Author Topic: G'day All, Looking at Purchasing :)  (Read 11510 times)

Offline Daawl

• Always trying to get out & about
    • Lightning Ridge Police Bush Safari
G'day All, Looking at Purchasing :)
« on: April 24, 2012, 11:19:04 PM »
HI All

I have been a lurker for a while but finally have signed up so I thought I would introduce myself.

Im Gavin who is married to a wonderful wife and we are followed by 4 awesome ratbags, 2 girls 8&6yo and 2 boys 2yo.

We are in the seriouse stages of purchasing our first CT. Hired before but its time to go the whole hog now.
We were at the Sydney Caravan & camping show on Sunday doing some seriouse research and cut it down to two campers. After traveling home and sitting down and working out our own pros and cons for each (after extensive research including hours on myswag) we have come to our main contender.

We are looking at getting the Camel Bushmans Plus. That is after i go back to the show on Thu with my new list of questions and possible mods. We are getting extreamly excited.

Look forward to seeing you out on the road or at a camp with a beverage.  :cheers:

Re: G'day All, Looking at Purchasing :)
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2012, 11:33:53 PM »
hey welcome Gavin.

great to see some pics when the new addition arrives

Offline Steinzy

• 1980's Jayco Dove
    • LJ Hooker Mermaid Beach
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2012, 11:58:02 PM »
Welcome to the forum.  Best of luck with the purchase
Steinzy

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2012, 05:01:59 AM »
G'day Gavin and family. Welcome to the forum.
Good luck with the camper mate. Happy times are just around the corner
with the camper setup. :D

Offline truck

« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2012, 07:39:32 AM »
Gday Gavin and family,
welcome to the forum from Sunny Nth QLD.
truck

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2012, 07:40:03 AM »
Gday Gavin and welcome. there are getting to be a few of us here in this neck of the woods. Im out in Gil.

A Big welcome to you and your family!!

Cheers!
NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2012, 07:44:28 AM »
Welcome to the swag, went for the boy and got twins, nice job :)

« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2012, 08:14:52 AM »
  Welcome to myswag Gavin and family

Good luck with the new camper trailer

Cheers grc   :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2012, 08:17:07 AM »
G'day Gavin & Family

A wise thing to hire first, helps heaps in choosing what suits you guys.
Hope it goes well for you. Kids Love camping.  :cup:

« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2012, 09:11:43 AM »
To My Swag Gavin hope all gose well with the camper purchase  :cheers:

« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2012, 01:18:26 PM »
G'day Gavin and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline Fun Police

« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2012, 01:21:52 PM »
Welcome Gavin!

Where are you from??
You can't spell 'funeral' without 'fun', nor 'manslaughter' without 'laughter'

Offline Daawl

« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2012, 01:25:18 PM »
I'm from Dubbo, NSW and loving it

Offline Jacko

• Here for a good time not a long time!
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2012, 01:35:31 PM »
Can't go wrong with the Camel, we love ours. Good luck with it.Oh and welcome to Myswag.
Cheers Jacko

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=15012.msg227580#msg227580
FZJ105 and Camel Discovery Plus CT

Offline Stan Bryant

« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2012, 02:23:27 PM »
WELCOME!!!!
you ant go wrong with a camper,, all have good things going for them,,
goodluck with your choice.
Stan & Robin
THE MIGHTY MUSSO
http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/37530-2/PC260091.JPG

Offline Daawl

« Reply #15 on: April 26, 2012, 03:09:36 PM »
Well I've taken that step :-)

One Camel Bushman Plus ordered with a couple of personal modifications :-D

Even managed to push for delivery 1st of June. So all going well it will have its maiden voyage on the long weekend. :-D
Woohoo life is good

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #16 on: April 26, 2012, 03:15:57 PM »
G'day Gavin,

Welcome to Myswag.

Well done on the purchase, you'll love it to pieces... we've got that one too.

Myself and a couple of others with Camels have done a few mods to theirs. What mod's do you have lined up? 

LJ
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

Offline FZJ

« Reply #17 on: April 26, 2012, 03:18:04 PM »
Well done .We love our bushman.Only complaint is I havent used it enough over the past couple of months but thats about to change.!!Cant wait to see it.
I dont mind going to work, its the 8 hours  i have to wait to go home again that annoys me.

Camel bushman....

« Reply #18 on: April 26, 2012, 06:53:06 PM »
Welcome to the Forum Gavin, the easy part is the decision, the hard part is the wait

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #19 on: April 26, 2012, 06:53:56 PM »
Welcome and congrats on ordering your camper!
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)

Offline Daawl

« Reply #20 on: April 26, 2012, 10:41:15 PM »
G'day Gavin,

Welcome to Myswag........

