Author Topic: Joined the Club!  (Read 7513 times)

Offline Cracker Jack

Joined the Club!
« on: June 11, 2015, 01:55:41 PM »
Hey Folks

Well, my wife and I went to the Brisbane Caravan and Camping Show and got hooked on camper trailers for future adventures with our 2 kids (3.5 and 6 months).

Rightly or wrongly we ended up with a GIC Black Series Patron Model. It suited our budget and needs as we liked the idea of all sleeping up off the ground. To be fair they gave us a pretty good deal throwing in a heap of extras for nix.

I have read a few bad raps on GIC campers, but as many good ones as well, so I guess we are in the lap of the gods. I can't see us out in the middle of the Simpson Desert or hard-core 4WD'ing any time soon, so hopefully it will meet our needs and expectations.

We currently have a 2011 Nissan Navara D40 4x4 which I plan on towing the bad boy around with.

I'd appreciate any advice particularly on towing set ups and whether the Navara will cope as well as any feedback on the Patron camper.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Joined the Club!
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2015, 02:13:22 PM »
Welcome mate,

The following users thanked this post: Cracker Jack

Offline Coiled

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2015, 02:34:46 PM »
Welcome!!

There is no need to excuse your purchase. I think most on here would agree that the important thing is that you made an informed decision on what you think is the right product for you.

Now the important thing is to get out and enjoy it. I love getting away regularly with my wife, 2.5yr son or mates or a combination of. Usually it is quality time in the absence of electronics and really like the fact that it is keeping my son away from ipads and tvs etc.

Michael
2013 Nissan Patrol Y61
2015 Kimberley Karavan Eco Suite

« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2015, 02:53:06 PM »
It will suit you fine I reckon and you will have a ball. As for the navara leave it as is until you have towed the ct a bit. It may be fine. Only thing to remember is NO airbags on dual cabs

« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2015, 04:31:18 PM »
Welcome Cracker Jack,
                                Enjoy you camps and travels.......Don't forget to send pic's..... :worthless:

The following users thanked this post: sol, Cracker Jack

Offline Hawk2014

« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2015, 04:33:45 PM »
The Navara will have no probs towing your ct.

Offline speedhump

• Going places ... others dream!
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2015, 05:01:00 PM »

Welcome to My Swag.
Speedhump
Speedhump
2013 triton 4WD dual cab
2016 New Age Wallaby Caravan
4.55m Makocraft runabout & Quintrex 350 cartopper
Our Blog: chezzastravels.wordpress.com

« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2015, 05:05:09 PM »
G'day and welcome to myswag.  Congrats on the new CT  :cup:  I look forward to reading of your camping adventures.

« Last Edit: June 11, 2015, 05:13:19 PM by KingBilly »

Offline grantxx

« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2015, 05:08:21 PM »
Hi and welcome, just checked that trailer on their web site, pretty flash bit of gear, really like forward fold style seem to make most of the space.

As far as towing Navara should be fine at a guess, is well under 2t,

Dont forget, when it is home -   :worthles:

« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2015, 05:26:39 PM »
Welcome and well done with your new GIC,
Have fun and enjoy the camping,

Offline GregP

« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2015, 09:24:27 PM »
Welcome to My Swag.
Congratulations on the new camper.
Hope the wait isn't to long.
Get out there and enjoy it with your family.
GregP
GU Patrol

Cavalier Off Road

« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2015, 04:24:25 PM »
As long as you like it mate, that's all that counts.  If you listened to every bad review of products you would never buy anything.  Enjoy it mate and welcome. 

« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2015, 06:20:34 PM »
Welcome Cracker Jack. congrats on ya camper.  :cheers:  :worthles:

« Reply #13 on: June 14, 2015, 11:12:49 PM »
Looking forward to seeing some pics of your new Camper.

Offline Cracker Jack

« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2015, 09:14:12 AM »
Thanks folks.

I had a call from GIC and they reckon only a 5 or 6 week wait, so hopefully the camper is ready by late July.

My wife and I have already planned a couple of trial runs just to test it out, then who knows where we might end up.

If anyone is looking for a good weekend away the Tara Festival of Culture and Camel Races are on 31 July - 2 August. Free camping associated with the event. It is a cracker of a weekend. :laugh:

Offline Trailer Bloke

• You never know what's around the corner
« Reply #15 on: September 28, 2015, 02:22:43 PM »
Welcome mate enjoy the forum and your new C T.

Offline pdbandit

« Reply #16 on: September 29, 2015, 07:10:33 PM »
Well done for making the decision.Sounds like you thought the process through and did what you felt was right. There is a massive range out there and we all do what we think is right.Hope you have fun over the coming years and share those experiences with us all.