Author Topic: How safe is the Electrical Section????  (Read 7028 times)

Offline Dash

How safe is the Electrical Section????
« on: September 07, 2012, 11:11:17 PM »
Greetings all

All going to plan we will officially qualify for membership on Monday when we collect our brand new Trackabout Safari Extenda from Rob, Kym & Dave. They have been fantastic to deal with and very open to answering all of the nOOb questions I had.

Lynda and I are just venturing into camping - although by definition with the Trackie and some additions it will be glamping. Which suit us just fine!

The tug is a 2012 Amarok Ultimate. I've had this for 6 months and have scheduled the mods with Westside 4x4 here in Brisbane.

Lynda and I work together at a Not-for-profit social welfare agency based in Manly (Qld). We work across Child Protection, counselling and therapy, supported accomodation and child care. Amazing place to work. Full of outstanding staff who give unreservedly to those experiencing brokeness and disadvantage

The plan is for regular weekends and then a week or two throughout the year.
I've followed lots of the trip reports - so I think we are ok for destinations until around 2020. Water will be a feature in most of the camping adventures.

That's us - pretty plain and straight forward people. Our kids are now 20, 18 and 16 and we figure if they won't fly the coup, we might as well as give it a go.

Neither of us are brave enough to enter the electrical section and I've posted a google image of 6b&s on the fridge in case either of us comes across some - so I guess that makes us normal.

We look forward to getting out there and meeting some of you along the way

Dash (Darren)

Re: How safe is the Electrical Section????
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2012, 11:19:08 PM »
Dash,

Thats two classic replies in One Day.

U  R A Legend.

Welcome aboard.,

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2012, 05:56:35 AM »
Welcome guys... The electrical section is great and full of information.

Feel free to ask a question , then run  ;D

Kidding

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2012, 06:23:33 AM »
G'day Dash,

Welcome to MySwag.
I'm 6'3" and as ugly as sin, I've been in the electrical section Once, that was a enough
I read from afar these days.
Nah seriously, there is heaps of great info here to help you guys with all your needs.
Hope you enjoy your stay here.

Offline Fun Police

How safe is the Electrical Section????
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2012, 07:29:45 AM »
Electrical section is ok.

Antagonizers have been punted, rest of us with differences of opinion are playing nicely now.

There's good advice in there, but pick your battles.
You can't spell 'funeral' without 'fun', nor 'manslaughter' without 'laughter'

« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2012, 09:46:56 AM »
I'm 6'3" and as ugly as sin,
G'day Dash,

Welcome to MySwag.
I'm 6'3" and as ugly as sin, I've been in the electrical section Once, that was a enough
I read from afar these days.
Nah seriously, there is heaps of great info here to help you guys with all your needs.
Hope you enjoy your stay here.
I'm 6'3" and as ugly as sin, ......yeah but as far a Yowie's go your not too bad  >:D

Offline Trackabout Off Road Campers

• Trackabout Off Road Campers
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2012, 11:54:16 AM »
Welcome to the clan guys!! Bring on Monday  :cheers:

www.trackabout.com.au

Offline mrdenn1s

• Dennis Does Cricket
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2012, 02:33:41 PM »
Greetings all

blah blah blah

Possibly the best ever thread title seen at myswag

5 stars
2014 Blue Water Tanami Soft floor Camper
2000 Landcruiser 105 GXL Inline 6
2011 Kia Sorento

Offline Dash

« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2012, 05:21:49 PM »
Thanks for the welcome.
I love the good natured humour and ribbing on the site.
I've been lurking and reading for a while.

I look forward to making a contribution

Dash

« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2012, 08:09:39 PM »
Hi Dash and welcome to My Swag

bunyip

« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2012, 08:50:17 PM »
Great work Dash!

Welcome to the madhouse.

« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2012, 10:36:22 PM »
Welcome Dash and Lynda.  Nearly bought a Trackabout myself.

If you want some of that mythical 6B&S, Springers at Tingalpa (out your way) has some of the best prices I could find and are very helpfull.

