Author Topic: Just ordered our new camper!  (Read 11106 times)

Offline Chongololo

Just ordered our new camper!
« on: March 22, 2012, 08:56:38 PM »
Hi everyone!

The wife and I are so very excited. After spending a good number of hours on this very forum reading all about camper trailers and getting the low down on the different brands/makes, checking out what was on offer at the Caravan and Camping Show, and getting some great advice from friends, we have finally order our Tambo Cooper XT!!

Now the looooooong wait begins before we can pick it up and take it out into the bush.

Here's the question:
Where would/did you go with your camper when you first got it? We live about 1/2 an hour west of Melbourne and are looking to find somewhere suitable for a test run. Anywhere within about an hours' drive.

I'll be starting up a blog soon too, so keep eye out!

- C
2004 Nissan XTrail
2012 Tambo Cooper XT

Re: Just ordered our new camper!
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2012, 09:50:52 PM »
Welcome C, look forward to seeing the pics

« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2012, 09:57:28 PM »
Welcome to MySwag C, great choice of camper. How long is the wait, I have 6 weeks till the Omeo is ready hopefully. First outing is a difficult one, not too sure. Do you need amenities or can you bush it

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2012, 04:46:39 AM »
G'day C

To MySwag,
Well done on the purchase of your camper.
I do remember our first uses of our campers.
Our first Camper trailers maiden trip was to Evans Head for our annual fortnight trip. Although it stood for a week in the yard as I weathered the canvas.
Our second camper, the one we have now, we spent two nights at Brooms head in the middle of winter for it's maiden trip. we were surprised how warm it was.
There is plenty here to help you with your mods and for future trips. Check out the trips section, there might be a meet on, or start one yourself.

« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2012, 05:07:30 AM »
G'day C and welcome to the forum.
Congrats on the new camper mate.Happy days are ahead. :cup:
Enjoy your travels and the waits worth it. ;D

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2012, 12:36:26 PM »

Offline making tracks

• Whats around the corner
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2012, 04:30:08 PM »
Another Tambo. ;D

Congrates on the soon to be addition to the family.

We love our Omeo and there are so many spots to camp that aren't to much of a drive and quite at the same time :cup:

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2012, 04:43:19 PM »
Welcome to myswag....

« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2012, 06:33:47 PM »
G'day C and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Chris F

« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2012, 07:15:18 PM »
Hi C,

Your best bet is to buy yourself the most excellent book, "Camps 6", especially the version with campsite pics. It will show you most of the camp sites in Australia. It just so happens that I too live on the western side of Melbourne and I'm waiting for our new camper to be built, and also I have the camps 6 book right next to me. I will be doing exactly the same thing as you in late April. For a near by bush camping experience, you could try the campsite at the Brisbane Ranges National Park at Boar Gully, O'Briens Crossing at Lerdederg State Park, Firth Campground in the Wombat State Forest, Mt Franklin Reserve Campground in the Hepburn Regional Park or Hunts Bridge Camping Area in the  Lal Lal State Forest. They are all close enough to inspect on a short  weekend drive to see which one you like best.

Good luck with your brand new camper, and who knows, we might find ourselves camping next to each other on our maiden camper voyages.

Chris.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2012, 07:20:17 PM by Chris F »

« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2012, 08:59:52 PM »
Hi Chongololo and welcome to My Swag

Offline Chongololo

« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2012, 05:11:23 PM »
Wow. Thanks for the warm welcome! You lot certainly are a friendly bunch ;)

Chris, I've heard of Camps 6, and believe that a couple of our friends have a copy, so we may need to borrow it. Thanks for the campsite run down, will have to check each of those out I reckon. What camper are you taking delivery of in 6 weeks then?

GG congrats on the Omeo, that is one sweet camper. 6 weeks isnt too bad, ours is about 6 - 7 weeks out, so maybe ill see you on pick up day. We were oggling the Omeo in the showroom, its huge! We went pretty big on options. I am not as handy as I'd like to be and with 2 kids under 4 time is definitely not something I have enough of, which is why we just decided to get it all done up front. We will likely only do an overnight trip on first outing so not too fussed on having amenities to hand. We can 'rough it' for one night... ;) just looking for a nice spot to park up, get the tent up and have a good inspection of everything.

Thanks Hairs, love the website you've got there and some nice info on the two campers. How are finding the Jayco compared to the trailer/ tent set up? We also looked at a couple of Jayco (caulfield) swans and the eagles (regular and outback versions). They are really nice, but I'm a stickler for not wanting to feel too removed from the bush. Perhaps in time I'll change my mind, will have to see;)

Thanks again for the warm welcome everyone!

- C

2004 Nissan XTrail
2012 Tambo Cooper XT

Chris F

« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2012, 10:12:53 PM »
Hi C,

My wife and I are waiting for our new Kimberly Kamper Ltd Edition. We don't have kids and we plan to do some long touring trips so a hard floor suits us fine. I look forward to seeing some pics of your new camper, it's always fun to share other peoples excitement.

