Author Topic: Pajero and Cub supermatic escape  (Read 7407 times)

Offline Streety

Pajero and Cub supermatic escape
« on: March 22, 2013, 11:14:43 PM »

I'm Ross and my wife and I  have a just purchased a MY10 Pajero GLX to tow our camper around.

We have had the cub for almost a year and so far we all have loved the great outdoors so much we decided to invest in a 4wd to get us a bit further in, Normally I tow the van around with my work car, a VE commodore which does a great job but obviously the 2wd has its restrictions. We love the beach and really want to do a bit of beach camping.
This is our set up so far (these pics were taken as we were packing up)

A few friend have 4wd's and the first short trip away is planned for somewhere near Noosa (Can't remember if it's Noosa North shore or not) in the coming weeks, It's just a over nighter but I am really excited about it.

I plan on lifting the suspension on the camper to give it a bit more ground clearance, installing a box on the a frame and relocating the spare wheel to under the rear of the van.

I came on here after being referred by a bloke on the Pajero club of vic forum.

My back ground is in car racing, we have 2 evos (Evo VIII and Evo II) and I have just built a Hyundai Excel for the NSW excel series.
I have been racing for over 20 years and have been to pretty much every track on the eastern side of Australia which is a pretty cool way to spend your time :)

really looking forward to getting my Paj and Cub up to spec
MY10 NT Pajero and 2006 Cub Supermatic Escape
a few EVO's and Excel cup car

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
Re: Pajero and Cub supermatic escape
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2013, 05:11:54 AM »
Gday Ross, welcome to MySwag mate ;D
You'll find heaps of info here for doing the mods to your Cub.
Nice choice with the paj too, we just got one ourselves!

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2013, 06:07:19 AM »
Welcome Ross!

Seems like you have some stuff to do to you new tug and the trailer! Plenty of people on here to ask if you have a question.

Enjoy your stay and safe travels

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2013, 06:40:37 AM »
Welcome Ross

Great looking car , nice blank canvas to work from.   Great name as well :cup:

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2013, 07:42:47 AM »
welcome!
Tell us more about this Excel series.. I haven't heard of that!

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2013, 10:13:37 AM »
Welcome to MySwag Ross, a great combination to get out and about.

Offline Streety

« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2013, 12:02:29 PM »
welcome!
Tell us more about this Excel series.. I haven't heard of that!

A friend and I started were looking to get on the track a bit cheaper than what it costs to take our evos, Being I am from QLD I have seen the excel series up here and he is from NSW there is nothing like it down there so we decided to make our own.
The series is based on a a relatively standard excel and low build cost with control items.
A car could be built and on the track for as little as $3,500 which for those that aren't privvy to the costs of racing this is just over the  cost to do 1 race round with a evo. 
Here is the forum link
http://nswercs.com/forum/index.php

These are some photos of my car. pre cage and seat

Control suspension package

Suspension fitted and on its way to Sydney to get ready for the season

The car is at AGI roll cages now having the seat and cage fitted ready for the series innaugarul race at wakefield park near Goulborn in April

Offline Streety

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2013, 12:05:03 PM »
Thanks for the warm replies, I am really looking forward to getting in a getting the set up just the way I want it

Should I start a thread somewhere to showcase my experiments?

« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2013, 07:37:30 PM »
Hi Ross and welcome to My Swag

Nice set up mate :cup:

Offline GeeTee

« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2013, 08:15:13 PM »
Streety...well, I'll be stuffed!   ;D

Myself and a few racing mates were planning (ie: drinking beer to) an 'Excel Challenge' kind of idea around 12 months ago... Use the later Twin Cam units with the Chiptorque (I think? Maybe it was my ol' mate Donnan who did it) twin-throttle conversion manifold, control cage, tyres etc. You can't give Excels away...so they'd make excel-ent (!) budget track cars

Budget racing (hillclimbs): I do these:

« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 08:21:38 PM by GeeTee »

Find us on Facebook

Offline Streety

« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2013, 09:19:16 PM »
Haha, plenty of room to get on board if you would like!!!

Here is some pics of our other cars

« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2013, 06:01:33 AM »
Welcome Streety,
Looks like you are a busy boy !!!
Have fun with the new car and keep us informed on you Mods.I'm sure that there will be plenty.

Offline GeeTee

« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2013, 07:43:07 AM »
don't tempt me Streety

Find us on Facebook

Offline Streety

« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2013, 02:34:57 PM »
You know you want to :D

My cage and seat went in today, ill post pics later on

« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2013, 02:59:14 PM »
Welcome to the tribe Streety.  Which part of Qld are you from?  Morgan Park is our local track.  Get out there a bit as a spectator.

Happy camping and good luck with the mods.

Offline Streety

« Reply #15 on: March 26, 2013, 03:17:01 PM »
I'm in Brisbane.
I do a bit of driver training at Morgan park. Improved production nats are there at the end of the year so I  will be there a fair bit this year.
To many hobbies lol, lucky I get paid to do some of it :)

Offline Streety

« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2013, 03:33:36 PM »
pics of cage in the excel for those interested...not mentioning any names GeeTee....

Offline crashbang

« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2013, 01:58:48 PM »
Hi & welcome to Myswag   great to see more Pajero owners :cup: :cheers:
good traveling
100 Series V8 Cruiser, Bull Bar, Lightbar,UHF, GPS, Anderson plug, Brake controller, winch, snorkel, Dual Batteries.
1998 NL, Pajero GLS Lux pack, 3500 petrol auto 2" lift, TJM Bull Bar, Spots, UHF, GPS, Anderson Plug with Redarc isolator, R Camera, Brake controller,LR tank, Snorkel

« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2013, 02:12:19 PM »
G'dy & Welcome Ross.

The Cooloola coast is a great spot to go camping.

How are you planning on lifting the camper? Bigger wheels, SOA? You might need to fab some longer legs for the floor.

Offline Streety

« Reply #19 on: April 02, 2013, 09:45:03 PM »
G'dy & Welcome Ross.

The Cooloola coast is a great spot to go camping.

How are you planning on lifting the camper? Bigger wheels, SOA? You might need to fab some longer legs for the floor.

Thank for the welcome and the tip, I'll look it up

I might just use blocks on the suspension (similar to lowering block just the other way around). I have longer legs for the floor already so it's a pretty quick and simple mod.
The bigger task is putting on the 4wd hitch to the C/T. I am thinking of modding the A frame so I can raise the front height by setting the hitch in between the rails.
As you can see in the pic below the trailer is already leaning forward which I want to minimise once it's lifted

I was also contemplating putting electric brakes on it to to aid it on the slippery stuff
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 09:47:53 PM by Streety »

Offline Streety

« Reply #20 on: April 30, 2013, 09:12:46 PM »
Just picked up the Cub from Jag canvas at Underwood yesterday. I thought he would have it for a month and cost me 1k (phone quote)
Only dropped it off last Tuesday so with that alone I was chuffed and then the bill came and it was only $550 double bonus!!

needed the main annex zips (front and top) replaced as they were buggered and a tear in the canvas next to the door where the previous owner put a great big hole in it and then glued a bodgy patch on it.

Doing some work on it this weekend so I'll have a few pics to post up in the camper trailer section :)