Author Topic: Towing Jayco Swan or Eagle outback  (Read 8890 times)

Offline Hollands26

• You are only as young as the women you feel
Towing Jayco Swan or Eagle outback
« on: May 01, 2012, 07:02:50 PM »
Hello people this is my first time writing on myswag glad to have join it heaps of really good ideas Was just wondering do you think a 2008 kluger kxs 2wd can tow a jayco swan or eagle outback comfortable looking at buying one at the end of the year just doing my research ( for once) all comments welcomed and which do people rather I'll mainly be using it at powered sites with my wife and two kids (3 & 2mths) but would love to maybe take offroad nothing to serious once I have upgraded to a 4wD many thanks  ???
Toyota Kluger 2008 ------Jayco Expanda 16.49-1ob 2013

Re: Towing Jayco Swan or Eagle outback
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2012, 07:58:25 PM »
Hi Hollands26 and welcome to My Swag

Cant see why you couldn't tow a swan or eagle with the kluger, but check the max towing capacity and towball weight ratings of the kluger first.

Should find them on the towbar or in the owners manual.

« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2012, 08:27:18 PM »
G/Day Hollands

Offline ehsc

• FIRE EARTH MOON STARS THATS LIVING
  • JUST DO IT
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2012, 09:05:57 PM »
Gday Hollands 26

Cant see why not, Is that model a diesel or petrol I only ask because  a v6 petrol can get pretty thirsty with a tonne of camper on the back .

I tow my dove outback with a 3ltr nissan patrol or a 3ltr colorado both handle it no worries .
Welome to the forum

:cheers: ehsc
2017 Isuxu D-max
2003 Jayco Freedom Outback

« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2012, 10:17:50 PM »
You mite want to send swannieob a personal message, he has a similar combo, has only just picked up his Swann OB tho:

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=21343.msg336216#msg336216

Oh, and welcome 2 the zoo!

« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2012, 05:15:43 AM »
G'day Hollands26 and welcome.
You'll find heaps of Jayco owners on this forum so ask away.
Happy travels guys.

« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2012, 07:05:15 AM »
G'day Hollands26,

You'll find plenty of great info here, heaps a great ideas to help you with setting up your camper.
IMO an Eagle would be the right size for you guys(4), unless you are planning on a bigger family  ;D
I think you would be very happy with an Eagle.
Have you looked at the The Jayco Floor Plans
Is there a chance that you could hire one, this may help you guys in your choice, just a thought.
Good luck with your decision.
Happy & Safe travels

Offline earlybird

« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2012, 08:45:47 AM »
I think the kluger should be fine.

I tow a Hawk Outback with an 07 Outlander 6cyl, almost always in 2x4.  I stiffened the rear end to allow for the extra weight of the camper.  The Outlander sagged a fair bit on the standard suspension.

With the camper on, the fuel economy goes from ~10L/100km to ~18-20L/100km.  This becomes a pain when travelling long distances and only having a small (60l) fuel tank. 

Offline smanson

« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2012, 10:25:43 AM »

I have a 4wd 2007 Kluger KXR and have towed my Outback Swan over 20,000 km- Adelaide to Normanaton and back - Adelaide Darwin Back on a combination of bitumen and dirt. It tows fantastically and is very stable and I don't use load levelers and have the standard suspension.

On average on the big trips we get about 15.5-16.0 l/100kms.

Stuart

Offline Hollands26

« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2012, 03:05:39 PM »
Thanks everyone for there comments very helpful I think it should be fine except reversing up grass if its abit dewy only one way to fine out should be ordering mine end of dec 2012 just getting my back yard ready to store it properly cheers any hints and tips more then welcome that people have found along there travels ;D

Offline flanders

« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2012, 08:36:24 AM »
G'day Hollands, welcome to my swag.  My mate has a 2 year old Kluger 2WD base model and a 2011 Swan Outback.  It tows no worries, they have done many trips without any problems. 
Land Rover Disco MY12 HSE 3.0L & Waiting on Expanda 17.56-1

Offline Hollands26

« Reply #11 on: May 11, 2012, 11:40:41 PM »
G'day Hollands, welcome to my swag.  My mate has a 2 year old Kluger 2WD base model and a 2011 Swan Outback.  It tows no worries, they have done many trips without any problems.

Thanks heaps mate I think I should be alright (hopefully)  :D

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2012, 12:21:30 AM »
Hi & welcome, not sure about the towing part, but we were originally going to order an eagle, we have two kids too, 3y/o & 17 month old & we ended up going with the swan for extra room & that awesome buffet! So glad we did now, the buffet holds so much stuff & it was certainly worth the extra coin to have a neat organized camper.
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)