Author Topic: New to the Forum  (Read 6567 times)

Offline Ruk58

• Navara D40 Dual Cab
New to the Forum
« on: April 09, 2013, 07:46:26 AM »
G'day all. I am new to the forum and would like to introduce myself. I have been in and around camping for a number of years and have owned a camper trailer in various shapes over the past. I currently have a Johnno's and tow with a Navara D40 DC. My wife and I are heading to Lawn Hill (Boodjamulla) in June this year. A couple of questions......anyone have suggestions on what not to miss in our planned 5 days there? Secondly, some feedback on the pros and cons of the ARKPAK. I am considering one for the Navara as mounting a second battery permanently is near to impossible without impacting on space in the tray. Looking forward to delving into the various and interesting topics that can be found here in the forum.

"In the end, it's not going to matter how many breaths you took, but how many moments took your breath away" Shing Xiong

Re: New to the Forum
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2013, 07:52:28 AM »
Ruk58   Welcome to MySwag  to both of you . lf you keed to know just ask somebody will have an answer . Might not be the best answer ,,,but . Anyway Enjoy  :cheers:

Offline gowalkabout

• Walkabout 4WD & Camping Accessories
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2013, 08:16:36 AM »
Welcome to the mad house. Have fun around Lawn Hill we where up there last July and absolutly loved it and can't wait to get back up there
2007 Camprite TL8s
2012 Nissan Patrol GU8
Formally known as Tas130
www.gowalkabout.com.au
https://www.facebook.com/gowalkabout?ref=hl

Offline Ruk58

• Navara D40 Dual Cab
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2013, 08:28:51 AM »
Thanks gowalkabout. Our aim is to enjoy. Your favourite part........??
"In the end, it's not going to matter how many breaths you took, but how many moments took your breath away" Shing Xiong

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2013, 09:13:47 AM »
Welcome Ruk 58.  The ArKPAk is a great piece of kit but a little overpriced.  This system certainly suites some vehicles that are lacking for space but i don't think this is the case for you.
If you are handy, you could make this yourself a lot cheaper or buy these items and store them separately.  That is battery charger, inverter and plugs.
Their portability is an advantage but I think you can purchase a better recharger and inverter for your money if you have the room.

Offline Ruk58

• Navara D40 Dual Cab
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2013, 09:23:37 AM »
I agree, the price is up there. I am not sure if I have enough smarts to do the job myself but will look into it further.

Ruk

Offline gowalkabout

• Walkabout 4WD & Camping Accessories
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2013, 11:54:55 AM »
Thanks gowalkabout. Our aim is to enjoy. Your favourite part........??

We loved all of it and don't think I could single out any one thing. If you want to stay at the NP you will have to book in advance. We stayed at Adels Grove and thought it was good, good swimming and fishing.
2007 Camprite TL8s
2012 Nissan Patrol GU8
Formally known as Tas130
www.gowalkabout.com.au
https://www.facebook.com/gowalkabout?ref=hl

Offline Ruk58

• Navara D40 Dual Cab
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2013, 02:16:18 PM »
Thanks Gowalkabout. We have booked into Adels Grove and looking forward to the visit.

Cheers, :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2013, 02:46:43 PM »
Welcome

We will be at Adels Grove around the 16th June this year with the Gulf Trip.

Adels Grove is the best place to camp as Lawn Hill is only a very short drive away.

There is a small hill on your left before you come into Adels Grove and it is a great place to enjoy evening drinks and also you may get mobile phonth reception. Great views and great sunsets.

There are some good swimming holes at Adels Grove also.

« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2013, 03:11:42 PM »
G'day & Welcome Ruk58.

The ArkPak is lovely, an all-in-one solution, but I reckon I can give you the components and most of the functionality for half the cost, and simple enough that most folks could assemble the same capabilty.

Here is what the latest ArkPak does:
    Built-in 6 amp, 7 stage smart charger
    Built-in 150 watt inverter & 240V socket
    2 x 10 amp 12V accessory ports
    1 x 50 amp Anderson Plug
    1 x 5V USB Port
    Isolator Switch
    2 x Protected external high current terminals
    Time tracker technology with LCD Screen
    Strong easy carry handle
    Suits all 4 main battery types
    Suits batteries up to 130ah in size

OK, let's start with a box for the battery, this one by Projecta has most of the bits on it. $89
Then a quality smart charger by CTEK, $90 first item.
Next, an inverter, 150W is nothing these days, will run a laptop and charge camera batteries but won't run appliances. This is a cheapie, but includes the 5V USB outlet as well. $12
Some Anderson plugs, $20
Maybe you need some wire and few other bits, cigarette sockets, $50 tops. Still all up less than $250! which pays for your battery.

