Author Topic: Why would anyone buy a manual?  (Read 22748 times)

Offline Ranger07

Re: Why would anyone buy a manual?
« Reply #25 on: September 09, 2012, 09:54:04 AM »
My wife drives a manual GQ patrol and loves it doesn't want an auto.  As a matter of fact she's pulled our Hino truck out a couple of times of late when I've been bogged on a site.

« Reply #26 on: September 09, 2012, 09:57:54 AM »
Yes dual mass flywheels are expensive but you don't tend to break them unless you drive a Nissan.

And when that happens, you do what I'll be doing...
Getting a proper setup put in, which is cheaper, stronger and longer wearing  ;)

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #27 on: September 09, 2012, 10:03:28 AM »
Can you roll start a Manual Diesel?
If it is a modern one with a dead flat battery I would think not.
My reason is it has an electrical fuel cut of solenoid so no power no fuel.
The older mechanical injector pump (60series cruiser) you could remove the are from the edic motor and then start them.
Not sure when this changed. I think the 80 is the same but not the 100 onwards.
Nissans were harder to do but it was possible.

I have an Auto but would also have a Manual if it was available at the time.
Crisp Image

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

« Reply #28 on: September 09, 2012, 10:28:14 AM »
Can you roll start a Manual Diesel?
If it is a modern one with a dead flat battery I would think not.

Doesn't matter if you have a diesel or a petrol, if you have a dead flat battery you won't be able to roll start it.  You need a certain amount of voltage to run fuel pumps, ignition circuits, etc...

Online Hairs

« Reply #29 on: September 09, 2012, 10:37:51 AM »
My reason is it has an electrical fuel cut of solenoid so no power no fuel.
The older mechanical injector pump (60series cruiser) you could remove the are from the edic motor and then start them.
I've pushed started my old 91 1HD-T manual a couple of times when the battery as been cactus.
Even tho it is an effort to get them rolling, I done it  ;D

« Reply #30 on: September 09, 2012, 02:07:12 PM »
I much prefer the way the new generation autos and turbo diesels go together.   :cheers:

And an auto off road is sweeeeeet!

« Reply #31 on: September 09, 2012, 02:11:43 PM »
I much prefer the way the new generation autos and turbo diesels go together.   :cheers:

Offline JethroT

« Reply #32 on: September 09, 2012, 02:40:53 PM »
Maybe I'm showing my age but I enjoyed manuals when I was younger and kept losing my licence and annoying everyone else with a loud exhaust, but I have now fallen in love with the auto,  great in the sand where I usually drive.

I don't have any facts to back up my choice it's just better to drive.

Geoff
Regards, Geoff and Michele

Offline Eski

• Practising Grey Nomad
« Reply #33 on: September 09, 2012, 04:06:56 PM »
Auto's are NOT only for girls....   >:D

I love manuals but after a back injury I have trouble with the nerves to my left leg and have at times been stuck in the car as I couldn't get out because of the back pain..

I can drive a manual on the good days but I can drive an auto every day..    ;D
Kym
2022 Isuzu MU-X & Cheetah X-Country

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #34 on: September 09, 2012, 04:08:40 PM »
Is it true that the auto gearbox VW Amarok utes do not have Low-Range?

That's when I'd buy a Manual..

Offline Kirsty

• Proud driver of a pimped up '79 series ute..... :D
« Reply #35 on: September 09, 2012, 04:54:08 PM »
"Wife can use it......no"

What?!? 

Why get a licence, if you can't drive a manual if or when the occasion should call for it? 

I love driving manual cars....... never having owned an auto before or after I met Symon (Big Sparks Are Us)

Both of our cars are manual and diesel.....  and a lot of fun to drive.   :cheers:

Unless it is a work / company vehicle, auto vehicles have no place in our yard...  :laugh:

Offline DarWen

« Reply #36 on: September 09, 2012, 05:07:43 PM »
I'd be worried driving a auto after driving manual for so long, would probably try a put it in reverse on the go.

« Reply #37 on: September 09, 2012, 07:22:15 PM »
"Wife can use it......no"

What?!? 

Why get a licence, if you can't drive a manual if or when the occasion should call for it? 

I love driving manual cars....... never having owned an auto before or after I met Symon (Big Sparks Are Us)

Both of our cars are manual and diesel.....  and a lot of fun to drive.   :cheers:

Unless it is a work / company vehicle, auto vehicles have no place in our yard...  :laugh:

And that is why I married you dear :)

« Reply #38 on: September 09, 2012, 08:09:31 PM »
Because automatics are for girls :cheers:

I'm a girl.  My first car was an auto, but since then I've been manual the whole way!   ;D 

« Reply #39 on: September 10, 2012, 06:57:44 AM »
Is there any one out there that can pull apart an auto transmission or manual gear box and put back together without a manual, and know all the clearances and settings  . "Why would any one buy a manual ?" so we can pull things apart and put them back together.

Offline Pipeliner

• I'm too old to rough it!
« Reply #40 on: September 10, 2012, 08:04:17 AM »
I started driving 4x4s 30 years ago when no-one fitted an auto box in a working 4by.  When I bought my first one 9 years ago I specifically went for a manual diesel option because that was what I was used to and knew how to drive in difficult off-road conditions (steep hill descents, stall starts, etc).  I still drive a diesel manual, but I am not as committed to the manual as I was because automatic transmissions have improved considerably in recent years together with all the electronics that now give descent control and other features.

