Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506411 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #125 on: December 14, 2016, 03:56:19 PM »

« Reply #126 on: December 15, 2016, 12:04:08 PM »
Have been working on this one recently.

« Reply #127 on: December 15, 2016, 04:48:04 PM »
Noice

Offline lukeycat

« Reply #128 on: December 16, 2016, 05:00:14 AM »
I've never seen one in the flesh, but one in this condition for sale, doesn't come up very often.

I think I need it  ;D
That's a good looking car

« Reply #129 on: December 16, 2016, 06:05:00 AM »

« Reply #130 on: December 16, 2016, 06:39:03 AM »
This O'l girl would be a hoot to drive https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALTALFMmxIA and of it in action, just love that Turbo whine at boost  in the second vid .https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5kr5CsS8KI

« Reply #131 on: December 16, 2016, 04:59:49 PM »
I wish this tilt tray was unloading at my place.

Rare colour combo on this one, only convertibles came in black with a red interior, making this a special order.
All original, 36,000 miles or thereabouts.
What a find huh.

« Reply #132 on: December 18, 2016, 10:46:52 PM »
Well in this case, It was a cool car even if it had been crashed and wasnt perfect [ Dont think it was crashed ], But what sort of Goose would do this to a hard to find Falcon Hard top .
 If you were going to go to this level of work, Surely rebuilding a roughy and having a collectable original style car in good condition would merit the effort more so than ending up as Frankensteins deformed ugly half brother .
### Language warning ###   Wonder if he watched too much London Garage Chop Shop and got his inspiration from that Indian Lepue guy .https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Da5JkEOowxk  .
« Last Edit: December 18, 2016, 10:55:01 PM by edz »

« Reply #133 on: December 18, 2016, 10:56:57 PM »
Looks like he saved the money to do the job, by driving around in an old Cortina.

« Reply #134 on: December 18, 2016, 11:28:04 PM »
The Cortina would be worth more than the Abomination its parked behind . ;D ;D

« Reply #135 on: December 19, 2016, 08:03:35 AM »
The Cortina would be worth more than the Abomination its parked behind . ;D ;D

The spare wheel on the boat trailer would be worth more than the abomination.  ;D

« Reply #136 on: December 19, 2016, 08:10:29 AM »
 :cup: :cheers:

« Reply #137 on: December 19, 2016, 02:28:42 PM »
I reckon its yours Edz.  :D

« Reply #138 on: December 19, 2016, 02:35:40 PM »
I reckon F**** O* R*****h D**p subbied out the creation of an Aussie Coupe to go with their current model.
The contractor is obviously a bit behind with making delivery.

« Reply #139 on: December 19, 2016, 03:01:54 PM »
I don't know if it ever got finished,  but good on who ever it is that's doing it. Stick it up the purists and the knockers. Most who critisize his work couldn't even tighten a chain on a kids bike, let alone join two cars together that have been built 30 years apart.
It's a damn sight better than that sedan with the ute tub spotted to the back in the other thread  ;D

It's all well and good to cut up a Shoebox and stick the front on the back and back to front to create an I dunno what,  but only if you're a big time name. Hell, you'll even win awards for it ;D

But if you're a nobody,  these days you're going to get nuthing but criticized,  generally by smaller nobodies :D

Good on them for having a go. That's a massive task to undertake.

Edit:
Now that I think about it, it wasn't even a Shoebox, was an old Holden.  FE, FB ?
« Last Edit: December 19, 2016, 03:07:30 PM by Footy Shorts Shane »

Offline lukeycat

« Reply #140 on: December 19, 2016, 04:04:56 PM »
I don't know if it ever got finished,  but good on who ever it is that's doing it. Stick it up the purists and the knockers. Most who critisize his work couldn't even tighten a chain on a kids bike, let alone join two cars together that have been built 30 years apart.
It's a damn sight better than that sedan with the ute tub spotted to the back in the other thread  ;D

It's all well and good to cut up a Shoebox and stick the front on the back and back to front to create an I dunno what,  but only if you're a big time name. Hell, you'll even win awards for it ;D

But if you're a nobody,  these days you're going to get nuthing but criticized,  generally by smaller nobodies :D

Good on them for having a go. That's a massive task to undertake.

