Author Topic: New owner of Jayco Swan 2006  (Read 7242 times)

Offline Wazzbat

• Thanked at home : 0 times
New owner of Jayco Swan 2006
« on: April 21, 2015, 07:55:07 AM »

Like most newcomers, I've been lurking around the pages for a while.  I'm in Perth and I've just bought a 2006 Jayco Swan (not the outback model) for what I though was a good price ($13,500) and it's in good nic.  My wife and two boys (9 & 7) are pretty excited.

I'd like to make a few mods including underslung axle, bigger tyres and/or rims/brakes/springs etc, gas struts to front boot, dual battery system and possibly some solar, replace internal lights with LEDs (strip lights on the way) and replace all the tow lights with new LEDs (which I've found the whole set now so just waiting for prices but looks like around the $250 mark for 11 lights - will post part numbers and pricing once I get them).

I'll be towing with my 98 Patrol 4.5L gas guzzler for now.  To start with, we'll be hitting up caravan parks until we get used to the new girl and work out what we need/want.  Then, as we get to know her a little better, I'm hoping to head a bit further from civilisation.

I'm sure I'll be posting heaps of questions and comments here in the next few months and looking forward to hearing everyones feedback.

Wazzbat
Towing Rig - 98 Gas Guzzling 4.5L Patrol          CT - 06 Jayco Swan          Luggage - 1 Wife, 2 kids.

Offline McTavish

Re: New owner of Jayco Swan 2006
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2015, 08:36:48 AM »
Welcome to Myswag Wazzbat.   Congrats on the purchase.   
Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??

« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2015, 12:24:13 PM »
Welcome to another west aussie. Where abouts are ya?

I reckon you have the right idea, use the thing a few times to work out what you do/don't like and then get the grinder out!!!

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2015, 06:39:31 PM »
Welcome mate and enjoy the new toy!

Offline Wazzbat

« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2015, 09:35:21 PM »
Thanks Guys

In the Vic Park area nab.
Towing Rig - 98 Gas Guzzling 4.5L Patrol          CT - 06 Jayco Swan          Luggage - 1 Wife, 2 kids.

« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2015, 05:10:51 AM »

Welcome Wazzbat.......Look forward to hearing of your mods and travels

       Got a mate who lives in Vic. park

« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2015, 06:35:41 AM »
Welcome to MySwag, enjoy your stay and keep us up to date on your travels and mods

« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2015, 06:41:47 AM »
Hi and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2015, 11:02:17 AM »
Welcome Wazzbat,

Sounds like you have a good start to your camping,
Enjoy the camping and the Mods,

Offline Wazzbat

« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2015, 08:41:01 PM »

Offline Palmer

« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2015, 08:58:37 PM »
Sounds like a great set-up you will be using.

Offline BrindiCruiser

« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2015, 09:02:23 PM »
I bet it feels great to have made the decision and heaps of looking. Welcome

2010 Kia Sorrento, 2013 Outback Swan

Offline jw2170

« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2015, 10:03:23 PM »
Our first 'camper trailer' was a Jayco Swan.   Very happy with its. Only sold it when we found that we were not using it very often.
Jim & Maree
Sydney NSW

Hilux and soft floor camper.

Offline Wazzbat

« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2015, 04:56:04 AM »
Ok.  So in the middle of our first test run at my parents backyard south of Perth and spent plenty of time cleaning inside (needed it badly).  We're all loving the set up and getting a good comfy sleep but...
Have found the following problems...
1. The bag awning and annexe is a right PITA!  Takes way too long to set up - need something easier Or it's only going up for minimum 1 week+ stays.
2. Jayco finishes are a disgrace.  Need to replace busted out rivets everywhere.  I did expect this before buying a Jayco though. Also curtains falling out of tracks where screws have opened it up - not sure about a fix for that???
3. Tried out LED strip (by holding in place) and is def a goer.  Will install when I get chance As there's not much light at night.
4. Going to add 12v water pump to my mods to do List.

Other than that, we're very happy with our purchase and I can't wait to get started on the mods (just wish I had more spare time to do them).

Offline jonnomcnally

« Reply #14 on: August 12, 2015, 10:51:25 PM »
G'day wazzbat, we also have just pickup up an 06 swan outback and I'm keen to upgrade the tow lights to LED.  You mentioned you found a set, where did you find them and what's the deets?

We have a problem with the tail and marker lights blowing a fuse in the car, so thinking LED's could be an option to reduce the load on the car's circuit... Just a thought.

Great van and like you, ours needs a fair amount of tlc before we head off.

Jmack

Offline Wazzbat

« Reply #15 on: September 15, 2015, 07:52:04 AM »
Hi JMac

Sorry haven't replied yet.  Been a while since I've logged on.

I got my tail lights from and front white outlines from Alanco in Welshpool.  Danny was very helpful. 

http://www.alanco.com.au/home.html

Stop/Tail Lights - LED-102RM  @  $33 ea inc gst
Indicators         - LED-102AM  @  $33 ea inc gst
Outlines           - 44WWME     @  $18 ea inc gst

I got my Red/Amber side markers and number plate light on ebay...

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2-X-WHITEVISION-LED-LARGE-SIDE-MARKER-CARAVAN-TRUCK-BUS-TRAILER-REPLACEMENT-WAPS-/291188476396

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NARVA-LED-LICENCE-PLATE-LAMP-CARAVAN-CAMPER-LIGHT-LIGHTS-TRAILER-90862W-WHITE-/221315935267

I also bought these replacement LED lamps for the internal lights.  I bought two sets which gives you enough for all the lights (from memory)?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4x-48-SMD-LED-PANEL-LIGHT-White-Car-Interior-Bulb-Lamp-T10-BA9S-Dome-Adapter-NEW-/131334617928

I had to re drill the front lights because the holes don't line up quite right for the cable but it's any easy job.  I just screwed straight into the fibreglass without pre drilling and I used a good quality Auto Mastic on the front and side lights.  I didn't use any mastic on the tail, indicator or number plate lights.

Hope that helps!