am thinking, for a computer nufty like me, is it hard to set up and get going. If possible I might even put together a website for the cable gig. From what I can see the basic set up allows for one website. Am I missing anything

you log in
it shows you the 2 computers  - yours - the server
you select the file you want to upload, then on the right side open teh folder you want it to go into
then press the arrow pointing to the server nad it uploads
mission accomplished
(https://filezilla-project.org/images/screenshots/fz3_win_main.png)
Post by: The punter on July 17, 2017, 12:37:12 PM
or if you are feeling especially geeky, you can learn command line, it's been there since DOS 3.3  8)
Post by: Bird on July 17, 2017, 01:54:27 PM
Quote from: GGV8Cruza
This is the way I am thinking, for a computer nufty like me, is it hard to set up and get going. If possible I might even put together a website for the cable gig.
From what I can see the basic set up allows for one website.
Am I missing anything
if you need help you only have to ask... and check out the wiring on my batteries on the trailer :P
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 17, 2017, 02:10:40 PM
if you need help you only have to ask... and check out the wiring on my batteries on the trailer :P

Thanks Bud, anytime you want me to have a look more than welcome to drop over

Post by: nab on July 24, 2017, 02:46:46 PM
PHOTOBUCKET HAS A HACK!!!!

Just add ~original to the end of the link and it works! (before the [/img])

Not sure for how long though. The pic below is hosted from Photobucket if it disappears then the loophole has been closed....

(http://i1380.photobucket.com/albums/ah189/jstanovic/kathleen_zpspvxnei8z.jpg~original) (http://s1380.photobucket.com/user/jstanovic/media/kathleen_zpspvxnei8z.jpg.html)
Post by: trinityalyce on July 24, 2017, 02:49:24 PM
PHOTOBUCKET HAS A HACK!!!!

Just add ~original to the end of the link and it works! (before the [/img])

Not sure for how long though. The pic below is hosted from Photobucket if it disappears then the loophole has been closed....

(http://i1380.photobucket.com/albums/ah189/jstanovic/kathleen_zpspvxnei8z.jpg~original) (http://s1380.photobucket.com/user/jstanovic/media/kathleen_zpspvxnei8z.jpg.html)

Nice job. Pity I went and redid most of my photos this morning. Using Imgur for now. Let's see how long it lasts...
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 24, 2017, 03:07:02 PM
(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Cars/Picture006-4.jpg~original) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/Cars/Picture006-4.jpg.html)

Ha ha ha ha.... that's friggin funny, it does work too.
Post by: Bird on July 24, 2017, 03:42:05 PM
Wonder if YouTube will be next ???
Post by: tryagain on July 24, 2017, 04:32:01 PM
Wonder if YouTube will be next ???

Google is a lot smarter than that. I think it currently has about 10B revenue/yr
Post by: shanegtr on July 24, 2017, 05:17:08 PM
I also noticed while playing around that I can use the direct link from photobucket with forum (http://tags added manually or the IMG link directly:
[img]http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a121/shanegtr/Cruiser/2003_0214New_Suspension0014.jpg)
Post by: shanegtr on July 24, 2017, 05:23:42 PM
I also noticed while playing around that I can use the direct link from photobucket with forum (http://tags added manually or the IMG link directly:
[img]http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a121/shanegtr/Cruiser/2003_0214New_Suspension0014.jpg)

Ok dont worry about that, dosent seem to work here (at least Im not seeing it)
Post by: Rumpig on July 24, 2017, 06:02:59 PM
Wonder how long the hack will last?....just successfully changed half a dozen pics in my 4wd build thread here, but tried another forum and it didn't work there.
Post by: xcvator on July 24, 2017, 07:39:26 PM
I played around with "Google Photos" today and found that if you do the following your pics will come up ok on the forum
1/ open google photos (der )
2/ select the photo you want to put in the forum
3/ Left click in it (that will open it in a different view)
4/ Right click
5/ Select "copy image location (left click )
6/ Open forum posting window
7/ Left click on insert image icon   (http://www.myswag.org/Themes/Sinful_Silver20_1/images/bbc/img.gif)     
8/ Right click on the dialogue box (NOT on the orange bit, leave that there ) and paste
9/ Left click "OK"   You're done
Post by: Bill on July 26, 2017, 06:49:34 AM
I did start building a website the other day to host my pictures but haven't quite got the hang of it.
But photobucket still worked when I put the photos of my storage boxes up in the my camper trailer thread...
Post by: sharkcaver on November 20, 2018, 09:49:12 PM
Rehashing an old thread......

Not sure if anyone has noticed, but the extortion PB tried to use on everyone must have failed.

PB now 3rd party host all your pics with no ~original or other workaround. They just watermark the image.

So I guess that is a win.

Pity those that deleted their pics or accounts. I left mine intact but swapped to google photo's as an alternate free hosting source. So My blog and forum posts from that era is back in business -but at some stage I will move all my blog to google when time permits.
Post by: cyberess on November 22, 2018, 08:46:27 AM
Why bother with Photobucket, I just use Imgbb  https://imgbb.com/ (https://imgbb.com/) for all the public forum stuff and Google photos for all of my private stuff.

Imgbb is just quick and easy to use.
Post by: Bird on May 07, 2019, 08:14:59 PM
Got email yesterday
After comign good and peoples pics working correctly they are once again changin the rules if anyone is left using them LOL

limited to 25meg bandwidth a mth unless you pay up...
once over limit you get blurry photos and a water mark on ya pics.

YAY PHOTOFUKET!a
Post by: sharkcaver on May 08, 2019, 08:14:47 PM
They had a limit before too, cant remember now how much it was. Sometimes when my blog got hammered, the pics would just disappear until the next month came around.

But anyway, photofu(ked it. Good riddance to them I say.
Post by: Pete79 on May 08, 2019, 08:21:27 PM
Can’t believe anyone would still be using them today.

If you had used the free service that got wiped, then reinstated with watermarks and you don’t care, that’s fine. But no way I would be using them for anything new after the crap they pulled.