Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730263 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4750 on: June 23, 2019, 12:28:48 PM »
Vinyl top on the center console lid in the old Hilux is all sun cracked and scratchy, Missus was on my case about it pulling threads etc on the sleeves her jumpers  and to go to an upholsterer to get it recovered ..

Nup,  $80 for that ... Not worth it, $10 off cut of vinyl as close to the color as possible from the upholsterer,  30 minutes to remove lid, make up a template / trim and glue up a  cover / refit... Industrial grade Superglue is great stuff..      Done,  stop the Nagging .  ;D  ;D
« Last Edit: June 23, 2019, 12:30:28 PM by edz »

« Reply #4751 on: June 26, 2019, 04:22:23 AM »
I currently have, about $900 worth of paints, thinners, primers, sandpapers, face masks and all the crap needed to paint Austin Powers.

I'm about halfway through assembling a makeshift spray booth so we can keep the crap to a minimum.
I've got my painter arriving Friday to start on the car.

Getting a 7 x 3 metre tarp as a roof for booth up was interesting on my own. (lucky its the Austin and not the Fleetwood.)

I taped a couple of white drop sheets to it, then flipped it and began attaching it to the trusses of the shed.
Now i'm doing the same with the walls and I have to make some sort of door for it, so the Austin can go in and out as required.
Probably end up with a roll up arrangement with a bit of alloy pipe (old pool broom handle) attached to it with a T handle, just to make life a bit easier.
It will never be a perfect spray booth, but something will be better than nothing, that's for sure.

I'm pretty keen to see the little jigger is its new paint.

We've matched the blue, so it will eliminate the need to repaint the interior and engine bay.
All of the blue in there is really good.
I went with a Mercedes's arctic white for the roof and sunvisor.

I've got cool little number plate "light bolts" due in today.
Small bolts with a slightly bigger head that contain an LED light for the plate.

« Reply #4752 on: June 27, 2019, 05:23:11 PM »
My temporary home made spray booth is ready to roll.
The lighting system I've put together is working well. (Only blew the circuit breakers twice)
The Austin is naked except for a G-string and a smile.
My painter is due here in the morning around 9am/ish.
He'll be staying with us until the paint work is done too.
I've got the shed all cleaned up and all the products ready.

Austin Powers is getting a make-over for the next few days.  :cup:

« Reply #4753 on: June 27, 2019, 08:31:10 PM »
Spent the morn creating a Finsker  set for a Mate that's doing it tuff at " Come By Chance NSW "
Anything l can do though small to try to ease his burdon by some is well worth doing for him .
                                 Drought is a real leaveler   .
l will deliver the Finsker set  to him & play with it ,  in a few weeks so he will know he is not forgotten .
                                             :cup: :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: db, edz

« Reply #4754 on: June 27, 2019, 08:41:31 PM »
Never heard of it before so had to look it up    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tPEVn1Xavb8    ..  :laugh: thought it may have been similar to quoits .
« Last Edit: June 27, 2019, 08:43:18 PM by edz »

« Reply #4755 on: June 30, 2019, 04:56:49 AM »
Hmmmm, crazed paint removal....  :'(

Back, arms, legs.... aching all over

We go into the booth? for some primer this morning.

« Reply #4756 on: July 02, 2019, 04:57:06 AM »
more of the same.... we have the white done..... i'm near stuffed.... blue today

« Reply #4757 on: July 03, 2019, 04:59:23 AM »
Geez, i'm stuffed... but we have a painted car now. (not very good pics)

Its nowhere as dark in the homemade spray booth as the photos would have you think either.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2019, 05:05:30 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #4758 on: July 03, 2019, 05:01:25 AM »
and some more...

We went with acrylic lacquer as the car had been painted in that previously.
We also had to match up to the interior, as the paint in there was pretty good.

For straight off the gun, its pretty bloody good.

It will sit now until next week when we 1200 wet rub it and then buff it.  :cup:
« Last Edit: July 03, 2019, 05:04:27 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #4759 on: July 03, 2019, 07:10:48 AM »
Looking good jeepers. Love the colour  :cheers:

« Reply #4760 on: July 03, 2019, 07:26:41 AM »
It should be finished and ready for sale in around 4 or 5 weeks with any luck.

« Reply #4761 on: July 04, 2019, 11:17:48 AM »
hmmm, from Tuesday. (looks darker from further in the booth)

« Reply #4762 on: July 04, 2019, 11:30:36 AM »
Looking good.
I hope you have some air extraction in you "booth". Some of the photos look a bit misty.

« Reply #4763 on: July 04, 2019, 12:35:10 PM »
Yeah, in the end, we zip tied a wall fan to the upright car ramp and taped it into the booth.

It worked in a Jeepers Creepers sort of way.  ???

Noel reckoned he could see what he was doing, it was blowing fumes out of the Tarpaulin Hilton, so we were happy.
I've had a headache for 2 days now, but I think that was from when I walked into the roller door and nearly took it out of the tracks.
It was positioned at about 180 cm up.
At 181 cm tall, I cracked it a ripper, as I was in a hurry.