However I am wary of the fact that all these features rely on computers and various sensors and transducers to make them work:  for an extended trip well away from civilisation I would still prefer an older manual diesel 4x4 with minimal things to go wrong - a non-turbo diesel engine with mechanical injection may be low on power and fuel efficiency compared to a modern turbo but coupled with a manual gearbox there is very little to go wrong and anything that does can be easily fixed.

With regard to gearbox strength, I found it interesting that when my wife bought a 2010 CDTi Astra, the manual version came with a 110kW engine but the auto only had 88kW - was that just because GM didn't want the cost of putting in a 6-speed auto strong enough to match the 6-speed manual?
Camping is great as long as the mattress is inner spring!

Offline kiwipete

« Reply #41 on: September 10, 2012, 12:32:55 PM »
I also believed that the only good 4x4's were manuals but pretty much all the 80 Series autos were really good offroad (I wish I new that at the time)...   However my manual is making some strange noises and just about everyone including a very trust worthy mechanic said get a auto you will never regret it...
So that is what I have done I bought a automatic (a hydraulic one at that) so no electronics...  I will also fit a Nomad or Extreme Valve Body to help improve the transmission...
My 80 now days will be used manly for towing the CT and getting me back and forth from work so a auto suits me better and with the added power of the high flow turbo, 3" exhaust and intercooler this auto should go pretty well...
The cost for this change over is less that a manual gearbox rebuild and the only down side is that I may still end up having to rebuild this gearbox, but it may last a lifetime or not... and I have factored in that cost anyway....   
I am just so over clutches making this "nice for a change"....   I have had my 1991 HDJ80 for 12 years and won't be selling it as there is nothing out there better IMO - Besides it would have to be able to run B100 and this can and does so extremely well....

KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Explorer Campers & Canvas - Lawson Off Road
http://www.explorercampers.com.au/
Canberra

« Reply #42 on: September 10, 2012, 01:56:30 PM »
So many of these arguments go back to what used to be the best, and for sure there was once a time when having to get an auto to satisfy one's wife was a real sacrifice. However, the auto boxes of today barely resemble those old, power sucking, three speed slush boxes. Many drivers of modern Porsches and Ferraris can only achieve 400m times using the auto and launch control, because the system is so much much better and faster than they are at changing gears for instance.

It has been shown time after time that modern 4wd autos are superior to manual in most circumstances, the glaring exception being a lack of engine braking which has been addressed by the fitment of descent control to many models these days.

As for what you like, that is different from what is best. There are plenty of folks who still love the old MG B. In a large, powerful modern vehicle I choose the auto option every time. If I was buying an STI Impreza, then I'd go for a stick, because I agree that is the fun option.

« Reply #43 on: September 10, 2012, 01:58:10 PM »
It only came in a manual

Offline HKB Electronics

• www.hkbelect.com
    • HKB Electronics
« Reply #44 on: September 10, 2012, 02:36:27 PM »
Auto's are great, gear selection a lot easier, most times just let the auto select what it wants
and no worries about stalling the motor. Water crossings no problem with water in the clutch
or mud for that matter.

Magic on ring road at peak hour.

Have done over 200000 clicks and auto still performing faultlessly, no replaced clutches or
notchy gear box.

As for ease of repair, as I look after the auto and don't abuse it, change the fluid and filter as
required hopefully won't ever have to worry about that. 
HKB Electronics, manufacturer of the Alternator Voltage Boosters

« Reply #45 on: September 10, 2012, 02:37:55 PM »
Manuals are also safer.

Sorry the safety manager in me is now curious can you please elaborate on the above???

Offline aquadux

• It's great to be outdoors
« Reply #46 on: September 10, 2012, 02:58:22 PM »
My wife and I both prefer driving manuals but they seems harder and harder to come by.

We not long ago had to retire our 80 series Landcruiser (the mechanic could only make it comfortable), so we decided to get a diesel Prado. We searched and searched only to find that most are auto. I figure its due to all the mums who only use it to drop the kids at school (no offence to anyone).

We finally found a manual, but they are not very common these days.

Richard
Toyota Prado diesel
Jayco Discovery

Offline schmik

« Reply #47 on: September 10, 2012, 09:23:45 PM »
Why would anyone buy a manual?

Pretty simple really... I like changing gears.
In some situations it would be easier in an auto but I like the added challenge of changing gears.

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #48 on: September 10, 2012, 09:51:54 PM »
We've always owned manual cars except for the 3 V6 commodores we had
I've always been a manual driver and heel toe on the shifts
At present giving daughter no 1 lessons, she's getting a little down at the heel because too many of her friends are progressing with getting licences but they are going for auto only.
So we're going for a good country drive this weekend to Festers at Minden for some parts and hopefully the bakery across the road will be open to sell us some cream apple turnovers!!
Might make her feel better about things
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #49 on: September 10, 2012, 11:42:29 PM »
Having driven for close to 40 years, mostly manual cars and 3 x manual 4wds, my Cruiser is the 1st auto 4wd, and probably only the 3rd auto in my life. I also happen to have a heavy articulated licence.

Boy do I love the auto Cruiser. Stop start traffic is a breeze, off reading is a breeze. Yes it's got computers and relies on electronics. Perhaps they're the weak link. But even a manual has a weak link.
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum