Author Topic: Advice for first time CT buyer  (Read 2027 times)

mjryan

Advice for first time CT buyer
« on: February 06, 2015, 11:29:34 PM »
Hi all and thanks in advance for any advice offered. I have been researching CT's for about 6 months now and have changed my mind at least twice that number of times on which one suits our needs. My wife and I have 3 small children aged between 2 and 6 and we generally spend 2 - 3 weeks camping per year spread between national park camping and caravan park camping. I convinced my wife we should look at getting a CT so that we can head off far more quickly than it currently takes for me to pack/unpack our trailer each time we go away. Doing overnight trips over the weekend would hopefully become practical as we wouldn't have hours of packing/unpacking time for each trip. So goes my theory and selling pitch to my wife anyway  ;D

I discounted hard floor rear folds early on due to price and restricted size. My mother has a cheap imported soft floor CT which I tried out but I discounted that CT style too as I don't like using a ladder to climb up to the bed and don't want to have to crawl over my partner, or her over me, to exit the bed. I really like the extenda style CT's and I was set on a Trackabout Safari SV Extenda for a long time due to it's great design, quality and size. My thoughts changed recently after a camping trip to a caravan park. The site was only 6m x 6m and I realised the Safari SV Extenda wouldn't fit. If I had an extenda style CT, and I wanted to go to a caravan park, I would need to check the site size every time I booked to ensure it was large enough to fit the CT and I may then be limited to where I can go due to it's size.