Author Topic: Newbie from Cairns FNQ  (Read 7127 times)

Newbie from Cairns FNQ
« on: April 03, 2013, 02:47:13 PM »
Hi everyone, just joined the forum today. 
Looks like a good forum with heaps of info on campers.

We love our camping and 4wding, and have our camper trailer on order.  Hopefully get it home before the end of this month.
Anyways, see you around the forum.  Muz

Newbie from Cairns FNQ
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2013, 03:00:54 PM »
Welcome aboard Muz. What type of camper have you ordered?

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
Re: Newbie from Cairns FNQ
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2013, 03:07:34 PM »
Afternoon

Good to see someone else from up here

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2013, 03:11:24 PM »
Welcome Muz.  Look forward to seeing some photos of your new CT.

« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2013, 03:15:19 PM »
G'day & Welcome Muz.

Sorry it took a while to get you in, and now you'll never leave.

Which camper have you bought?

« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2013, 03:25:00 PM »
Hi Muzza and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2013, 04:18:11 PM »
We are buying this one below from Brumby Trailers in Darwin.  Our will be black with inderpendant suspension.

It is a chinese import.  We spent ages looking over Oz made and China made campers.  Hopefully we won't regret our decision.  I have budgeted $2000 straight up.  This is to get all welds checked and re-welded where necessary.  Change the hubs from 6 stud to 5 stud cruza.  Remove the chinese copy treg hitch and replace with OM Treg hitch.  Replace 4 shockers with foam cells and fit a bash plate to the underneath to protect the water tank etc.

I will be fitting the anderson plugs, battery wiring, and some extra lighting.  The trailer will be sitting on black sunnies with BFG All Terrains.  I have BFG KM2's on the cruza.

« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2013, 05:30:00 PM »
G'day Muzza and welcome.
Good to see another Nth Qlder on here. ;D

Offline RachGlenEm

« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2013, 07:48:13 PM »
welcome mate, I'm sure like all of us you are itching to get ur camper and put your stamp on it. Hope you have many a great trip and memories in it. Beautiful part of the country ur from, can't wait to get back again...cheers :-)
Rach,Glen & Em
2008 Dual Cab Hilux
2" OME Suspension,
2011 All Terrain

« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2013, 08:21:35 PM »
welcome mate, I'm sure like all of us you are itching to get ur camper and put your stamp on it. Hope you have many a great trip and memories in it. Beautiful part of the country ur from, can't wait to get back again...cheers :-)

Thanks RachGlenEm, I was born and bread up here but spent the best part of 20 years living away from here while I was in the Military.  Traveled your way to the Blue MTN's quite a bit camping and 4wding oh and the kids soccer.  We used to live in Glossodia in the Hawkesbury area up until 5 1/2 years ago. 

« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2013, 08:28:35 PM »
Welcome to MySwag. Great to see some more FNQ members........

Offline Turbojohn

« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2013, 09:00:02 PM »
Welcome aboard :cheers:

Offline Armadillo & Customline Campers

• Aussie Made, Aussie Owned, Aussie Tough.
    • Customline Camper Trailers
« Reply #12 on: April 05, 2013, 02:29:23 PM »
Welcome muzza01,
This is a great place to learn new mods and share ideas.
Just remember when you change your 6 stud to 5 stud cruza check the off set of the rims.
Normaly 100 and 105 cruzas have a bigger off set.
And don't for get the pics we love pics on here.

Rod.....
www.customline.com.au
Rod@customline.com.au
www.armadillocampers.com.au
https://scontent-a-nrt.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/t31.0-8/10479144_653750608056996_765917182289645688_o.jpg

« Reply #13 on: April 05, 2013, 02:41:03 PM »
Yeah Ta for that.  Methinks the hub changeover is not going to be as easy as it sounds.  The trailer currently has 15 inch cruza 6 stud rims (75 series i reckon).  As I have the live axle cruza (105) this has the same offset as the old 15 inch 75 series.  I am pretty sure it does.  Replacing the rolling diameter from 29" to 32.5 on a hard flor camper is going to present more problems.
I would rather go thru the hard yards now and have matching rims and tyres.

Offline Armadillo & Customline Campers

• Aussie Made, Aussie Owned, Aussie Tough.
    • Customline Camper Trailers
« Reply #14 on: April 05, 2013, 03:02:18 PM »
Yeah Ta for that.  Methinks the hub changeover is not going to be as easy as it sounds.  The trailer currently has 15 inch cruza 6 stud rims (75 series i reckon).  As I have the live axle cruza (105) this has the same offset as the old 15 inch 75 series.  I am pretty sure it does.  Replacing the rolling diameter from 29" to 32.5 on a hard flor camper is going to present more problems.
I would rather go thru the hard yards now and have matching rims and tyres.

As standard we use a 68in axel.
For a 105 we use a 70in and 100 use a 72in.
Hope this helps you.

Rod....
www.customline.com.au
Rod@customline.com.au
www.armadillocampers.com.au
https://scontent-a-nrt.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/t31.0-8/10479144_653750608056996_765917182289645688_o.jpg

« Reply #15 on: April 05, 2013, 03:25:33 PM »
Ta.  The camper we are getting has ind suspension so axle width won't be a problem.  I am looking at the HD hub replacement (heavy and chunky with Over-sized bearings).  most likely change the shockies but hopefully won't have to change the springs.  wait and see.  Thanks again.

« Reply #16 on: April 05, 2013, 04:15:55 PM »
G'day Muzza,

Welcome to the forum... good luck with the new camper...... i'll have to keep an eye out for ya!

Barrabart.

« Reply #17 on: April 05, 2013, 04:35:43 PM »
Thanks Bart.  I am just down the road from you a little in Goldsborough.

« Reply #18 on: April 07, 2013, 09:43:54 AM »

Hi muzza,

It is great to see another FNQ member joining up, we do live in a wonderful part of Australia. The FNQ members have the odd get-together every now and then and you are more than welcome to join in, Christmas at Woodleigh Station the odd dinner get-together or camp away.
I see that you have stuck your name up on  below link. When ever we have a planned get-together Teabag will send out a bulk PM.

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=10992.150

Cheers duggie

« Reply #19 on: April 07, 2013, 10:03:55 AM »
Thanks Duggie,
Looking forward to catching up.  Cheers Muz.

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2013, 06:49:38 PM »
Welcome Muzza

Marv

Offline FalcOn

Newbie from Cairns FNQ
« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2013, 09:45:43 PM »
Hi Muzza... Good luck with the new rig, I know how confusing it is making the decision. You must be itching for the first trip, remember the pillows and you will do better than our maiden voyage!

« Reply #22 on: April 08, 2013, 06:08:29 AM »
Welcome muzza01.

« Reply #23 on: April 09, 2013, 07:35:41 PM »
Thanks guys, really enjoying the forum and looking forward to catching up with some of you FNQ guys.

Offline RachGlenEm

« Reply #24 on: April 10, 2013, 08:34:58 PM »
Thanks RachGlenEm, I was born and bread up here but spent the best part of 20 years living away from here while I was in the Military.  Traveled your way to the Blue MTN's quite a bit camping and 4wding oh and the kids soccer.  We used to live in Glossodia in the Hawkesbury area up until 5 1/2 years ago.
Its such a small world. I work in Nth Richmond at the hospital up there. Got a few good friends who still live in Glossy. The Hawkesbury is a nice place but I certainly think you are now in the pick of them. If I could live 1/2 the year in the mountains here and the other 1/2 up ur way id be a very happy man :-)
Rach,Glen & Em
2008 Dual Cab Hilux
2" OME Suspension,
2011 All Terrain