What mod's do you have lined up? 

LJ

I decided to go the whole hog and fully spec it up from the start. Sure I could of done a whack of the mods myself but I just dont have the time TBH.

Bushmans Plus and its standard features
Mods/specs requested
13' Tent
Shocks
Enclosed lockable box behind each Wheel Arch (protect battery, elecs, plumbing etc)
D035 hitch
90Amp hr AGM battery
Sliding Kitchen (not on tailgate) with extra box behind it
Partitioned sliding Kitchen off (so nothing fouls the tracks etc while in transit)
Flap over door Zip (bit like the windows)
full anex combo (fly screen & canvas) including rear trailer draught stopper & annex floor
Patrol hubs (going to put on matching 17" alloy)

So with all of this I reckon we are going to be set for a long time.

so yes the next 4 weeks is going to take forever but really looking forward to getting it. As I said earlier, if all goes well pick up is just before the June long weekend so we can take her on the maiden voyage to Tooraweenah :cheers:

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
« Reply #21 on: April 26, 2012, 10:44:12 PM »

so yes the next 4 weeks is going to take forever but really looking forward to getting it. As I said earlier, if all goes well pick up is just before the June long weekend so we can take her on the maiden voyage to Tooraweenah :cheers:

Toora?? Why?

Cheers!
NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

Offline Daawl

« Reply #22 on: April 26, 2012, 10:56:11 PM »
Toora?? Why?

Cheers!

http://www.ados4wd.com/

Nice place within a reasonable distance & its usually quiet. (in saying that I havent booked yet)

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #23 on: April 27, 2012, 10:28:43 AM »
I decided to go the whole hog and fully spec it up from the start. Sure I could of done a whack of the mods myself but I just dont have the time TBH.

Bushmans Plus and its standard features
Mods/specs requested
13' Tent
Shocks
Enclosed lockable box behind each Wheel Arch (protect battery, elecs, plumbing etc)
D035 hitch
90Amp hr AGM battery
Sliding Kitchen (not on tailgate) with extra box behind it
Partitioned sliding Kitchen off (so nothing fouls the tracks etc while in transit)
Flap over door Zip (bit like the windows)
full anex combo (fly screen & canvas) including rear trailer draught stopper & annex floor
Patrol hubs (going to put on matching 17" alloy)

So with all of this I reckon we are going to be set for a long time.

Gav, that'll be one very capable Camel you gonna have there. Well done. can't wait to see some pic's (hint hint)

I did two mods to mine that I think should be standard from production.  One was to put plastic end caps on the chassis draw bar ends to stop water and crap getting in the RHS tubing.
The other was to put a drain tap on the lowest hanging part of the breather pipe (for the water tank).  Water will end up in there, either through over filling the tank or accidentally sloshing water through the breather hole in the neck of the fill opening.  That way I can turn the tap, empty the water to allow the tank to 'breath'.

So what was your reason for the sliding kitchen and not tailgate and what's the flap over the door zip?
LJ
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

Offline Daawl

« Reply #24 on: April 27, 2012, 11:50:05 AM »
Gav, that'll be one very capable Camel you gonna have there. Well done. can't wait to see some pic's (hint hint)

I did two mods to mine that I think should be standard from production.  One was to put plastic end caps on the chassis draw bar ends to stop water and crap getting in the RHS tubing.
The other was to put a drain tap on the lowest hanging part of the breather pipe (for the water tank).  Water will end up in there, either through over filling the tank or accidentally sloshing water through the breather hole in the neck of the fill opening.  That way I can turn the tap, empty the water to allow the tank to 'breath'.

So what was your reason for the sliding kitchen and not tailgate and what's the flap over the door zip?
LJ

Hi LJ

Oh there will be pics coming I just have to wait 5 weeks before i can take them  :'(

Thanks for the heads up on those mods I will certianly follow that advise me thinks :)

Reason for the sliding kitchen simply came down on how I wish to pack the Camper. We like to have all the bags lined up on the tent side so easy access can be gained to each bag from under the bed without having to shuffle bags or strech & strain. This way getting the change of clothes out every morning is a more simplistic task.

The flap over the door zip is a simple 4" flap that creates a small weather barrier from direct rain when not using the annex. We do at least one trip a year were most stops are 1 nighters & therefore I dont wish to put up the annex. (would you believe I cant find a single photo online atm) Ill take a pic when I recieve it to show what I mean.

Cheers Gavin