Damn near knocked me out I think. (or maybe it was the fumes)

« Reply #4764 on: July 04, 2019, 04:43:59 PM »
I've had a headache for 2 days now,

Head like that, I'm not surprised  >:D

Offline sparksy

« Reply #4765 on: July 04, 2019, 05:09:27 PM »
Is that a little datsun 1200 in the engine room.

« Reply #4766 on: July 04, 2019, 05:35:40 PM »
Is that a little datsun 1200 in the engine room.

2 litre, single overhead cam, duel spark plug Nissan Pintara engine. (CA20)

Its pretty cool, 8 spark plugs, twin coils...... something a bit different.
5 Speed gearbox, so overdrive of course.
Power assisted Fiat disc brakes.
MK1 Cortina diff.
Telescopic shocks all around.
Sway bars front and rear.

It will be a good car for someone soon.  :cup:

« Reply #4767 on: July 05, 2019, 12:43:00 PM »
2 litre, single overhead cam, duel spark plug Nissan Pintara engine. (CA20)

Its pretty cool, 8 spark plugs, twin coils...... something a bit different.
5 Speed gearbox, so overdrive of course.
Power assisted Fiat disc brakes.
MK1 Cortina diff.
Telescopic shocks all around.
Sway bars front and rear.

It will be a good car for someone soon.  :cup:

But she's never going to win a Concours as an original-in-all-respects vehicle! ;D

« Reply #4768 on: July 05, 2019, 04:14:12 PM »
Ha ha ha, no....  ;D

I'm keen to get this one registered so I can drive it around a bit.

We'll take it to a couple of cruise nights etc.

Anything with fins, chrome bumpers, quarter windows and dipper switch on the floor, i reckon is pretty cool.
Add in whitewalls, metal sunvisor, 8 spark plugs and wide steel wheels, then i'm really happy.

« Reply #4769 on: July 06, 2019, 05:23:22 PM »
EDIT, fixed the picture links.

Was wet and miserable all day, so a good day to tinker in the shed with some beer and thinking music  ;D

Got a trip coming up that will involve lots of alternate days driving with and without the trailer, so the plan was to fit up some in-cab controls for the airbags..........just cause I'm old, fat, and lazy. Already had a compressor mounted under the seat, so all I had to do was acquire the bits and work out how to mount them. Pic 1- Here's the electrical and plumbing bits i was planning to jigsaw together.

Started by making a mounting plate for the hardware. Used a scrap bit of 4mm ABS I had lying around. cut it to size and then baked it in the oven until it was all soft and wobbly, then I pressed it into the shape of the floor under the seat and held it in place until it cooled. Then I could do a rough-in of the plumbing and solenoids to check everything was going to fit. Pic 2- Here's a picture of the rough-in.

Pic 3- And then with the plumbing and electrical all mounted and connected-

Once I'd worked out where everything was going to go, the base plate was attached using the bolts from the compressor mount, then the compressor was remounted, everything connected and pressure tested all the joints......typically, one of the joints leaked, and it had to be the one that required complete disassembly to get at to fix  >:( Pic 4- Here's a picture of all the under seat stuff done-

Then it was time to move up to the control panel. It was more arse than a busload of poofters, but the store bought panel was almost exactly the right size to fit into the ashtray hole of a 70 series, just had to trim 5mm from the top edge so the gauge cleared the bottom lip of the hole in the dash and file about 1mm off each side. There was a bit of dicking around with the wiring as there were 4 wires for each momentary button, and 7 wires for the gauge, but it's all hooked up to be powered from accessory. The digital read out for the gauge is on when ever the ignition is, but when the dash lights come on, the display dims to half light, and the 4 buttons are illuminated. I may end up disconnecting the lights in the buttons as I think they may be a bit bright, although they are down quite low so I wont really know until after I've done a decent night drive?
edit- I've since wired the illumination for the 4 buttons to feed from the compressor switch, so they only come on when the compressor is turned on.
Pic 5- Anyway, here's a picture of the dash display-

« Last Edit: July 06, 2020, 07:37:58 AM by Spada »

« Reply #4770 on: July 06, 2019, 05:33:26 PM »
Very flash Spada  :cup:
The following users thanked this post: Spada

« Reply #4771 on: July 06, 2019, 06:09:49 PM »
Some very clever blokes on this site, I can assure you I ain't one of them when it comes to mechanics or electrical. ???

« Reply #4772 on: July 07, 2019, 05:57:35 PM »
Despite finishing drinking with my BIL at 4am this morning, today I somehow mustered up the strength to knock up a set of trestles to build my trailer on.

Space is a bit of a premium in my little shed, so I couldn’t make a proper set of solid welding stands.
At least these ones can fold down flat and get stashed away when I’m done.
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #4773 on: July 07, 2019, 09:21:39 PM »
" STOLEN "   !!     ..    ;D ;D  Thanks Pete, same issue with space ..

« Reply #4774 on: July 07, 2019, 09:54:36 PM »
I wanted to use RHS or channel iron to give me a flat working surface that I can clamp stuff onto.
But I had the tube and angle iron in my steel rack and my brain wasn’t up for figuring out any sort of fancy hinges and stuff today... ;)