Author Topic: G'day ..just found this site by accident. Got some ideas may need some help!!!  (Read 8823 times)

Offline barrabruce

• One of these days..I'm gunna do it!!!!!
G'day.
Found this site while looking for "my" ute canopy camping set-up ideas.

The boss..SHMBO and I have decided were going to the pointy bit later this year.
She reckons I'm getting a bit long in the tooth to just throw a few things in the back and roll out a sway. ....can't get up in the morning....I know dig a trench each night  ;D  :'(

Now our idea has been thinking of and on for yonks and I have to get my finger out to make it all happen..or she'll hire a camper van and head sth with the dog and leave me home.

WE have in-visioned getting something like this made on our BT50 trayback but with normal soft sides.

http://www.metalink.net.au/UTE_CANOPY_9MODELS/LIFTTOP/images/PRODUCT-LINE-403.jpg

Can anyone help where I should be looking???
What to type into the search box??

I seem to have trouble with these confounded confusers....puters things.

Thanks for your time.
Hope to get involved and learn more.
Bruce
I realize it's all been done before.
Its just finding out what they done and how they did it seems hard.

Gday Bruce,

Welcome to the Zoo.

This is a friend of a friend story:

He has one of these:

http://www.wallabytrack.com.au/tray-campers.htm

Ive looked it over once or twice.  He and his partner are very hapy with it, and its a very tidy unit.

From memory, I think it cost him $14k all up to have it fully decked out with all the goodies, electrical, water, fridges, etc.

He has his on a 4.2 Patrol.  Looks a great set up.

Good luck with your search, gotta keep SHMBO happy.

« Last Edit: May 13, 2012, 04:36:58 PM by Mace »

G'day Bruce and welcome to tne forum.
Just down the road from you.Look forward to catching up mate.

G'day Bruce,

Sorry mate, can't help you with that.
Pretty sure someone will know.

Offline barrabruce

Thanks Sol but not our cup of tea.
[quote
This is a friend of a friend story:

He has one of these:

http://www.wallabytrack.com.au/tray-campers.htm

He has his on a 4.2 Patrol.  Looks a great set up.

Good luck with your search, gotta keep SHMBO happy.

[/quote]

We are looking to get made locally without having to go to Brisbane Just the solid swing up top and structure of Canopy.
With plastic/ canvas sides.
We will sleep on a board/cupboard  over the fridge/food and the other assorted must have junk about a foot or so below the canopy top.

We we aren't camping/touring about we'll clean it out and just have a "normal" solid roof top canopy and tarp sides.(plus the pop up bit)

Yeah we wanna put a tarp / awning out the side for shade as well.and.2nd battery...and.........

may this pic then with soft sides.

http://www.metalink.net.au/UTE_CANOPY_9MODELS/LIFTTOP/images/POP-TOP-007.jpg

G'day Sol yeah may have to meat up some time.

I'm off to see the local alu fab welder fella this week and a canvas stitcher to see if they can come up with something do-able this week I hope

Oops!!!!!
I should be asking 2 questions.

What would you call this set-up then??
And were in the myswag should I be looking for a similar  builds/inspiration

any help appreciated as I'm not real good at finding stuff!!!

Bruce

« Last Edit: May 14, 2012, 12:12:52 AM by barrabruce »

Hey Bruce, welcome mate... found the site by accident also....

Offline ehsc

• FIRE EARTH MOON STARS THATS LIVING
  • JUST DO IT
Hey Bruce

Welcome to my swag i think there is a crowd in herevy bay i think its called top line or top form campers i think. The ones ive seen are pretty pricey but they may have a cheaper units than the ones ive seen hope info helps .

:cheers: ehsc
2017 Isuxu D-max
2003 Jayco Freedom Outback

G'day Bruce and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Hi barrabruce and welcome to My Swag

Offline Sicilianmama

Hi barrabruce and welcome :) good luck with finding all the info you need to build your fun touring vehicle!
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)

Offline CampAround

• The count down is on...
HI Barrabruce,

There's a wealth of knowledge in here. I'm sure you'll find it very useful.

Offline V8 Grunt

Hi Bruce,

Welcome to my swag
2011 LC76 Land Cruiser towing a Tvan

What about a roof top camper or one of those new pod style roof top ones.  Even a pod camper wouldn't be too hard to tow, leaving the rest of the tray free for the inevitable crap you take with you.

Offline barrabruce

Thanks one and all for the welcome.

No a roof top magalini type thingo we have looked at before and decided that we don't want to climb a ladder.
Plus they are a bit big for our tray unless they go cab or higher height over the front a little bit.
Unless we get made up a pod thing to fit then we'd be inbetween in getting up and down height.
Unless we had a hole in the bottom to be able to stand on the ute tray to get in somewhere.

Me spring chicken legs and assorted attachments have sort of well sprung  over the years a bit.

Towing well...nahhh too much hastle.

I think we'll still go with the game plan with a tip up camping thing unless we have a "revelation"
That way we can climb 4 steps up to the back of the ute tray then be at the right height to swing our bums around to get into bed.(important too us.

Essential junk underneath. cloths/valuables  etc in back seat of cab
From experience I don't really need much stuff.
We culled most of the "think I could use" or "be nice to haves" out years ago. :)
Althou the list has grown again.. :laugh:

Offline barrabruce

After much pondering s and discussion with the boss..we have decided to revert back to a normal hard roofed soft sided canopy and a good swag under a side awning.

Reason being that if me legs conks out on be it would be easier to get up off the ground than have to climb up or down things to get into bed.

One day we will get a comvee type rig but not for a few years yet.

I'm gunna make a thread for our build and hopefully get some advice.

Bruce

G'day & Welcome Bruce.

I see you're an easy-to-please kind a chap. Good luck with your setup and with the trip itself.