Author Topic: Hello world.  (Read 9743 times)

Offline BrisVegasGolfer

Hello world.
« on: December 01, 2011, 11:04:10 AM »
Hi folks, just wanted to say hi and congratulate you on a great forum.  Lots of great info here and the forum has a very welcoming vibe. 

I don't have a camper yet, but am madly researching them with a view to buying something next year with tax return money.  Love the look of the extenda style soft floors, eg.  Trackabout/Lifestyle/Jimboomba etc..

We're in Brissie and do a bit of tent camping around SEQ and up at Inskip with the kids in our old Pajero.  We're at the stage now where we 'need' a trailer for all the crap we take with us to be comfortable.   I'm planning a Lap of the Map in a couple of years when my long service is due, and we're thinking that a camper trailer would be the only way to do that comfortably. 

So yeah, that's me. 

Dion
2015 Isuzu MU-X

Re: Hello world.
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2011, 12:29:51 PM »
G'day Dion
Welcome mate.This is the place to research campers mate!

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2011, 12:36:48 PM »
gday John Laws  :cup:

hehehehe......welcome to the forum mate  :cheers:

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2011, 12:57:11 PM »
Welcome Dion,

Hope you enjoy the forum & your handicap is where you want it.

Offline BrisVegasGolfer

« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2011, 01:14:20 PM »
Welcome Dion,

Hope you enjoy the forum & your handicap is where you want it.

ok, who is this?  :D
2015 Isuzu MU-X

« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2011, 01:26:40 PM »
ok, who is this?  :D

Who wants to know?

1st name Mark

Offline BrisVegasGolfer

« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2011, 01:35:53 PM »
Who wants to know?

1st name Mark

I just realised I have 'golfer' in my user name here.  Sorry Mark, I thought you must have known me from ozgolf.net forums, where I spend a lot of time.

2015 Isuzu MU-X

« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2011, 01:38:04 PM »
I just realised I have 'golfer' in my user name here.  Sorry Mark, I thought you must have known me from ozgolf.net forums, where I spend a lot of time.

Nah mate, but if you are ever down Maclean way & looking for a game, we have a beaut course.

« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2011, 05:56:06 PM »
Hi Dion Welcome to My Swag  :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2011, 06:47:16 PM »
Hi Dion and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2011, 09:51:01 PM »
G'day Dion and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2011, 10:24:12 PM »

Hey BVG,

Yet another SEQ member.  The meets are gonna get bigger!  Hope you find your dream camper and enjoy it as we enjoy ours.

P.S.  Let me know ones I've missed on my blog.  Link below.

Offline Ruffstuff

« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2011, 08:54:56 AM »
Welcome aboard Dion.
Warning: This Post May Contain Traces of Nuts!!! :)

80 series Landcruiser, DTS Turbo, Cross Country Intercooler,  3"exhaust, 33" BFG MT, locked, Lifted & gadgetised
2005 Trak Shak

Offline BrisVegasGolfer

« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2011, 01:31:01 PM »
Thanks for the welcome guys!  I've already found my dream camper.  The Conqueror UEV490!

Assuming I don't win lotto any time soon, something more modest will have to do.  As long as we can set it up quickly and keep the girls dry, then the rest is all a bonus.  I need to spend some money on the 'tug' first, to get it ready for outback touring.  Dual batteries, fridge, hd suspension, bullbar and snorkel are just a few of the things on the wishlist.
2015 Isuzu MU-X

Offline Newsman

« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2011, 02:03:31 PM »
We're at the stage now where we 'need' a trailer for all the crap we take with us to be comfortable. 

Welcome Dion...

Yes, you definitely need a campertrailer. I used to tow a trailer when we went tent camping, just to fit all the gear in! Didn't make sense.

Give me a yell if you're ever up Rocky way and we'll have a game a Rocky Golf Club.