Chris.

Offline phatassphairy

• BarraBarts better half
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2012, 03:24:52 PM »
hi Chongololo.... very exciting ... good luck with it all .......

your post made me think of our first roadie we pulled ....this was in the BC era (before children) ...so this must be about 21 years ago we toured NT and QLD in the back of an old Holden panel van  :cup: for a couple of weeks, but we have the fondest memories still of that first trip and the new places we saw ....next year we will have been together 25 years ... maybe should plan a rerun of the trip as an anniversary celebration. 
have you ever noticed, that whenever you run into a spiderweb, you turn into a ninja?!

Offline Chongololo

« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2012, 09:18:51 PM »
Hi Chris,
2004 Nissan XTrail
2012 Tambo Cooper XT

Offline Chongololo

« Reply #15 on: March 26, 2012, 09:20:38 PM »
Bah, fat fingers me didn't finish the last post!

Hi Chris, nice one on the Kimberly, I bet you're keen to get that delivered! I'll definitely put up some pictures as soon as I have some.
Happy camping!
2004 Nissan XTrail
2012 Tambo Cooper XT

Offline Chongololo

« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2012, 09:24:17 PM »
Hi Phatassphairy (now that's a pseudonym ;) ),

Congrats on 25 yrs! We will be all of 10 this June, and I think we need to be planning a good trip to celebrate. Nothing like getting back to nature eh...

- C
2004 Nissan XTrail
2012 Tambo Cooper XT

« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2012, 03:27:43 PM »
G'day & Welcome Chongololo.

As I just typed to another Victorian newcomer to this forum, if you don't already have some great friends to camp with, it won't be long now. Many active members from your area too.

Offline lilstookie

• Traveling Lab Rats
    • http://facebook.com/thewanderingjocks
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2012, 03:35:44 PM »
Hi Chongololo,

Our first trip was to Knockwood Reserve between Woods Point and Jamieson. We had the place to ourselves and a lovely spot...we love it around that area, though, so maybe a little bias ;)

Lil :)
If the spelling and grammar are good, it's a post from Lil. If not, the mad Scot is on the keyboard ;)

Add us on facebook and keep up to date with our big lap .
www.facebook.com/TheWanderingJocks or follow our blog

Offline Chongololo

« Reply #19 on: May 03, 2012, 09:00:43 PM »
About to make a Cooper XT sized space in the garage. :D
2004 Nissan XTrail
2012 Tambo Cooper XT

« Reply #20 on: May 03, 2012, 09:24:57 PM »
Thanks Hairs, love the website you've got there and some nice info on the two campers. How are finding the Jayco compared to the trailer/ tent set up? We also looked at a couple of Jayco (caulfield) swans and the eagles (regular and outback versions). They are really nice, but I'm a stickler for not wanting to feel too removed from the bush. Perhaps in time I'll change my mind, will have to see;)

Hi - C,
 :cheers:  I try to record and share as much as we can, if it helps somebody somewhere, well that's great.
Thanks,
The trailer tent camper was great for long stays, 7 days or more, heaps of room, but a lot of work(nearly two & half hours worth, if not more), 3 kids + 2 Adults. Great for summer campers.
It was great when it was wet, heaps of room. A light setup to tow around.

The Swan, heaps quicker to get set up, it helps that the kids are getting older and are able to help, they each have a job to do, EG, put out the steel pegs, the ropes, the spreader bars & poles and the bed end fly's & Ocky Straps.
Setting up quicker means more time to relax.
If it's wet, can be a little cramped(but warm in winter), might be better if the annex walls were the right length(The Swan has had about 12 inch lift), So the annex can't be used to enclose a room. Heavy on fuel, it weights 1380kg bone dry empty.
They both have their good points and bad.
The kids are getting older, so they will want a tent soon, we hang on to the Swan a little longer.

Offline Chongololo

« Reply #21 on: May 03, 2012, 10:04:54 PM »
Garage transformation complete. Ready for pick up on Saturday! Whoop whoop!
2004 Nissan XTrail
2012 Tambo Cooper XT

Chris F

« Reply #22 on: May 03, 2012, 10:06:54 PM »
That's great news C! I know how you feel, I pick up mine tomorrow. I'm looking forward to some pics of your new camper!

Offline Fridge Magnet

« Reply #23 on: May 03, 2012, 10:09:39 PM »
Congratulations on the impending arrival (and the shed cleanup  ;D).

Like the name, are you originally from SA?
What would Barnaby do?

Offline gacoxd

• You wring your hands, I'll roll up my sleeves ...
« Reply #24 on: May 03, 2012, 10:14:48 PM »
Welcome to the forum. May you have long days and pleasant nights in your camper!

Damo
2011 Navara STX-550
2011 Trackabout Deluxe Tourer