Catch you in a national park one day.
The following users thanked this post: oldmate

« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2012, 07:13:26 AM »
Welcome to The Show guys, hope you enjoy the ride

p.s. Not all electrical nuts are nuts!!!!

« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2012, 07:21:55 AM »
Welcome to MySwag . As a lurker as you said there is lots to read to start & more to learn too . Mondays the start of your better life , so treg up & enjoy the ride  :cheers:

« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2012, 07:49:34 AM »
The electrical section isn't really the problem, it's the moderator that lurks around in there is the problem.

Offline Fun Police

« Reply #15 on: September 09, 2012, 11:33:35 AM »
^^^

Pure evil, I say.....just pure evil  >:D >:D >:D >:D
You can't spell 'funeral' without 'fun', nor 'manslaughter' without 'laughter'

Offline aquadux

• It's great to be outdoors
« Reply #16 on: September 10, 2012, 07:18:04 AM »
Hi Guys

Welcome to the forum

Richard
Toyota Prado diesel
Jayco Discovery

« Reply #17 on: September 10, 2012, 10:29:45 AM »
Welcome,

I've ventured into the electrical section, asked a few questions, and received answers with no argument going on at all.  I'm not sure what all the "Fuss" is about.  I haven't seen any arguing in there ... but I don't go in there often.   ;D  Those that have assisted me have been nothing but helpful.  Got my jobs completed and I think I understand solar a bit now.

P.S.  I think they have their 6B&S all wired up correctly, so it shouldn't be too bad.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2012, 04:16:54 PM by Kit_e_kat9 »

« Reply #18 on: September 10, 2012, 10:58:10 AM »
welcome.
just wear a foil hat you will be safe...

the Speewa deluxe model is highly recommended.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2012, 11:01:27 AM by Lost »

Offline luxabout

« Reply #19 on: September 10, 2012, 11:01:59 AM »
Welcome to the forum guys! Make sure you get some pics uploaded today - can't wait to see a good Trackabout behind an Amarok :)

« Reply #20 on: September 10, 2012, 02:26:25 PM »
G'day & Welcome Dash.

You'll fit in.

Offline Dash

« Reply #21 on: September 10, 2012, 04:47:30 PM »
Hi Guys

Just a quick update.
We are all going to have to be a little more patient for some pics.
Met with Dave, Rob and Kym this afternoon.
Dave was very good at spending the time taking us through the set-up and pack down process.

All I can say is that the Trackabout is an amazing camper and the customer service has been exceptional.

In fact, they were so good, that I took up some of Dave's ideas and have requested some additional work.
This means we decided to leave the camper with them for a few more days for some finishing touches.

The rear view mirror was very empty on the trip home!

Looking forward to that changing by next Wednesday when we head out for 5 nights on the Macintyre Brook just west of Inglewood
Bring it on!!!

(Possibly a weekend camping in the backyard before that - but that is really for practice and seasoning)

Dash

« Reply #22 on: September 10, 2012, 05:51:56 PM »
Dash  If your going the "Camping in the back yard " track , few things to be careful of .
Dont use the fence as firewood
Use the dunny inside
Dont do circle work in the truck on the grassy bit
Tidy up the camp site before you pack up or the back yard will look like crap
Dont pack up wet , just go inside
But above all deploy everything as nobody can see you stuff it up unless you have already burned the fence
Enjoy  :cheers:

Offline Dash

« Reply #23 on: September 10, 2012, 06:01:18 PM »
Cheers for the tips Speewa

Any idea how that "Good Neighbour" stuff from Stratco goes in a fire pit?

« Reply #24 on: September 10, 2012, 07:30:19 PM »
Cheers for the tips Speewa

Any idea how that "Good Neighbour" stuff from Stratco goes in a fire pit?

You just run one tyre of the vehicle dead centre and it kinda curves up so your fire doesn't fall out.   ;D  Now that's a Good Neighbour.