Edit:
Now that I think about it, it wasn't even a Shoebox, was an old Holden.  FE, FB ?
Have to agree not my cup of tea but a lot of engineering has gone into that.

« Reply #142 on: December 19, 2016, 05:13:45 PM »
Jesus H Christ...... this won't be fixed with a buff and polish.

Good reason not to drive a rusty car.

https://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/cars-for-sale/chevrolet/impala/1900860.html

« Reply #143 on: January 07, 2017, 04:35:04 PM »

Offline BS61

SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #144 on: January 08, 2017, 10:47:47 AM »
Here are a couple of my old whips past and present.

First was a chopped fe ute with a grey motor and Toyota 4 speed. The chop was done when I had it but the whole car was pretty rotten.

Next was an EJ wagon. Once again typical old holden it was a bit rotten and I kind of regret getting rid of this one. I would love to get hold of another EJ wagon one day

At the same time I had the EJ my daily was this old Cherokee chief. It was a bit rough but I loved it and once again kind of wish I kept it and ironed it out a bit. It ran a 350 chev on gas and turbo 400 with the tcase adapted to it. Would have towed the camper trailer along nicely!! Driving a dark old car with a V8 in qld summer became a bit much though so being a bit soft I sold it as I had my eye on something else.

The all time car my wife and I have always wanted was an Ek holden. A pretty solid car came up just after I sold the jeep so my wife and I jumped on it. It was a Toowoomba car all its life and had been Regod and on the road its whole life so it had a few battle scars but it had always been well maintained. We put the whitewalls and cruising skirts on it and cruised it for a few years before It started getting a bit tired and I took it off the road. It is currently undergoing a bit of a major freshen up.

Lots of service history

Current state. I've almost cured it of cancer.. it's new heart awaits

While the Ek is off the road we needed something old to keep cruising in. We ended up buying the old 65 Belair my wife grew up in. The owner we bought it of had neglected it a bit since it was in her family so it needed a few mechanicals sorted to make it a reliable family cruiser. Because of this we got it real cheap. We have since sold this one too and once again probably should have held onto it.. especially after all the work we did to it but I made pretty good money on this one. The guy I sold it to bought it sight unseen and drove it all the way back to Gladstone. When we first bought it you wouldn't have driven it to the end of the street.

So apart from the Ek I also have a ha/gr car I am building. For those unfamiliar these are a throw back to the early post war rail cars. Yes im a glutton for punishment with a super understanding wife...

I love this thread. Sorry for hogging it

« Last Edit: January 08, 2017, 11:10:39 AM by BS61 »
The following users thanked this post: Squalo

« Reply #145 on: January 08, 2017, 11:59:04 AM »
Hog away mate, hog away.  :cup:  :cheers:

« Reply #146 on: January 09, 2017, 07:00:56 AM »
Got to have some period sounds to go with those photo's above https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mlOUJUHgM1U    And  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2dEpdVwGnCU  ..
Love the Allison V12 Aero engine dragster with dual rear tires in the second vid, Would have had a minimum  of 1710 ci and 1000 Hp  ;D
Notice the front mounted direct drive crank driven supercharger of the winning dragster at the vids end .
« Last Edit: January 09, 2017, 07:31:19 AM by edz »

« Reply #147 on: January 10, 2017, 06:29:05 PM »
You never really appreciated what you had till it's gone, right.

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #148 on: January 10, 2017, 06:40:53 PM »
Was talking to a guy today who had a whole bunch of cars that are now collectible. Monaro, hq 1 toner, get Falcons.

Offline BS61

« Reply #149 on: January 11, 2017, 05:23:11 AM »

Yeah spot on.