David

« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2011, 03:28:54 PM »

Dion to Myswag.
Yeah, It's amazing all the crap you have to take with little ones, it does get better the older they get  ;D
you'll find the right set up for you guys.
happy & safe travels
« Last Edit: December 03, 2011, 08:04:49 PM by Hairs »

Offline fromunder

« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2011, 04:43:36 PM »
Hi Dion,
             hope you find all the info you need
The campers you have listed are all great bits of gear

Dwayne ;D
2005 SR5 Toyota Hilux D/CAB - Jimboomba maddison offroad CT

« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2011, 06:04:19 PM »
Hi and welcome to the Forum, let us now how you go with the camper :D

Offline BrisVegasGolfer

« Reply #18 on: December 21, 2011, 03:43:38 PM »
Thankyou all for the nice welcome.  :cheers:

No exciting purchases to update, other than fresh tyres for the Pajero.  However, we've kicked off a savings plan/budget to save a pool of money for a camper trailer and 4wd mods for our round oz trip down the track.  Will hopefully get a camper in the second half of 2012 with tax refund money, ~$10k hopefully. 

Lots to learn and plenty of window shopping to do over the next 6 months!

We're off tent camping at Imbil on Boxing day.  It's always a challenge to load a week's supplies and gear into the car.  Hopefully just two more lots of holidays in the tent....   
2015 Isuzu MU-X

Offline not quite there yet

« Reply #19 on: December 21, 2011, 05:31:43 PM »
welcome to the forum brisvegasgolfer. You've come to the right place if you are after advice on buying and setting up a ct.  There's some great people, with greata knowledge who don't mind a giggle.

Nah mate, but if you are ever down Maclean way & looking for a game, we have a beaut course.

x2. Played that course earlier in the year.  Enjoyed a quality course with a laid back feel.  Might be playing there next week...

Offline BrisVegasGolfer

« Reply #20 on: May 28, 2012, 01:52:32 PM »
Thanks for the welcome.  Camper savings plan has struck a snag.  Still planning some touring with the wife and kids, but will have to make do with whatever we can cram into and on top of the Pajero for now. 

We're borrowing an oztent from friends, to see if that works for us on trips.  I can strap that to the Rhino Racks at least, freeing up some space in the back.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2012, 03:58:07 PM by BrisVegasGolfer »
2015 Isuzu MU-X

« Reply #21 on: May 28, 2012, 01:56:51 PM »

Even if you can't manage a camper, a rugged trailer for a lot less $ will make life easier. Packing the roof sux, and does not help at the pump either. At least with a trailer you can secure stuff when you're away from camp more easily.

Offline Kalebjarrod

« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2012, 03:21:45 PM »
Howdy to a fellow qlder :D
HILUX D4D + LIFESTYLE WALKTHROUGH

Offline BrisVegasGolfer

« Reply #23 on: January 14, 2015, 09:25:05 AM »
OK, so where did that 4 years go!??!?  Still don't have a camper, but am now actively looking for one.  Have about $15k to spend, so am looking at 10 year old Kimberley/Pioneer/Aus Offroad/Cub etc and the Chinese Ecomates and Leisure Matters etc.

We're living in Townsville now and my old Pajero is still chugging along.  We're going to the Cape in June/July and want to sort out a camper before then.  Actually, Easter would be better as a shakedown trip.

Really want something that has a fridge slide, plumbed water tank to sink, gas cooker and pantry storage etc etc..  We've done plenty of camping trips with our touring tent and I'm just over the setup and packup time of all the "stuff" we have to cram in and on the car.
2015 Isuzu MU-X

« Reply #24 on: January 14, 2015, 09:36:34 AM »
OK, so where did that 4 years go!??!?  Still don't have a camper, but am now actively looking for one.  Have about $15k to spend, so am looking at 10 year old Kimberley/Pioneer/Aus Offroad/Cub etc and the Chinese Ecomates and Leisure Matters etc.

We're living in Townsville now and my old Pajero is still chugging along.  We're going to the Cape in June/July and want to sort out a camper before then.  Actually, Easter would be better as a shakedown trip.

Really want something that has a fridge slide, plumbed water tank to sink, gas cooker and pantry storage etc etc..  We've done plenty of camping trips with our touring tent and I'm just over the setup and packup time of all the "stuff" we have to cram in and on the car.

Welcome to the Ville mate, looks like the cape will be full this year we will be heading up with a group in late July early August..