Offline Ruk58

• Navara D40 Dual Cab
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2013, 03:18:53 PM »
Welcome

We will be at Adels Grove around the 16th June this year with the Gulf Trip.

Adels Grove is the best place to camp as Lawn Hill is only a very short drive away.

There is a small hill on your left before you come into Adels Grove and it is a great place to enjoy evening drinks and also you may get mobile phonth reception. Great views and great sunsets.

There are some good swimming holes at Adels Grove also.

Thanks Mark.  We are planning on booking in June 13 so will be around that area then. Hope to catch up with you. :cheers:

Offline Ruk58

• Navara D40 Dual Cab
« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2013, 03:22:20 PM »
OK, let's start with a box for the battery, this one by Projecta has most of the bits on it. $89
Then a quality smart charger by CTEK, $90 first item.
Next, an inverter, 150W is nothing these days, will run a laptop and charge camera batteries but won't run appliances. This is a cheapie, but includes the 5V USB outlet as well. $12
Some Anderson plugs, $20
Maybe you need some wire and few other bits, cigarette sockets, $50 tops. Still all up less than $250! which pays for your battery.

G'day BigJules. I have decided that the ArkPak is not what I really want at this stage, due to the price. I will certainly take the advice on board.  :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2013, 04:01:22 PM »
It sounds like a simple setup; a box and a deep cycle battery, plus a voltage sensing relay/solenoid linked to the starter is what you need. Mount the box in the tray, cable it back to an Anderson at the rear to power your camper perhaps. A setup like this is not expensive and doesn't have to be permanent either.

Post up something more specific in Electrical and you'll get the gammut of ideas.

« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2013, 05:29:26 PM »
G'day and welcome Ruk58.
Lot of great swaggers to help you out here. :cup:
Just ask away mate.
Where is home for you? Which way are you coming from to get to Lawn Hill?

« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2013, 05:39:00 PM »
G'day Ruk58 and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline Ruk58

• Navara D40 Dual Cab
« Reply #15 on: April 09, 2013, 05:46:13 PM »
Sol,

Home is Gladstone CQ and we will travel thru Longreach to the Curry, up to Adels Grove.

Offline Ruk58

• Navara D40 Dual Cab
« Reply #16 on: April 09, 2013, 05:47:02 PM »
Thanks Snow for the welcome.

« Reply #17 on: April 09, 2013, 06:18:31 PM »
If you have time, check out the Riversleigh Fossil Site.

Offline Ruk58

• Navara D40 Dual Cab
« Reply #18 on: April 10, 2013, 07:23:44 AM »
Thanks Sol. We are hoping to have the time to visit the fossil fields.

« Reply #19 on: April 10, 2013, 08:21:24 AM »
Hi Ruk58 and welcome to My Swag

Offline Ruk58

• Navara D40 Dual Cab
« Reply #20 on: April 10, 2013, 12:52:50 PM »
Thanks Heiny.

:cheers:Ruk

Offline Armadillo & Customline Campers

• Aussie Made, Aussie Owned, Aussie Tough.
    • Customline Camper Trailers
« Reply #21 on: April 10, 2013, 04:41:54 PM »
Welcome Ruk58,
You would be amazed at the knowledge on here.
If you ask it, it will be answered.
lol
I went on the cape trip last year with most of the guys going to the gulf this year.
Make sure you stop of and say hi and have a beer or 7........
you'll enjoy it.

Rod.....
www.customline.com.au
Rod@customline.com.au
www.armadillocampers.com.au
https://scontent-a-nrt.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/t31.0-8/10479144_653750608056996_765917182289645688_o.jpg

Offline wilkos world

« Reply #22 on: April 10, 2013, 09:32:23 PM »
Hi.
Welcome to the forum. While your at Lawn Hill make a quick trip to the Gregory River bridge. We camp there every Easter.  Just had six nights there.  Great swimming. Adels Grove is also beautiful.  They have a fantastic deck overlooking the Grove and what they call "the beach"

Have fun up there

Offline Ruk58

• Navara D40 Dual Cab
« Reply #23 on: April 11, 2013, 06:15:49 PM »
Hi.
Welcome to the forum. While your at Lawn Hill make a quick trip to the Gregory River bridge. We camp there every Easter.  Just had six nights there.  Great swimming. Adels Grove is also beautiful.  They have a fantastic deck overlooking the Grove and what they call "the beach"

Have fun up there

Thanks Wilkos world. We will have a look and check it out.  :cheers:

Welcome Ruk58,
You would be amazed at the knowledge on here.
If you ask it, it will be answered.
lol
I went on the cape trip last year with most of the guys going to the gulf this year.
Make sure you stop of and say hi and have a beer or 7........
you'll enjoy it.

Rod.....

Thanks for the welcome Rod  :cheers: